Streamyx StreamyxCoolUniPack#2~updated post #1 on 9 May, Read post #1 before you ask anything

oec88
post Apr 14 2010, 02:38 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Apr 14 2010, 02:33 PM)
if I dun pay the RM10 tongue.gif...

BTW, how to show him it cant reach 4mbps on teh spot?
Show him your modem statistic that your ADSL cap is currently at 4096kbps, and then immediately run speed test to show him. Speed test on whatever speed test website you can get, mostly for ADSL 4Mbps cap will only get around 3.6Mbps for sure.

If he refuse to do for you, then call back to 100. If both method also fail, then file a complaint at http://complaint.cfm.org.my/.

QUOTE(GearX_SaM @ Apr 14 2010, 02:34 PM)
Which means the 30 days period is unavoidable? zzzz
I heard that there's another way to avoid the 30 days quarantine. That is terminate your current Streamyx, then request for changing your current TM Homeline number. Changing TM Homeline number will takes few days only if they process faster, also Streamyx will come within few days if your area technician is hardworking enough. You must also always call to 100 to chase up your process, else you won't know where you are.

I'm not sure about the changing homeline number, I got this information from other forum member in other topic.

Added on April 14, 2010, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(joshuatly @ Apr 14 2010, 02:35 PM)
my 2mbps is having speed like 1.7mbps only.
sad lah

Added on April 14, 2010, 2:36 pm
yes!
Ask your Streamyx technician try to cap the ADSL to 2.5Mbps or 3Mbps, that will bring you to 2Mbps max speed.

An explanation here, please read. Streamyx will probably lose 25% of its cap speed.

If you subscribe for 2Mbps, and they cap your ADSL at 2048kbps, deduct 25% which means you will only get around 1.7Mbps for sure. That's why we need to ask them to cap higher, let's say ADSL cap at 2.5Mbps, so you will get around 2.1Mbps when doing speed test.

This post has been edited by oec88: Apr 14 2010, 02:40 PM
oec88
post Apr 14 2010, 02:48 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Apr 14 2010, 02:45 PM)
modem statistic is throught 192.168.1.1 ya?
192.168.1.1 is for you to connect from your PC to your modem/router and do setting. Yes, statistic can be obtained from there. Make sure you go into your modem/router ADSL status then you will see everything in there.
oec88
post Apr 14 2010, 02:55 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(GearX_SaM @ Apr 14 2010, 02:54 PM)
Urgh 1 week still considerable. 1 month? ! ISH
1 week already considered killing for me.
oec88
post Apr 14 2010, 05:08 PM

385 posts

7-4-2010 Submit new application for TM Homeline and Streamyx, both under my name.

8-4-2010 TM contractors came to my house and installed the new TM Homeline. At night I called to 100 service line and been told that 10th April the Streamyx contractor will come and do the installation for me.

10-4-2010 Called to 100 service line again and get the latest status from them. Been informed that Encik Rahman is the installer and got his handphone number. Called to that handphone number, Encik Rahman nicely explained to me that today he can't make it because he have to come to my house to do some upgrading in order to get 4MB, and some people not working today so that he can't do the service for me. He will contact me again in the coming Tuesday to do the installation and upgrading. He also admitted that the order form that under my name and MIPS order name is now in his hand so no worry.

13-4-2010 Streamyx technician came to me home and received bad news from him, but learned new knowledge, story goes below:

384kbps, 512kbps and 1mbps are using ADSL_G.dmt port, which is different from higher package. Packages such as 2mbps, 4mbps or higher are using ADSL 2+ port. Even you can get 15 above SNR for your ADSL_G.dmt port, there's no gurantee for you that you can get 15 above SNR for your ADSL 2+ port. Just like my case, my ADSL_G.dmt port can get 22db to 29db SNR at any time. While switch to new TM Homeline that is running ADSL 2+ and capped at 5mbps, my SNR goes down to 9db, which is really bad and cannot support 4mbps. To support 4mbps, you must have at least => 15db of SNR and =< 40db Attenuation. So even the TM point service people tell you that your area can support 4mbps, you still have to go to the 2nd level of checking, that will be done by the Streamyx technician.

Now I am suspecting that my new TM Homeline is having problem in between the copper line and the phone post in front of my house. Already called the contractor and tomorrow they will come and have a look at the phone post, then do the fixing. I just hope after the fixing, I can get 15db and above for my SNR so that I can install 4mbps.

14-4-2010 TM contractor came to my house again, all of us did a lot of testing and changing, finally confirmed that my area can't support 4Mbps although there's ADSL 2+ port for 4Mbps. Cannot support 4Mbps due to having bad rating for SNR and Line Attenuation. Already contacted my Streamyx technician to cancel my 4Mbps order, will head back to TM Point to re-apply 2Mbps package to see whether can support or not.

My CoolUniPack 4Mbps journey ends here. New 2Mbps package journey will be opened soon until I submit my application.

Added on April 14, 2010, 5:09 pm
QUOTE(ysc @ Apr 14 2010, 04:20 PM)
my lucky friend ask the dude cap 5m coz he only 3.6m speed
and after cap 5m, he dl at 4.5 to 4.7m speed  cry.gif
Yes this is how the procedure and bandwidth work. 5Mbps deduct 25% suppose is around 4.3Mbps like a lot of member having here.

This post has been edited by oec88: Apr 14 2010, 05:09 PM
oec88
post Apr 14 2010, 05:46 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Apr 14 2010, 05:31 PM)
but i thoguht acc cap still 4.0 ?
Account cap = 4096kbps (You can't change this nor TM people)
ADSL cap = 4096kbps (They can adjust this anytime for you)

1st Case
Account cap on 4096kbps, ADSL cap 4096kbps = You only can get 3.6Mbps during speed test, which people complain cannot get "full speed" of what they subscribe 4Mbps.

2nd Case
Account cap on 4096kbps, ADSL cap 5120kbps = You can get at least 4.2Mbps above during speed test.

3rd Case
Account cap on 4096kbps, ADSL cap 7168kbps = You also can get at least 4.2Mbps above during speed test, but you will see you are getting 6Mbps when the speed test starts, then slowly drop down to 4.3Mbps due to account cap.

The 2nd Case is what people mostly do, include the majority 4Mbps user in this forum.

REMEMBER! ONLY ASK FOR ADSL CAP BUT NOT ACCOUNT CAP, else you will get fired.

Understand?

This post has been edited by oec88: Apr 14 2010, 05:50 PM

0.0155sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:37 PM