KLIAV 2010, Step Into A World of 3D High Definition!

michaeltan1943
post Jul 22 2010, 05:32 PM

1,024 posts

waste of time. So crowded and everyone moves like a herd of cows, slowly and in a line. When one wants to exit also cannot, they have to follow like a cow right till the end, few floors later.

Stair cases leading to other floors sometimes stink with incosiderate people smoking.

Some AV rooms also, got people smoke in the toilet. How come JW Marriot allow this?
michaeltan1943
post Jul 23 2010, 09:38 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(vincentboleh @ Jul 22 2010, 10:54 PM)
The many times I went with my buddies and wife, we were at relax mind and stroll room after room to observe, listen & blend into the fair.
We went up and down twice last year (re-enter after good lunch at the Pavilion) and the joy of experiencing with mid to high end systems keep smoke / cow's story out of our minds.
Managed to get my wife a free 2Gb Philip MP3 last year when signed up for Hardware Zone Magazine and plan to get something again this year.

Yes, I do remember seeing some lost cows who could not find the best toilet at the lower ground floor. 
On smoke, where in KL / PJ that you cannot find people smoke at side / emergency staircase or toilet?

Mai Kai Tan, you gave good comments and rest assure that I'll let the organiser know so something could be done to improve the situation.
I hope the organiser put some nice gift for the contest. Malaysians are generally motivated with a nice contest to enter and in the past, the grand prize has been some crap. Real crap.

Shocking. Big companies sponsoring such an event and millions of ringgit in transaction and the heavy RM10 entrance fee, I have no idea why they give crap gifts in the contest. The minimum one should get is a good branded 50 inch plasma.

On the smoke issue, just because people do it does not mean it should be tolerated. There is a rise in snatch thefts, does not mean we should say its normal and biasa. Otherwise don't call it International because International events in other countries don't have smoking in their events at all. Should just call it Malaysia AV show.
michaeltan1943
post Jul 23 2010, 10:01 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(shuttersyok @ Jul 23 2010, 09:54 AM)
I think i will give this show a miss this year.  I totally agree what michaeltan1943 said..

the event is crowded like pasar malam, ppl smoking everywhere, i even seen ppl spitting at the staircase area..yuck...in audition room..smart as** giving comment while ppl were listening..polystyrene lunch box everywhere...the scence was really ugly..
fully agree. Have seen people and some dealers spitting in the staircase area. If they are not spitting, they are on their handphones talking and digging their noses to glory.

How to buy from such people? Like that, you buy speaker, sure got some gold (bugger) somewhere on the speaker or receipt.

The organiser need to improve on such things. Infact, the organiser need to go to International shows in the UK or Europe and emulate how such events are really organised. No smoking at all and no polystyrene lunch boxes everywhere.

Seeing fish and chicken bones here and there is disgusting.
michaeltan1943
post Jul 23 2010, 11:39 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 23 2010, 11:13 AM)
Gotta admit that I'm surprised by the amount of negativity that is being put out by some with regards to the AV show. I can understand that in a lot of cases Malaysia has things more expensive than others but having an AV show is not only about cheap stuff guys. Its a way for manufacturers and retailers to showcase under one roof new models, new gadgets, and clear some old stuff. Contrary to popular belief, home AV is not as lucrative business as many of you out there believe. Granted, some make fantastic money out of it, but so do other businesses alike.

End of the day, just like all businesses, they are there to generate revenue and pay the bills. Some more so than others. This coupled with all the rants about us getting substandard stuff. Things are improving, a couple of years ago, not many in Malaysia heard about SVS, Mark Seaton and other small success stories. With the wide spread of internet literacy, the public is more knowledgeable. So, like all things, be patient. Our tax laws are as they are, our tax laws. Different countries have different rules, thats the fact.

Just like any other country, there is room for improvement. Hey, unlike some of u out there, this is the only country for me to call home at the moment, I'm just going to make the best of it and see what I can do to improve it. My way, is to give people advice based on data and opinions on the various products...what about u?
fully agree. Most people think AV show is some cheap sale. I think they get this idea and concept based on PC Fairs. But in reality, like you say, it is a place to showcase new technology. Like International car shows in Europe or Cebit, new technology is showcased and introduced to people. They want to get feedback on prototypes.

Its a pity Malaysians go for exhibitions hoping to get discounts and cheap stuff. Even more sad when people go to look at girls.

From experience, you can get much cheaper lah bargaining one to one with a retailer at his premises with the comfort of coffee and tea. The same with PC Fair also, so much cheaper to buy in LYP after bargaining. Comfortable somemore. Go to Amcorp, you can bargain to glory and get the best deal in town.

Its high time to re educate the poeple that exhibitions are really exhibitions, it is to merely highlight new technology.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jul 23 2010, 11:41 AM
michaeltan1943
post Jul 23 2010, 02:33 PM

1,024 posts

[quote=peter32,Jul 23 2010, 12:06 PM]

Then the size of the room and the resources comes in too. I have seen the staff actually stock everything inside the hotel room toilet, they even eat their lunch there !

Yes I have seen this. It is rather shocking. I saw DVD players stacked up on the toilet bowl seat. Quite unhygenic. Most people normally don't even touch the toilet bowl seat in a public place and here, our dvd players are sitting on it.
michaeltan1943
post Jul 24 2010, 11:39 PM

1,024 posts

Any discounts on Bowers & Wilkins Zeppellin? I hope its not still at RM3000.

Its only 380 pounds in UK. Now sterling droppped, it should be much cheaper in Msia.

0.0650sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:05 AM