Sociology About access to Laws In Malaysia

SUSadvocado
post Apr 7 2010, 02:17 PM, updated 16y ago

2,948 posts

Would like to know if there's any free public resources to understand what set of laws & rights we have in Malaysia for all categories, from business/contract/civil even up to parliment/political parties etc? Library/Online etc? Any types of law.

Just curious as a citizen of malaysia, how do we know what sort of rights we have in Malaysia? I bet most of us have little knowledge or know where to look for info other than asking the lawyers.

I remember an Indian movie the hero is a lawyer but uses his punch & kicks & fights his way in making law widely available to public due to govenrment trying to prevent the public from understanding what rights they have in order to take advantage of the people.

I tried online but most sites needs subscriptions. I believe these information should be widely available & free access provided. Also we can't just trust anything our lawyers say. The more you know the better even if you need a lawyer.

abubin
post Apr 7 2010, 03:27 PM

10,429 posts

yes, all the malaysian laws are being sold in bookshop. Try to look for them in bookshops along Jalan TAR. You know...the stretch of road at Sogo. Looks of mamak bookshop there.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 7 2010, 08:28 PM

2,948 posts

Is there a list of all the books with latest revision? Do they have softcopy as hardcopies are very heavy.

What is the publisher's name?
faceless
post Apr 8 2010, 02:04 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Advocado have you heard of the Government Printers (GP)? It is at Chan Sow Lin area. I can't remember the name of the road. You can get the latest revision there. Not sure if they had a list of revision.

As to buying acts in book shops, the publisher get their source from GP and package it into better covers. The covers are the same paper as the content for the ones sold at GP. Sometimes the publisher will incorporate the small ammendments in to the main act in their packaging. This is what you will not get from the GP. You have to buy the main act and whatever minor amendments attached to it. If the act get a major revision, then the GP has the new version in one book.

Perhaps you like to check this out http://www.justanswer.com/law/

SUSadvocado
post Apr 8 2010, 02:12 PM

2,948 posts

thanks for reply. I'm not refering to list of revisions, i just though maybe laws have different section like criminal, business, civil & government laws that might be in different books or volumes. Am wondering whether they have like a "catalogue" of all the books.

Also roughtly how many books or volumes do they have and roughly how much is 1 book? Is there no softcopy to purchase like those ISO documents?

0.0152sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:44 AM