Cool new power plug design..., When will it be available???

TSmpyw
post Apr 5 2010, 01:29 PM, updated 16y ago

3,603 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/17/uk-fold...in-usb-infused/

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Wonder if those hi-fi power cable can use or not? tongue.gif

TiF
post Apr 5 2010, 01:45 PM

1,192 posts

nice!
ycs
post Apr 5 2010, 01:53 PM

4,239 posts

very cool...i'm sure the price also cool brows.gif

i think china workshop already gearing up...smile.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 5 2010, 02:05 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 5 2010, 01:53 PM)
very cool...i'm sure the price also cool brows.gif

i think china workshop already gearing up...smile.gif
If you fully read the article , you might have crossed this particular line " Unfortunately, we're still no closer to understanding when some moneyed manufacturer will pick this up and start producing it, but hopefully this prize will reinforce its awesomeness and catch someone's eye."

Not even a company has came up to pick this up and investing on it, how can we expect this to reach MYS. Even if it does, its gonna take a while

My 2cents icon_rolleyes.gif
power911
post Apr 5 2010, 03:21 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

omg I want this
this thing is serious stuff
but why nobody even bother to produce it sad.gif
I want a full set
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 5 2010, 03:26 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 5 2010, 03:21 PM)
omg I want this
this thing is serious stuff
but why nobody even bother to produce it sad.gif
I want a full set
Business time! Anybody could approach the founder and invest on them , probably produce and market them.
htkaki
post Apr 6 2010, 09:31 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Probably lies in costly trademark and patent right. This will make the initial investment high and the risk would be high too as China is notorious with 'copycat' and there is no concrete laws / regulations to curb it. General Motors, Rolls Royce, and other big firms learned it the hard way.

So, if a firm is to invest in such product, they need to price it at a 'premium' (ROI mah). Then, you need to factor in the risk of the highly efficient copycats out there and marketability of these products as not many ppl would fork out rather higher amount for a 'generic' product. That could be the reason of no taker.

willkso
post Apr 6 2010, 10:15 AM

993 posts

wow... Nice stuff. Convenient for those with limited power outlet point..
z8net
post Apr 6 2010, 11:13 AM

39 posts

Plug into eubiq powertrack, i wonder how many can go in, huhu~
gilbertlhl
post Apr 6 2010, 01:40 PM

386 posts

if come with noise conditional will be better... brows.gif
rx330
post Apr 6 2010, 01:58 PM

11,811 posts

why engadget now only post this? this one quite long liao, i think design in 08, the korean guy from london arts school i think
spiritbreaker_33
post Apr 6 2010, 02:11 PM

24 posts

lol.. spot d wierdy on d 5th pic from top..anyone? huhu
MyDevil
post Apr 6 2010, 05:27 PM

7,480 posts

Very nice and neat!
z8net
post Apr 6 2010, 06:12 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(spiritbreaker_33 @ Apr 6 2010, 02:11 PM)
lol.. spot d wierdy on d 5th pic from top..anyone? huhu
haha the bigger pin is upside down!
minimize
post Apr 6 2010, 08:53 PM

1,543 posts

It very nice. Hope copycat china product will come soon.
freedom2912
post Apr 6 2010, 09:40 PM

Cool Like Fire
802 posts

just wait for recon unit from china
power911
post Apr 6 2010, 10:13 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(z8net @ Apr 6 2010, 06:12 PM)
haha the bigger pin is upside down!
LOL laugh.gif
gilbertlhl
post Apr 7 2010, 12:45 PM

386 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/17/uk-fold...in-usb-infused/

is this a USB port?? hmm.gif
THEALB10N
post Apr 7 2010, 02:13 PM

246 posts

I question the safety of this design a bit. Constant rotation of the live and neutral wires could fray them. Also, it doesn't look easy to retrofit one of those plugs onto a cable.

I guess it is good for portability, but the constant turning of the neutral and live could end up damaging it.
Alternatively, if the plug is going to be plugged in for long periods of time (e.g. behind a TV) then the physical size of the plug is quite irrelevant.

Still a neat concept though.

0.0241sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:39 AM