Humanities WAR!

Beastboy
post May 6 2010, 01:40 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(m1ck3y3mon @ Apr 4 2010, 09:13 PM)
war will destroy us or war makes us human?
Will war destroy us? In my opinon, no. We went through 2 world wars, 2 atomic bombs and countless battles up to the Iraq war and we are not extinct yet. In fact we have grown to record numbers.

Will war make us human? In my opinion, no. War is one method of handling conflict. Some say its the failure of handling conflict. Every species have conflict. We might be smarter after a battle but more civilised.... not necessarily.

Added on May 6, 2010, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(soul2soul @ May 6 2010, 10:32 AM)
War is a natural way to get rid of the dilinquents and lower intelligent people of the society.
The IDF (Israeli defense forces) might disagree with you there. They've got some of the brightest people serving in their army.

This post has been edited by Beastboy: May 6 2010, 01:43 PM
Beastboy
post May 7 2010, 09:51 AM

242 posts

I thot the more intelligent we are, the more we will appreciate that war is like a game of tic-tac-toe, no one really wins? They called it MAD (mutually assured destruction) in the 70's. Its not just the low IQ that dies. High IQ oso kena. Millions of Jews were put to death in WW2. The survivors became the people that won the most nobel prizes, gave us the most important scientific discoveries and the best advances in the arts & medicine. They were not low IQ people.

Using war as a tool of eugenics (selective breeding) itself is not very intelligent. It is inefficient, expensive, messy, and often achieves the opposite effect by releasing tides of refugees.

Forgot to add that usually, war is not started by the intelligent. They are started by politicians.

This post has been edited by Beastboy: May 7 2010, 12:23 PM
Beastboy
post May 10 2010, 09:19 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ May 9 2010, 10:14 PM)
Perhaps, we need to define what war really is. It is to accomplish something through force.

Why would one needed force to accomplish something? Because the alternative won't work?

Perhaps "war", is simply a larger scale to describe our need to "break", "dismantle", and "destroy" whether the need is due to frustration, or the absence of other options?
To me, war is a method to settle disagreements. Some societies shoot first, talk later like the Roman invaders so its not always a last resort.

I can't imagine a higher purpose to war. Sometimes countries are better off after a war. Sometimes they are worse off. Whoever wins, its a matter of time before nature resets the game by killing everyone off and wiping the board clean, either by disease, lack of food or natural disasters. Back to square one for society & the cycle repeats again. So if there's any benefit to war I would think its purely random.

0.0146sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:03 AM