Investment Condo/Flat/Apartment Burglary Concern

TSarthurlwf
post Apr 4 2010, 01:55 PM, updated 16y ago

2,546 posts

Usually at Condo/Flat/Apartment, there is an emergency staircase which people can walk from ground floor to the top floor.
The staircase door can be open from inside and outside, and there is no lock.

Recently, there has been many burglary case in which the burglar use the staircase as their maneuver activity to break into resident home. vmad.gif mad.gif

Is it possible to lock the staircase door?? as a way to prevent burglary icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Or is there any other way to prevent burglary? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Apr 4 2010, 01:56 PM
Shazzac
post Apr 4 2010, 02:12 PM

427 posts

Emergency doors can't be locked. If got fire, then die la the ppl who live at that particular floor that has been locked.
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 4 2010, 03:23 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Apr 4 2010, 02:55 PM)
Usually at Condo/Flat/Apartment, there is an emergency staircase which people can walk from ground floor to the top floor.
The staircase door can be open from inside and outside, and there is no lock.

Recently, there has been many burglary case in which the burglar use the staircase as their maneuver activity to break into resident home.  vmad.gif  mad.gif

Is it possible to lock the staircase door?? as a way to prevent burglary icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Or is there any other way to prevent burglary? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

hard to say.... during my college time, there were 12 people in the house... and the burglar broke in and ransake our house and take all our cash, hp and pc.. and no onerealise.. then he left his signature... he arrange our empty wallet on table.... doh.gif

i called police andsay he received many report with similar signature hmm.gif
TSarthurlwf
post Apr 4 2010, 09:00 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Apr 4 2010, 02:12 PM)
Emergency doors can't be locked. If got fire, then die la the ppl who live at that particular floor that has been locked.
True.. it's a difficult decision... On one hand, security is compromise. On the another hand, fire exit is compromise...

So means there is no solution to the security??? cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
xtr4
post Apr 5 2010, 12:14 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Apr 4 2010, 09:00 PM)
True.. it's a difficult decision... On one hand, security is compromise. On the another hand, fire exit is compromise...

So means there is no solution to the security???  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
One compromise is to engage your condo security to install access card access into the fire exits. Then have a failsafe that would turn these off when a fire occurs. That's one way to do it.
airline
post Apr 5 2010, 12:57 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

One compromise is to engage your condo security to install access card access- old condos management wont do this..
xtr4
post Apr 5 2010, 08:14 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Apr 5 2010, 12:57 AM)
One compromise is to engage your condo security to install access card access- old condos management wont do this..
Airline: cheaper alternative is to have only 1 way access via the fire escape, only 2 way access will be ground floor where as all other floors can only access the fire escape via their respective floors. Meaning that if you're in the fire escape, the only way out is the ground floor where you can open the door. Although of course a simple brick/slipper can overcome this but it's still a deterrent.
daniwc
post Apr 5 2010, 08:17 AM

121 posts

Install alarm system or cctv lor.
leongal
post Apr 5 2010, 09:30 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

my condo has access card for entrance, but my concern is that i am at low levels, constantly worried if "robbers" can climb over to my place sweat.gif i have locked all the grills, not sure if it is enough sweat.gif
Tohsan
post Apr 5 2010, 11:28 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(daniwc @ Apr 5 2010, 08:17 AM)
Install alarm system or cctv lor.
don't waste money on cctv becos during breakin time cctv can't help protect your house.
barista
post Apr 5 2010, 11:30 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

Install own alarm. Since it is only condo or apartment, there isn't as many doors or windows as compared to a house. Some more no roof. Good investment lah.
Tohsan
post Apr 5 2010, 11:55 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Apr 5 2010, 09:30 AM)
my condo has access card for entrance, but my concern is that i am at low levels, constantly worried if "robbers" can climb over to my place sweat.gif i have locked all the grills, not sure if it is enough sweat.gif
if u r really concern bout safety n security, you should take up SECOM company alarm system, very good support just tat its very pricesy.
TSarthurlwf
post Apr 5 2010, 06:46 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(xtr4 @ Apr 5 2010, 12:14 AM)
One compromise is to engage your condo security to install access card access into the fire exits. Then have a failsafe that would turn these off when a fire occurs. That's one way to do it.
Good idea woor thumbup.gif .. but is this idea workable according to fire/bomba law??? rclxub.gif
And is it expensive to install this idea??? sweat.gif

0.0180sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:35 PM