Need help > MMU's Multimedia design degree courses

TSwhit3feather
post Apr 3 2010, 05:50 PM, updated 12y ago

75 posts

smile.gif I am one with great interest in design and art .
I choose to study @ MMU because I can see that IT will play a dominant rule in the art and design world in da future

But it really bother me when I have to choose 1 of those 5 degree courses which are quite specific
what I mean specific is that by the titles I see that the courses will guide you to focus on only 1 particular subject , for example animation .

If I study @ another college like TOA , they will provide me a degree for Multimedia design which appear to cover a broader area , animation , web design and all sorts regarding cg

So If I take the degree cert from MMU and compare myself with another having TOA's degree cert , will I have a disadvantage because what I studied is more specific and I can't really do multi-task ?

Is my question very complicated sad.gif ?
I really need some help to clear the clouds in my brain
[+]
post Apr 3 2010, 07:02 PM

1,939 posts

QUOTE(whit3feather @ Apr 3 2010, 05:50 PM)
smile.gif  I am one with great interest in design and art .
I choose to study @ MMU because I can see that IT will play a dominant rule in the art and design world in da future

But it really bother me when I have to choose 1 of those 5 degree courses which are quite specific
what I mean specific is that by the titles I see that the courses will guide you to focus on only 1 particular subject  , for example animation .

If I study @ another college like TOA , they will provide me a degree for Multimedia design which appear to cover a broader area , animation , web design and all sorts regarding cg

So If I take the degree cert from MMU and compare myself with another having TOA's degree cert , will I have a disadvantage because what I studied is more specific and I can't really do multi-task ?

Is my question very complicated  sad.gif  ?
cert is not really important in this field but portfolio.
even TOA teaching cover quite some area but not all really that focus, means you might come out half bucket full on stuff only.
and by the end of the day when they find work they will still need to pick an area to focus on.
so if you already know what you want, choosing MMU and focus on it also can, but design part definitely have to self study liao.
If not studying at TOA then you can explore on multiple area first then only decide which 1 you like most lo.
But if you really interested in design and art, TOA is a still a better choice.
TSwhit3feather
post Apr 3 2010, 07:52 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(+ @ Apr 3 2010, 07:02 PM)
cert is not really important in this field but portfolio.
even TOA teaching cover quite some area but not all really that focus, means you might come out half bucket full on stuff only.
and by the end of the day when they find work they will still need to pick an area to focus on.
so if you already know what you want, choosing MMU and focus on it also can, but design part definitely have to self study liao.
If not studying at TOA then you can explore on multiple area first then only decide which 1 you like most lo.
But if you really interested in design and art, TOA is a still a better choice.
Ic .. but do both of the foundations @ MMU and TOA teach us the same thing ?
Because I need to know more about graphic design and I am worry that MMU's foundation course does not include that ..
and does TOA accepts MMU's foundation ? in case I wanna change course sad.gif
[+]
post Apr 3 2010, 08:56 PM

1,939 posts

you just want to know more, or you already prepare to have graphic design as your career and passion?
cause if you really like graphic design, then MMU is certainly not your choice of selection.
and i dun think you can transfer from MMU to TOA though since both courses have a significant difference ... or unless you can shows that you have strong fundamental liao.
better make up your mind before doing any decision,
you wouldn't want to waste the time and money hopping around.
KeithCheeFB
post Apr 3 2010, 09:01 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(whit3feather @ Apr 3 2010, 07:52 PM)
Ic .. but do both of the foundations @ MMU and TOA teach us the same thing ?
Because I need to know more about graphic design and I am worry that MMU's foundation course does not include that ..
and does TOA accepts MMU's foundation ? in case I wanna change course  sad.gif
i think its different for both foundation courses... in TOSA'S foundation, its learning the basics of drawing, and also design,.. and during foundation in TOA, u ned to pass the IELTS english test and get band 6 or higher so u can only proceed to level one.. IELTS is a must since the degree is from UH, from UK..

can i noe where is the degree cert of MMU frm? smile.gif
TSwhit3feather
post Apr 3 2010, 09:36 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(KeithCheeFB @ Apr 3 2010, 09:01 PM)
i think its different for both foundation courses... in TOSA'S foundation, its learning the basics of drawing, and also design,.. and during foundation in TOA, u ned to pass the IELTS english test and get band 6 or higher so u can only proceed to level one.. IELTS is a must since the degree is from UH, from UK.. 

can i noe where is the degree cert of MMU frm? smile.gif
As I know their degree certs are from local ..

melvyn
post Jul 1 2014, 01:49 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(whit3feather @ Apr 3 2010, 09:36 PM)
As I know their degree certs are from local ..
its from local, i'm an ex-mmu student
pinkyd
post Aug 24 2014, 07:10 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(whit3feather @ Apr 3 2010, 05:50 PM)
smile.gif  I am one with great interest in design and art .

what I mean specific is that by the titles I see that the courses will guide you to focus on only 1 particular subject  , for example animation .

Is my question very complicated  sad.gif  ?
I know you have posted years ago. And sorry that none MMU students can help you out during that time. I hope you get to do what you intended. But I am gonna write anyway so that others can refer to.

Just like Engineering where you have electric engineering / mechanical engineering/ civil engineering.. or IT - Software Design / System Networking so does design. It is a very broad field and would be good to have some specialisation. In MMU Faculty of Creative Multimedia - you will start in foundation year where you will learn basic art - fine art mostly drawings, paintings and basic software skills. You start your specialisation in first year but no matter what majoring you are in you do learn basic of everything web, video, 3D and print design. The majoring prepares you in more detail on the specialization as below: ( I just knew some of the courses have been updated and there might be updates on the content below)

1. Animation & Visual Effects : (formerly known as Film & Animation)
You will learn 2D & 3D animation, concept of filmaking - storyboarding, concept design, video pre & post production process, visual effects.

Career prospects: 3D designer, visual effects artist, concept designer, director...

2. Advertising Design (previously known as Media Innovation)
The commercial part of design - Visual Communication. You will learn design that sells which is meant for advertising. From the concept of Branding, Advertising, Corporate Identity, to all platform of communication - TV Commercial, website, billboards, product packaging, posters and such.

Career prospects: Art / Creative Director, Multimedia Designer, Brand designer, creative team in Ad Agencys, Web Designer, Exibition Designer.

3. Media Arts (previously known as Digital Media)
Learn experimental stuff.

Career prospects: Digital Designer, Web Designer, Mobile Design, Interface Designer.

4. Industrial Design
Learn to design products - there's this 3D printer in the studio.

Career prospects: Product Designer - Car, Gadgets,...

5. Virtual Reality
Create Virtual Reality Environment

Career prospects: VR Specialist

Ok.. The last 3 I am not so familiar with as my friends are mostly Film Animation and Media Innovation students. Hehehe. Hope other FCMers can contribute more.

This post has been edited by pinkyd: Aug 24 2014, 07:11 PM
s7ran9er
post Aug 25 2014, 09:13 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Aug 24 2014, 07:10 PM)
I know you have posted years ago. And sorry that none MMU students can help you out during that time. I hope you get to do what you intended. But I am gonna write anyway so that others can refer to.

Just like Engineering where you have electric engineering / mechanical engineering/ civil engineering.. or IT - Software Design / System Networking so does design. It is a very broad field and would be good to have some specialisation. In MMU Faculty of Creative Multimedia - you will start in foundation year where you will learn basic art - fine art mostly drawings, paintings and basic software skills. You start your specialisation in first year but no matter what majoring you are in you do learn basic of everything web, video, 3D and print design. The majoring prepares you in more detail on the specialization as below: ( I just knew some of the courses have been updated and there might be updates on the content below)

You will learn 2D & 3D animation, concept of filmaking - storyboarding, concept design, video pre & post production process, visual effects.

Career prospects: 3D designer, visual effects artist, concept designer, director...

The commercial part of design - Visual Communication. You will learn design that sells which is meant for advertising. From the concept of Branding, Advertising, Corporate Identity, to all platform of communication - TV Commercial, website, billboards, product packaging, posters and such.

Career prospects: Art / Creative Director, Multimedia Designer, Brand designer, creative team in Ad Agencys, Web Designer, Exibition Designer.

Career prospects: Digital Designer, Web Designer, Mobile Design, Interface Designer.

4. Industrial Design

5. Virtual Reality

Ok.. The last 3 I am not so familiar with as my friends are mostly Film Animation and Media Innovation students. Hehehe. Hope other FCMers can contribute more.
The FA & MI has the largest crowd, then follow by Digital Media, Industrial Design & Virtual Reality.

The less people in the class the better the lecturer can focus you on hence the quality of works and preparation for the outside world would be better as well. whistling.gif
nikeshock
post Aug 25 2014, 11:36 AM

561 posts

Any universities or colleges will give you a half bucket full. Your real learning starts when you work in a proper agency/studio/etc.

This is what I observed from peers and juniors. TOA prepares you better for the real world outside. Do have a look at Dasein too, their graduates are not bad as well
TSwhit3feather
post Aug 25 2014, 06:35 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(pinkyd @ Aug 24 2014, 07:10 PM)

4. Industrial Design

5. Virtual Reality

WOW It's been four years already! I have actually graduated from The One Academy, took up Degree in Graphic Design and Illustration in the end, major in Illustration and did not regret one bit of the choice I made back then.

What I can say is, i am so glad I didn't take up courses from MMU, because I am totally not a tech person at all! Even though I have not studied there, I think the course I took at TOA suits me really well. It focused on entrepreneurship, critical thinking and self-evaluation, but not so much on the practical side of design (which I find still lacking in me).

But still, thank you for your reply! HAHAHAHA!!

This post has been edited by whit3feather: Aug 25 2014, 07:09 PM

0.0167sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:56 AM