The Nokia E71 - the latest email-optimized device from the Nokia Eseries product range. The sleek Nokia E71 with full QWERTY keyboard and the stylish, features a broad range of personal or professional messaging needs, including Microsoft Exchange, the world's most widely adopted corporate email solution.
Easy, one-touch access to email The Nokia E71 comes fully equipped for easy-to-install and easy-to-use professional and personal email. People who use Microsoft Exchange at work can access their email using the Mail for Exchange mobile email client, which comes pre-loaded with the Nokia E71. With these Nokia Eseries device, people can get reliable real-time access to their email, calendar, contacts and tasks, as well as download attachments like Word, Excel, Powerpoint or PDF files directly to their devices.
The Nokia E71 supports email accounts from more than a thousand internet service providers (ISPs) around the world, as well as Gmail, Yahoo! mail and Hotmail. Additionally, the Nokia E71 supports the Nokia Intellisync Wireless Email solution as well as third party email solutions like System Seven and Visto Mobile. Both devices come with the new switch mode that allows people easily to switch between personal and work home screens.
Sophisticated tool, premium design inside and out With a stainless steel case, etched graphics and available in two colors - grey steel or white steel - the Nokia E71 bears the hallmarks of Nokia quality and craftsmanship. The cool metallic finish is complemented by the bright colour display, which showcases the Nokia E71 device's brilliantly simple user interface. Designed for both one-handed and two-handed use, the Nokia E71 pays special attention to ergonomics, as evidenced by its narrow shape and specially designed keypad.
Always Entertaining In addition to email and personal information management, the Nokia E71 supports the latest Ovi services including maps, music and media sharing that power users expect from their device. This includes fast and seamless browsing with HSDPA, wireless LAN and 3G connectivity, Assisted GPS (A-GPS) and Nokia Maps for navigation, a music player with support for up to 8 GB expandable memory and a 3.2 megapixel autofocus camera.
Built for Businesses of all sizes In addition to serving entrepreneurs and smaller businesses, the Nokia E71 also comes fully equipped with a robust suite of enterprise grade features, including a built-in encryption functionality for both the device memory and for the memory card. Nokia E71 also includes integrated mobile VPN support that gives mobile professionals access to their company intranet, and device lock and wipe to protect corporate information. Incorporating underlying technologies that allow IT departments to effectively manage security settings, corporate applications, data and advanced voice features, the Nokia E71 expands the range of Nokia Eseries devices that support enterprise-specific deployment.
Accessorize with Style Also announced today were a number of Nokia accessories that support the Nokia E71. The Nokia Car Kit CK-100 and Nokia Display Car Kit CK-600 offer convenient handling, simplified installation and software updatability. The Nokia Car Kit CK-100 features Nokia Talk voice guidance and a remote control, while the Nokia Display Car Kit CK-600 features a removable color display and a remote control with illuminated keys for active call management. For increased mobility, Nokia also announced the sleek Nokia Bluetooth Headset BH-212, as well as the Nokia Mobile Holder CR-106 designed to complement the Nokia E71. Source
Video Review
Specification
Physical features, power and memory
Size • Form: Monoblock with full keyboard • Dimensions: 114 x 57 x 10 mm • Weight: 127 g • Volume: 66 cc • Full keyboard • High quality QVGA display
Display and 3D • Size: 2.36″ • Resolution: 320 x 240 pixels (QVGA) • Up to 16 million colors • TFT active matrix (QVGA) • Two customisable home screen modes
Security features • Device lock • Remote lock • Data encryption for both phone memory an microSD content • mobile VPN
Keys and input method • Full keyboard • Dedicated one-touch keys: Home, calendar, contacts, and email • Speaker dependent and speaker independent voice dialling • Intelligent input with auto-completion, auto-correction and learning capability • Accelerated scrolling with NaviTMKey • Notification light in NaviTMKey
Colors and covers • Available in-box colours: - Grey steel - White steel - Black steel - Red steel
Connectors • Micro-USB connector, full-speed • 2.5 mm Nokia AV connector
Power • BP-4L 1500 mAh Li-Po standard battery • Talk time: - GSM up to 10 h 30 min - WCDMA up to 4 h 30 min • Standby time: - GSM up to 17 days - WCDMA up to 20 days - WLAN idle up to 166 hours • Music playback time (maximum): 18 h
Data network • CSD • HSCSD • GPRS class A, multislot class 32, maximum speed 100/60 kbps (DL/UL) • EDGE class A, multislot class 32, maximum speed 296/177.6 kbps (DL/UL) • WCDMA 900/2100 or 850/1900 or 850/2100, maximum speed 384/384 kbps (DL/UL) • HSDPA class 6, maximum speed 3.6 Mbps/384 kbps (DL/UL) • WLAN IEEE 802.11b/g • WLAN Security: WEP, 802.1X, WPA, WPA2 • TCP/IP support • Nokia PC Internet Access (capability to serve as a data modem) • IETF SIP and 3GPP
Local connectivity and synchronization • Infrared, maximum speed 115 kbps • Bluetooth version 2.0 with Enhanced Data Rate - Bluetooth profiles: DUN, OPP, FTP, HFP, GOEP, HSP, BIP, RSAP, GAVDP, AVRCP, A2DP • MTP (Multimedia Transfer Protocol) support • Bluetooth (Bluetooth Serial Port Profile. BT SPP) • Infrared • File • Network (Raw). Direct TCP/IP socket connection to any specified port (a.k.a HP JetDirectTM). • Network (LPR). Line Printer Daemon protocol (RFC1179). • Support for local and remote SyncML synchronization, iSync, Intellisync, ActiveSync
Call features • Integrated handsfree speakerphone • Automatic answer with headset or car kit • Any key answer • Call waiting, call hold, call divert • Call timer • Logging of dialed, received and missed calls • Automatic redial and fallback • Speed dialing • Speaker dependent and speaker independent voice dialing (SDND, SIND) • Fixed dialing number support • Vibrating alert (internal) • Side volume keys • Mute key • Contacts with images • Conference calling • Push to talk • VoIP
Messaging • SMS • Multiple SMS deletion • Text-to-speech message reader • MMS • Distribution lists for messaging • Instant messaging with Presence-enhanced contacts • Cell broadcast
E-mail • Supported protocols: IMAP, POP, SMTP • Support for e-mail attachments • IMAP IDLE support • Support for Nokia Intellisync Wireless Email • Integrated Nokia Mobile VPN • Easy Email set-up
Web browsing • Supported markup languages: HTML, XHTML, MP, WML, CSS • Supported protocols: HTTP, WAP 2.0 • TCP/IP support • Nokia browser - JavaScript version 1.3 and 1.5 - Mini Map • Nokia Mobile Search • Nokia PC Internet Access (capability to serve as a data modem)
GPS and navigation • Integrated A-GPS • Nokia Maps application
Image and sound
Photography • 3.2 megapixel camera (2048 x 1536 pixels) • Image formats: JPEG/EXIF • CMOS sensor • digital zoom • Autofocus • Focal length: 3.8 mm • Focus range: 10 cm to infinity • Macro focus: 10-60 cm • LED flash • Flash modes: Automatic, On, Red-eye reduction, Off • Flash operating range: 1 m • White balance modes: automatic, sunny, incandescent, fluorescent • Centre weighted auto exposure; exposure compensation: +2 ~ -2EV at 0.7 step • Capture modes: still, sequence, self-timer, video • Scene modes: auto, user defined, close-up, portrait, landscape, night, night portrait • Colour tone modes: normal, sepia, black & white, negative • Full-screen viewfinder with grid • Active toolbar • Share photos with Share on Ovi
Video • Main camera • 320 x 240 (QVGA) up to 15 fps • 176 x 144 at 15 fps (QCIF) • digital video zoom • Front camera - Video recording at up to 128 x 96 pixels (QCIF) and up to 15 fps - Up to 2x digital video zoom • Video recording file formats: .mp4, .3gp; codecs: H.263, MPEG-4 VSP • Audio recording formats: AMR,AAC • Video white balance modes: automatic, sunny, incandescent, fluorescent • Scene modes: automatic, night • Colour tone modes: normal, sepia, black & white, negative • Clip length (maximum): 1 h • RealPlayer • Video playback file formats: .Flash Lite 3, mp4, .3gp; codecs: H.263, MPEG-4 VSP,RealVideo,H.264 • Video streaming: .3gp, mp4, .rm • Customisable video ring tones
Music and audio playback • Music player • Media player • Music playback file formats: .mp3, .wma, .aac, AAC+, eAAC+ • Audio streaming formats: .rm, .eAAC+ • FM radio 87.5-108 MHz • Visual Radio support. Read more: www.visualradio.com • 2.5 mm Nokia AV connector • Nokia Music Manager • Nokia Music Store support • Nokia Podcasting support • Customizable ring tones • Synchronize music with Windows Media Player • NaviTM wheel support • Voice Aid
Personalization: profiles, themes, ring tones • Customizable profiles • Customizable ring tones • Customisable video ring tones • Support for talking ring tones • Customizable themes • Customizable home screen content in Business and Personal modes
Software
Software platform and user interface • S60 3.1 Edition, Eseries • Symbian Os 9.2 • Two home screens with customizable active standby views • Voice commands Personal information management (PIM): contacts, clock, calendar etc. • Advanced contacts database: multiple number and e-mail details per contact, contacts with images • Support for assigning images to contacts • Support for contact groups • Closed user group support • Fixed Dialling Number support • Clock: analogue and digital • Alarm clock with ring tones • Reminders • Calculator with advanced functions • Calendar with week and month view • Converter • Active Notes • To-do list • PIM information viewable during call
Applications • JavaTM MIDP 2.0 • Flash Lite 3.0 • Chat and instant messaging • Nokia browser - JavaScript version 1.3 and 1.5 - Mini Map • Dictionary • Quickoffice (Quickword, Quickpoint, Quicksheet) • PDF Viewer • ZIP Manager • Download! • File Manager • Nokia Search • Nokia Maps • Adding more applications: - Use the Download! client - Over-the-air (OTA) downloads
Latest Firmware : v.500.21.009 Change Log
NEW FUNTIONALITIES: Following baselines/functionalities have been upgraded. • Maps 3.03 Lite which has Free Navigation support • Music Player upgrade • Quick Office v6.2 which has Office 2007 support • Ovi Store upgraded to 1.6.0.18 and Download! Removed • Lotus Notes traveler v8.5.1 -> Localization support is present only for 10 languages.
CHANGES AND IMPROVEMENTS:
• Windows Live removed from the memory card • Ovi Suite included in Memory card • CS Helps baseline upgraded to fix localization issues • Start Up settings baseline upgraded • Ovi Store Link provided in “Set Up Internet Telephony” • Download! removed GENERAL • Portuguese Localization issues fixed • Functionality improvements in E-mail configuration • Qwerty keypad improvements
CALL HANDLING • Emergency call termination with RSK key corrected • Corrected Bluetooth link drop when an outgoing call is made in a carkit
CALENDAR/CLOCK • Fix for Israel written instead of Jerusalem in World Clock • Corrected Argentina names issue in World Clock • Corrected localization issues in world clock
BROWSER • CMCC Java application download corrected • Fix provided for accessing a link that has appended space characters
EMAIL • Fix provided for selecting desired mailbox when multiple mailboxes are configured
QWERTY KEYBOARD • Key mapping issues fixed
MESSAGING • Nokia IM chat: Localization support provided for Malay and Indonesian languages
Before you update yours E71! (or other S60 phones) Published November 19, 2008 e71 , mobile , nokia , nokia e71 , software Tags: nokia, nokia e71, e71, symbian, mobile, phone, s60, technology, nokia software update, software update
Nokia E71 after software updateOK I’ve got mine phone finally updated, but I thought it is a good idea to write - how to make software update as least harmful for the user as possible?
What do I need to do before changing software?
Please keep in mind to have a battery fully charged. I really mean it! Yesterday Nokia Software Update tool was trying to download the update at least several times before it was successful. Why? Most probably servers were busy and transfer has been interrupted several times. All this time your phone is connected to your PC using USB cable in PC Suite mode. Remember that the phone’s battery is not recharging at this time.
Make your personal data safe! Do you synchronize your phone with your Outlook, or other PIM applications via PC Suite? Yes? That’s good, but it’s NOT enough! Using PC Suite create a full backup copy before starting upgrading process. What about files and applications installed in your phone memory? The BEST, FASTEST and EASIEST way of saving your personal data is making a copy of your phone memory on a memory card. Please make by choosing: Tools > Memory > Options > Back up Phone Memory and wait until it will be competed.
The final step is making your memory card safe as well. If you use any ciphering or coding tools please remove passwords and switch it off, because in other way after update the card might be inaccessible. To be sure about the card I simply removed it from the phone before running NSU tool.
Please take care about a computer using for software update as well. Use only build-in USB ports, instead of those in docking stations or hubs. If you are using laptop make use it’s battery is fully enough to support whole process. Be aware of stability of your system too! It is wise to close all applications which could make system crash during updating your phone.
How to behave during the process?
Be patient and don’t panic! As NSU suggests do not interrupt the process by disconnecting phone from your computer or closing application. As I said it might happen that the NSU downloading process will be interrupted. Simply please try again.
It is no longer my phone!
Right, after successful update process your phone will be as new as taken out of the box. No contacts, photos, or applications. The fastest way to restore it is to use memory card with a copy done before. Use path: Tools > Memory > Options > Restore from card. Few minutes and it is done! Most of your information and applications installed in phone memory should be back. It may happen that some of them disappear or won’t be running properly. Just reinstall those apps, some of them might ask for serial number again.
What if something went wrong? It just happens, so please do not panic, don’t blame yourself and contact your local Nokia Care Center for assistance.
Official Retail Price: RM1799 (Original Distributor: Zitron, Avaxx, Sapura) 1. LYN SELLER (e_trade_pj) His price: rm1250-rm1300 e_trade_pj thread Location: Kelana Jaya Giant Hypermarket, 1st Floor, Giant Hypermarket Electrical Department, (inside the market, not the shoplot) 3° 6' 10" N,101° 35' 53" E (enter this to Google Maps Search) NOKIA KIOSK. 018 2322 130 Open Daily: 10AM to 10PM Putra Heights Giant Hypermarket, 1st Floor, Giant Hypermarket Electrical Department, (inside the market, not the shoplot) 2° 59' 20" N,101° 34' 21" E (enter this to Google Maps Search) NOKIA KIOSK. 018 2322 130 Open Daily: 10AM to 10PM
2. ATLANTIS COMMUNICATION SALES & SERVICES Address 60, Jalan ss2/66, 47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor Tel : 03-7875 4800 Their price:RM1250-RM1300 3. LYN Garage Sales thread LYN Mobile Phone Sales Thread
**Price may vary on different place and time, sorry for unable to update Price up to date. **
Step 2 What In The Box?
Sales package contents • Nokia E71 • Nokia Battery (BP-4L) • Nokia Charger (AC-5) • Nokia Connectivity Cable (CA-101) • Nokia Headset (HS-47) • Nokia Eseries Lanyard • Nokia Eseries Pouch • User Guide, Quick Start Guide and other documentation • 2GB microSD depending on market/channel
Step 3 What To Do When Buying?
(I) *#92702689# = LIFETIMER MAKE SURE ITS 000000:00 (II) *#06# = PHONE IMEI MAKE SURE ITS THE SAME WITH THE BOX (III) *#0000# = FIRMWARE MAKE SURE ITS UP TO DATE (IV) Check the screen for dead pixel by changing the screen to 1 colour. (V) Check for any physical or tempted damage on the phone body (VI) Check for light leakage on top of the keypad (not really a big problem but if it bug u.. ask them to kao tim la) bt if u wanna DIY.. JUS LOCK UR KEYPAD AND HOLD IT WITH TWO OF UR THUMB ON D KEYPAD AND PUSH IT UPWARD..AND IT IS FIXED.. light leakage b4 fixed:
light leakage after fixed:
Step 4 Check out their accessories maybe you can get a bundle price for it
Step 5 Congratulations you now own a GREY or WHITE or BLACK E71
Changes made from version 5.00.30 to 5.00.40: Provide location format selection for coordinates. Correct picture viewer to show multiple photos in Travel Guide. Changes made from version 5.00.20 to 5.00.30: Provide support for Nokia 5800 (S60 touch screen). Provide a background service that monitors incoming messages which may contain information used by Garmin Mobile XT. A new setting will allow the user to turn this option off (Tools -> Settings -> System -> Launch Background Service). Improve map drawing performance.
Changes made from version 5.00.00 to 5.00.20: Provide support for Samsung INNOV8 (i8510). Change default vehicle icon to blue car. Correct an application shutdown when frequently recalculating a route. Correct the displayed speed limit value for some specific roads. Correct the blank green screen displayed when switching to the map page. Improve the layout of the Local Search capability. Improve the layout of the map page for the Nokia E90 screen size.
Changes made from version 4.xx.xx to 5.00.00: Update the look and feel of the Garmin Mobile XT application. Add new Garmin Online feature - Google Local Search. Add new Garmin Online feature - Panoramio Photos. Add new Garmin Online feature - Flight Status. Add Speed Limit display to the View Map. Add ability to install and display custom vehicle icons. Modify 'Peerpoints' feature name to 'Location Message'.
Tips and Trick
E-mail and messaging[
Set up your e-mail
With the e-mail wizard, you can set up different types of e-mail accounts:
* business e-mail (Microsoft Outlook or Exchange) * internet e-mail (such as Gmail)
1. To start the wizard, go to the home screen, scroll to the e-mail wizard, and press the scroll key. 2. Enter your e-mail address and password.
Write smartly
When writing a text message, e-mail, note etc., these tips may help you:
* Your device has an Intelligent Input with auto completing, auto correction and learning capability. Keeping that feature on can save you time in typing. Turn the predictive text input on by pressing the function key and spacebar, and select Predictive input > On. * While writing to insert a number, just simply keep the key pressed for a few seconds, or you can either press Fn + desired numer at the same time, press Fn and the desired numer right after it, or press Fn two times and then type as meny numers as you want. Pressing Fn again changes the mode back to normal. * If you want to copy text, press and hold Shift. Select the area with the scroll key and press Copy. Pressing and holding the Shift key again brings you the Paste option.
Unable to open multimedia message?
If you receive multimedia messages that contain objects not supported by your device, you cannot open them. Try to send these objects to another device, such as a computer, and open them there. Switch between e-mail folders
To open another e-mail folder or account, scroll left to highlight Inbox, and press the scroll key. Scroll to the desired folder or account and press the scroll key. Organize messages
To create a new folder to organize your messages, select My folders > Options > New folder. To move a message to another folder, select Options > Move to folder, select which folder, and then OK.
To sort messages in a specific order, select Options > Sort by. You can sort the messages by Date, Sender, Subject, or Message type.
GPS and maps
Download maps
Nokia Map Loader is PC software that you can use to download and install maps from the internet to your device or a compatible memory card (if inserted).To use Nokia Map Loader, you must first install it to a compatible PC. You can download the PC software from the internet at www.nokia.com/maps. Check satellite signal status
To check how many satellites your device found and whether your device is receiving satellite signals, select Menu > GPS > GPS data > Position > Options > Satellite status. Landmarks
Landmarks are coordinates to geographic locations that you can save to your device for later use in different location-based services (network service). To create a landmark, select Options > New landmark. Current position makes a network request for the latitude and longitude coordinates, Use map selects the location from a map, and Enter manually is for filling in necessary location information manually. To show the landmark on the map, select Options > Show on map. Nokia Maps
With Maps, you can see your current location on the map, browse maps for different cities and countries, search for addresses and different points of interest, plan routes from one location to another, and save locations as landmarks and send them to compatible devices. Select Menu > GPS > Maps.
Mobile browsing
Be notified of hot broadcast messages
With the cell broadcast network service, you can receive messages on various topics from your service provider, such as weather or traffic conditions in a particular region. To receive cell broadcast messages, you may need to activate the cell broadcast reception on. Select Options > Settings > Cell broadcast > Reception > On.
You can set important topics as hot topics. While the device is in standby mode, you are notified when you receive a message related to a hot topic. Select a topic, and select Options > Hotmark. Searching a podcast?
Search helps you find podcasts by keyword or title. The search engine uses the podcast search service you set up in Media > Podcasting > Options > Settings > Connection > Search service URL.
To search for podcasts, select Search, and enter the desired keywords. Search looks for podcast titles and keywords in descriptions, not specific episodes. General topics, such as football or hip-hop, usually give better results than a specific team or artist. Browse the web
To browse the web, select a bookmark or enter the web address manually, and select Go to. When you start to enter the address, the addresses of the pages you have previously visited that match your input are displayed. To open a page, scroll to its address, and press the scroll key.
You can also browse your company intranet safely thanks to the inbuilt mobile VPN. Clear the cache memory
To empty the cache memory, select Options > Clear privacy data > Clear cache. Feeds and blogs
Feeds usually contain headlines and articles, often about recent news or other topics. A blog, short for weblog, is a continuously updated web diary.
Select Menu > Web > Web feeds. To download a feed or blog, scroll to it, and press the scroll key.
Tips for safer use
Set remote lock option
If your phone is stolen or gets lost, you can lock it (and the memory card) remotely by sending a lock code via SMS.
To enable remote locking and to define the text for the message, select Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Security > Phone and SIM card > Allow remote lock > Yes. Enter the remote lock message and confirm the message. The message must be at least 5 characters long. Keypad lock
Use the keypad lock (keyguard) to prevent the keys on the phone from being pressed accidentally. To lock the keypad, first press the left selection key and then the Fn key. To unlock the keypad, repeat the same sequence. Prevent unauthorized use
You can enhance security by locking your device. Select Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Security > Phone and SIM card > Lock code and create a 5-digit lock code. Be sure to memorize it. To lock the phone, press the Power key briefly, select Lock phone, and enter the code. To unlock your phone, you will need to enter the code again. Back up memory card
To back up information from the phone memory to a compatible memory card, select Menu > Tools > Memory. Then select Options > Back up phone memory. The phone notifies you if the memory card does not have enough free space to create a back up. To restore the backed up information, select Options > Restore from card. Memory card security
You can protect a memory card with a password to prevent unauthorized access. To set a password, select Menu > Tools > Memory > Options > Set password. The password can be up to 8 characters long and is case-sensitive. The password is stored in your device. You do not need to enter it again when using the memory card on the same device. If you use the memory card on another device, you are asked for the password. Keep your information safe with encrypting
You can encrypt your device memory and microSD card to prevent outsiders from accessing your important information. As default, the encryption is off, but you can choose to turn it on. If you have encrypted your device or memory card, remember to decrypt it before flashing new software to avoid possible data loss.
To encrypt device memory, select Phone memory or to encrypt memory card, select Memory card, and from the following:
* Encrypt without saving key – Encrypt the memory card without saving the encryption key. This means that you cannot use the memory card in other devices, and if you restore factory settings in your device, you cannot decrypt the memory card. * Encrypt and save key – The encryption key is manually saved in the default folder. Remember to store the key to a safe place outside the device. For example, send the key to your computer. Enter a pass phrase for the key and a name for the key file. The pass phrase should be long and complex. * Encrypt with restored key – Encrypt the memory card with a key you have received. Select the key file, and enter the pass phrase.
Note that encrypting of 8GB microSD may take upto 1h 45 minutes.
Tips for smarter use
Home screen
From the home screen, you can quickly access the features you use the most, and see at a glance any missed calls or new messages. You can define two separate home screens for different purposes, such as one screen to show your business e-mail and notifications, and another to show your personal e-mail.
To access the home screen, press the home key briefly. To change from one home screen to another, scroll to Switch mode and press the scroll key.
To learn more about personalizing your home screen, see the demo Personalize home screen. Personalize your device
You can personalize your device to fit your mood. To change the display settings, tones, themes, language, one-touch keys etc, select Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Personalisation. Free memory
To see how much memory is currently in use, how much free memory remains and how much memory different data types consume, select Menu > Options > Memory details > Phone memory or Memory card. Update software
Nokia may produce software updates that offer new features, enhanced functions, or improved performance. To get more information and to download the Nokia Software Updater application, visit www.nokia.com/softwareupdate or your local Nokia website.
To check the software version in your device, enter *#0000# in the home screen.
If you have encrypted your device or memory card, decrypt it before the software update to avoid possible data loss. Please note that decrypting a microSD of 8GB can take up to 1h 45 minutes.
E71 Battery Tips
1. Set your Network Mode to GSM Mode when not using 3g. When your running low on battery life, or you don't get a 3g connection in your area, improve your battery life by changing your network mode to GSM only. 3g is best for internet use and is the best way to go for voice as well, but GSM ain't that bad for voice. If I'm not planning on using the internet and I'm running low on battery, I'd shut 3g off. This will stop your phone from searching constantly for a 3g signal that might not even exist in your area or be spotty.
2. Change Your Screen Display Settings. These Nokia handsets already have bright and beautiful screens. There's no need to keep the light set to the brightest possible setting when your trying to be battery consious. That will drain your battery fast! Then again, I don't like my screen dim and dull either. I set mine to the setting right below the highest. It keeps the screen bright and sharp, and does a lot to save on battery life.
Also, set your light time-out to something lower like 30 seconds. You'd be surprised at how much an extra 20 seconds at a time can drain your battery. Say you touch your phone 200 times throughout the day. Thats an extra 40 minutes your backlight is on if you keep at 60 seconds, as apposed to 40 seconds.
And when your on that very last bar, just suck it up and turn your brightness all the way down. It should add a good deal of time to the small amound of life you have left.
3. Don't Leave Applications Running When Unused. Keeping applications open in the background when your not using them can be costly to your battery. A lot of times, new S60 owners don't know that if you don't properly close out of the application, it will just get minimized to the background. Hold down the Home/Menu button for 3 seconds to pull up your task manager.
4. Turn Off WLAN Scanning if your not using it. If you don't turn this off, your phone will always be searching for a hotspot and waste battery life. It's just not necessary unless your near a known hotspot browsing the web.
5. Don't use your bluetooth headset if you absolutely don't have to. Alot of people use bluetooth constantly, but this will really get your battery working. After the work day is over and you end up hitting the bars, leave your bluetooth in the car and do your best to conserve your E71 battery. It really sucks when you don't have a car charger. Source
Upgraded to a newer firmware but my battery life drop
According to our thread members, most of the version 300 firmware user lasted about 1-2 days under heavy to medium usage, while version 200 and below firmware lasted them 2-5 days under medium to heavy usage.. although this is down to each person, on how they use their set. for example me, i m still at version 200. but my battery only lasted me d most 1.5 days, y? edge surfing all day long, garmin usage most of the day, but some user able to achieve more than i do, y? as they r light user, smsing, and calls most of d times will enable ur E71 to last more than 2 days easily provided u r on gsm or utms only (strong 3g signal area). wifi, gps, edge will surely eat into ur battery life.. so makin through d days jus barely, from my experience, maximum gps usage b4 a full charge e71 battery go flat is 6-7 hour, maximum edge usage is 8-9 hour<--(i m not talking email retrieving, more toward web surfing), wifi surfing 4-5 hour or more, as i have never tried it yet.. so what to do to get the most out of ur bp-4l 1500 mAh battery? 1) Switch to gsm only if u r not a 3g user or not on 3g coverage area 2) Garmin version upgrade to version 5.04 and above and disable the background service
disabled the background services install jbaktaskman and kill d tsrautostart.exe if after ur garmin usage it is still there.
3) Install nokia energy profiler (NEP) to enable u to track ur energy usage and c wat is draining ur battery;
The above picture show my battery capacity at 1409mAh <-- ap set battery The above pic show my current usage which is bluetooth, opera mini, screenshot at 0.18w--> will last me 30 hour<--1day 6hour
(i) wat is NEP? - it enable u to c ur battery real capacity (some battery have capacity issue hence less life) - it enable u to c under ur current usage how long ur battery able to last - it enable u to plan ur usage toward ur battery level..etc lah.. 4) If u are a AP set highly advice u to install NEP to check ur battery capacity as some user have reported battery capacity only showing 600mAh short battery life and faulty battery level readings 5) Check ur battery connection area (the golden copper ) some battery (mine) hav this issue, found out myself my copper plat is not at it perfect position hence battery life also will drop. 6) Do a soft reset or better a hard reset after ur firmware update 7) Problem still persist: go to ur nearest NOKIA centre and get ur set fixed.
How To Lock Down Your Personal Information Remotely
One of the concerns that I hear repeated often is, ‘What happens if someone finds or steals my phone?’ The concern is definitely valid – we store all sorts of confidential information on our phones, and if someone were to gain access to our phones, they would likely have more information than we would like them to have. No worries, though, the Nokia E71 provides a built-in feature to remotely lock down the device, so that prying eyes cannot access your contacts, calendar, or anything else.
To set this up, you’ll need to go into the Tools folder, and open Settings. From there, open ‘General’, and scroll down to ‘Security’. Click once more to open ‘Phone and SIM card’, and scroll down to ‘Allow remote lock’. When you change this to ‘Yes’, you’ll be asked a series of questions:
First, you’ll need to specify a secret message. This is a word that you will send to your phone, from another phone, in the case that it’s stolen. This should be something unique, that you will remember. You will then be asked to re-enter the same word, for verification.
After that, you will be asked to enter the 5-digit security code (which is 12345). You can change this to a new, custom security code by choosing ‘Lock Code’ above the ‘Allow Remote Lock’ field. This can be any number, and will be the only way to unlock the device, so don’t pick anything obvious, such as 12345 or something. If the thief can guess it, then it was useless.
Once setup is complete, you are secure. In the case that your phone is lost or stolen, simply send an SMS from any phone to your phone, with your secret word in it to lock the phone down. Whoever has your phone will be unable to do *anything* on the phone until they have correctly entered the 5 digit security code to unlock the phone. This code will also be required if they power the phone off, or change the SIM card – there’s no way for them to get around it, so your information is safe. Of course, this does not help you get your phone back, but at least your private information will be safe.
How To: Avoid Application And Theme Installation Issues
So, we’ve shown you a handful of fun themes for your new E71, and highlighted a few applications here and there. However, alot of you are reporting issues with installation, so I figured it would be good to put together a walkthrough of sorts. First, the basics – your Nokia E71 is using S60 3rd Edition, Feature Pack 1. You may also see this written as S60v3 FP1 in some places. This means you can install and use any application written for S60 3rd Edition. These themes and applications usually end with ‘.sisx’ or just ‘.sis’, and can be found all over the internet. My favorite place to get applications, though, is the S60.com website, which has a great Applications directory. To install these applications and themes, you can simply Bluetooth the file to yourself, or store it on your phone’s memory card, and use the File Explorer application to navigate to the file, and simply click on it to open. Installation will start immediately, and you’re all set! But wait, what if you get an error? There are 2 reasons you may get an error, with 2 very simple solutions. The first is if your phone is set to restrict the types of applications that can be installed, and the other has to do with the certificate used to sign the application or, more frequently, the theme. The first thing you should check is to make sure that your phone is set to allow any application to be installed. To do this, you can go into your Installations folder, and open the ‘App Manager’. Now press your left softkey to open the Options menu, and arrow down to ‘Settings’. It’s completely safe for you to change the first option (Software Installation) to ‘All’, instead of ‘Signed Only’. Once you have done this, try to install the application or theme again. If you are still having issues, it could be due to the expiration date of the certificate used to sign the theme or application. To resolve this, simply go into your Settings and change the date of your phone to 2007. Now, proceed with the installation again, and don’t forget to change your clock back when you’re done! You should now be able to install nearly any application or theme on your phone without any issues, as long as it is a signed application.
HOW TO PLAY QUAKE ON E71
Most of you are probably rather disappointed with the gaming on your Nokia E71. Since it’s not supported by N-Gage, and the landscape screen orientation makes finding good java games slightly difficult, I thought you’d be rather excited to find out that Quake is now available for your Nokia E71! That’s right, the age-old classic indeed runs on the Nokia E71, as you can see in this video below.
Do you use video ringtones on your E71? I admit I haven’t used it so far. One of blog readers sent me a link to his video ringtone based on Metal Solid Gear theme. If you are interested in check it on You Tube.
If you like it you can download one of versions: 320×240 3GP file , or 320×183 3GP file optimized for SkyCaller Pro application as the author said. I’m curious how many users of E71 are using pictures attached to phonebook contacts (I do) or video ringtones?
Reasonable dealing with data transmission on E71
E71fanatics.com blog analyzing how much data the use of A-GPS with Nokia E71 is consuming. Some time ago I was also afraid about the amount of data transferred when the phone is communicating with base stations to accelerate fixing my GPS position. As we all now know from the mentioned post, it is not so bad. But what if you don’t have a flat data rate, or you have only a small data package available, like 50 megabytes monthly? If you start A-GPS (for example by using application like Nokia Maps) it will consume less than 10 kilobytes and your phone will finish packet data connection. Nevertheless, you will pay for a whole data billing unit, which could be 50, 100 or even 500 kilobytes, depending on your operator rates. How to avoid it?The solution is really, really simple. After waking up (YES, I turn off my phone when I sleep, weird isn’t it?) I simply start native Nokia web browser (by long pressing 0 key) and I connect to GPRS/EDGE or 3G data domain using standard GPRS access point (called APN, in my case it is ‘Era Internet’). When I finish morning browsing, I simply hide browser by pressing Home key. What happens? The connection is maintained, but almost no transmission is done, because a web page is already fully loaded. Now let’s imagine you want to check your e-mail account, or use Nokia Maps (which is using A-GPS). When the chosen application starts, it asks you to choose an APN to be used for this software. Now choose the same, which was used for the native browser. What will happen? Data session opened for the browser will be activated, but within the same billing unit. Leave the application, leaving browser still working in a background and voila! You have found a very saving way to use data transmission. My experience shows that doing it in such a way I can check my email several times during a day, plus use A-GPS, browser, or IMs and all those actions could be done without exceeding 500 kilobytes.Now an obvious question may come to your mind. Does it have impact on battery uptime? The answer is yes, but very moderate. In comparison, this effect is much smaller than in case of push mail application using packet transmission more often. Of course if you use a flat rate it does not make sense to act this way, but for more economic usage of data transmission, Symbian S60 proves to have a really good, helpful connection manager. I’m very curious if you have any other way to save your phone bill?
How to Setup Email on your E71
How to setup Email on your E71 (Gmail, Yahoo Mail, Hotmail etc.) : email setup How to setup Email on your E71 (Microsoft Exchange) : email setup
Problems With Nokia Messaging? Try These Troubleshooting Tips
Nokia released an update to their Nokia Messaging application (email.nokia.com), bringing support for Windows Live Hotmail and HTML email to S60 Nokia devices. I got my hands on the pre-release version of Nokia Messaging for the 5800 if you're interested in seeing the screenshots. It's still a little buggy but it's coming along nicely.
Even with these announced updates to Nokia Messaging many people are still having problems getting their email set up properly. Check out the follow tips from the Nokia Messaging team... Trouble Logging In If you're having trouble logging in, remember that your Nokia Messaging username and password are the same as the email address and email address password that you used to sign up for Nokia Messaging with. Setting Up IMAP Folders In order to sync your IMAP subfolders, Log into your account on email.nokia.com, and select the Edit settings link next to an email address for which you would like to sync additional folders.
Where To Get Nokia Messaging Depending on the model and/or firmware version of your Nokia device, you may have Nokia Messaging preloaded on your device. If you are in a country where Nokia Messaging is available, the E-Mail setup application on your phone will setup your email address within Nokia Messaging. As an alternative, you can sign up for Nokia Messaging at email.nokia.com. You can also download it from your mobile browser. Problems Syncing Check the "sync while roaming" setting if you are experiencing connection problems. HTML Support Nokia Messaging handles rich formatted text and lighter HTML-formatted emails very well. Within some larger messages, you may notice some irregular scrolling and selecting behavior.
We will continue to work on improving HTML rendering in the future. How To Edit Advanced Settings Of Nokia Messaging You can now edit your email settings: while signing up for a Nokia Messaging account, you are now able to include the outgoing mail server as part of advanced settings. Users with a Nokia Messaging account are now able to edit their email server settings from the My Account page.
This will be helpful if you are experiencing difficulty sending or receiving emails, or feel like your email provider settings were not discovered correctly. Personally I haven't had any problems with Gmail or Mail on Ovi accounts in the past few weeks. But from reading many comments around the internet like these from E71Fanatics.com it seems like it's a hit or miss. For more discussion and troubleshooting help you can visit the Nokia Support Forums. Hope this helps everybody out!
How To Remove Scratches From Your Screen and Camera Lens Cover
How to install Ovi Store on the Nokia E71
How To Add Unicode Fonts to Symbian
If you are like me, who got a Nokia E71 with only English but wants to view contents in other languages - e.g. Chinese, Japanese, Korean (CJK), Russian, Hindi, etc. then you will be in a bit of strife.
According to Nokia forum, there is no way that you can install an extra language package on Nokia. You'd have to go to Nokia Care to have them install it for you, for a fee!
Fortunately, the Symbian guru oasisfeng has created a wonderful software called FontRouter. The latest incarnation of the software is the FontRouter LT.
Also download the TrueType font from the same web site: 【TrueType】方正隶变 GBK字体. This contains all the CJK characters(should contain other european characters too). Note that I tried using other Chinese TrueType fonts and my handset failed to start. So experiment with other .ttf files only after you have successfully installed and tested with this one. I am currently using the 方正准圆(FZY3JW.TTF) which is a Chinese true type font and its English characters are very close to the original font on my Nokia E71. There is also a MOD (FZY3JW.TTF) contribute by sc4bbk
Step 2 - Signing the Software
Symbian is pretty rigorous when it comes to security. Software needs to be digitally signed before installing onto the phone. You can try installing the .sis file just as it is and your phone will reject it and complain that the digital certificate/signature is invalid or something of that nature. To sign the file you just downloaded, you will have to go to www.symbiansigned.com. On its front page, there is a URL for openSignedOnline (Beta). Click this URL and fill in the form on the following page. Note:
* The IMEI number uniquely identifies your handset (e.g. if your phone is stolen, you can report it to the carrier and they can bar the IMEI from the network so that the thief cannot use it). You can find it out by 'dialing' *#06# * Email - make sure you use a valid email address because you will need to retrieve email from Symbian to carry out the next steps. * The Application is the .sis file you just downloaded from FontRuter.
Upon successful submission of the form, Symbian will send you an email with a URL to confirm the submission. Click it.
Then Symbian will send you another email with a URL to download the signed version of the .sis file. Just click the URL and save the file.
Step 3 - Installation
Now you can install the signed version of the software that you just downloaded from Symbian using PC Suite. Make sure you install it on the Memory Card, NOT on the Phone Memory (otherwise, if it hangs your handset, you will not be able to bring your phone back to life). During installation, it will warn you that your phone is incompatible with the software, just ignore it and continue.
Then copy the fzlb_gbk.ttf file downloaded in Step 1 into the Memory Card's \data\Fonts directory. You will notice that the file FontRouter.ini has also been created in this directory by the software installation process.
Now it is time to modify the FontRouter.ini file. You can use the Windows Nodepad to edit a copy of the file and then copy it onto the handset using PC Suite. Modify the two lines of the .ini file as following:
FixFontMetrics=0 FixCharMetrics=0
changed the values from 0 to 1 like this:
FixFontMetrics=1 FixCharMetrics=1
and leave everything else the same. If you don't make the changes, the fonts will be curtailed either from the top or bottom.
That's it. Phew! Now it's time to test it - bounce the phone (i.e. switch it off then on). Euphoria!
HAving Untrusted software found in memory card msg pop during restarting phone???
ok guys. this is the solution if u have this msg popup "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager"
SOLUTION:
Delete the entire folder of 10202DCE. (e:\private\10202DCE)
The msg popup will never happen again.
But it didn't solve my email problem.
If u have the same email problem like mine (email notification missing from homescreen)
all u gotta do (if u use gmail) is to ARCHIVE YOUR OLD MAILS. apparently the E71 stop recognising when there are too many mails in the inbox.
once done, restart ur phone and retrieve all new emails. VIOLA! DONE! Email notification is back in your homescreen! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
credit to tchiaming
Sync your outlook calendar to your E71 using Google calendar
for those of you who would like to sync your outlook calendar to your E71 but can't, due to company policies which does not allow your E71 to connect to your company's exchange server. No worries!! because i've found a way to overcome it smile.gif
Things that you need: 1. Gmail/Google calendar account 2. Google calendar sync application installed in your laptop that you use for outlook 3. E71 with MfE installed
In a nut shell, how it works is that the Google calendar application will sync your outlook calendar from your laptop to your google calendar account. you then create a MfE profile in your E71 to sync with your Google calendar. Presto...you're all set smile.gif
Normally when tap the keypad in home screen display. It will appear my contacts. But now the contacts did not appear in my screen when i tapped the keypad. so what shall i do?? 1. press X( any button on the qwerty pad also can) 2. press left softkey (option) 3. u know what to do
credit to uan
How to copy and paste in opera min 5 and above??
To copy , long press the centre d-pad , select text , press start and select ur text ,long press centre d-pad again to paste d selected text or by jus pressing R/1 button which will also enable u to open new tab. I find pressing R button easier.. Lol..
Dont Hav unlimited internet plan? use wifi most of the time?
Your Ovi store, facebook app, connect automatically to ur 3G/EDGE connection? and u fear for the hefty money u gonna pay for data? so here wat u do--> press menu>web>option>setting>general>access point>always asked DONE!!! u r good to go, now each time u surf it will ask u to define the access point hence u can choose ur free access point lor.. if u surf most of the time on opera min/mobile, menu>installation>app manager>opera min/mobile> access point-->none> allowed access-->always ask... to those who hav unlimited internet access .. jus follow the instruction above, and define ur 3G/EDGE connection as default access point and set the allow access to always allowed
Having a clone icon in ur phone which point to no where?
some icon in ur installations folder that cant be removed? fear no more... and example case by our fellow forumer: check at jb taskman there is some info:
Rayman Raving Rabbids TV Party UID: 0x10190e1f Path: C:\20070077471.fakeapp
the fakeapp part is something to look about. i'll continue google-ing.
Added on February 27, 2010, 7:13 pmgoogle is your friend!
1. Best TaskMan also shows UID for installed applications. You need it (save somewhere characters after "0x"). 2. Connect your phone to PC in data transfer mode and then navigate to \Private\10003a3f\import\apps\NonNative\Resource folder on your memory card. File <UID>_loc.rsc contains the name of MBM file in the same folder that should be removed. Then remove <UID>_loc.rsc and <UID>_reg.rsc files.
The icon of "Opera Mini" should disappear from installed applications menu.
As you all know I am a huge fan of the Nokia E71 and primarily just pop the devices in my pants and shirt pockets. With their slim form factor and stainless steel casing I have not yet had any issue with damage and wasn’t really looking for any type of case. I then saw one of my favorite case makers, OtterBox, announce the Nokia E71 Impact Case. After using it for a week on my E7. I have to say this is a very nice silicone case that gives you some decent bump and shock protection, along with another nice surprise I was not expecting. In the box The OtterBox E71 Impact Case comes in a clear plastic container with some OtterBox black and yellow colored materials listing the features and directions for using the case. Thankfully it is not one of those impossible to open plastic containers either and is actually simply to separate into two halves. There is a thin piece of cardboard in the shape of the E71 inside the silicone case. I took the case out and then pulled out the written materials. I was surprised to find that there was also a screen protector inside the package, along with a installation card and small cleaning cloth. I had actually been looking for a screen protector to keep the display scratch-free while it is stored in my pocket. Case features The case is made of black soft silicone material that feels great in your hand. The silicone is textured on the sides and around part of the back. The words OtterBox are embedded on the back center of the case. There are opening for the camera and flash, microSD and microUSB slots, speaker, charging port, microphone, 2.5mm headset jack and infrared port. There are clearly identified areas stamped into the silicone for the power button, volume buttons, and Push to Talk center button. I found pressing these areas easily performed the action intended by pressing the button. The entire front is open so you can view the display and use the keyboard without any hindrance. The case measures 4.61 inches x 2.44 inches x 0.68 inch and weighs just 0.79 ounces. Using the case The malleable silicone case is very easy to put on the Nokia E71 as you simply place either the top or bottom of the E71 into the case and then pull up the other end over the end of the E71. The case is held on the E71 by just over 1/2 inch on each end of the device, down to the top of the display and up to the bottom of the keyboard. The screen protector has two pieces of protective film with sticker tabs on each side that you can easily remove to mount the protector. The screen protector is easy to place on the display, uses self-adhesive, and is made of durable plastic that seems to do a great job at protecting the display. I was still able to pop the E71 in my pants and shirt pockets with the case, but felt a bit better setting the E71 down on the table since I knew it would not slide around and would be protected a bit from bumps. The case adds very little to the E71 so you don’t have to sacrifice size much to get some protection. There is no belt clip for this case, but I moved away from using belt clip cases just over a year ago and instead put my devices in my pockets or in my gear bag instead so I am not holding this against any case I try out. If you are looking for a good silicone case, this is one of the best I have tried with reasonably thick silicone that feels very durable. I like the textured pieces that seem to give you a better grip on your device too. The screen protector is a nice addition to the package that gives you some front protection. I highly recommend E71 owners give this case a try if they are looking for some type of protection at a reasonable price. Price and availability The Nokia E71 Impact Case is sold through the OtterBox website:HERE for $19.95. It comes only in black, which matches the E71 perfectly. Their cases have a one year limited warranty against defects.
BLACK Transparent Soft Hard Case Cover Nokia E71(Epikcase by DCMUGEN)
Introducing the newest style in cases. We take the advantages and benefits of your traditional soft silicone case and hard crystal case and we fuse it together with the latest manufacturing technology to create the transparent resin soft case. The transparent resin soft case maintains the high visual transparency found on crystal cases and combines the flexibility and toughness found on silicone cases. With its unique embedded pattern and a wide selection of colors to choose from you can change up the case according to your mood or occasion. The transparent resin soft case is perfect for protecting your device and making it look stylish and modern. It's slim fit design is custom designed to your device, allowing it to fit like a glove while you maintain access to all buttons and ports of your device.
FEATURES • New High Quality Premium Transparent Resin Soft Case • High Visual Transparency with unique patterns found on every model • Durable, Flexible and Tough - Can be freely twisted and bent but will never be out of shape • Protection Proof - Against grease, cracks, scratches, abrasions, dust • Odorless Materials- Your transparent resin case does not come with a plastic silicone odor commonly found on many other cases. • Skidproof - Smooth anti-slip grip will give you the feel of added protection in your hands • Perfect Fit - Smart and intelligent design means your transparent resin case is customized to fit your device perfectly while giving you access all phone functions • Full Protection - Slim transparent resin cases covers your whole device plus we give you a free screen protector to protect your screen as well • Many more colors available - CLICK HERE
APPLIED MODEL:NOKIA E71 PACKAGE CONTENTS 1 - BLACK COLOR CASE 1 - ULTRA CLEAR SCREEN PROTECTOR Availability: Ebay:HEREat us$ 4.99
Nokia Carrying Case CP-220
Nokia Carrying Case CP-220 - Carry with confidence Tailored for your Nokia Eseries device, this simple and elegant, brown leather carrying case protects your device and keeps it within reach when you're on the go with a removable wrist strap.
Nokia Carrying Case CP-265
Nokia Carrying Case CP-265 – Slim & stylish Put a protective outer layer on your device with this multi-compatible polyurethane carrying case. This slim black pouch is efficiently designed to allow access to the headset port, and incorporates a stylish groove-vent revealing the blue super fiber lining.
PDAir leather for E71
PDAir Alu case for E71
A few days ago I received Alu Case for Nokia E71 from PDair.com, so as soon as possible I’m sharing my impressions with you!
The case looks fine, it’s solid, made of well finished metal, with special neoprene lining inside, to prevent phone from scratching, or moving inside the case. It fits the phone almost perfectly and it has holes for all ports, or side buttons plus a plastic glass covering phone screen. The phone’s function keys and QWERTY keyboard are not covered of course. The only functional issue which I have noticed is the access to top function keys as the case’s edge makes it little uncomfortable to reach those keys with you thumb.
You can use the case as it comes or make it wearable on your belt. You can use a special belt clip and mount it with a screw, which you can attach to the case. The mount mechanism works fine, the clip is holding belt well, it’s possible to rotate the phone around the mount, and to remove only if you press special button.
Unfortunately, the case is made of aluminum and as several-day-long test proved that the phone is loosing two or three bars of its signal indicator because the metal covering is screening network’s radio waves. It happens for both 2G and 3G modes. As a result it was difficult or even impossible to make or receive phone calls in places with poor network coverage. It also has huge impact on GPS functionality, as satellite signal is much weaker than mobile network waves. The conclusion is that the case will for sure make your phone safer but it can also make calling less comfortable. Moreover, the case screening feature probably increases phone’s power consumption and shortens battery life.
Please check Alu Case photo review on flickr in here
Recommended software(s) 1. Garmin Mobile XT 2. Fring 3. Google Maps 4. Opera Mini 5. Yahoo! Go 6. Slick (as suggested by cry4freedom) 7. Nimbuzz (as suggested by wai57) 8. Buddy Cloud (Join us @ Lowyat Hangout) 9. JBarkTaskManager 10. Magic Key(as suggested by uan) 11. Kill Me (task managers) 12. Camera FX (can be used to take picture using the front camera) 13. Skyfire (Web Browser) 14. Turn Off Camera Sound 15. Ebuddy 16. Smartmovie 4.01 17. Nokia Energy Profiler
FreeTimeBox Adds Time To Your E71
One of the benefits of S60 3rd Edition, Feature Pack 2 on the Nokia E71x for AT&T is that there is a clock shown on nearly every single screen of the phone. This is definitely handy, as you can always quickly see what time it is, and something that’s missing on our E71, with just S60 3rd Edition, Feature Pack 1. Never fear, our friends at E71Fanatics have found the solution with FreeTimeBox, a fully-signed application from the developer of Free-iSMS that adds this time to your menus, and lets you customize it, too! As you can see below, you can adjust the location of the clock, so that it doesn’t get in the way of other labels on your phone. You can also synchronize this clock with your device’s clock, or you can use Internet Time to get it just right, if you want. FreeTimeBox can be set to automatically load when you turn your phone on, and can also conveniently be hid from the task manager, so that you don’t accidentally close it. You can change the font used, as well as the size and color, along with a host of other options. The best thing, though, is that you can also specify whether or not this clock shows up in specific applications. If you want to disable it only in the Web Browser, you can easily do that, or you can set other 3rd party applications. This is easily one of the best freewares for the E71, currently. DOWNLOAD HERE
Nokia Updates Photo Browser For The E71
Recently, Nokia launched a new photo browsing application, simply called Nokia Photo Browser, for its touchscreen smartphones, like the 5800 XpressMusic and the upcoming N97. However, yesterday, they updated the application for non-touchscreen smartphones, such as our favorite E71! The Nokia Photo Browser makes it much easier and faster to browse through your photos by presenting them in a flowing grid layout. You can use the d-pad to manuever through the grind, and then click to zoom in on a specific image. The left softkey brings up the options menu, including the face tracking feature. Face tracking is useful if you have a photo with several faces, you can scroll through the faces individually, with the software automatically zooming in on each face. The right softkey exits the application. You can download Nokia Photo Browser: HERE for the E71 straight from the Beta Labs. Here’s a video of the application as it looks on the 5800 XpressMusic:
PhoNetInfo Gives All Your E71 Information In One Place
If you’re looking for a great utility application for the Nokia E71 then PhoneNetInfo should be on your list. It’s a very simple application that gives you all the numbers, specs, and info about your E71. Best of all, it’s free. Details: PhoNetInfo retrieves detailed phone and network information such as firmware version; IMSI; IMEI; SIM card and battery status; WLAN IP, MAC, MTU and speed, bluetooth MAC and device class; network mode, name, signal strength, (cell) ID and country code; CPU speed, type and architecture; RAM and ROM; running tasks; MMC & SD Card; supported camera formats, etc. Thanks to the developer Patrick Frei for making such a useful application. One great use is the “copy to clipboard” function. It comes in handy when I need to send someone my IMEI number via text message or email from my E71. I also love how it gives me the battery level as a percentage. Check out a few screenshots: I didn’t show all the screenshots, just the most important ones. If this application is extremely valuable to you please consider leaving the developer a small donation. I know many of you will ask if this works on the Nokia E71. I’m not 100% sure, but I assume it will. Maybe one of you can verify for us. Download The basic version is already signed and can be installed straight away. A more advanced version is unsigned. Personally the basic version is enough for me, and that’s the version I used for these screenshots. Click HERE to visit the download page
How To Take A Screenshot On The Nokia E71
Here is one I haven’t covered. Many Nokia E71 and E71x users have asked me how I take my screenshots for the articles here at the blog. It’s quite simple actually thanks to a very kind Symbian developer named Antony. Why Take A Screenshot? Maybe you want to show a friend how to do something via email. Maybe you want to post in the E71 forums a screenshot with a problem you might be having or an application review. Download Screenshot By Antony Click HERE to visit his website and download the application. Version 3.01 works just fine even though it isn’t listed. I recommend using the <X backspace key as the shortcut since the E71 doesn’t have a dedicated camera key.
E71 Shortcuts: Create Dozens Of Custom Key Combos To Launch Nearly Any App Or Task
We buy these Nokia smartphones because Symbian is one of the most customizable operating systems right? Well I’m going to show you an E71 AND E71x application that will let you to take it to the next level and create our own custom key combinations to launch anything from applications, files, bookmarks, or even start a sms to a specific contact. I’ve been using this application for a few months now (I know I’m lagging on the review) and it has pretty much transformed the way I use my device. The application is called Cute Keys. It allows you to create keyboard shortcuts that perform specific actions. With Cute Keys you can create shortcuts for following actions: • Open chosen application installed on the mobile • Open selected file or document • Call a certain recipient • Open selected contact from your contact book • Change Bluetooth status • Send SMS/MMS/email to selected recipient • Browse selected website Description: Every shortcut is set of two, three, or even four buttons on your mobile keyboard. Mostly you can use two buttons, one of which is a special button, and the second one is a number button. Mobiles with QWERTY keyboard allow more possibilities; there you can create the shortcuts similar as you do on your PC. There is no limit for the number of shortcuts created, their number is only limited by the hardware. Please note: You can not use two number buttons in one shortcut, you have to use at least one special button or joystick. As you can see in the first screenshot I have a shortcut to my Google application and a few shortcuts to send a text to various contacts. I use the spacebar + any number to launch whatever applications I want. For sms shortcuts I use the @ + any number. Keep in mind it’s not good to use the shift or function keys since we already use those when typing. The great thing about Cute Keys is I can launch whatever task or application I want from any screen. Now I don’t have to dig through the menu or contact list. This can make us extremely efficient. It’s just a matter of memorizing our shortcuts. To make that easier for instance to send an sms to Nick, I made the shortcut @ + 9 which is also @ + N. I suppose I should make all of my shortcuts like that so it’s easier to remember. While Cute Keys is not free, it is worth the $9.99 you have to drop to keep the full version after the 10 day trial period expires. The free 10 day trial period gives you the FULL experience of Cute Keys, nothing is left out. So it can’t hurt to try it right? Click HERE: to learn more about Cute Keys by SymbianGuru Click HERE : to download it directly to your Nokia E71 or E71x
Games for your E71
Clarity is just a click away Nokia Magnifier application utilizes the existing camera functionality on your Nokia S60 phone. It can be used to improve readability in every-day life situations such as reading "fine print". Anyone who has difficulty seeing "fine print" or small objects can benefit from using this application readily available on their S60 phone. Nokia Magnifier has a built in stabilizer to reduce the effects of a shaky hand and negative filter enabling users to switch from light to dark backgrounds improving readability. By using the existing camera technology, users can also snap a picture of the enhanced image for later reference.
With Nokia Location Tagger, you can automatically tag your location data to your pictures. As you take a picture, your GPS coordinates are saved to the EXIF header of the JPEG file. You can use this data later, for example, to locate your pictures on a map. Location tagging functionality has now been productized, and Nokia Location Tagger will not be further developed as standalone application Download:here
Ovi Mail
Email for everyone
Ovi Mail is a consumer email service provided by Nokia that is available on S40 devices and the web.
Ovi Mail webmail uses leading-edge web technology to deliver a simple and intuitive interface and advanced features like drag and drop and a preview inbox widget. You can choose between high and low bandwidth versions to ensure the best possible experience, and with our anti spam and virus protection all your messages stay safe wherever you check email.
Get your free email address from Ovi by Nokia now.
With Ovi Mail you get:
* Your personal, free* email address - you@ovi.com * Convenient mobile email access while on-the-go * Intuitive, simple and elegant web-based interface * Storage of 1GB * Full featured spam and virus protection Download: here
Science or engineering with E71? Yes, try cCalcPro!
Do you need more than just simple math operations? Forget about standard calculating application or carrying with you a scientific calculator. Try cCalcPro – professional and free calculator application, which allows you to access more complicated operations and formulas with E71’ QWERTY keyboard. When active, cCalcPro assigns to all keys function. cCalcPro is available here
Synchronize Pictures Automatically Between PC and Device, Free!
The Nokia E71 has a nice cameras, it has 3.2 Megapixels, Flash and Autofocus, the results and pictures are most of the times very cool and with nice quality, but sometimes you never get those pictures out of your device because lack of time or you just forget. Thats the problem I always had, I take really nice pics with my E71 but then I never transfer them to my PC and ultimately, they always get lost. But Nokia launched a very cool software for the E71 that will avoid that and will make your E71 a better imaging device. It is called Imge Exchange and so far I am loving it, with this application for the E71, you can do more here is how it works. Normally, when you take a picture the device just saves it to the device memory, but with this app your device transfers automatically and immediately all the pictures you take to both your E71 and to your OVI account! And they are synchronized, so when you delete a picture in your E71, the application will delete it on your account too, so with this application you can automatically synchronize the media from your E71 and your PC. With this app you won’t ever loose a picture again because they will be transfered to your OVI profile immediately, with this app you can also comment and see the pictures of your friends and other people. To get this app in your E71 just head over to: here
Connect, charge and go This dual-use cable lets you seamlessly transfer files via a high-speed USB to micro-USB connection as well as use the USB connection to charge your phone via its 2 mm charging connector.
Nokia Display Car Kit CK-600
In car. In sight. In touch. Go handsfree and footloose with a brilliant dashboard screen and easily play your mobile music in the car. dashing display The adjustable full-colour display mounts onto your dashboard, so you can easily see who's calling. keep your contacts close Use the active call management to synchronize your contact details directly with the car kit. your road, your sound Play your mobile music collection through your car's loudspeakers with outstanding audio quality.
Nokia Retractable Car Charger DC-9
Stay connected on the road When on the road, keep your device fully charged with this stylish and practical car charger. The sleek and distinctive design complements the interior of your car, while the retractable cable prevents loose, tangled cords from getting in your way.
Nokia Speakerphone HF-310
FIND THE PERFECT SPOT Position your speakerphone anywhere in your car by using the suction-cup mount, clip mount, or dashboard mount. GET YOUR MESSAGE ACROOSS Keep the conversation going and avoid distracting background noises with the help of digital signal processing (DSP) technology STAY IN CONTROL OF YOUR CALLS Manage your calls with ease and control the volume as you talk with just a touch of the user-friendly keys
Nokia Bluetooth Stereo Headset BH-503
Music to your ears Listen to your favourite music and stay connected to your mobile device with this wireless stereo headset. Enjoy your music Hear your tunes in high-quality stereo sound and easily access your mobile device's music library without missing a call. Comfort meets style Wear the wireless headset comfortably with the convenient over-the-ear design or carry it with the easygoing neckband. Quality in audio Enjoy crisp, high-quality audio so you can listen to your music and take calls in clarity.
Nokia Wireless Keyboard SU-8W
Nokia Wireless Keyboard SU-8W – QWERTY keyboard for your wireless office The Nokia Wireless Keyboard SU-8W is for you if you want a fast and easy way to write email, text messages or notes while you are on the go. With a Nokia Wireless Keyboard SU-8W you can: * increase your productivity by entering text quickly and easily while using your phone's display * forget about wires and cables – the Bluetooth wireless technology allows you to connect to a compatible phone * have it to hand whenever you need it: its foldable and lightweight design makes it convenient to carry * take advantage of the shortcut keys to work even more efficiently * simply use two AAA batteries for power
Difference between ORIGINAL and AP Battery
From the front there isn't much diff. (AP on the left; ORI on the right) From the back u can observed the difference clearly between two of them, the placement of the characters is diff. If u observe closely the pic above the ori hav a shorter copper plating than the ap's , plus d color diff. is also there. On the ori bat. there is holes but on the ap's there ain't any.
I just bought a brand new unlocked E71 Grey steel from someone in Australia. (It is a prepaid phone from Optus, unlocked and sealed)
Here, I've a few questions to ask and I hope the experts here may shed me some light.
1) How can I register for my Nokia Warranty? Is it possible to have my warranty in Malaysia? How to do it? Extra:
-My Nokia box has "www.nokia-asia.com/E71" and I suppose this phone is manufactured for Asian country.
-The languages available in my phone are english, Melayu, and Filipino
-When I first switched on my Nokia, I set my country and time in Australia.
2) How can I install Chinese Fonts into my E71? Extra:
-I have successfully installed "FontRouter" but I can't view the icon in my phone. Nevertheless, I'm able to read Chinese words.
-How can I have the Chinese input in my E71? Installing the A4 input? Or just update to the latest firmware can solve the problem?
I've solves some of the problems myself... above are the 2 more question I need some experts here to help me out... ty
jus check ur keypad..is it clean type.. if clean type jus change ur product code to asian 1 singapore being nearest and update.. then u will be able to read and type chinese.. set from other country is consider ap set regardless ur set is original set in tat country.. as nokia malaysia only will bear the waranty for avaxx, zitron and arista so ur set is not covered here but is covered at the country which u bought it..
fastreader: yes it will work basically on all symbian phone , do sign it b4 use..
mydelsol: soli ya.. u plan to continue v5 ya? hahaha..
kingsing84: yes jus send ur phone to the NSC and ask them to update for u.. FOC provided ur warranty is still valid.
which ap company to choose?any recommendation?thx...
oh ...u wanna buy new 1 is it.. Erm y still wanna buy ap set 1.. Now ori price almost d same de ma.. If u buying 2nd hand ... All same nia... New set better go for ori la..
hello, just bought e71 today (second hand) However when i tried formatting it multiple times, it kept failing, all the settings still remained the same as the previous user's setting. What could be the problem?
Turn off. Press simultaneously: Call Key (Green key w/ phone icon on it), 3 (or Y), * (or U) and turn phone on, keep all buttons pressed until Nokia welcome screen shows-up.
This post has been edited by xavi5567: Apr 7 2010, 05:20 PM
Nokia E71 Gets Free Voice Navigation With Ovi Maps Application All I can say is that it's about time. Back in January it was announced that new Nokia smartphones would come with free voice navigation in the Ovi Maps application. The E71 was not on that list. The N97 and E72 was initially included, along with a few other devices. This pissed off a lot of E71 users because it is such a popular device.: from ovi blog: The latest Ovi Maps with free walk and drive navigation is now available for Nokia E71 and Nokia E66. Download it now for your Nokia GPS phone at nokia.com/maps...
...After listening to your overwhelmingly positive feedback and feeling your love for your favourite mobile phone, we have now created a custom version that works on Nokia E71 and Nokia E66. However, because of technical constraints, it isn’t possible to offer premium content such as Michelin and Lonely Planet guides on these devices.
Although these two devices will also be the last of our S60 3.1 and older devices to sport this version of Ovi Maps, all upcoming Nokia GPS phones will get free walk and drive navigation. But we are already feeling your excitement: grab your Ovi Maps with free navigation now at nokia.com/maps!
This post has been edited by xavi5567: Apr 7 2010, 05:27 PM
AM using the Garmin "ehem ehem" version now, so my Q 2 U is, like Garmin XT, everytime V launch & it gets connected, its chargeable by kb dwnload (one off log on) so wld U knw how much is Ovi charge applies? Thanks Dude...
there is two option.. ovimap downloaded map or download as u use map like in google map so ovimap with downloaded map cost nothing but there is a small charge to get a lock on, download as u use map will charge according to kb u used lor.. correct me if i m wrong at this..
ovimap also gav u the option to select offline or online mode.. but honestly speaking garmin still win it.. i rank my positioning software like this--> garmin xt> google map> ovimap
wah xavi5567. great job with the topic. hope that u can continue with this thread for a long long time.
personally i have been using this phone for more than a year and no other phone beats this phone. even the elder bro e72.
iphone and BB also lose cos no garmin.
anyway, just curious... how do u use google maps in the e71? no special apps rite? n they dun have live navigation rite?
but ovi maps has live navigation. so, ovi maps still kalah? haha
who say google map dont hav live navigation.. got live navigation jus tat it dont hav voice navigation..lol y it beat ovimap and sometimes garmin is becos it is easier to locate a point.. jus type in the street name and navigate from ur point.. but to navigate u must on the gps la.. so it can determine where u r.. and it will keep tracking u the so u jus follow the purple track lor.. i use this sometimes.. but need a co-driver..@ navigator bside u lol..
NewbieHero: ap set can fix an NSC also de la.. jus tat they charge u nia ma.. they treat u like ur ori warranty already finish lor..