Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V9, Simple Guide at page 1 !!!

-kytz-
post Apr 2 2010, 11:59 PM

12,573 posts

I bet 1.5k can get you a nice N97 mini laugh.gif Hopefully smile.gif

Else what about Windows Mobile platform?Try checking out Omnia 2 smile.gif
-kytz-
post May 20 2010, 09:50 AM

12,573 posts

For my dad..

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget :RM2.5k
3. Specs : Any but most importantly very user friendly(not complex) like Symbian
4. Type/Size : Physical QWERTY keyboard like the N97

Personal suggestion would be the N97 because it's easy to use.Typing wouldn't be a hassle when dealing with sms/internet typing due to physical keyboard.What other recommendations?

Don't think other OS like Maemo(N900),Winmo,Android,Bada would be suitable though....something simple yet intuitive like Symbian S60 smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 20 2010, 09:52 AM
-kytz-
post May 20 2010, 01:54 PM

12,573 posts

@kae7 & x132755

Thanks for the advice

I didn't say my dad likes Symbian biggrin.gif he doesn't know anything about mobile phone's OS.He likes the iphone because its smooth and got many applications,can flip the pages left to right..that sort of eye candy thing.But i advised him against buying an iphone because for me, it's a complex machine,not as user friendly as Symbian OS.And i'm using S60 now,thus able to help him out downloading songs/apps/videos later on.But for iphone i have no clue at all,same goes to Maemo,Winmo and Android.He tried out XPERIA X2 and seemed to like it too but i told him that it's using WinMobile which is gonna be complicated

And i'm also against N900 due to the small QWERTY keyboard,my dad's fingers aren't nimble as he's middle aged already.And Maemo is pretty new also right,which is also a concern.

So i thing the best bet now would be Symbian S60,forget about the N8 blerk blush.gif but can't seem to find anything else then N97?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 20 2010, 01:58 PM
-kytz-
post May 20 2010, 07:16 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ May 20 2010, 02:22 PM)
it is for your father right..??
let him test all phones.,.
and let him decide his choice...
though... beside N97.. the another phone is N97 mini  sweat.gif
IS your father is really want symbian phone..??
what are his requirement..? and usage..?
I bet he isnt geek that like to customize phone [N900] .. 

sometimes WinMo is a great OS for elder...

as i said.. it depends on his usage...

iPhone isnt recommended as it has no phsical qwerty keypad.. doh.gif
Yup it's for my dad smile.gif He isn't a tech savvy person, just needs one for calling and sms,occasional web browsing and GPS navigation

The reason why i'm recommending him to use Symbian OS because i'm familiar with it.When he gets his phone, i'm expected to teach him how the phone works,and do all the transfering of files for him mostly music,operating the navigation system?I myself ain't that good in these stuff but still manageable lar.Thus, if he were to choose his phone based to his liking(XPERIA X2 or Iphone),yes it's nice and all, but later macam mana teach him?I myself dunno....

If in the end he buys the N97,would be much easier to use......my dad hates complexity yet loves all those fancy UI sweat.gif

Haiz....if he really buy iphone nevermind lar,then later don't be surprised to find me in apple thread asking a list of noob questions! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 20 2010, 07:18 PM
-kytz-
post May 23 2010, 06:08 PM

12,573 posts

Later my dad going to buy the N97.thanks for all the advice,guys! smile.gif
-kytz-
post Sep 13 2010, 12:55 AM

12,573 posts

I thought this was clearly a recommendations thread,but why do i see a forumer advertising his personal sales here??? doh.gif

Forumer REPORTED

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Sep 13 2010, 12:57 AM

0.0433sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:27 PM