Planted Aquarium V4, Are you guys ready for IAPLC2010?
cashandburn
Apr 2 2010, 11:29 AM
hi guys,
I am new to the planted tank. Looked through at some of the photos here really inspire me to start one up. Bought some ADA soil(with power sand), fan, DIY co2 and a new tank (2x1x1 feet) along with some tetras .Plants growing nicely, but notice some hair algae. WHen do I start fertilizing the plants ? I am planning to buy some Brighty Step 1 and Brighty K. LFS says that I should start fertilizing only 1 month later and now I am in my third week. Any advice ?
cashandburn
Apr 2 2010, 12:20 PM
Seachem contains micro trace right....? and Brighty K for potassium.... I notice that ADA line of fertilizer don't have supplements for nitrogen and phosporus....Should i go for Seachem instead ?
cashandburn
Apr 6 2010, 08:37 AM
hi guys,
some guy wanna sell me his co2 1litre tank for rm150. It comes with manual regulator. Worth or not ?
This post has been edited by cashandburn: Apr 6 2010, 08:44 AM
cashandburn
Apr 6 2010, 11:31 AM
how do you check for leakage ??? I've been using DIY Co2 all this while. Wanna migrate liau to tank version ...
cashandburn
Apr 6 2010, 12:06 PM
Thanks for the info.....Gonna check the tank once I got my hands on it.
Noticed my tank is kinda murky.....I dosed super k and brighty step 1 yesterday. I suspect the potassium is reacting towards the fert...... Would it be a good idea letting the dust settle ? Or should I take some activated carbon and suck it all up ?
cashandburn
Apr 6 2010, 01:31 PM
maybe.....not enuf Co2?... I'll see a few more days to make a more accurate judgement...getting my tank co2 soon....i'll see how it goes this week and the next ...
cashandburn
Apr 6 2010, 02:18 PM
I'm using DIY reactor...connected to a powerhead to mash the CO2 bubbles together.
cashandburn
Apr 6 2010, 07:13 PM
my tank now have some tall plants on the back (i think its rotala something) and hcs on the front. I plant to get a plant that can go between the two. Something taller than hcs but shorter than rotala. What plant do you guys think will look nice ? Was thinking of riccia....
cashandburn
Apr 12 2010, 10:11 AM
Hi Planted tank sifus,
I have a question regarding CO2 tank. I bought a second hand CO2 1 litre (comes with a manual regulator without a gauge) from a MAC forummer and filled it up at 88 pets mart. I brought it back and use a standard tube from my tank to the check valve and into the ceramic diffuser. Upon setting the system up, I turned the main valve (closing the regulator valve) and a sudden rush of air (more like volcanic explosion of CO2) came out from the diffuser. I immediately turn the main valve off and slowly just turn it up a little bit and also turn the regulator valve slightly to get about 1bps.
My question is:
Is this normal for the CO2 to react that way when the main valve is turned on ?
Do you guys turn the main valve all the way ? Or just slightly turn it on ?
How long does the gas last if I turn it up to 1bps a sec 24 hours ?
I heard there is a end of tank syndrom for CO2 tanks. How do I avoid it since I do not have a gauge for my regulator ?
2 of my tetras died the same night after I have adjusted the CO2 tank pressure. I believe it is due to the volcanic explosion of CO2. Is this the cause ?
Sorry for the long post...
cashandburn
Apr 12 2010, 03:37 PM
thanks for the info. I really made a big mistake by turning on the main valve. Actually there was 2 big CO2 explosion....the first one was when I turn on the main tank. The second one was when I turned on the regulator valve.... My regulator is really a cheapo version one (no gauge to see the pressure). I really wasted alot of CO2 from my gas tank but luckily my ceramic diffuser did not damage.
Any1 here turn the CO2 24 hours ??? I've read online that it is better to turn on your CO2 24 hours to avoid ph change that can kill your fish. Some of the articles I read says that it is better to turn on your air pump at night to supply extra O2 to the fish so that they won't aphyxiate by Co2.
cashandburn
Apr 12 2010, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Apr 12 2010, 03:42 PM) erk, i dont even bother about closing it... well what i did is open the main valve max and open the regulator abit for 24 hour... but it stop itself after 1 days you mean that your co2 gas ran out on the first day ??? Thats really alot of gas that you use.....
cashandburn
Apr 12 2010, 04:35 PM
I see...
How long did your tank last ?
cashandburn
Apr 13 2010, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Apr 13 2010, 01:11 AM) michanzz, fongzai... dom from my-mac given FOC the KNO3 and K2SO4, do u know how to use? if yes i go collect from Dom at Sentul... Giving out free Rotala ranjenshan.....i got a whole lot of them cos they're growing like crazy !!!!! freestyler..do you mind if i take some of those fert from you ? i wan a small portion only cos i got another new nano tank with only java moss....wanna try fertilizing dry fert on that....