This is planted aquarium tank thread bro!
Planted Aquarium V4, Are you guys ready for IAPLC2010?
Apr 13 2010, 10:05 PM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
This is planted aquarium tank thread bro!
Apr 13 2010, 10:35 PM
139 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Apr 13 2010, 10:39 PM
nope.. to anep.. ill leave it to michanz, freestyler, and fongzai to comment on your gears.. when it's time to focus on scaping.. look for me haha
Apr 13 2010, 10:45 PM
Apr 13 2010, 11:12 PM
377 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(crewmy @ Apr 13 2010, 08:54 PM) Hello guys. I am very new in this so appreciate advice, tips, comments from all the pros and sifus here.
I just started this hobby, bought this small aquarium for RM180 from petsmore.com. Then ask around the neighbourhood shop on how to start and was sold 3 packs of black soil at RM15 per pack (I think 1KG each) still not sure what soil is that, CO2 tablets and some plants. I am still experimenting whether the lighting is sufficient in the aquarium therefore not really doing any scaping yet. This is the result after about 2 weeks. The plants not dying yet but slighly yellow and brown at the edges. Questions: 1) Is the lighting sufficient? The bulb is the energy saving type at 5W supposed to output 40W. 2) I put 1 CO2 tablet each day although another shop told me every 5 days 1 tablet is enough. 3) The grass (left side) I bought at RM6 per small pot can cover only an area about a credit card. Do you guys have to buy many2 pots if need to cover big aquariums? 4) There are algae already forming at the glass. Whats the best way to clean them? Remove the fish and scrub with a brush? 5) For such a small aquarium is it worthwhile to go for Co2 tanks? Hope you guys can advise. Thanks guys. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « well i would say you should split the Japanese Hair Grass ( as mention on the left side of your tank ) in to 3 to 4 leaf and plant it accordingly like how you plant "padi" aka rice haha hope u get what i mean so when it grow it will cover your fore ground... dont plant pot 1 pot... split it up... and about co2 it is needed for planted tank, to long run YES invest in co2 tank is worth =) about ur light it's medium lighting so its better to provide more co2 if not algae will come sorry for reply unclearly due to my mind on sleeping mode, haha good night~ anything Question i will reply tomorrow morning... p/s: Chuppy, me , michanzz and fongzai suddenly become ur apprentice? lolz.. and u are MASTER xD This post has been edited by freestyler87: Apr 13 2010, 11:20 PM |
Apr 13 2010, 11:26 PM
I will take no students for I am NO master hahahaa!
Just lazy to repeat some things over and over again haha. Drew |
Apr 13 2010, 11:27 PM
haha ok... so please do correct me if im wrong okay? haha... =P
Apr 13 2010, 11:31 PM
That's a definite
Apr 13 2010, 11:37 PM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
drew, u familiar with penang fish shop rite??... where can get cheap 2.5ft tank ah??... my sis wanna house her oversized red ear slider....
Apr 13 2010, 11:49 PM
michanzz and fongzai, urgent please do help me ask or check around REDSUN Chiller Model CL280 new one how much Market Price now !!
Please do help |
Apr 13 2010, 11:51 PM
161 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Apr 13 2010, 11:49 PM) michanzz and fongzai, urgent please do help me ask or check around REDSUN Chiller Model CL280 new one how much Market Price now !! advertise at MAC rite?Please do help i think the price is cheap la..for around 1yr usage. but i already get cheaper chiller for same spec but different brand. |
Apr 14 2010, 12:09 AM
well, i still thinking of that price is 1st hand price... the person quote me rm 350, i can get better 1st hand price if rm350... so i really wanted to know the CL280 1st hand how much... if rm 400 i rather buy new 1 lolz !!
Apr 14 2010, 12:42 AM
1,311 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: peejay |
impossible for a new compressor chiller at rm400, but the TEM type will do. of cause still the compressor is the wise choice. 1. if your bulb is 40W. should be okay for a rougly 5 gallon tank. 2. answered 3. planting hair grass on your 20L tank, 1 pot is more than enough, just make sure u spread it separately,and trim it. look at my early time's photo, shown how i plant the hairgrass. ![]() after 4 months. ![]() finally got my carpet. 4.answered. 5.answered. Added on April 14, 2010, 12:56 am QUOTE(crewmy @ Apr 13 2010, 08:54 PM) Hello guys. I am very new in this so appreciate advice, tips, comments from all the pros and sifus here.
I just started this hobby, bought this small aquarium for RM180 from petsmore.com. Then ask around the neighbourhood shop on how to start and was sold 3 packs of black soil at RM15 per pack (I think 1KG each) still not sure what soil is that, CO2 tablets and some plants. I am still experimenting whether the lighting is sufficient in the aquarium therefore not really doing any scaping yet. This is the result after about 2 weeks. The plants not dying yet but slighly yellow and brown at the edges. Questions: 1) Is the lighting sufficient? The bulb is the energy saving type at 5W supposed to output 40W. 2) I put 1 CO2 tablet each day although another shop told me every 5 days 1 tablet is enough. 3) The grass (left side) I bought at RM6 per small pot can cover only an area about a credit card. Do you guys have to buy many2 pots if need to cover big aquariums? 4) There are algae already forming at the glass. Whats the best way to clean them? Remove the fish and scrub with a brush? 5) For such a small aquarium is it worthwhile to go for Co2 tanks? Hope you guys can advise. Thanks guys. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by fongzai92: Apr 14 2010, 12:58 AM |
Apr 14 2010, 01:24 AM
Resun CL 280?? Below 1k gua.. I know RESUN MINI already rm 7xx la.. hehe
Drew |
Apr 14 2010, 01:48 AM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Apr 14 2010, 01:49 AM
1,224 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: miri now sunway |
fongzai if u had seperated the hairgrass even more during the first stage i think u couldve have had a carpet in half the time!
@CREwmy - hmm if the bulb states it 5watt then i think its just 5watt.. i suggest u go for the lighting set that fongzai is using currently, an 8watt t5ho lighting set if im not mistaken.. from what i heard from fongzai it costs just rm12-15, for ur tank id say get probably 2 or maybe 3.. show picture sikit ahfongzai Added on April 14, 2010, 1:53 am QUOTE(Ranchu7 @ Apr 14 2010, 01:48 AM) i used to have about 4 or 5 in my 1footer before.. yeah they were fun to watch.. galaxy rasboras used to be rare when they first was brought in.. now i guess u can get em anywhere.. theyre kinda expensive too! I Mean back then lol now dunno market price.. thats why i scared ull risk their beautiful life to gobys! i LOVE the galaxy rasboras! This post has been edited by michanz: Apr 14 2010, 01:53 AM |
Apr 14 2010, 02:06 AM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(michanz @ Apr 14 2010, 01:49 AM) fongzai if u had seperated the hairgrass even more during the first stage i think u couldve have had a carpet in half the time! Just ask 88, and they quote me Rm 4 each. Ya i love them too..they r really beautiful schooling fish @CREwmy - hmm if the bulb states it 5watt then i think its just 5watt.. i suggest u go for the lighting set that fongzai is using currently, an 8watt t5ho lighting set if im not mistaken.. from what i heard from fongzai it costs just rm12-15, for ur tank id say get probably 2 or maybe 3.. show picture sikit ahfongzai Added on April 14, 2010, 1:53 am i used to have about 4 or 5 in my 1footer before.. yeah they were fun to watch.. galaxy rasboras used to be rare when they first was brought in.. now i guess u can get em anywhere.. theyre kinda expensive too! I Mean back then lol now dunno market price.. thats why i scared ull risk their beautiful life to gobys! i LOVE the galaxy rasboras! |
Apr 14 2010, 02:26 AM
1,224 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: miri now sunway |
QUOTE(Ranchu7 @ Apr 14 2010, 02:06 AM) Just ask 88, and they quote me Rm 4 each. Ya i love them too..they r really beautiful schooling fish ive only done research on rasboras before.. but no idea on killies! back then also when people started to play wit killies, they would sell the eggs in a container and ship it all over the world lol!kilies really looks good!wonder theyre okay with shrimps |
Apr 14 2010, 11:54 AM
Guys - appreciate all the responses and feedbacks!
@fongzai - thanks for showing how the hairgrass supposed to be tanam-ed. I guess this is really farming, planting them and wait for results after some time. What I did was trying to create the carpet instantly, of coz thats why I tot I need many2 pots. So I guess to tanam about an inch between the grass should be OK? Also, michanz mentioned about your 8W t5ho lighting. can you elaborate more? I think my lighting only concentrates at the centre so thats why those at the sides are not doing well. New questions: 1. Driftwood - can I only use driftwood (whats driftwood anyway) or can I just go around and look for nice looking branches. My tank is small so I need to look for smaller branches. Those sold in pet shops are normally bigger ones. 2. How to tanam plants/moss on the driftwood? Where to get them and I think need to ikat to the branch right? 3. I think I will go through the forum again on how to start on getting a CO2 tank that fits my small aquarium... 4. This Saturday got a workshop in SLS right, can I attend? Need to be a member or anything? Thanks guys! |
Apr 14 2010, 12:13 PM
161 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
@crewmy
i suggest u read this website also http://www.littlegreencorner.com/index.html they already post a technique to tie a moss. u need tie the moss to driftwood using 'benang' or fishing line. for workshop at SLS.. anyone can attend. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:42 PM |