ALIENWARE Mothership V4, Everything which is the brand ALIENWARE

stanleyseah999
post Apr 20 2010, 05:36 AM

hi there guys.

i've read so much through this thread regarding the dissatisfaction of users with AW.

personally i'm a little tangled with this situation as well.

as my old HP laptop died on me, i made the decision to go with one of the best gaming laptops available, an alienware.

prior to purchasing mine, i did quite some research and even called up the sales helpline.

initially i was promised 2 weeks from order to delivery, and i was quite okay with that wait, so i purchased a unit of m15x online.

then the order status didn't show my estimated delivery time, so i called up the helpline and was told it'll be delivered by 22nd or earlier.

fair enough i waited, and when the estimated delivery time showed up, it turned out to be the 26th!

now i've gotta wait a full month after clearing payment for my laptop to be delivered?

i'm a little skeptical about receiving my AW by 22nd now, or even the 26th, as it has been stuck at cleared customs for quite some time now (the same thing with the order received status).

is dell really making empty promises and not providing its top-notch customer satisfaction and service as promised, & is the after sales support really that bad?

also, am now a little disappointed after reading about the build quality of AW laptops since i chanced upon this thread.

please enlighten me fellow AW boys!
stanleyseah999
post Apr 20 2010, 06:32 AM

QUOTE(emino @ Apr 20 2010, 05:43 AM)
Cant really comment about the late shipment. I heard they have shortage of parts recently. I bought my M11X at a retail store.

Their after sales service is very good. I've experienced it 2 times now, 1 for LCD which has some particles of dust (they CAME and REPLACE the whole LCD), and another with a faulty HD (they came and replace it, install windows and everything and give me a week to backup stuffs. After a week, THEY will come and collect the old HD).
oh hey there.

that's a very swift reply, i didn't expect anyone to be still awake, or even awake at this hour!

yup that's what i meant by inferior build quality i guess?

anyway, read your earlier posts, did you manage to find the alienware logon screen and such?

cheers.
stanleyseah999
post Apr 20 2010, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(matsuo19amon @ Apr 20 2010, 11:20 AM)
scratch that. I just got mine 2 minutes ago.... by the way, I'm halfway across Malaysia right now and the laptop is on the other side of it T_T ..
haha guess what guys? i think they do read lyn.

i called, and apparently its scheduled to be delivered to me today at 4pm.

then i received a sms from the logistics company saying it'll be delivered tomoro.

now who should i believe?

dell should really take a look into their operations man.

oh and i called the SA asking if there were freebies or discounts, cos another of my friend got it but i didn't. they shrugged it off as promotion period, and it seems what you see is what you get if you buy online.

pretty disappointed. =(
stanleyseah999
post Apr 20 2010, 07:26 PM

its pretty much quite screwed up on dell's side.

i was put on hold for about half an hour while they checked if i was to follow the delivery date on their system (which was supposed to be today) or as per the logistic company's sms (which is tomorrow).

and then one bro here said not confirm? lol.

hmmm i even asked for an estimated delivery time and they say sorry cannot provide. i went like wtf over the line, did they expect me to wake up early in the morning and do nothing the whole day except wait at home for them to come?

and what if they decide not to show up and come the next day? 2 days sitting around doing nothing? *sigh*

oh and i think the after-sales support wouldn't be so pro on my side as well, afterall, the location's in jb & not kl.
stanleyseah999
post Apr 21 2010, 03:49 AM

hmm guys do you all use cooling pads for your AW laptops?

if so what brand would you recommend? am actually looking at cooler master but not sure if they're overrated.

anyway in that case, which size should i get for m15x? will the 15" suffice or go all the way to 17"?

also does it have to fit nicely or bigger is better?
stanleyseah999
post Apr 21 2010, 06:56 AM

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Apr 21 2010, 05:27 AM)
Yea. Get those which fit up to 15.6" and 17" like the Zalman 2000 or Cooler Master Infinite ... the 2 that comes to my mind. Im using Infinite for my M15x.

What spec'ed M15x did you get bro? icon_rolleyes.gif
alright thanks bro. would hunt for 2 units later lol.

one for my mbp and another for the aw.

erm i took the m15x at 6599, then upgraded the processor to highest spec and ram also.

cos initially wanted the m17x for its specs, but then was put off by the weight and size. 10kg is like lugging a sack of rice wherever you go man haha.
stanleyseah999
post Apr 21 2010, 07:44 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 21 2010, 07:04 AM)
what do you mean by 10kg? its like 6kg including power brick and everything.
oops. then i think kena conned. lol.

i remember seeing that figure on either a youtube video or review of such.

also another point was that i did prefer the look on the m15x.

but then importantly i think also that the m15x even after a little upgrade wouldn't burn such a big hole in my pocket in comparison to the m17x with a little more upgrades.

humans are greedy by nature i guess, probably no one's ever contented with the lowest specifications. lol.

eagerly awaiting for my unit to be delivered, finally. TODAY!
stanleyseah999
post Apr 21 2010, 02:43 PM

just got my m15x! hehe like mentioned i'm like a happy little boy in the candy store, forgetting all the previous drama dell gave me!

i tried hunting for the coolermaster infinite, but all my local shop carries is the u2 fan edition so i bought 2 units.

now just hope it works just fine.

time to explore my new toy!
stanleyseah999
post Apr 21 2010, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Apr 21 2010, 02:49 PM)
Welcome to the club. Test your unit thoroughly  icon_rolleyes.gif
sure thing bro! thanks!

erm, but any guidelines as to how am i supposed to test it thoroughly?
stanleyseah999
post Apr 21 2010, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Apr 21 2010, 03:22 PM)
I do not have picture of my m11x before service but it look something like this but a little bit better.

[attachmentid=1539361]

Added on April 21, 2010, 3:25 pm

Do your login theme become original windows theme? My alienware theme since to gone after update to this driver. sweat.gif

EDIT: Problem solve. biggrin.gif
hi bro.

was the problem solved by reinstalling windows using the supplied cd?
stanleyseah999
post Apr 22 2010, 04:17 AM

QUOTE(matsuo19amon @ Apr 21 2010, 09:45 PM)
so how was your time with your laptop? biggrin.gif I'm guessing you had fun unboxing it? xD

edit: I just noticed that my name appeared in the owners list on first page  rclxms.gif thanks!
great man. just like a little boy.

can't stop playing perfect world on it now. seamless graphics and performance.

more than enough for me!
stanleyseah999
post Apr 22 2010, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:44 PM)
via BIOS smile.gif
restart ur laptop, then press F2. from BIOS, go enable the overclock.

Added on April 22, 2010, 2:44 pmbtw, i checked my recent documents and stuffs. found out that the dell ppl watched porn with my laptop.. using E drive. so i guess he used his harddisk man.. wtf.
thats crazy man. now i'd definitely insist on onsite warranty.

yet another disadvantage of dell here, although it can't be controlled by them.

not to mention white stains, bro i think vacuum your keyboard man, maybe got pubic hair in it lol.
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 04:58 AM

hi guys, got a problem here.

when i turn on my alienware when the power cord is plugged in, everything turns on except for the screen.

i would have to unplug it and have the machine run on battery, then the screen would come on, then only can i turn on the power supply.

do any of you experience this?
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 07:30 AM

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Apr 23 2010, 05:14 AM)
Sounds like a possible bug in the BIOS. Upgraded to the latest ? Might need to do more test to see if it could be Motherboard.

To share an issue I had in the past with my M15x but not to alarm you, .....when I start with Battery and power plugged in , and I plug out adapter midway, the Lappie will die off. When start with battery ONly, the lappie will work. Also I would have to hold the ALIENHEAD Power Button down for 15seconds or so to discharge the lappie..

Anyway, the screen did experience the same issue as you described. You can hear windows starting but the LCD is totally shut-off and not even the Black Back Light is on. The problem to both issues was a faulty  sweat.gif Motherboard. A mobo change solved the whole issue...
sigh. 2 days old and got problem.

so how should i go about bro? call dell and ask them to come?

Added on April 23, 2010, 8:18 amalright guys, i tried it out and it seems funny.

i turned my AW on and off for a couple of times.

thing is if its starting up on battery, i get the huge alien head that allows you to enter bios, then goes to the starting windows screen before reaching the alienware login screen.

if the ac is plugged in, i don't get any of the previous ones but a black screen all the way, the screen is only lit up when it reaches the login screen to windows, the one that's red and black with an alienware at the bottom.

now is that normal or should i just call dell support?

This post has been edited by stanleyseah999: Apr 23 2010, 08:18 AM
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Apr 23 2010, 08:28 AM)
aiyo normal la tu
ooopss. sorry.

didn't know ler bro, cos this the 1st time i booted it up using power... =)
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 09:05 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 23 2010, 08:42 AM)
it is not normal, but as long as its doesn't disturb your lappy performance, i'd say it not a serious problem.

anyway, try to plug off your DC wire and pull out the battery, and press the power button for like 5-10 secs. and then start your lappy again smile.gif
alright bro shall do.

does that mean bro hellfire8888's laptop is also experiencing the same problem as mine?

or is this something that's only available in newer units that's shipped recently?
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 23 2010, 09:20 AM)
i don't know about him, but newer unit seems bit problematic.

refer back during Insydious, me and Nohal time, there is no major problem at all. the quality can be class as excellence.

honestly if you want feedback on newer software/drivers, NBR forum is a suit place to start. then based on their feedback, you can teaches the other M11x owner in LYN smile.gif

hope this input helps! smile.gif
oh alright. then i guess i'd wait till what the newer owners say then...

crossing my fingers hoping its something normal everyone experiences, or rather something alienware came up with? cos if its not a problem it seems pretty neat to boot this way too.
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Apr 23 2010, 12:52 PM)
which company did dell malaysia use to dispatch the laptop that we order?
hi there, mine was through skynet. not sure about other states/regions tho, but it SHOULD be the same.

anyway, any answers to this question i posted earlier? especially newer machines?

alright guys, i tried it out and it seems funny.

i turned my AW on and off for a couple of times.

thing is if its starting up on battery, i get the huge alien head that allows you to enter bios, then goes to the starting windows screen before reaching the alienware login screen.

if the ac is plugged in, i don't get any of the previous ones but a black screen all the way, the screen is only lit up when it reaches the login screen to windows, the one that's red and black with an alienware at the bottom.

now is that normal or should i just call dell support?

stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Apr 23 2010, 06:33 PM)
i nv had that problem...hmm
hmmm hellfire8888 says its normal, if his lappie is that way too?

wondering if its something thats only found in newer units shipped?
stanleyseah999
post Apr 23 2010, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 23 2010, 06:42 PM)
which means when u reach the window just black screen with backlid only right?
Urs is M15x?
yup okayy i'd explain again.

for both cases alienFX turns on 1st.

but if i run ONLY on battery, i get the whole startup process

1. boot screen (can enter bios etc) with a huge alienware logo.
2. starting windows
3. windows login screen (alienware theme)

if i run it with battery+ac...
1. alienFX starts up
2. black screen, doesn't light up
3. all the way its that case and it lights up only when entering the login screen (alienware theme)

tried once with battery removed and only ac power, it runs exactly like when i run ONLY on battery.

anyone else experiencing this, especially with new models?

to me the timing seems too neat for it to be a glitch, but at the same time i havent seen anything like this before on other laptops.

0.0373sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:37 AM