Do you believe in SORCERY?, Any scientific evidence

TSSara Apples
post Mar 31 2010, 11:22 PM, updated 16y ago

28 posts

Hi. I posted a topic some time ago about ghosts and whether there is any scientific evidence of their existence. I was surprised when I saw that the majority of voters said that yes they believed in ghosts, but the majority of those who commented ridiculed the whole idea. See the thread here.

In this topic, I'm curious to find out whether sorcery/voodoo/witchcraft/magic is supported by any scientific evidence.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, this is what I understand: Some people claim that they can influence one's perceptions, and probably actions, through demonic intervention. Those 'sorcerers' claim that all they need is a piece from the victim, e.g. a hair or a nail. They they make a mysterious mixture with some sort of a spell. The end product supposedly will influence the victim, and this influence can be nullified if the mixture is found and dissolved or something like that.

I noticed that this idea is very very popular in some areas, e.g. southeast Asia and the Middle East. I made a quick search and found some links:

Magician with powers to heal, unite couples, find love nabbed (Kuwait)
http://www.arabtimesonline.com/NewsDetails...ed/Default.aspx

TV presenter gets death sentence for 'sorcery' (Saudi Arabia)
http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/meast/03/19/...arabia.sorcery/

Rumors of sorcery at an Indonesian university (Indonesia)
http://www.jstor.org/pss/20062742

Graveyard sorcery? (Malaysia)
http://www.malaysianmirror.com/homedetail/45/31120

Understanding Witchcraft and Sorcery in Southeast Asia
http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Understan...e/9780824815158

Why does this idea seem VERY popular????? hmm.gif

TSSara Apples
post Apr 20 2010, 01:35 PM

28 posts

With the availability of today's technology, it should be easy to videotape 'proof' of sorcery, right? Is there anything about this at YouTube for example?

TSSara Apples
post Apr 22 2010, 03:09 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Sara Apples @ Apr 20 2010, 08:35 AM)
With the availability of today's technology, it should be easy to videotape 'proof' of sorcery, right? Is there anything about this at YouTube for example?
I'm getting increasingly impatient hmm.gif
TSSara Apples
post Apr 22 2010, 05:39 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Apr 22 2010, 10:36 AM)
I totally disagree, if something is really happen and can be repeatly done, then it can be research to find out conclusion. There are many things that science cannot explain but science can show you how to do it and repeat it.
Yes. If sorcery really happens repeatedly, where is it? Any documentary evidence??

Added on April 22, 2010, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(kojan @ Apr 20 2010, 05:36 AM)
Tok Janggut power is gift by Allah that is called Karamah because he did all the Wajib things to do in islam and more additional thing called Sunah and zikir.Do you think that many people like to do that?even in Tok Janggut Days?The answer is No right?Even though you do all the wajib n sunah things that doesnt mean you can get the Karamah. Coz it is gift from the GOD for who he want.
I've heard about karamas dozens of times, but never really seen any evidence of it. It seems that all of this is merely anecdotal and folklore stories passed on generation by generation without anyone actually seeing anything in reality.

If not, is there any documented evidence?

Suspicious hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Sara Apples: Apr 22 2010, 05:47 PM
TSSara Apples
post Apr 22 2010, 10:00 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 22 2010, 01:43 PM)
Why dont u find out for yourself...ask anyone if they know a bomoh or sumthing...and u go ask in person?
And yeah, report back your findings.  smile.gif
Is it that difficult to find online? smile.gif

Makes me even more suspicious.
TSSara Apples
post Apr 22 2010, 10:52 PM

28 posts

Well, at least we need proof that it EXISTS!
TSSara Apples
post Apr 23 2010, 12:07 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(fk2222 @ Apr 22 2010, 06:51 PM)
if science cant prove then they say it is superstitious? dun u think?
Do you mean prove that this thing exists or not? Or explain it?

I think that - with all these stories about famous sorcerers and their power - if science still cannot prove that sorcery even EXISTS, I'd be cautious. Don't you agree? smile.gif
TSSara Apples
post Apr 23 2010, 11:17 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 23 2010, 12:14 AM)
are u scared to go see a live one?  brows.gif
It would make sense to start with the available online proof. Right? And please don't go off topic. blush.gif
TSSara Apples
post Apr 24 2010, 01:51 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Apr 24 2010, 01:42 AM)
How do u suppose them to perform online?? Snuff film?
Documentry. If many experts from different sources investigate the subject and come up with the same conclusions, then we can be more confident with the results.

Surprisingly, until now there seems nothing rolleyes.gif
TSSara Apples
post May 14 2010, 10:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 13 2010, 07:52 PM)
heard it. seen it. nuff said. certain divine interventions are not meant to be publicly/freely demonstrated/experimented
This is the very reason that makes me suspicious.

And by the way, aren't those 'sorcerers' going to make huge money out of it? tongue.gif
TSSara Apples
post May 15 2010, 01:12 PM

28 posts

For all I know, yes 

Usually it will work if given the correct details of one's birthdate and time.

You seem very sure. Did you have a personal experience? If yes, please describe it. If no, how are you so sure?

TSSara Apples
post May 16 2010, 01:18 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 15 2010, 10:48 AM)
My mom used to take up fengshui classes. Through her cohort of friends she heard about all these stories. And nobody jokes about this kinda stuff
So it's literally old wives' tales laugh.gif
TSSara Apples
post May 17 2010, 01:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 16 2010, 01:03 PM)
This is the sort of thing people will just joke about until he/she gets it right in the face. Just like the story of the Boy who cried wolf  icon_rolleyes.gif
I don't think the PhD school is the place for this excuse laugh.gif
TSSara Apples
post May 30 2010, 05:36 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(goodfella @ May 29 2010, 04:11 PM)
sorcery do exist. For proof, theres a tv pprogram I watch recently, its called 'Ilmu Alam Ghaib' where they show that women/men possesed by evil spirit/jinn after sent by 'bomoh'/witch using sorcery to make their life miserable. Not all sorcery use for evil things only, but also for healing, protections and many more.
Isn't it possible that these people are metally ill, and not necessarily "possessed"?

0.0494sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:43 PM