[WTI] all OCers Alert! Gigabyte OC Workshop!, pics update!

OC4/3
post Mar 31 2010, 06:51 PM

4,746 posts

Where and When???

OC4/3
post Apr 8 2010, 06:21 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(GBT_MY @ Apr 8 2010, 11:31 AM)
Hello ALL,

I am Anson from Gigabyte Technology Malaysia.  Its great to see some interest in Overclocking finally. It has been a while since the last overclocking contest or workshop being done in Malaysia. 

Special thanks to Irenic for creating this thread for Gigabyte here.  We were just chatting and wondering where have all Malaysian Overclockers gone to.  And here we are...

Just a brief check here, we are planning to have a small workshop /contest in the first weekend of May  (8th May,  Saturday).  Anyone interested please drop me an email with your full name and contact number.  Also please state whether you are interested in OC Workshop or Contest.  My email is anson.chen@gigabyte.com.tw

OC Workshop: 
-  Will be conducted by experienced overclockers. If possible, we will invite someone from Taiwan.  A step by step guide to overclocking.

Contest:
-  Freestyle contest.  Bring your own equipments and hardwares.  LN2 will be provided.
Alright, looking forward for your feedback and response by email.  Lets make Overclocking happening again in Malaysia.

Thanks y'all.

Added on April 8, 2010, 11:36 amHello ALL,

Please note that the tentative date for the OC workshop is on a Saturday.

So, no need ponteng or take leave or MC or .... ;-)

If you guys prefer Sunday, we could also consider that as well.
For the freestyle oc competition,is there any platform restriction??I mean can i use say LGA775 equipment or stricly I3/I5/I7 only??Board will be provided by gigabyte or self prepared???

OC4/3
post Apr 12 2010, 06:25 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(GBT_MY @ Apr 12 2010, 10:31 AM)
Hi all,

Tentatively, majority still prefers on 8th May (Saturday). 

Please send an email to anson.chen@gigabyte.com.tw for registration.

Please state the following:

Email Subject:  GOOC 2010
-  Full name
-  Contact number
-  Prefer mode: Workshop or Contest
-  Prefered platform: Intel or AMD
Thanks all.
What the hardware for competition??What about contest in workshop laugh.gif
OC4/3
post Apr 13 2010, 08:24 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(GBT_MY @ Apr 13 2010, 10:33 AM)
Don't worry, we will have 2nd round very soon.  Just stay tuned to Low Yat.net forum.

Added on April 13, 2010, 11:22 amHello ALL,

I do apologize for some confusions over the proposed GIGABYTE GOOC workshop/contest.  Let me highlights some details here for a clearer picture.

Event name:  GIGABYTE 2010 Malaysia GOOC workshop/contest

There are 2 categories for the event:

1)  Workshop:  This is a step by step guide to overclocking by our professional from Taiwan and Malaysia.  This workshop is open to all from beginners level to amateur level.  Of course, professionals are also welcome too.  No need to bring any PC or hardwares along because we will provide a PC with GIGABYTE motherboard inside for every table. 

2)  Contest:  This is purely a overclocking contest for amateurs and pros.  Contestants are to bring their own hardwares and equipments.  ONLY GIGABYTE motherboards are allow in this contest.  For those who would like to know more about getting their equipments ready and etc, you may send PM to "sup3rfly" or "irenic" for advise.  They are both great OCers.

Detail of event:
-  Date:  8th May, 2010  (Saturday)
-  Time: 11:00 am till  4:00pm
-  Venue:  tentatively at Federal Hotel  (opposite Low Yat Plaza)
-  Admission fees:  FREE  (inclusive of door gifts)

What to do now:
-  Thinking about it, check your gears (for contestants), and decide which category you prefer.
-  Write an email to me (anson.chen@gigabyte.com.tw) with the following details:
    >  Email subject:  GOOC 2010
    >  Full name
    >  Contact number
    >  Preferred category: workshop or contest
    >  Preferred platform:  Intel or AMD

Registration deadline:
-  17th April, 2010

Please do feel free to email me (anson.chen@gigabyte.com.tw) for further information.  Thanks.
Anson
Motherboard also have to self prepared for the contest??Or Gigabyte will provide with motherboard?
OC4/3
post Apr 14 2010, 06:42 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Apr 14 2010, 06:15 AM)
I havent sent an email but kinda interested with this event...probably attending the workshop wink.gif

me no overclock Gigabyte mobo cry.gif
Same here,no Gigabyte mobo laugh.gif

OC4/3
post Apr 16 2010, 07:51 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(M.Beier @ Apr 16 2010, 07:46 PM)
Germany & P55 challenge  smile.gif

Safety is good when media is around  icon_idea.gif

No teasing, that guy, wonder who he is.... But I've heard that he knows Danny and those gulfclubs aint only for gulf!  vmad.gif
Welcome Marc laugh.gif
Have fun here,it is best for trash talking brows.gif
OC4/3
post Apr 17 2010, 02:16 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 16 2010, 11:45 PM)
already sent in my application and anson already help me registered

jz gonna join workshop,for oc contest imma still newbie,only noe how to oc p45
Never get my reply yet..........
OC4/3
post Apr 28 2010, 06:39 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(GBT_MY @ Apr 28 2010, 01:04 PM)
HELLO ALL,

An important notice here for those joining the GIGABYTE GOOC workshop/contest in KL this coming May 8th.

1)  Change of venue:  We have changed the venue to a better location, better function room.  The Venue is in Sol Melia Hotel KL.  Right behing Low Yat Plaza.  Function room Palma De Mallorca.

2)  There will no contest for this round since we cannot gather enough people to sign up for this.  So, we will have workshop and demonstration session by both local Overclockers and a professional Overclocker from Singapore.  His name is Jeremiah, I am sure some of you already know who is he for his work in overclocking.
Date:  8th May, 2010
Time:  11am until 4pm+  (Please be on time and have light breakfast enough coz we have prepared lunch for you guys)
I will be sending reminder through email to each of you who registered next Monday.
As usual my email is anson.chen@gigabyte.com.tw, contact me if you need last minute registration.
nightraven aka jeremiah:D
Will be nice to meet him again
OC4/3
post May 3 2010, 07:09 PM

4,746 posts

Will be there this saturday as well
Received my confirmation email as well
OC4/3
post May 7 2010, 09:37 PM

4,746 posts

See you guys tomorrow
OC4/3
post May 9 2010, 12:23 AM

4,746 posts

The winner aka Brian Ang reporting in laugh.gif
My result from today:
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1174741
Lazy to upload my winning screenie first laugh.gif

Overall,i'd say this is a very awesome event biggrin.gif
Nice to see gigabyte is stepping up the plate and try to do something about overclocking in malaysia
I'd say today i am quite happy nod.gif
OC4/3
post May 9 2010, 12:48 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 9 2010, 12:45 AM)
fuuuuuu

wat setting u use?i can't catch up those few mili secs of yours  doh.gif
214x23 multiplier
OS tune a bit
I got that .3's because of cpu quality laugh.gif It is godlike,stock cooler and 4.899ghz biggrin.gif
Here my submission into hwbot:http://hwbot.org/community/submission/999854_
OC4/3
post May 9 2010, 09:32 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(NightRaven @ May 9 2010, 04:34 AM)
basket next time we organise big one! i not enough people to open MORE bottles! hahaha. next time i think we straight buy 10 bottles at entrance. hahaha

Added on May 9, 2010, 4:35 amthanks all for being so friendly and nice smile.gif i hope my presentation today not too boring and everyone including the pro guys learnt something. hard for me to teach when everyone are of varying skill levels. definitely hope to be back here again soon smile.gif
You did a nice job actually
Suggestion for next time:Give us a proper cooler and try to emulate the real competition for the mini competition format laugh.gif say 1hour for Super PI 1M and 1 hour for 3D Mark Vantage or something like that,will keep the whole thing more exciting biggrin.gif
I like the idea of oc workshop and i hope to see more in the future to educate local about oc
OC4/3
post May 9 2010, 12:22 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 9 2010, 11:16 AM)
well brian, initially there is competition for this time event but sadly there is no one to participate so there is no choice they have to only do workshop for this time, if you guys are really keen to have a competition, i will try to work out something with them. i mean if you guys really keen to have competition. and brian please get ur pot up....

Added on May 9, 2010, 11:18 am

yeah nevertheless it was a fun night to spend with a taiwanese and a singaporean at 33 floor having the klcc night view in front of us xD
Errr,you can make the mounting right??Hit me up on FB for more detail laugh.gif
OC4/3
post May 9 2010, 01:20 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 9 2010, 12:28 PM)
cant make anymore coz my friend now working there anymroe...
Oh gosh
Anyway,bryanyeo sort of promise me to make that piece for me,we will see laugh.gif
I am actually waiting for his return to bench with him biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post May 10 2010, 06:18 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 9 2010, 02:55 PM)
where is him now?
Taiping,Perak
Not coming back so soon laugh.gif
OC4/3
post May 14 2010, 09:36 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 14 2010, 04:37 PM)
if there is still a lot more people that wants to have this kind of event i will try to work something out for you guys, may be a small competition that is similar to the official one to let you guys to experience the tension of the competition. =)
In for this laugh.gif
Just not sure about will i be on time sweat.gif
OC4/3
post May 15 2010, 12:21 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 14 2010, 09:43 PM)
ya... why cant u just be on time??? dun act like a VIP la come on...  biggrin.gif
No way i can be on time
Father time dependent mar laugh.gif
A VIP don't go to oc even by train like me sweat.gif
OC4/3
post May 19 2010, 06:47 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ May 18 2010, 08:03 AM)
ain't gonna happen with nitrous cooling... unless somebody forgot to add... laugh.gif
BTW it is liquid nitrogen,not nitrous cooling
And the risk is actually bigger with extreme oc as you will use very very high voltage for everything so the chance of dying sort of go higher as well
As with anything,good preparation is crucial otherwise condensation then /gg laugh.gif

OC4/3
post May 20 2010, 08:11 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ May 20 2010, 08:03 AM)
ooo... sorry... I assume they all made proper preparation since they are all professionals... laugh.gif
I am not implying that they never did proper preparation
But you never know what happened under non specified operating parameter

0.0248sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:26 PM