yup but pretty much restricted in terms of courses
feynman
post Jan 1 2006, 06:49 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(WinnieH @ Jan 1 2006, 03:42 PM)
exactly. i heard that we can only apply for jpa scholarship after we get our spm results. is it true?
the actual application starts after the release of the SPM results. You don't need to wait till then to do your work, get your certs and whatnot ready, have them certified. Do necessary things so that you don't need to run around preparing your documents after D-DAY.
feynman
post Jan 11 2006, 08:42 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 11 2006, 07:23 PM)
not really. from what i gather from website :
AREAS OF STUDY

Undergraduate and Graduate
Degrees in Malaysia
- Bachelor / Master of Engineering, Computer Science or Science related to the media and broadcast technology.
- Bachelor / Master of Arts in Mass Communications, Psychology, Anthropology, Sociology and related courses in Humanities.

Undergraduate
Degrees Overseas
- Bachelor of Dramatic Art (Acting, Design, Production) in National Institute of Dramatic Art, Australia (NIDA) or any other reputable school of dramatic art.
- Bachelor of Engineering, Computer Science or Science related to media and broadcast technology including Computer Graphics.

problem is that it's only restricted to Astro subscriber and i'm not

link : http://www.astro.com.my/v5/astrolife/scholarship/
Isn't it restricted? Only course related to media and broadcast technology? What if one wants to mechanical engineering or chemical engineering or biomed or economics?

feynman
post Mar 8 2006, 10:50 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Cruiser @ Mar 8 2006, 10:39 PM)
Correct me if i'm wrong but is Shell scholarship only for msian's of sabah and sarawak origin?
There are two schemes. One for Sabah and Sarawak, the other for Malaysians.
feynman
post Mar 10 2006, 12:17 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(youhei_mito @ Mar 10 2006, 12:08 PM)
would like to know more about available scholarships for stpm graduates smile.gif coz most of the scholarships i know of (namely jpa, petronas) seem to be for spm graduates only.

and does anyone have any ideas on singapore scholarships? ok, the 'they're-ridiculously-hard-to-get' remarks aside, i would still like to know more about the options available. haha.
The most common being the ASEAN undergraduate scholarships.
Check the newspapers.
feynman
post Mar 10 2006, 08:15 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Cruiser @ Mar 10 2006, 06:36 PM)
Is co-curiculum important 2 get a jpa scholarships? what if u get straight A's but co-curiculum no good?
read the syarat-syarat tajaan JPA.
feynman
post Jun 5 2006, 11:05 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Angel8 @ May 24 2006, 02:02 AM)
I have a question to ask regarding the Jpa scholarships. Currently, I am offered a scholarship by JPA for medicine. Right now...i have to do my a-levels first and im currently posted to India for my medicine course after I finish my a-levels.

I was just wondering whether the current placement of University is fixed or we will have to choose later which country that we prefer and based on our a-levels result?  rclxub.gif 

Please reply to me for those who know about the procedure. Thanx cool.gif
From what I know, JPA selects the country in which you shall go to. You on the other hand get to choose the university from a list recognised by JPA.If you're unhappy with India, you can only choose another country with the same price tag as India or cheaper.eg, you get an offer from Cambridge but you won't be going there since it costs more than Manipal.

I know it doesn't sound right but JPA has a budget to meet, where are they going to get an additional RM500-600k for you?

This post has been edited by feynman: Jun 5 2006, 11:06 PM
feynman
post Dec 1 2006, 01:12 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Nov 30 2006, 09:05 PM)
Btw, i read the TnC for astro 1 but not so understand. For 2006 SPM candidates that apply astro scholarship, then need a position in Uni? Wat is the requirement about actually?
Only apply when you have an offer from a good university. Not some random university.
feynman
post Dec 2 2006, 03:36 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Dec 1 2006, 01:40 PM)
Oo....so it does need a position in uni first?
so if a person no position, can apply?
Those who got their scholarship applied with university offers under their belt, so I guess it would be better to apply only when you have an offer from a very good university.

QUOTE(^mtv^ @ Dec 1 2006, 08:03 PM)
it's the foundation course.and if u get good results  in ur foundation,they even offer you scholarships for ur degree
Scholarships from Australian universities? you must be joking.
feynman
post Dec 3 2006, 04:33 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(shinta @ Dec 2 2006, 09:05 AM)
so u mean get offered first than apply scholarship is much better?
Yes, it depends on what course you are going to do too.
feynman
post Dec 8 2006, 01:06 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Dec 7 2006, 02:16 PM)
i am a jpa scholar. regarding the issue where u need to quit any preU program after getting jpa scholarship, you are not necessary to do so.

you can prefer to continue your studies, which means save time, as jpa tends to give longer period of studies to its scholar, eg 2 yrs for alevels, 1 yr and half for sam etc. jpa allows you to continue with your studies, then further your studies in university under jpa scholarship. hope that helps. =)

btw, you need at least 9As to be guaranteed a JPA interview.

you can always surf www.recom.org as many scholars in malaysia visit the website. =)
Not always true. No one knows what those dumbnuts are doing. There are cases where it is either they quit the program or give up the scholarship.
feynman
post Jan 1 2007, 01:27 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Aying @ Jan 1 2007, 01:16 AM)
Hey. does anyone know where i can find scholarships for A-level students?
Scholarships to do A-level?
feynman
post Jan 1 2007, 01:42 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Aying @ Jan 1 2007, 01:37 AM)
planning to do medicine. just finished a-levels. is there any scholarships avaliable?
IMU, one or two full/partial scholarships.

Unlikely to have any other possible ways to get sponsorship for medicine other than that.
feynman
post Jan 1 2007, 01:54 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Aying @ Jan 1 2007, 01:48 AM)
imu requires parents income to be lower than 30k per annum if not wrong. what about tuition grants or study loans?
Fee waivers are given in some universities but I am not sure if it is given to medical students. Even if it is given, it would usually be just a few thousand bucks, hardly any form of assistance. It is a token for your hard work, that's all.

Do not take study loans because it is foolish to do so. you'll end up with a million dollar debt when you are ready to practise. That is of course if you study in the UK or Australia.

Cheaper alternatives are India and Russia, however it is still not advisable to take a loan to study there. How long would it take to pay off RM100k plus interest with the current salary of fresh doctors?

feynman
post Mar 15 2007, 12:11 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(adeline89 @ Mar 14 2007, 04:01 PM)
Regarding the Monbukagukusho scholarship, can I have more details about it from whoever who applied it?

I suppose I met the minimum requirement but I have doubt for the written exam.

For better or worse, 89's is the last batch who studied in MALAY and I fear I might have prob with the language during the test. Altho my english isn't that bad, I'm afraid I can't translate the terms during the test. What's yr recommendation?

What's the Mathematics B? my maths skill is kinda poor, not the genius kind who can count with the brain and I'm terrible in add maths (B4 in SPM)

Will average SPM level's science knowledge suffice for the exam? After the SPM, I kinda forgot everything. If SPM's not enough, recommend to study STPM's just to sit for the exam ?

Sounds stupid but what you think of the possibility of a 9a's student to stand a chance for this scholarship? Maybe choose natural science A or natural science B. 

SPM result:  Physics A2, Chem A1, Bio A2

Love the Chemistry Engineering's name but ignorant to know what it is and what's the outcome =P (natural science A)

Supposed to be good and interested ( always got A1 in school) in Bio but only obtained A2 in SPM.  (natural science B)

Is 134,00yen enough for survival? Heard cost of living in Japan is very high. Never been there to know if it's enough.

I'm thinking of ways to skip F6 as I do not feel like returning to my old school and I think I'm too average to excel in F6 as well as I might not be able to get a decent course when I'm out for local U.

I've no other option cause I'm too poor to afford college fees and that's the reason I'm being forced to F6.

Thnks a lot if anyone is able to assist.
What are your aspirations?

It is impossible to have 13400 yen a year and hope to survive. That's like surviving on USD 100 a year......RM 350 setahun boleh kah? I don't think it is 134000 yen a year either. It is unlikely to survive with that sum either.

0.0412sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:12 AM