Samsung's LA40C530/550 LCD HDTV, new model LA40D550 wth 200k:1 contrast r

SUSMatrix
post Jun 16 2010, 05:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jun 14 2010, 11:16 PM)
can i ask those that own this tv can it ouput dts from the spdif output to an external source to decode? let say i connect it to an external amp and play a 720p with DTS audio, would it be able to send the DTS to the amp ? what im worried is they just send stereo only....
That is correct...just read the manual. It only output 2 channels like most optical out on TVs. It's better just to buy a normal LCD TV + WDTV Live.
Coz u are not gonna get 5.1 surround from this.

Added on June 16, 2010, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jun 16 2010, 04:49 PM)
Already Tested... Able to let your AVR to decode the DTS
Sure? The manual says otherwise..

http://www.samsung.com/au/consumer/tv-audi...ail&tab=support
blink.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 16 2010, 05:39 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jun 16 2010, 06:42 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jun 16 2010, 06:09 PM)
It says the same ...

[attachmentid=1630282]
No lar, you click on the link, it the manual says differently. Are u talking about LA40C550 or C530? i am refering to the C550...what's the difference between this 2 anyway? Hmmm...

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 16 2010, 06:57 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jun 16 2010, 06:58 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Snipe_EX` @ Jun 16 2010, 06:56 PM)
At this moment, I'm really itching to buy a WD TV with the subtitle problems.......
Frankly, i think it's better to buy WDTV Live...WD always updates their firmware frequently...i doubt Samsung will do the same.
SUSMatrix
post Jun 17 2010, 09:57 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jun 16 2010, 06:09 PM)
It says the same ...

[attachmentid=1630282]
Friend, you are wrong. previously, i highlight a different page of the manual, but you can read the second line of the image you posted ealier. Here, i highlight for you.

5.1 surround via the TV optical out is only possible if the source is DTV...meaning Digital TV transmission like ASTRO HD...other source like bluray, dvd, media players, all 2 channels only.

CONFIRMED.

Currently, i'm helping a friend to look for LCD TV, HTIB and media players. IMO, this is not a solution. Normal LCD + WDTV Live + HTIB is the way to go to get 5.1 surround sound from external sources.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 17 2010, 10:01 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jun 17 2010, 04:56 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jun 17 2010, 04:27 PM)
[b]Haiz.. U r confusing ppl here..  mad.gif [cool.gif

In your previous Q, u asked:

Yes, it can output 5.1ch sound to external source to decode.. the external source here is AV receiver.. The TV can let your AVR to decode 5.1ch sound when u r playing media file from USB.. This is TESTED and CONFIRMED!

And it is true when u connect from Blu-ray and DVD player, u cannot let ur AVR to decode 5.1ch if connect from TV's optical out..
But now u suggest to use WDTV Live.. What for? WDTV can play DVD and blu-ray?
Dude, YOU are confusing yourself.

1) "can i ask those that own this tv can it ouput dts from the spdif output to an external source to decode? let say i connect it to an external amp and play a 720p with DTS audio, would it be able to send the DTS to the amp ? what im worried is they just send stereo only.... "
That question was asked by SOMEBODY ELSE. I simply answer HIM.

I think the keyword is 'PLAYING FROM USB'. Don't think it was mentioned clearly in the manual. We're simply sharing info here. It's good you can confirmed on it. Why so piss off? And what has DVD and Bluray have to do with WDTV? The question was regarding optical output, not about playing disc. doh.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jun 17 2010, 05:02 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 17 2010, 04:57 PM)
ya... honestly, i am confused now...

to make it simple... can some sifus (also owner) confirm what happens when i do this...?
usb --> C530 --> AV receiver/ amp-kinda-thingy/ HT box for audio (using digital output out) --> ???

do i get 5.1 or stereo?

my main thing is... i wanna plug in USB harddisk and get 5.1 on my home theater. possible?

I know if I use things like AC Ryan/ WDTV, i can by connecting this way:
TV (for video) <-- ACRyan/ WDTV --> AV receiver/ amp-kinda-thingy --> 5.1

thanks in advance... i m getting confused as to what is what... so, sorry if i cheong hei (long air)
I think accs_centre has confirmed that liao...you can get 5.1 DTS/AC3 using USB..dun ask anymore, later he breathes fire and burns you alive... tongue.gif

I re-read the manual again...it seyz 2.0 channel if the SOURCE IS FROM HDMI. So that pratically clears it, since the source is USB. Wish they have a simple chart in the manual to clear the confusion instead.

SUSMatrix
post Jun 17 2010, 05:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 17 2010, 05:08 PM)
looks like i might end up with a C530 after all...  rclxms.gif

just curious... anyone can offer a possible reason why HDMI input will give 2.0 channel when HDMI is supposedly a better type of connection compared to USB? what type of device/ connection would end up with 2.0 channel? any examples?
i think this is common. Most TV doesn't do passthrough of 5.1 channels from external sources. Like my Aquos also doesn't. Maybe it's cost cutting gua...
SUSMatrix
post Nov 22 2010, 10:10 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(lonely_dream @ Nov 21 2010, 02:48 PM)
never go for samsung h.theatre..you will be regret...
i've been using Samsung HTX-30 or something for 3 years or so. No problem. It is used as DTS/DD5.1 output for my WDTV Live. Just nice for my bedroom. thumbup.gif

It's no match for my Yamaha A/V and subwoofer in living room, but then again...no sub RM1K HTIB is.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 22 2010, 10:12 AM
SUSMatrix
post Nov 22 2010, 11:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Say, which Samsung model has the 400hz/200Hz thingy? Is it as smooth as Sony 200Hz TV?

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:15 am
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Nov 22 2010, 11:12 AM)
Thanks mate. Actually my initial idea was to hook a HTPC to the TV but if I get C550 then I wont have to. But I can no longer do anything else other than movies on this TV....
I would suggest a separate media player like WDTV Live...it will have better networking and firmware update support. Only RM 3xx. I bet there'll be unknown limitation with those built in MKV players in the TV...which you'll only find out when you owns one.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 22 2010, 11:15 AM
SUSMatrix
post Nov 22 2010, 11:23 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Nov 22 2010, 11:19 AM)
What if I connect the TV to a dedicated PC for movies and use media players that uses hardware acceleration?  wink.gif
Huh? I am not sure what you are trying to say, but media players like WDTV Live can play full HD movie and even uncompressed BD rip through the network smoothly. In fact, it is even smoother than my E5300 with an Intel X4500HD IGP.

The only advantage of a HTPC is you always can play the files no matter what, while media players will need to wait for firmware updates if certain files cannot play.

PS: I used to have a VISTA HTPC with an MCE remote. It is nowhere as sexy as my WDTV Live nor can it compare to the quick boot up of the WDTV Live...smile.gif HTPC imo, just can't compete with media player for sleek, elegant, and ease of use. Even my 5 year old son knows how to access Youtube from the WDTV Live... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 22 2010, 11:28 AM

0.0224sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:35 AM