> Letter to Editor - (UniFi) It has to be cheaper News

v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:12 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

I'm pretty sure that the monthly cap has been removed. I do agree though that internet here is ridiculously expensive, and it's all because of the monopoly that TM has on last mile cabling.
v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:14 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Mar 29 2010, 11:13 AM)
wow guess there is still idiots who actually believe their little scam, well done TM!
Happy holidays! icon_idea.gif
v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:15 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Mar 29 2010, 11:13 AM)
how sure u are?
they only say no cap 4 now(beta testers), not 4ever(potential customers)  doh.gif
True enough. But its a start. Of course, when they say no capping, they never mentioned no throttling...

This post has been edited by v1n0d: Mar 29 2010, 11:16 AM
v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:21 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Mar 29 2010, 11:17 AM)
They're the only service provider...what to do? Luckily I'm staying  in a condo and am using TIME Broadband. No cap. No throttle (download torrents at 200kb/sec) and pay RM99 for a 2mbps line. Pretty steep, but at the speed I'm enjoying, I have no problem.

Will there be even another true 'competitor' to TMNut? I don't think so. Wireless is still long way to go...so we'll have to bite the bullet and pay the high cost of getting connected.
Broadband is no longer a luxury, in fact it is slowly becoming a neccessity. The US has acknowledged this by proposing a national broadband project, aimed at making 10Mbps the national average speed received. Fact is, as long as TM maintains their monopoly, the overpricing of internet services is here to stay.
v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:28 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Mar 29 2010, 11:23 AM)
Nelayan takde internet boleh je buat duit whistling.gif
No internet => boredom => excessive reproduction. It is in the interest of this nation that the fishermen receive affordable internet service.

This post has been edited by v1n0d: Mar 29 2010, 11:28 AM
v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:30 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Mar 29 2010, 11:29 AM)
Have internet => increase libido => excessive reproduction.

whistling.gif
doh.gif
v1n0d
post Mar 29 2010, 11:33 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2010, 11:31 AM)
Maxis do have HSBB and they doing some testing now. I guest maxis is waiting tmnut launch and see how consumer respond and pricing.
But the catch is the monopoly on last line cabling. Let's hope that TM isn't draconian with the rental cost.

0.0158sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:19 PM