USB Memory Support for the Xbox 360 coming April 6, Awesome feature !
TSgavind87
Mar 27 2010, 04:24 AM, updated 16y ago
QUOTE On April 6th, we will be releasing a system update over Xbox LIVE for your Xbox 360 that will allow USB flash drives to be used for storing profiles, game saves, demos and more. I’ve been testing this feature out for a few weeks, and I have to say it’s really great. Once you take the system update on April 6th, you’ll be able to connect your USB flash drives to your console and head over to the memory section to configure your new storage device. Once you do that, the system will conduct a one time performance and integrity check to confirm the drive is working properly. You will then be able to configure how much storage to use on the device, up to 16 GB. The remaining space on the flash drive will be accessible by your PC or Mac. USB Hard drives may work, but like flash memory, you’ll only be able to use up to 16GB of space. Since performance on flash based USB storage is usually better, I highly recommend using flash based instead of spinning media like a hard drive…it’s just going to give you a MUCH better experience.
We’ve also enhanced the memory management functions, so you’ll be able to have better control on what you want to copy or move between storage devices.
A couple of points:
* You can have 2 devices connected to the console at a time, enabling up to 32GB of simultaneous storage. * The system won’t just configure the device once it is connected to the console. You’ll need to head to the memory area in system settings, select your USB Device, and choose from Configure Now (Format and Configure the Full Device), or Customize (you can choose how much memory you want configured for Xbox360 from the free space on the device.)
While any flash drive can be used, we are partnering with SanDisk to release an Xbox 360 branded USB flash drive in May that comes pre-configured out of the box and ready to go. I’ll provide links to those drives once they’re available. Until then, starting April 6th (when we release the system update) you can pop any flash drive over 1GB into your Xbox 360 and configure it as storage.  From MajorNelson.com
lilko
Mar 27 2010, 05:57 AM

if only my hard disk can work on it... I will be more than happy.. No need stick double USB stick..
IccyAsd
Mar 27 2010, 10:06 AM
so in other words, the USB Flash Drive now is gonna work like the previous Memory card?
navigator
Mar 27 2010, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Mar 27 2010, 10:06 AM) so in other words, the USB Flash Drive now is gonna work like the previous Memory card? more that previous memory card. the max allowable size is 16GB
marauderz
Mar 27 2010, 03:47 PM
While we are all disappointed that we can't use our 1TB hard drives (most likely due to security and also the fact that they want to keep selling the hard drives) The consolation is that 16GB is a pretty good chunk of storage for games and stuff, at the very least we can copy disc to the USB drive, so the USB drive can always be used to accelarate the latest game we've got.
And of course, we can merge 2 drives into one 32GB chunk. So it's not too bad. Not like we are able to download or rent movies here anyway.
Kernkraft400
Mar 27 2010, 04:42 PM
SanDisk and Microsoft Corporation partnership FTW.
IccyAsd
Mar 27 2010, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(marauderz @ Mar 27 2010, 03:47 PM) While we are all disappointed that we can't use our 1TB hard drives (most likely due to security and also the fact that they want to keep selling the hard drives) The consolation is that 16GB is a pretty good chunk of storage for games and stuff, at the very least we can copy disc to the USB drive, so the USB drive can always be used to accelarate the latest game we've got. And of course, we can merge 2 drives into one 32GB chunk. So it's not too bad. Not like we are able to download or rent movies here anyway. you mean if we have 2x 16gb flash drive, it is able to become a 32gb chunk ? so that we can actually store installed game there? or was it a split storage of 16gb/16gb ? well anyway we have to test it out to see how much performance does it really give first.
coriandery
Mar 27 2010, 05:23 PM

This is long overdue.
SUSzhiyung
Mar 27 2010, 05:30 PM

Time to buy some 16gig flash drives
MK84
Mar 27 2010, 05:33 PM
16GB thumbdrives now around RM89-199. Definitely good news.
On the other hand, you can make use of those old PATA 10-20GB HDDs as well, especially for video/music storage.
marauderz
Mar 27 2010, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Mar 27 2010, 05:20 PM) you mean if we have 2x 16gb flash drive, it is able to become a 32gb chunk ? so that we can actually store installed game there? or was it a split storage of 16gb/16gb ? well anyway we have to test it out to see how much performance does it really give first. Ok, I'm not so sure about the merge bit, cause they said you can use 2 16GB so in total got 32GB, wheter or not it's one continous chunk we're not sure. As for the installing the game to the drive, that's confirmed by Major Nelson already. We can't copy the games we have from the HDD currently to the USB, but we must just do a reinstall to the USB again.
PrivateJohn
Mar 28 2010, 07:10 AM
ODST m cry.
QUOTE(marauderz @ Mar 27 2010, 05:46 PM) Ok, I'm not so sure about the merge bit, cause they said you can use 2 16GB so in total got 32GB, wheter or not it's one continous chunk we're not sure. As for the installing the game to the drive, that's confirmed by Major Nelson already. We can't copy the games we have from the HDD currently to the USB, but we must just do a reinstall to the USB again. Wouldn't it be slow to read the games from USB hdd?
dark lenanza
Mar 28 2010, 07:12 AM
i love microsoft... after i bought 256mb memory unit.. now can used flash drive
figure8
Mar 28 2010, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Mar 28 2010, 07:10 AM) Wouldn't it be slow to read the games from USB hdd? the usb port is USB 2.0, it should work flawlessly. This post has been edited by figure8: Mar 28 2010, 07:24 AM
navigator
Mar 28 2010, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Mar 28 2010, 07:12 AM) i love microsoft... after i bought 256mb memory unit.. now can used flash drive  I can smell your anger. hahaha QUOTE(figure8 @ Mar 28 2010, 07:20 AM) the usb port is USB 2.0, it should work flawlessly. USB2.0 throughput is slower than XSATA of the HDD...
xxboxx
Mar 28 2010, 09:21 AM
guess it's something like ReadyBoost for Windows to speedup the system memory usage.
nakata101
Mar 28 2010, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(navigator @ Mar 28 2010, 08:01 AM) I can smell your anger. hahaha USB2.0 throughput is slower than XSATA of the HDD... But reading/loading faster than Dvd-rom, right ?? Now 16G pendrive still around RM100+, i think better top-up rm30+ to get 160G hardisk. This post has been edited by nakata101: Mar 28 2010, 10:12 AM
navigator
Mar 28 2010, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 28 2010, 09:21 AM) guess it's something like ReadyBoost for Windows to speedup the system memory usage. Based on majornelson's blog, it's function as a memory storage unit. your guess is wrong if u think it's readyboost QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 28 2010, 10:09 AM) But reading/loading faster than Dvd-rom, right ?? Now 16G pendrive still around RM100+, i think better top-up rm30+ to get 160G hardisk. I got my 250GB @ RM160 and using now as XBOX HDD. hahahaha
IccyAsd
Mar 28 2010, 11:30 AM
hmm transfering file around for a USB 2.0 is indeed slower than a HDD, but reading might give some boost? Added on March 28, 2010, 11:33 amwell if they could really become a 32gb chunk, then for those 20gb hdd user it would be awesome. too bad they limit us at 16gb This post has been edited by IccyAsd: Mar 28 2010, 11:33 AM
SUSzhiyung
Mar 28 2010, 11:36 AM

Well read speed wise: DVD like 20 meg/s High perf flash drive maybe 30-40 meg/s 2.5" 5400rpm HDD (360's times), give it max 50 meg/s
If take access time into account, i'll say flash drive is a pretty good choice. But of course, if you wanna install multiple games, buying multiple flash drives is not a good idea, cost wise. And one more thing is, cap kapak flash drive is as maybe slightly faster than DVD only, but with superior access time, it's still better than DVD.
sinchro
Mar 28 2010, 12:56 PM

usb hard drives are supported? but only 16gb max? what if we make several partitions of 16gb? would that work?
marauderz
Mar 28 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Mar 28 2010, 07:10 AM) Wouldn't it be slow to read the games from USB hdd? That's why they recommend Flash Drives better lar. I guess overall, a brand X flash drive would have faster random access time than a brand X hard drive. QUOTE(Sinchro) usb hard drives are supported? but only 16gb max? what if we make several partitions of 16gb? would that work? No, for each device only maximum 16GB can be used. It seems like the 16GB will be like a different partition since they used the term format and prepare the storage unit. so I think it's like one of those protected partition thigns the thumbdrives usually come with. Main thing is, the existing data on your thumbdrive would most likely be wiped out when it's preparing the storage area. Of course this is still speculative so... we'll know in about 2 weeks lar.
gundamalpha
Mar 28 2010, 07:15 PM
Finally can install more games
marauderz
Mar 28 2010, 09:50 PM
nah, I dont think the 360 will ever be you have to install to play. Cause DVD speeds are faster than BlueRay drives. For the 360 installing to the hard disk is optional, and mainly to... well.. make the unit more quiet since spinning the disc gets a bit noisy when the game is quiet.
michael9413
Mar 31 2010, 10:00 AM
and slow also... FM3 loading is slow i don have space since i only own 20GB only and i had FIFA10 on the disk already
marauderz
Mar 31 2010, 12:02 PM
So now you can just buy a 16GB drive, install to that, and SPEED UP!
michael9413
Mar 31 2010, 04:52 PM
haha no i'll buy portable harddisk if possible/supported...
marauderz
Mar 31 2010, 05:50 PM
no use if you buy harddisk, only 16GB can be used.
michael9413
Mar 31 2010, 06:36 PM
16GB only??? then more expensive than the HDD itself... i better buy 120 2nd hand
marauderz
Mar 31 2010, 09:46 PM
Errr.. 16GB thumbdrive is errr.. 80 bucks?
michael9413
Apr 1 2010, 11:51 AM
more than that around RM100 i think... but if i use RM250 mod in HDD i have plenty of space but scare kena banned only... so i don want to take the risk... see how la... after that date i see how... at this moment my HDD not able to detact maybe power too low... so i might get a external 3.5" HDD with power cord see how...
aily187
Apr 1 2010, 12:19 PM
gundamalpha
Apr 1 2010, 12:26 PM
It's always good to see some companies adding stuff to their products as time goes on, unlike one which taking stuff off from their products time to time
turion64
Apr 1 2010, 01:29 PM
what if u take a hard disk and make several 16GB partition? wud the xbox detect as several thumb drives?
SUSzhiyung
Apr 1 2010, 03:14 PM

I think they are limiting the addressing by the ports (or hubs), only 16gig per port.
marauderz
Apr 1 2010, 05:20 PM
Yup 16GB PER DEVICE. to a maximum of 2 devices can be used at a time. The maximum limit is probably to control any insufficient USB powre issues.
michael9413
Apr 2 2010, 09:17 AM
i know so bigger HDD cannot use if i buy a external HDD with own power supply then different already mah... haha
rhoyo
Apr 2 2010, 11:13 AM
man why 16 gb . why cannot 1 tb
michael9413
Apr 2 2010, 11:26 AM
well they need to limit that mah for their HDD sales also...
marauderz
Apr 5 2010, 02:52 PM
well... 1 or 2 more days till this drops. Has everyone got their drives ready?
gundamalpha
Apr 5 2010, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 5 2010, 02:52 PM) well... 1 or 2 more days till this drops. Has everyone got their drives ready? Not yet
Jcsy
Apr 5 2010, 10:27 PM
so the 16gb thumb drive can use like built in hard disk?
dark lenanza
Apr 6 2010, 01:42 AM
i just bought sandisc16G hurm..now wat woll happen to my 256mb ms memory card
Kernkraft400
Apr 6 2010, 02:37 AM
@leenaz, Pasar malam la !
dark lenanza
Apr 6 2010, 06:51 AM
hahahahah
xinan08
Apr 6 2010, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Apr 6 2010, 01:42 AM) i just bought sandisc16G hurm..now wat woll happen to my 256mb ms memory card lelong lelong lelong!!!!!!!!!
marauderz
Apr 6 2010, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 5 2010, 10:27 PM) so the 16gb thumb drive can use like built in hard disk? Any size can be used, just that maximum you can set for one device is 16GB, and you can use a maximum of 2 devices
hollowbean
Apr 6 2010, 01:40 PM

anyone tested yet?
marauderz
Apr 6 2010, 02:07 PM
upgrade not out yet, so it should be 6th on US time then, will be a few hours more I guess
michael9413
Apr 6 2010, 04:28 PM
should be around 6pm if not mistaken... like last time...
MmxZero
Apr 6 2010, 05:47 PM

The upgrade is out. Takes about 10 - 15 minute to update depending on your connection speed.
gundamalpha
Apr 6 2010, 05:50 PM
Haven't prepared my thumb stick
IccyAsd
Apr 6 2010, 06:09 PM
got the update, 3 mins on my Unifi 5mb package
marauderz
Apr 6 2010, 07:27 PM
Ok, I'm now trying a SanDisk Blade 16GB... The cheap one.. Previously I tested that write speeds are HORRIBLE on this thing... and judging from the amount of time it's taking to install L4D2 on it... yes... write speeds are HORRIBLE.. will see how reading holds up.
I also have a SanDisk Cruser 16GB and a KingMax 16GB. Very high hopes for the kingmax.
Added on April 6, 2010, 7:30 pmOh, you also can only have one installed copy of the game at a time. IE, if you've already isntalled the game to your hard disk the option to install won't come up. you'll have to delete the installed game on the hard disk and execute the copy command again, then ask it to install to the flash drive.
This post has been edited by marauderz: Apr 6 2010, 07:30 PM
IccyAsd
Apr 6 2010, 08:28 PM
hmmm is there such things as external SSD yet ?
marauderz
Apr 6 2010, 08:38 PM
The thumbdrives are technically SSDs, and also, we can only use 16GB anyway. Just grab a thumbdrive.
Anyway.. intial reports SanDisk Blade 16GB - VERY VERY VERY BAD WRITE SPEED. READ speed seems average. Wouldn't recommend this unless you have no choice.
SanDisk Cruzer 16GB - Good write speed, Good read speed. This one's not too bad.
One more KingMax 16GB to test, performance seems to be very good. Will test once my wife gets off the TV
Added on April 6, 2010, 8:41 pmOne thing I wasn't expecting was that the thumbdrive wasn't formatted with a protected partition. But rather formatted to FAT32, has a hidden Xbox 360 folder on the drive along with encrypted chunk files. Interesting.
This post has been edited by marauderz: Apr 6 2010, 08:41 PM
marauderz
Apr 6 2010, 10:29 PM
Ok, here's the round up
SanDisk Cruzer Blade 16GB, the red one in the middle :- As mentioned.. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE WRITE SPEED, Read speed seems to be ok only. Use if you have no other choice. SandDisk Cruzer Contour 16GB, the Silver one on the left :- Good write speed, nice read speed. Decent and usable, problem is that it's too big to plug in the rear usb slot. And it sticks out of the front like a sore thumb. Kingmax 16GB :- Good write spped, Good read speed. and it's small enough to be left in the rear or the front USB. Highly recommended IF you can find it. cause I know I haven't seen these in a while. As a reminder, note that USB thumbdrive performance can wary based on capacity and of course... who knows maybe there's a difference in manufacturing batch and performance might change as well. In any case stay away from the sandisk blade definetly. hmm.. should try a class 4 8GB SDHC card in a reader and see.
SUSzhiyung
Apr 6 2010, 11:05 PM

Well even for same manufacturer, their flash drive model have varied speed... write speed can be as slow as 5 meg/s to 18 meg/s, read speed also like 15 meg/s to 30 meg/s... so i wouldn't say a certain brand is bad unless that's the only model they have...
marauderz
Apr 6 2010, 11:16 PM
Well I'm pretty sure all the SanDisk Blades are bad  I have a grudge against branded thumbdrives  Anyway, for those of you who haven't figured it out yet. When you select the drive you have 2 options - Configure - Customize Configure WIPES your thumbdrive and uses the FULL capacity for storage. Customize will allow you to set your remaining free space for storage WITHOUT wiping it. Hmm.. could have been just the device I was using it with but.. the drive configured with the CUSTOMIZE option didn't want to be detected after a reinsert.
heavendevil
Apr 7 2010, 12:43 AM
Can you transfer saves between the Xbox and PC with this update? I would do it myself but my box isn't connected to the router.
marauderz
Apr 7 2010, 12:48 AM
nope, files are still encrypted i guess
heavendevil
Apr 7 2010, 01:03 AM
Then I guess I shouldn't have to rush since I already have a 120g and a built in 256mb memory. Read the features, I was hoping to be able to put music files on the hdd with the usb. Sigh.
hikaru_x
Apr 7 2010, 02:00 AM

good, now i can transfer those stubborn game saves (namely DOA4, Forza 2) from my old hard drive using the transfer content utility.
marauderz
Apr 7 2010, 09:33 AM
Yeah, you can even use the transfer cable and hard disk to transfer as well.
cahayamalamku
Apr 7 2010, 09:54 AM

haven't connected to live for 2 days now. after this system updates, can i make a backup of my game saves or i just can transfer the files into a new usb memory?
marauderz
Apr 7 2010, 11:19 AM
you can copy/move ur game saves from the 360 hard disk to a thumb drive.
hikaru_x
Apr 7 2010, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 7 2010, 09:33 AM) Yeah, you can even use the transfer cable and hard disk to transfer as well. really? nice... now where did my transfer cable go? *looks at Michael9413*
Jcsy
Apr 7 2010, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 7 2010, 11:19 AM) you can copy/move ur game saves from the 360 hard disk to a thumb drive. confirm? havent do the update yet
michael9413
Apr 7 2010, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Apr 7 2010, 01:05 PM) really? nice... now where did my transfer cable go? *looks at Michael9413* bro still with me la... got come out recently??? this weekend free i give back to you...
hazardcradle
Apr 7 2010, 07:31 PM

just want to know, is this feature will remain forever? my xbox 360 is at my hometown and right now considering to buy a new one but bernard only have unmodded arcade (no elite) right now. so that means i still can save game without hard disk with this feature right? and transfering my saves from old xbox 360 to new one?
quackers
Apr 7 2010, 08:54 PM
i guess this means that there is definitely going to be a X360 slim. This update is so you can transfer all saves n profiles to the slim....right?
navigator
Apr 7 2010, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(hazardcradle @ Apr 7 2010, 07:31 PM) just want to know, is this feature will remain forever? my xbox 360 is at my hometown and right now considering to buy a new one but bernard only have unmodded arcade (no elite) right now. so that means i still can save game without hard disk with this feature right? and transfering my saves from old xbox 360 to new one? this is a permament feature. but... anyone with a modded console to try download this?
kane_WWE_07
Apr 8 2010, 09:45 AM

Anyone know whether can install games on USB drive?
marauderz
Apr 8 2010, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 7 2010, 02:04 PM) confirm? havent do the update yet Yes, confirm can use the cable connected to a hard disk to move stuff back and forth but NOT USE the hard disk connected to the cable as an active unit. What I DO NOT know is that, the original transfer program (the disc that came with the hard disk) could transfer licenses as well so that you can play on the purchasing console without being online. Not sure about this method of copying.
navigator
Apr 9 2010, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 8 2010, 05:58 PM) Yes, confirm can use the cable connected to a hard disk to move stuff back and forth but NOT USE the hard disk connected to the cable as an active unit. What I DO NOT know is that, the original transfer program (the disc that came with the hard disk) could transfer licenses as well so that you can play on the purchasing console without being online. Not sure about this method of copying. Original transfer program can only transfer from lower to higher capacity and different HDD size using diff disk. Sometimes pepble at SG service center also confuse & give you only 20GB to 120GB and cause problem to peole with 250GB/60GB. They do not transfer encrypted saves, rented movies & license. You need to online for the license transfer.
marauderz
Apr 9 2010, 01:59 PM
well... can't test that much, but I think it works like an actual external hard disk, so you can move the data to and from the hard disk.
gunblade
Apr 9 2010, 11:11 PM

urmmm... this may sounds like a noob... but what's the usb support for? just so that I can install games on it, aye? I hope they will enable the option of saving the content of my thumbdrive into my x360 hdd... lecehlah kalau mau lepak2 dalam bilik sambil dengar lagu kuat thru x360, kene cucuk pendrive...
marauderz
Apr 10 2010, 12:01 AM
Nope.. copying raw music files from USB into the hard disk is still not supported. Probably don't want to run afoul of the RIAA
wunan
Apr 10 2010, 04:28 PM

so what is the minimum read/write speed for the thumb drive to be considered good for this?
i tried using an old thumb drive, the process successful but say my thumbdrive will affect game perfomance.
marauderz
Apr 10 2010, 05:48 PM
no solid numbers, but search through this thread for my post, i've done some testing. worse case with drives that have a slow write speed is that it'll take forever to install them to the drive.
eque
Apr 14 2010, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 10 2010, 05:48 PM) no solid numbers, but search through this thread for my post, i've done some testing. worse case with drives that have a slow write speed is that it'll take forever to install them to the drive. I've installed my game "Wet" on an 8 gig thumbdrive. I made sure the thumbdrive has high data read speeds (more than 15 Mb/s I think). The 5 GB install took between 10-15 minutes. Long, but bearable for gamers on budget like me. Don't think it's worth going to buy a 16 gig thumbdrive (RM90 and above), since the HDD is only RM 50 to 60 more. Most games will fit on an 8 GB thumbdrive; if you are casual gamer who plays one game title at any given time this makes sense if you wanna prolong your DVD drive life.
Merdeka
Apr 15 2010, 10:12 AM

Guys/gals, Make sure the USB/HDD is FAT32 if not cannot do. btw do you know why XBOX 360 this new feature only accept FAT32?
Roland San
Apr 15 2010, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(Merdeka @ Apr 15 2010, 10:12 AM) btw do you know why XBOX 360 this new feature only accept FAT32?  Because it's not Sony! Or Apple! Or Nintendo! Or User Friendly!
SUSzhiyung
Apr 15 2010, 11:36 AM

Really? It's going to reformat the drive to another FS anyway, why does the existing FS matter?
wintzen
Apr 15 2010, 12:51 PM
Definitely a great feature, haven't download the updates yet. Time to power up mine this week.
Merdeka
Apr 15 2010, 01:19 PM

QUOTE(Roland San @ Apr 15 2010, 10:34 AM) Because it's not Sony! Or Apple! Or Nintendo! Or User Friendly!  Bcos Xbox 360 is still fat (FAT32) unlike PS3 has gotten slim sori guys couldnt help it lah..
navigator
Apr 15 2010, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(Merdeka @ Apr 15 2010, 01:19 PM) Bcos Xbox 360 is still fat (FAT32) unlike PS3 has gotten slim sori guys couldnt help it lah..  It's native FS is actually an XFAT...FAT for XBOX360. So it douesn't matter what FS it is, the XBOX reserved partition size will be gone from your PC anyway
wunan
Apr 15 2010, 09:05 PM

i did customize(keep my data intact) my thumbdrive...it went well and it is fat32 not ntfs.
but when i connect my usb sata hdd drive which is ntfs, it say the drive not formatted yet and ask me to format, i can not select the customize option. there's no way i want to format my hd movies collection just for a few 16 gb storage.
Jcsy
Apr 15 2010, 10:31 PM
anyways, from what i know , xbox 360 is made of a lean and thin windows 2000 windows 2000, main thing boasted about it was FAT32 ?
marauderz
Apr 15 2010, 10:56 PM
The reason it's FAT32 is most likely because that guarantees that the drive will still work on most other platforms if the user chooses not to use the full size for the drive.
Cause NTFS is pretty much Windows specific and it's not necessary in this case anyway.
Remember, this option is to be used by the average joe as well, not just experienced computer users who know the difference between FAT32 and NTFS.
cannavaro
Apr 15 2010, 11:27 PM
EH.. did I read that right? now games can be installed on a usb drive?
navigator
Apr 16 2010, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(wunan @ Apr 15 2010, 09:05 PM) i did customize(keep my data intact) my thumbdrive...it went well and it is fat32 not ntfs. but when i connect my usb sata hdd drive which is ntfs, it say the drive not formatted yet and ask me to format, i can not select the customize option. there's no way i want to format my hd movies collection just for a few 16 gb storage. XBOX do not read NTFS.
greyshadow
Apr 16 2010, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(navigator @ Apr 16 2010, 11:54 AM) yeah, fat32 only which means the maximum file size you can have is only 4gb, and most of the hd movies are more than 4gb in size that's why i fed up and go buy a hd movie player instead
navigator
Apr 16 2010, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 16 2010, 01:31 PM) yeah, fat32 only which means the maximum file size you can have is only 4gb, and most of the hd movies are more than 4gb in size that's why i fed up and go buy a hd movie player instead There is a way to format the HDD to be larger than 4GB. Easiest way is to format it using Windows98/ME
marauderz
Apr 16 2010, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 16 2010, 01:31 PM) yeah, fat32 only which means the maximum file size you can have is only 4gb, and most of the hd movies are more than 4gb in size that's why i fed up and go buy a hd movie player instead FAT32 maximum PER FILE size is 2GB. Due to some technical limitation, that's why the newer players all support NTFS.
SUSs3an_looi
Apr 20 2010, 11:38 PM
hopefully there'll be a hack to make the files on the USB readable on the PC, then we can start importing other people's savegame or perhaps get the unlocked full arcade games...
marauderz
Apr 20 2010, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Apr 20 2010, 11:38 PM) perhaps get the unlocked full arcade games... Niccceeee.. ppl come up with such a nice feature and the first thing you can think of is how to steal from it?
navigator
Apr 21 2010, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Apr 20 2010, 11:38 PM) hopefully there'll be a hack to make the files on the USB readable on the PC, then we can start importing other people's savegame or perhaps get the unlocked full arcade games... Xplore360 can do so on HDD. Not sure if USB is readable. But doing so will get your GT ban by XBL! unless you can't online or won't online for some *stupid* reason.
wunan
Apr 28 2010, 09:45 AM

i had customize a usb notebook hdd and it told me successfully done but the hdd doesn't meet the perfomance requirement.
then i install a game(tales of vesperia) on that hdd and took about 17 minutes(that's pretty fast in my book), then i play that game and i don't find any slow loading.
so, if i use a pendrive that meet the xbox perfomance requirement, will it be super fast???
marauderz
Apr 28 2010, 11:41 AM
So far my tests has shown me that you might have slight reading advantages on thumbdrives, not a VAST improvment though. So it's more for being able to easily install games onto thumbdrives so u dont have to hear the DVD drive whril
williamxd
Apr 29 2010, 01:06 AM

So that means if i buy a xbox 360 arcade now i got the update ? btw im buying from nelson
eque
Apr 29 2010, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(williamxd @ Apr 29 2010, 01:06 AM) So that means if i buy a xbox 360 arcade now i got the update ? btw im buying from nelson Yes, you still have to connect to Xbox Live to get the update though, the ew boxes are not installed with this update.
sprix
Apr 29 2010, 12:45 PM
no need to go live.. u can update thru ur usb. Go to xbox support website for further info.
williamxd
Apr 30 2010, 12:24 AM

okey ...it works with a modded arcade console right ?
navigator
Apr 30 2010, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(williamxd @ Apr 30 2010, 12:24 AM) okey ...it works with a modded arcade console right ? If you console is not in the XBOX LIVE ban list, yes
msn83235502
Apr 30 2010, 03:13 AM
QUOTE(williamxd @ Apr 30 2010, 12:24 AM) okey ...it works with a modded arcade console right ? go search for offline update if u scared to be banned.put into ur usb drive, follow the instruction.
williamxd
Apr 30 2010, 08:50 AM

i cant seem to find the update in xbox support ...copy it through the drive and install on ur 360 ? ...Any precaution i should i take ?..i dun wanna screw up my 360 ...
This post has been edited by williamxd: Apr 30 2010, 08:55 AM
navigator
Apr 30 2010, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(williamxd @ Apr 30 2010, 08:50 AM) i cant seem to find the update in xbox support ...copy it through the drive and install on ur 360 ? ...Any precaution i should i take ?..i dun wanna screw up my 360 ... 1st precaution: if you're modded, don't online.
wcliang
Apr 30 2010, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(williamxd @ Apr 30 2010, 08:50 AM) i cant seem to find the update in xbox support ...copy it through the drive and install on ur 360 ? ...Any precaution i should i take ?..i dun wanna screw up my 360 ... http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemus...stemupdates.htmdownload the zip file, and follow the instruction. done
gundamalpha
Apr 30 2010, 10:18 AM
Finally updated last night  It seems to take longer to install to the thumb drive, but loading from it seemed similar to loading from the HDD
williamxd
Apr 30 2010, 10:24 AM

QUOTE(wcliang @ Apr 30 2010, 09:38 AM) Thanks Dud ~ Added on April 30, 2010, 10:26 amQUOTE(navigator @ Apr 30 2010, 09:27 AM) 1st precaution: if you're modded, don't online. Kk ...thats wd i taught ~ This post has been edited by williamxd: Apr 30 2010, 10:26 AM
navigator
Apr 30 2010, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(williamxd @ Apr 30 2010, 10:24 AM) Thanks Dud ~ Added on April 30, 2010, 10:26 amKk ...thats wd i taught ~ I forgot to tell you that don't power off when updating system software.
sinchro
May 13 2010, 12:39 PM

if u have an external hard drive with more than 32gb u can make 2 partitions of 16gb and use it no problem  tested yesterday.
kapultek
May 15 2010, 12:58 AM
can we watch hd movies mkv through 360 using external hd
TSgavind87
May 15 2010, 01:07 AM
not mkv only mp4
kapultek
May 15 2010, 02:26 PM
why cannot mkv
williamxd
May 15 2010, 02:31 PM

hye if use the thumbdrive y cant copy other files in it one ?
navigator
May 15 2010, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(kapultek @ May 15 2010, 02:26 PM) no codec to play
kapultek
May 15 2010, 11:47 PM
ayoo...cannot install codec
nafra
Oct 14 2010, 03:33 PM
Anyone can tell me which thumb drive works best? Gonna buy one soon....
wunan
Oct 27 2010, 12:16 PM

just make sure the thumb drive spec is good....read and write speed...
kingmax or kingston will do.