Samsung 7 series LCD, 200hz motion plus

TSlightning69
post Mar 26 2010, 04:17 PM, updated 16y ago

2,298 posts

I was at my friends house a few days ago as he just bought a new 52" 7 Series Samsung LCD. What is with this 200hz Motion thing? It makes the moving objects look like shit with a watery looking trail. So during the fast action sequence, the whole screen looks like you are under the water. Turn off the 200 hz solve the problem but the pictures quality also too a dive.

So what is the point of paying a premium to get 200hz but then it really gefrades the picture and make it look like water world?

lol

This post has been edited by lightning69: Mar 26 2010, 04:17 PM
chewkl
post Mar 26 2010, 04:19 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Your Panny is the best. The rest are all worthless junk. thumbup.gif
low98944
post Mar 26 2010, 04:20 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

There is always got pro and con for LCD/LED LCD/Plasma. blush.gif
sky heart
post Mar 26 2010, 04:28 PM

71 posts

edited

This post has been edited by sky heart: Mar 26 2010, 04:30 PM
freedom2912
post Mar 26 2010, 08:53 PM

Cool Like Fire
802 posts

TS, what are trying to say..
are u telling us that 200Hz panel scuks..

mine is also 200Hz panel but not Samsung
work gr8 and PQ is awesome..worth every penny
otherwise who would be stupid enough to spend that much liao
TSlightning69
post Mar 26 2010, 09:04 PM

2,298 posts

Don't get me wrong. My friend already regretted he bought the Samsung. Even he cannot stand the watery trail of fast moving actions.
His friends came over to watch movies in his nice home theater are saying the same thing. I remember seeing the same effect on Philips LCD and some reviewers are recommending to turn of the motion plus processing.

What I am saying is that why are maufacturers putting some fancy processing that is suppose to improve picture quality but instead introduce some really weird looking water effect.

Anyway, don't trust me...go see it for yourself!!!

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(chewkl @ Mar 26 2010, 04:19 PM)
Your Panny is the best. The rest are all worthless junk. thumbup.gif
I never say my panny is the best. Its a cheapo plasma but it get the job done well and that is what I need.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Mar 26 2010, 09:06 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 26 2010, 09:07 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Mar 26 2010, 09:04 PM)
Don't get me wrong.  My friend already regretted he bought the Samsung.  Even he cannot stand the watery trail of fast moving actions.
His friends came over to watch movies in his nice home theater are saying the same thing.  I remember seeing the same effect on Philips LCD and some reviewers are recommending to turn of the motion plus processing.

What I am saying is that why are maufacturers putting some fancy processing that is suppose to improve picture quality but instead introduce some really weird looking water effect.

Anyway, don't trust me...go see it for yourself!!!

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:06 pm

I never say my panny is the best.  Its a cheapo plasma but it get the job done well and that is what I need.
I thought of buying Samsung as well, good that you posted the warning ! notworthy.gif
TSlightning69
post Mar 26 2010, 09:09 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(freedom2912 @ Mar 26 2010, 08:53 PM)
TS, what are trying to say..
are u telling us that 200Hz panel scuks..

mine is also 200Hz panel but not Samsung
work gr8 and PQ is awesome..worth every penny
otherwise who would be stupid enough to spend that much liao
I am specifically refering to the 52" 7 series Samsung LCD. Go see for yourself before making any silly comments. I don't see anyone could really accept such a serious flaw.
low98944
post Mar 27 2010, 09:58 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

120 Hz without Frame Interpolation

Q: I just read your HD Advisor 50 and have a question about your suggestion that frame interpolation can be turned off. If you turn it off, do you lose the advantage (e.g. reduced motion blur) of the faster refresh rate that 120 Hz TVs have? Is there then any need to buy a 120 Hz TV if you don't like that "camcorder" look? Or can you still have the increased refresh rate without frame interpolation? I have a 60 Hz 1080p TV, and I'm wondering if going to 120Hz has any advantage to me if I'm one of those people that hates that artificial video look.

A: Yes, when you turn off the frame interpolation feature on a 120 Hz HDTV, you will still benefit from the fast refresh rate. A 120 Hz TV always runs at 120 Hz, and will automatically convert any input signal to that frame rate. It will not slow down its refresh rate to 60 Hz just because you've turned off frame interpolation.

120 Hz was chosen for these displays because it's an even multiple of 60 Hz (the common frame rate of NTSC and broadcast HD sources) and 24 Hz (the frame rate of 1080p content on Blu-ray). When frame interpolation is turned off, the TV will apply 2:2 Pulldown to all 60 Hz input signals. This means that each frame in the source is doubled and refreshed twice as fast, without any interpolation. The TV will also apply 5:5 Pulldown to 24 Hz sources, which duplicates each frame 5 times. A simple multiplication of the original frames will look seamless to your eye, but will reduce the motion blur inherent to LCD displays.

When frame interpolation is applied, that does more than just multiply the original frames in the content. The TV uses pieces of the original frames to create brand new "in-between" frames. Those artificial frames are what makes the picture smeary and causes movies to look like they were shot on camcorder.

Source: http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/news/show/...1_Surround/4444
rx330
post Mar 27 2010, 10:10 AM

11,811 posts

isnt this the same thing as sony's one?

0.0170sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:42 AM