The Official HP Mini 210 Netbook Thread, Join The Big Family of HP Mini 210

venicelim
post Apr 8 2010, 09:43 AM

330 posts

count me in!
Receive HP mini from TM yesterday night!
but i dun hav chance to use the netbook yet, cz it was delivered to my hometown back in penang, while i am in KL. my bro is using the netbook now.

Questions here:
1) how can I make backup of the OS? like create the recovery disc or someting like tat?
2) the RAM is upgradable to 2Gb, so is there 1 slot or 2 slot? meaning can i just purchase another 1Gb to upgrade it to 2Gb?
venicelim
post Apr 8 2010, 10:55 PM

330 posts

the netbook always pop up to remind me to create recovery disc.

when i want to create recovery disc, i should create it into pendrive right? 4 Gb pendrive enough or 8Gb? or create it anywhere in harddisk memory?
venicelim
post Apr 9 2010, 08:12 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Apr 9 2010, 04:38 PM)
how to use the recovery partition to recover to factory setting? just boot from that disk? if can, whats the different between using this method and creating recovery disc with dvdrom, which i think is quite troublesome.

Added on April 9, 2010, 5:00 pm
that means its like the retail version??.lol
i am wondering too..same question..
anyone can answer?
why need to create recovery disc actually?

QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Apr 9 2010, 07:17 PM)
Guess so.But it's the silver cover.

Retail version got silver color?
take pic of ur hp mini and post here to share with us..

This post has been edited by venicelim: Apr 9 2010, 08:13 PM
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 12:09 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Apr 9 2010, 11:50 PM)

Here is the "new" lappy from TMNet  brows.gif
wow..nice one..
the second pic, the laptop of ur fren is surfing lowyat forum too..
rclxms.gif
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 12:39 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Apr 9 2010, 01:05 AM)
curaptz is alrdy in d list for so long la  doh.gif

hmmm stuck in desktop huh?
hmm.gif
the mouse cursor wont move at all?
did u on the touchpad? or u use d usb mouse?

Added on April 9, 2010, 4:34 am
check d recovery folder size la.
usually 4gb and above will do.
or if u have an external dvd rom will be much better
see this >> http://store.microsoft.com/Help/ISO-Tool
i tink 4Gb pendriv not enough..cz 4Gb pendrive inside just got 3Gb++ space, not enough
must buy 8Gb i tink.
& must be independent blank pendrive (which means no other file inside)
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 12:40 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Apr 10 2010, 12:56 AM)
i m using ultimate now with 1gb ram. it works fine just like the starter edn,
is the performance faster with ultimate?
or still the same just as starter?

Added on April 10, 2010, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(Corrupted Spirits @ Apr 9 2010, 11:50 PM)

Here is the "new" lappy from TMNet  brows.gif
how do u claim warranty tat time anyway?
call to the hp toll free number? the one start with 1800 xxxx xxx?

This post has been edited by venicelim: Apr 10 2010, 12:42 PM
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 02:46 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kennywai @ Apr 10 2010, 01:26 PM)
how is 1gb ram doing against ultimate ?
im currently using 1gb ram with 4gb sd card with readyboost.. doesnt feel the speed really..

is 1gb really enough.. or should throw in a 2gb..
what u 4Gb sd card with ready boost?
what is that for and why?
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 03:07 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kennywai @ Apr 10 2010, 02:57 PM)
readyboost is some sort of speed enhancement by using the sd card as temporary cache..
supposed to speed up systems with 1gb ram or lesser..
more QnA at Tom Archer's Blog : ReadyBoost QnA
there is not much explanation on how to create ready boost?
just put a memory card in the SD card slot will do?
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 07:00 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Apr 10 2010, 06:01 PM)
u planning to create a recovery disc?
And ytd i bought a rm5 USB-IDE adapter for connecting my netbook to my dvd-rw so that it would be easier to burn a disc but it turns out that my dvd-rw is using sata vmad.gif Now searching if i can find another adapter for IDE-SATA  biggrin.gif
ya,...create a recovery disc as a backup..better isnt it?
why not?"
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 10:19 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Apr 10 2010, 10:09 PM)
ya i created one set too. required 3 dvds.
how to make into 3 dvd?
u connect to external dvd-rom?
venicelim
post Apr 10 2010, 10:33 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Apr 10 2010, 10:26 PM)
ya external drive. then follow the instructions. Very ez. btw below is my cpu-z i was wondering how come cpuz detected my ram is ddr3 and single channel? any idea?
why urs is 2Gb memory?
u change it ard? cz i thought TM giving 1Gb Ram only isnt it?

by the way, can provide me the link to download CPUZ?
venicelim
post Apr 23 2010, 10:02 AM

330 posts

hey there,

anyone can teach me how to create recovery disc to pendrive?
cz everytime i clcik create recovery disc, it will says that hp doesnt has DVD drive.
how to change the setting so that i can make recovery disc to pendrive?
venicelim
post Apr 30 2010, 10:22 AM

330 posts

hello,
I would like to know,
for HP mini comes with Windows 7 starter OS (from streamyx unipack),
how can i get the windows key so tat next time when need system recovery or reformat, i can use back the windows 7 starter OS?

maybe my question sounds noob, but i need the answer.
tkz

0.0382sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:51 PM