The Official HP Mini 210 Netbook Thread, Join The Big Family of HP Mini 210

kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 09:40 PM

116 posts

hi all sifus~~
anyone know how to reformat hp mini 210??
need external CD rom or just use the recorvery drive (D:)??
noob here, do explain more yea (steps by steps is better) tongue.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 09:47 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:41 PM)
Press esc during boot, there got option for recovery ?
err... that not my netbook and not with me now tongue.gif
if got? just press recovery from there??
i only able to see it tomorrow biggrin.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 09:50 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:48 PM)
Just press the recovery from there and follow the instructions..
ohh, okie, will look on it tomorrow
hopefully my other friend can help out as well
so mean no need external cd rom so troublesome lar??
kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 09:55 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:51 PM)
No, unless the recovery partition is corrupted..
i think not corrupted...
but but, i heard that the HP Support Assistant software fail to detect the serial number, product name and product number
should be not really affecting with the recovery partition right??
kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 10:09 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:56 PM)
Shouldn't be..
cause HP centre told us that it need CD rom to reformat it (after reporting for the HP Assistant Support issue + some hang + it always happen that those files disappears when login windows, need restart then it will come back)
also reported to them before that the hp mini failed to detect battery, at first they say is motherboard issue (after checking the battery) then after checking (few days later), they say is battery problem sweat.gif
and 1 of my friend just inform that no such case, no need so troublesome
so i just found out about this thread and ask for icon_question.gif biggrin.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 11:00 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 31 2011, 10:48 PM)
If need cdrom to format, that means you need to own a Windows disc...
errr.... don't think is provided in the HP mini package right??
hopefully able reformating those problems are gone biggrin.gif
any ideas with those problems that i mentioned?? software or hardware problem??
usually formating takes how long? tongue.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Mar 31 2011, 11:16 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 31 2011, 11:09 PM)
Not provided...
Battery, could be hardware problem..
Try the recovery and see first..
At least 1 hour ? Didn't measure the time last time...
haha, okie biggrin.gif
will come back on tomorrow if there is anymore problem
already ask someone to help for reformat
he familiar on formating his acer laptop but not hp mini (he also thought need cdrom), hopefully he can do it for me brows.gif

as I'm really noob on this part
hopefully tomorrow able to "steal" some knowledge from him biggrin.gif
thanks a lot
kelvinclyap88
post Apr 2 2011, 01:20 AM

116 posts

need icon_question.gif cry.gif
before reformat, use avast to boot scan and got virus

after recovery/format, use avast to boot scan again and same virus (i think is the same) still there
is it really virus or some error from avast?
should i delete, repair or ignore?
worry that EndProcess.exe is needed/important... or anyone can tell me what it is??

This post has been edited by kelvinclyap88: Apr 2 2011, 01:21 AM
kelvinclyap88
post Apr 2 2011, 01:28 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:23 AM)
Just ignore it, its the tools being used by HP...
ohh.... is it really infected by virus??
as might need to use it for online banking usage on that netbook
worrry cry.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Apr 2 2011, 01:35 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:30 AM)
No, it detected as tools that can kill process, which is its intended usage...
ohhh, mean is normal la
thought that is a virus rclxub.gif
lucky nothing, as after reformat it, will use it for online banking as well
need to ensure everything is OK

as today just heard that one of my friend's CIMB online banking been hacked and all $$ gone doh.gif
any suggestion on good antivirus??
saw somewhere that you're using ESET is it? is it good? seldom saw it selling at shops hmm.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Apr 2 2011, 01:40 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:37 AM)
Good enough laugh.gif
or there's MSE or Avast for the free one...
can consider taking ESET then tongue.gif
haha, already using avast on that netbook...
but worry not well protected as people always say, free thing no good biggrin.gif
kelvinclyap88
post Apr 2 2011, 10:33 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:47 AM)
hmm, you might want to consider using virtual keyboard when inputting data during the login/transaction, just make sure no one peeking around when doing so..
i thought only kaspersky provide virtual keyboard??
what software provide it too??
i think her account give ppl hack, will source what actually happen to her cimb account hmm.gif

QUOTE(Keatsan @ Apr 2 2011, 05:32 AM)
I found an interesting software to tweak your bootup. It's call Soluto.

Perhaps it's worth giving a try on netbooks like Mini 210.

Soluto
is it really useful?? interested on it tongue.gif

0.0399sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:56 AM