Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^

silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 01:25 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(powerfulcool @ Apr 1 2010, 01:19 PM)
hahaha the response on Unifi registration is OVERWHELMING according to the CS

so much for the boycott. the only people boycotting are:

a. super heavy downloaders
b. people who cant even apply for the service
c. the so-called 6% who hog 80% of total streamyx bandwidth
or people who believe that tmnet shouldn't just get away with providing sub-standard services.

Its overwhelming because simply put, they are launching in high income areas, the people can afford to burn the money, they don't really care. Doesn't mean we should just keep quiet and let them do as they please. I see unifi as a step backwards rather than a step forward.

Even since unifi was launched, my internet is worse. Wait till more and more people subscribe to unifi, and watch the experience degrade more and more. They are just repeating what they've done with streamyx before. We need them to change, we need them to prepare our nation for a broadband future, and as long as consumers like yourself are so apathetic, they won't because they have no reason to.
silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 02:42 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(powerfulcool @ Apr 1 2010, 02:03 PM)
how can you determine that it's substandard before you have used it? you;re the typical complaining-malaysians aren't you? complain3 without having experienced the service or product beforehand. it's not fair for TM to get the flak before it's even officially launched; getting the flak from people who havent used the service no less. noisy non-buying customers

That's why we're getting people to post results.

it's overwhelming because people see it as a value for money; RM150 for a triple play service? that's a good deal compared to what we had previously (typical 1mb broadband cost RM100+ but you're getting 5mbps for just RM150 plus another 2 services)

Triple play service that doesn't provide people with anything they really want. You call that value? Landlines are hardly used by most people anymore, IPTV channels are a joke, and guess what, you're paying for it. You call paying for something you don't want/need value? laugh.gif Amazing.

the argument that it's response is overwhelming because it was launched in high-income area is plain bullshit; the cost for broadband is the same throughout the whole country; if residents in high-income area find it to be a good deal, residents in other areas with broadband access will come to the same conclusion.

So if a rich person thinks a nasi lemak worth RM5 is good value, everyone else will come to the same conclusion? Your impeccable logic amazes me. People with high income CAN AFFORD the prices, people with lower income can't. The cost may be the same throughout the whole country, but the disposable income of the people staying throughout the whole country is different (and many times, by a large margin).

Look at how much we're being charged for broadband compared to other countries all around us. Compare it dollar to dollar, and you'll see that our internet is bloody f***ing expensive.

btw, do explain what's so sub-standard about the service? free equipment (the 802.11N router alone should set you back RM300!) free IPTV, free local calls, 10cent/minute to mobile numbers (cheaper than most other mobile to mobile calls)...

Service and free gifts are two different things.

Sub standard service includes

• Throttling
  • Slow speeds
  • Bad pings
  • Unreliable connections
  • Frequent downtimes

All this, people have experienced A LOT with streamyx. You want to say unifi is different? I can tell you that streamyx started out great as well, and it was great for about 2 years until a mass recruitment campaign began and they were signing up more people than they had the bandwidth and support for. You think unifi is going to be any different? I don't see any attitude change from TmNet.

Notice how in their terms and in the contract, they've not specified on how well they can provide a service? Fix this and I won't complain of sub-standard service.

as for streamyx, my service has never been better. and without numbers and samples, whatever you experience cannot be used as a measuring stick for the internet service by streamyx

You don't have numbers as well do you? I spent 30+ minute loading a 3 minute youtube video, tell me how that is great service? My 1mbps line is downloading files at 30kBps (from gmail), tell me if that is great service. (My ADSL signal is fine if you're wondering)

you call me apathic, but you know for a fact that you guys are sore and butthurt. TM is changing, they've invested RM9 billion in this project to wire our houses up for the future. tell me what else do you want? even the Americans are having a lot of problem setting up last mile fiber optics network. they are arguing as to whom to pay the bill.. heck, TM is lining up the fibers down your backstreet out of their own pocket without the guarantee that butthurts like you lot would subscribe to the service.

Out of their own pocket? laugh.gif They were subsidised by the government, do you pay your taxes? I do. So they did use my money to build the infrastructure and yet can still charge high prices? Utter bollocks.

Your argument doesn't make any sense anyway. Any sort of business needs to make an investment to provide infrastructure and support for their products. Its not like they're giving it free, if they want my business they need to make things attractive and provide a good service. It wouldn't be so bad if they used only their own money, but the government subsidised them, which means that I paid for the infrastructure as well.

I wonder if you know the meaning of the word 'apathetic' in the first place laugh.gif

give them some credit and stop being such a pain in the ass for the rest of Malaysians.

Credit is given when credit is due, and they've not done what I deem necessary to give them any sort of credit. Until they can make a promise and even put it in my contract, guaranteeing a certain level of service quality, only then I'll give them credit because it shows effort and commitment to quality.

Just watch, as most of you are happy with unifi now, give it sometime, and you'll all be complaining like you did with streamyx, and why? Because you all signed up for a 2 year contract which doesn't promise or guarantee you anything and you can't do shit about it. You never fought for your own rights as consumers. and you will rightly get fleeced because of it.

If you ever used the internet in other countries, then you'll know why I say their service is sub-standard and this is not my opinion alone. Friend who came back after studying for a few years in US, UK, AU, JP all say the same thing, internet here sucks. What's the main difference in these countries? The consumers fight for their rights, and make the companies listen.
silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 02:46 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 1 2010, 02:37 PM)
The wifi router they give has custom TM firmware.. last port is painted red in colour and its meant for IPTV. If you have a direct cat5 cable connection to the set top box from another room you can separate the two. What you cannot do however is hook up a switch/hub to that red IPTV LAN port as anything thats connected to that will be placed on some 10.3.0.0/255.255.192.0 subnet with no internet access meant for IPTV.
Is there a way to set up so that the IPTV signal is sent to a computer first which then broadcasts it to all the computers in the network? Thinking if its possible for me to set things up in a way so that people in the house can watch multiple channels. Not too sure how it works, or at the very least this would allow multiple access points in the house for IPTV.

silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 05:10 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(powerfulcool @ Apr 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
so? it still doesnt give you, a non-user, from complaining about a service you've never used. ive heard nothing short of satisfaction save for a few bad connections to the US servers from the trial users. they are downloading at close to their max speed when connected to multiple connections. the IPTV is flawless, no technical problems there and the same goes to the dect phone service.

what does a chicken user like you have to complain about?

The HSBB project used government money, which means tax payers money, which means, MY MONEY. Yeah, I have a right to complain, and I also have the right to complain when they're not getting more international bandwidth but still rolling out more bandwidth packages, which means less share for everyone else.

it has to start from somewhere, and those are the free channels anyway, as they go along new channels will be added. your vision is too short-sighted. you expect them to compete against astro in terms of channel listing even though TM has just started this service not a few weeks ago?

I don't expect them to compete directly, but at least provide a few DESIRABLE channels which they've failed to do. If you want people to see value in it, then you must entice them to it, not just throw it in and expect them to appreciate it. People aren't stupid, because the "free gift" has cost factored into it already

what an idiot. you are comparing an internet service to nasi lemak. nasi lemak gets its raw marerials from local business - rice, santan, eggs, all the ingredients to make them are cheaper in rural areas. whereas is it much more expensive to connect rural areas as the population is more sparse, and the user uptake are considerably lower. you simply cannot compare the 2. in fact TM is doing the rural area residents a favor by offering internet connectivity at the same price urban areas are getting.

laugh.gif The example was just to show you the difference in disposable income and prices and how it affects affordability. Yea, go ahead and wire up the rural areas which have LESS PEOPLE, which make LESS MONEY and charge them THE SAME PRICE as you're charging people who MAKE MORE MONEY. Seriously, you think that is a sound business model?

If its expensive, favor or no favor, you think the rural people are going to pay RM149 for a 5mbps package? You think that is CHEAP?

let me just say this again, you are a retard for comparing internet service to nasi lemak.

You're a bigger retard to think if nasi lemak was the point doh.gif

you mean indonesia and philipines? I kid; sure, you meant singapore and probably thailand. tell you what, since you proposed the point, you should come up with the source. where is this source comparing the broadband service prices across the region.

I am actually already in the process of compiling a list. You want some source? Yea, here you go

Still want to say we're cheaper and have good value? I'm not even done with the list yet and tmnet is already showing to be incredibly expensive.

as lame as an ass. all you are doing is speculating. you have no points just like the rest of your post. you are an idiot with a foolish agenda... non of your accusations has materialized but you are pointing them out as if they will happen.

Bla bla bla, the only thing you can do is attack people without bringing out any substantial points of your own.

aaa it's fun to see my point flying past above your head. what i was saying is anecdotal examples are useless. just because you are experiencing a bad service it doesnt mean the service is bad as a whole. if anecdotal evidence is a valid point of argument, i would like to point out that everyone in my neighborhood has been having a wonderful streamyx service for the past 2 years, all 1000 household... believe me, because i've asked them. 1000 users vs a single user like you having a problem, that' 0.1% bad service rate, so streamyx must be great biggrin.gif

Considering I've been using streamyx since the 1st day it rolled out, I have seen how the service has degraded over the years. Anecdotal? Yea, perhaps, but its an anecdotal experience shared by many others. I pose a challenge to you, go and PM any of the LYN members now who use streamyx, and ask them if they're happy with the quality of service provided by streamyx. Heck, you can even go out of your house and do it.

tl,dr: your anecdotal evidence is useless in measuring the service quality; so shut it already with your problem from downloading asian porn ok?

Yea, and you would just lap up anything tmnet tells you like a good dog. I don't c are if my evidence is anecdotal, its a fact that I'm experiencing a bad service, and so do others. As if a point of discontent isn't enough for a complaint. Next time you go eat food and you find a roach in it, don't complain la. Anecdotal evidence only right, all the other customers didn't experience it, so shut up and eat that roach in your soup.

they invested 9billion into the infrastructure, and you are saying that they cannot decide on the price points? are you a communist? why are you against capitalism. at RM150 per month there are thousands registering for the service. why? because they "provide a good service". prospective customers are attracted to them. only download monkeys like you refused to subscribe to the service because of the possibility of a cap. tell you what, none of us users are TM miss you 6%.

Possiblity of a cap? I WANT A CAP idiot. I just want it to be reasonable to what a high speed broadband should be like. If they want to keep the cap as it is, I'm fine with that, lower the prices. I don't give a shit if all the money they invested is their own money, but they used tax payers money for the job as well, which means I get a say.

government is only subsidizing RM2billion probably to connect rural areas where no other ISPs would due to the low ROI.

That's 20% of the project, not a substantial amount to you?

haih, condescending much? this is how you deliver your points eh?

Just curious, cause you didn't seem to reply in a way to show you understood what it meant.

im not apathetic. i saw a good service and give them credit by registering for it. you on the other hand is too butt hurt because TM is going to change your pirating lifestyle.

More accusations again, can't you do anything better than that? I don't know about you, but I buy my games, and I buy them through steam as well, which means downloading the game and also patches, which are not by any means small. We've mentioned this many times already, high speed broadband is going to be used to get more high bandwidth content, and the low caps do not reflect a future for this.

Do you send and receive files from friends? Ever received 200MB+ files which are just pictures? The internet is moving forward, technology is moving forward, heck South Korea which only gained its independence after a CIVIL WAR in the late 80s, already had way better internet connectivity 5 years ago than we are "rolling out" now.

haha you are so full of shit. all your points are based on speculations on your part. just fyi, i just got back from the States and i can say the AT&T adsl service there suck more. it's not all gold and roses there. they are having problem with connecting the whole US with fiber anyway, and TM is doing it for free for you without a guarantee a butthurt like you would register for it.

TMnet did it for free? THEY USED TAX PAYERS MONEY. Until that point gets into your head, you'll never see why some people are just so pissed about it. If you think my anecdotal evidence means nothing, that is fine. However the general dislike and hatred for tmnet speaks volumes about their branding and public perception... and they didn't get to that point by being great. You can ignore that if you want, you can continue calling people names if it makes you feel better and that it justifies your position.

The fact remains, we are way behind in terms of the internet, and we're not even trying to catch up.
silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 06:29 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(brian12988 @ Apr 1 2010, 05:51 PM)
but i have to mention one thing...when comparing between 2 items.u have to consider in a lot of factors..in many cases..u all are comparing an apple and an orange..and it is unfair..u cant compare US, Korea, Australia to Malaysia...becoz  spending power,earning power,existing/available infrastructure or services,development plans, support, open market, government laws, country location and etc.

Which is why, in my list, I'm comparing based on average household income (some i use median figures but median figures arent available for all countries), and compare it dollar-to-dollar based on their income to see how "affordable" it is. That should give a good idea on the broadband rates, and as you can see, its incredibly high in Malaysia.

I'm still looking for better sources for income rates, the one I got for thailand seems a tad bit too high.

and to silverhawk..HSBB is a 80-20 investment..meaning that the 80% came from TM pockets where they got the money from selling services, plans and other things..TM was started with tax payers money but has since earned their own money like Petronas..and not like MAS..

Doesn't change the fact that 20% came from tax payers money.

i would agree that the Unifi had a low cap..but i would give them time...not 1 day or 2 days..since Rome was not built in 2 days...

What sort of time would they need?

and every ISP in this world has customers who hate their service..like singapore and Singtel..but most of the times it goes unreported to the media so to say that an ISP is good becoz the have been no official or public complaints is just wrong.just like how robbery or rape cases goes unreported does not mean that it is not there..

I'm not talking about the media, because you don't see that much here as well. What I'm talking about its the brand recognition. What's the general response when you ask someone about tmnet?

and relying on speedtest as a measure is just weird..
It is, which is why I also set up a test ftp account for people to upload and download using unifi so we can get some usage statistics. Which as one of the testers have done, showed its rather decent.

I wish TmNet can come out with a clause in their contract, using several data centres at key points around the world as benchmarks for acceptable service. For example
  • US Datacentre A: minimum average of 30% line speed for 2 weeks
  • US Datacentre B: minimum average of 30% line speed for 2 weeks
  • AU Datacentre A: minimum average of 50% line speed for 2 weeks
  • UK Datacentre A: minimum average of 50% line speed for 2 weeks
  • JP Datacentre A: minimum average of 40% line speed for 2 weeks

Something like that. So as long as we can connect to any of the sites hosted at those data centres and achieve decent speeds as outlined, then tmnet would have fulfilled their end of the bargain. Although not everything is under their control, but if they have several data centres then if one is facing an outage or a problem, then we can use another to test.

Of course force majeure still applies, but at least this would be a step in guaranteeing service quality.

silverhawk
post Apr 1 2010, 06:45 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Apr 1 2010, 06:43 PM)
Let me assume:

Contacting and making appointment with the bandwidth supplier - 1 day.
Having disussion with the bandwidth supplier - 1 day.
Prepare the money to be paid to the supplier - 1 day.
Sign the contract + payment - 1 day.
Fully implement the bandwidth - few hours.

Total = about 4 - 5 days.
3-4 years adi, still no difference laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 02:44 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Apr 2 2010, 01:26 AM)
For your chart, here is what I am mainly used to:

http://www.upc.nl/internet/

Ranging from 5mbps for 19 euro, to 120mbps for 71 euro. No cap.

And you can really get those speeds (of course, the server at the other end has to cooperate). Using the 60mbps package I could get 8MB/s downloads from the USA. 700MB ISO file in a minute and a half.

When you compare with TM's offerings you also have to consider that the effective speed is much lower than the advertised speed for most non-local transfers.
Thanks, saves me googling around for ISPs, it can be surprisingly difficult laugh.gif

Well, I can't tell how good the service is, so I just assume it'll all be about the same, and base them on package price and average household income to see how expensive broadband is to these people. Not comparing the level of service actually gives tmnet an edge, and if they still can't compete base on that handicap, it just shows how horrible our internet service is.
silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 02:55 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Apr 2 2010, 10:25 AM)
if it's your mommy's or daddy's money, u don't have the right to complain. it's not yours at the 1st place.

btw, the reason the government gave the rights to TM because they believe TM is the ONLY company here that is able to deliver this project & willing to spend that much money on a project this big. do u think p1 has the money to spend on something like this? haha.
it's the government who wants to give the rights to TM. so why are u blaming TM for getting the privileges?

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 2 2010, 10:40 AM)
I will have to partly agree on this. For a project of such scale and size, you can't just award it to any company on the street. It'll have to be a company with the resources and track record in handling such projects.
The government is trying to push broadband to the whole country, be it rural or urban. If they had awarded it to a chinaman company (I use the term chinaman very loosely here, I really just mean a non-GLC profit-motivated company), the company would probably have pushed to rollout HSBB in the urban areas only and neglect the rural areas as they're unlikely to be too profitable, thereby completely disregarding the NBI and penetration targets.

If I recall correctly, the government only funded less than half of the amount required for HSBB rollout - TM had to fork out the remaining (RM6bn or so was it?).

But I don't like how they force you to take IPTV and voice as well. I guess there's no way else they would've persuaded anyone to take up those plans as the current HSBB-ed homes would probably have Astro already.

Just my humble 2 cents. If I'm wrong on any front, feel free to correct me smile.gif
You are both, quite simply speaking, wrong.

If the government opened the project for tender, you'll see a lot of companies fighting for it. Any company is always willing to put money into a project as long as there are returns. Maxis rolling out their own fibre is evidence of this. You really think Maxis can't find investors to bring out more money to tender a project that would connect the whole of Malaysia?

The problem is things aren't planned out properly. You want to increase broadband penetration, that's fine, its a commendable goal. However is it really the right idea to spend unnecessarily and hook up the rural areas with fibre which most people can't afford or want to use? I do like the idea of connecting rural areas with fibre, but if the price is at what it is now, it simple isn't affordable for those people.

If cost is too expensive, hook them up via ADSL first or something, I'm sure there are many cheaper alternatives to hook up rural areas with sparse population.

silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 04:32 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Apr 2 2010, 04:10 PM)
actually, they don't just look at how much money a company has. they do a background check on which company has the most experience in broadband/internet service. does maxis has that long history in implementing internet service compared to TM? is Maxis wireless broadband service on par with TM's Streamyx? why give the tender to some1 who doesn't even have any experience in ground line cabling for internet connection? it's just like hiring a rich boy with a law degree to work in an O&G company..as an engineer!

btw, Maxis is already implementing their own FTTH in bangsar. we'll see how do they go after this.

laugh.gif Malaysia where got so honest, you really think its because of TmNet's experience? FYI, Maxis has experience with broadband, so do other companies like TIME and penangfon/metrofon (which has more experience regarding fibre services to residential areas).

Expertise can always be brought in (and usually is), you think TM does all the work themselves? Laying cables and all are handled by contractors, not by TM specifically. So while the people go in as an entity (e.g. Maxis, Time, etc), behind that entity there will always be contractors/companies/experts leading it. Things aren't just so simple and clear cut like "Maxis don't have wired broadband, so they can't do wired".

silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 05:32 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Apr 2 2010, 04:45 PM)
for streamyx, yes they do outsource the contractors but for UNIFI, they are using their own men as the contractors.
wireless technology and wired is a big difference dude and maxis or TIMEdotnet does not have much experience in ground line AND broadband more than TM does, period.
and stop assume here and there. come back when u do have proof.

Continue to think what you want to think la, TM was awarded the contract due to their ties, quite simply speaking there was no tender and bidding for the project. Otherwise you would have heard about it on the media. You know how many projects go through like this in Malaysia? PLENTY. There are people who make a living out of just being the middle man and helping companies who are tendering to find contractors.

and incase you didn't know maxis has wired broadband, and time also has wired fibre lines. Also, TIME was one of the first few in Malaysia to begin with wired broadband for residential areas. You really, truly believe they don't have the expertise? You really truly think TM has better expertise and experience? You really think TM won the project based on merits? How naive can you be really.

Oh ya, TM used their own people? Then why defend themselves about hiring foreign expertise? Source. So, you still want to think TM is using their own people for the HSBB project?

You want to see what would happen if there was open bidding and a proper plan and infrastructure to give proper competition and no preference for monopoly? Take a look at how singapore planned their FTTH.

http://www.lightreading.com/document.asp?doc_id=149476

Now look at the short listed tender companies and tell me what do you see. Now THAT is a true example of meritocracy. In BolehLand, other companies weren't even given the chance to step in for the tender.
silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 08:36 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Apr 2 2010, 06:39 PM)
You're thinking about it the wrong way.

NOBODY should have the "privileges". It should be an open-access network like in Singapore.

All ISPs should be allowed to compete freely using the fiber infrastructure that was funded by public money. This will ensure better quality of service, higher speed, and a more dynamic market.

The way Malaysia did it was flawed from conception. It was rigged so that only TM could get the job and only TM would benefit, at the expense of other ISPs, and in the long run, at the expense of all Malaysians.
+1
silverhawk
post Apr 2 2010, 09:38 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Apr 2 2010, 09:07 PM)
yawo
we all discuss about TM FTTH
how about MAXIS FTTH price and speed?
Price is unknown, but local speed test so far is bloody amazing, not sure if they'll limit is yet or not.

http://forum.flying spaghetti monster.my/thread-83285-1-1.html

Check that for some test results. If not mistaken, international speedtest was around 2.5mbps/2.5mbps

but the local speeds are pretty killer
silverhawk
post Apr 4 2010, 04:21 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 4 2010, 03:02 PM)
Trust me, the moment the network slows down to Streamyx levels.. Unifi users (me included) are going to open the 'Extreme Unifail Slowdowns V1' thread to discuss achieving better line conditions. As for now however, the network is performing fine.

Don't you think its a bit of a wrong way to go about doing things? Isn't that like trying to force 4 lanes of cars into a 3 lane highway? Wouldn't it be better to you know... make more lanes?

Experienced users will always find a way to get around things, so we're not really affected by it. However the majority of the users are not experienced or even knowledagable in IT, in the end, they are the ones who get shafted. I don't think its the right way to go about things.
silverhawk
post Apr 4 2010, 06:12 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 4 2010, 05:28 PM)
I assume that by making more lanes, you mean upgrading international link capacity? I would not know how much additional bandwidth would be required but I'm sure TM already has done something about it. I keep mentioning how Youtube is playing abnormally fast for popular videos but not so much for videos with less than say.. 20k views, it's as though they have a local content distribution network for Youtube vids now. Perhaps this is a step they've taken to reduce the Youtube streaming load rather than attempting to throttle it down. People would be very suspicious if they signed up for a 20mbps line which was allocated RM15b in funding but be unable to play Youtube video's properly, you know?

Thing about Malaysia is we sort of live in between the West and the far East. We take our content from both sides. The only time you would be accessing local content is to grab news from the Star, Malaysiakini, do you banking with Maybank2u or chat here on Lowyat.net. There's only so much bandwidth you can add and the ISP always has cheaper options to just throttle everyone seeing as they have a little monopoly going on here.

What we can do about it however is to start up our own local peer-to-peer scene. Not only would it basically harness everyones downloads into a single network (RS/MU/Torrents/DDL), it would be extremely fast and save us a lot of international bandwidth. Think about it like recycling bandwidth. A single Unifi user's uplink can basically support 20x 1mbps users.. combine it with other Unifi/Streamyx users within a multi-source P2P network.. you get an amazing amount of bandwidth and 'local content' so to speak.

Saves bandwidth, time and cash. I think that would be the way forward, both heavy downloaders and standard users would be satisfied.

In terms of cars and highway capacity, why put more cars on the road in the first place when we can just carpool?
First, let me say I agree with you about local content distribution and even local caching.

My point is that we shouldn't have to find "work-arounds" and be blaming users for not being educated enough to use download accelerators or finding a way around the system. The system should be set right and proper.

What TM can really do to make this really interesting is provide an upto 100mbps local uplink for unifi subscribers. Then you'll see some massive local content distribution which would take the load off the international line.

The fact that I have to use multiple connections for a single file to achieve my package's speed is ridiculous. I know I can do it, but I shouldn't have to.
silverhawk
post Apr 6 2010, 01:07 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(eimzic @ Apr 6 2010, 10:50 AM)
i drive a proton yet i very much condemn proton.. in malaysia, u dont get to choose..  tongue.gif
No, you always get to choose. You can buy a perodua, or a second hand car toyota, etc.

The problem is you think you don't have a choice, so you complain but you still pay. That's giving out the signal that its ok for them to keep doing all the sh1t they do to you.

silverhawk
post Apr 6 2010, 07:12 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(llutephie @ Apr 6 2010, 07:11 PM)
Fakap² pun langgan juga biggrin.gif
which is why things in this country will never change *sigh*
silverhawk
post Apr 7 2010, 11:29 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(igothack @ Apr 7 2010, 02:25 AM)
I believe tons of people are signing up for Unifi in the available areas. The sales rep told me that the technicians are fully booked until April 21st.

I guess all your boycotting failed.
According to the guy in charge of the project at TM, so far only 400 subscribers tongue.gif

Still, the boycott fails because Malaysians are just lousy consumers. Complain about how horrible things are, and will still fork out the cash for an overpriced service.

QUOTE(Neptern @ Apr 7 2010, 03:10 AM)
If the revised cap is lousy,every unifi user will spam their mailbox and complaint like crazy...some might drop unifi.
drop? You have a 2 year contract.
silverhawk
post Apr 7 2010, 04:26 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(satoshi.mifune @ Apr 7 2010, 11:40 AM)
wow only 400 if what you said is true then the boycott is really working smile.gif
Well it could be just due to their lack of manpower. I know the boycott isn't working like I hoped it would, after all, many of the people who are here complaining about tmnet non stop, saying want to boycott, but in the end, go subscribe for the service doh.gif shakehead.gif

silverhawk
post Apr 9 2010, 10:12 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 9 2010, 07:31 AM)
7 hours without sleep.. 3 hours sniffing and analyzing packets in wireshark.. 4 hours acquiring the software, setting up the proper codecs and preparing an IPTV content list from the wireshark dumps.. and finally..

REALM FIRST !

Managed to get Unifi's IPTV to stream over any network (wired/wireless) into any PC on my home network ! Yeah biggrin.gif ! No more shitty set top box !
Good job mate!
silverhawk
post Apr 9 2010, 04:41 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 9 2010, 04:18 PM)
Yo dawg, I herd you like picture in picture, so I put a picture in your picture so you can picture while you picture

Streaming 9 channels at once.. this is why your PC > STB any day lol

Also, its confirmed that IPTV is capped at 8mbps (or around 1.10MB/s). I did this test by watching multiple streams till the bandwidth maxed out and the picture started lagging. Network graph topped out at 1.10MB/s down. I'm still unsure about upload speed at the moment but if its capped the same way as the Internet VLAN, it should be 8mbps up/down - unmetered.
sweetness smile.gif

If only channels were better laugh.gif I would gladly pay for IPTV which allows streaming of several different channels across the house biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1446sec    1.11    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:34 PM