late penalty, please help

leongal
post Mar 25 2010, 09:47 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

there is extension when it comes to leasehold property...check ur s&p to see the clause

example of late penalty calculation:

outstanding owing to the seller = RM 100,000
late penalty rate = 8% per annum (the rate depends what is stated in s&p)
late for = 30 days

late penalty = RM 100,000 x 8%/ 365 days x 30 days = RM 657.53
leongal
post Mar 25 2010, 10:25 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(pewfy @ Mar 25 2010, 09:55 PM)
Dear Leongal,

Thank you for reply.
normally, how long time the vendor's bank (Maybank) will send bank redemption form to my lawyer?
my consent is released on end of Jan,
but so far, still pending the bank redemption form.
it is more than 2 months.Is it normal?

For your information, vendor and me are using the same lawyer.

My friend who signed SNP on end of Nov 09,
leasehold house in selangor,
her bank already released money to her vendor last week....
but mine one is still far away from expectation.

I am frustrated....
my family keep on asking me when we can move to new house.
understand your frustration....as i have just went through it and finally OVER...it is a relief

usually banks will take 14 (working) days to get the redemption statement out....
leongal
post Mar 26 2010, 04:08 PM

3,188 posts

pewfy, do contact merce, he is really helpful smile.gif
leongal
post Mar 27 2010, 08:15 AM

3,188 posts

i couldn't agree more when you said that lawyers are unprofessional.....buying second hand property is not the problem; most of the cases, lawyers are the problem....imho
leongal
post Mar 29 2010, 09:59 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(joey85 @ Mar 27 2010, 09:58 AM)
i just bought a 2nd hand house recently... according to my lawyer.. she said the "3+1" terms (interest charges) only calculate after consent obtained (for leasehold house) ... may be for my case only?? im not so sure too.. but this is what my lawyer told me... coz i just got my consent from land office this early of month, so the "3+1" only impose started by this month...
yes, your lawyer is correct nod.gif
leongal
post Mar 29 2010, 02:01 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(sweetnovember @ Mar 29 2010, 01:19 PM)
I agree. It happened to me, as my SnP signed on Sept 2009, and only got the redemption voucher last week.
It really took me long time to wait for the process.
The owner start to remind me on 3+1, may I know when is it start counting for the 3+1?

I am not sure about what's behind it, but the lawyer firm should have responsible for that. Now, I got to call up every week to check for status. shocking.gif
is your property freehold or leasehold?

vmad.gif my case, i called up almost everyday....just glad tat the transaction has finally ended
leongal
post Mar 29 2010, 05:20 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(sweetnovember @ Mar 29 2010, 04:47 PM)
it's freehold. somehow it takes such a long time...
just come to know that, the redemption voucher is not released yet. sad.gif cry.gif

Added on March 29, 2010, 4:48 pm
yaya... I think I should call up everyday. I am sick of it.
freehold, usually 3+1 starts from the date get confirmation from the developer or the date of s&p, whichever later....

but, check your s&p to see the clause.....

leongal
post Mar 30 2010, 09:45 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(sweetnovember @ Mar 30 2010, 09:21 AM)
'
if that's the case, then sad.gif so my 3+1 ored over for quite a while already then.
but if that is due to owner's bank not releasing the redemption voucher, is the case valid? or I need to check the SnP to find out this?
the owner did say about the 3+1 penalty, as he said he is still paying the interest .
rclxub.gif

Added on March 30, 2010, 9:23 am
how you found out that your lawyer got problem? I not sure whether my lawyer got problem or not. I think their service is not good, as always dun keep their promise of replying the call to update me.

The same lawyer for both SnP and loan. Usually  I will check with the clerk not the lawyer, should I just directly reach lawyer instead?
i think if it is due to owner's bank not releasing the redemption voucher, the delay is caused by the owner and not you, and therefore, the delay days should be excluded from the 3+1....(maybe should find out why the owner's bank not releasing it)

in my case, my bank/lawyer has ensured that the redemption voucher is issued before they proceed to asking further documets....

0.0343sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:27 PM