post Apr 20 2010, 01:40 AM

QUOTE(y_owez @ Apr 19 2010, 10:12 PM)
what if firmware?
sorry newbie?
why do we need to update?
how?
thanks!
Firmware is a software that directly controls the hardware. It give manufacturer the option to determine the features that it wants to add to the product or fix bug or enhance current features at the later stage. Some of the thing that you'll miss if you did not upgrade to the latest firmware in satio is enhance battery life, more intuitive interface, WVGA video support etc etc.. So, most of time, you do want to update it. smile.gif

btw, anybody experienced lower cellphone reception with Satio? I've tried 2 Satio and both had poor reception compare to my old k800i in my office. sad.gif
muat
post Apr 21 2010, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(y_owez @ Apr 20 2010, 10:43 AM)
thanks very clear
do u mind me asking where and how to do it? is it like reformating pc?all my stuff will be gone?
1. Download the SE "Update Service" from here into your laptop/desktop
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/support/so...tio?cc=my&lc=en

2. Make sure your Satio have at least 50% of battery life.

3. Make sure your laptop/desktop are connecting to the internet.

4. Run the application and follow the instruction. You'll notice later that it'll ask you to shutdown your Satio and REMOVE/REINSERT YOUR BATTERY and hold the call button before connecting to the usb. I've forgot to do this last time and keep blaming the software instead. tongue.gif

None of your data (eg pic, video, doc etc..) or your installed applications (eg games) will be lost. In my case, even the setting for the display timeout unchanged after update. It is similar to the windows automatic update. Nevertheless, it is always a good idea to back up your stuff. Just use the SE pc suite will do.

ps. you might want to install Hellox2 before updating to the latest firmware. smile.gif

happy updating! wink.gif

Added on April 21, 2010, 8:57 am
QUOTE(forgetful @ Apr 20 2010, 11:22 PM)
u can choose to save your settings when u upgrade firmware. I do experience bad reception in my office sad.gif sad
The bad reception happen even before I upgrade the firmware. I was hoping that the new firmware will solve this. Maybe the k800 reception is unusually high hmm.gif So, these days, every now and then, I've to stepped out of my lab to see if there's any miss call. Else where reception is great. Nevertheless I still love my Satio haha.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by muat: Apr 21 2010, 08:57 AM
muat
post May 18 2010, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 18 2010, 10:35 PM)
i think why my satio can lasts longer maybe when first time i get satio i let it charge around 10 hours.
I did the same thing. I think my Satio last about the same as my k800i, which is ok. Usually last 1 day on heavy usage (5 hrs mp3 with bluetooth, 20-30mins talk time, 5-8 pic & 20mins internet surfing using 3G) and at least 2 days on standby (never been on standby more than a day). Really feel sorry for those who suffer from battery performance. I'm a bit worried before buying it last time but glad that it turned out to be good. sweat.gif Anyway, my only habit is I've never keep any application running idle at the background unless they are necessary. Always close them all.
muat
post May 22 2010, 03:41 AM

QUOTE(MNet @ May 21 2010, 05:25 PM)
when use garmin gps ...
why it will hang?
The hang thing is another problem that luckily I seldom encountered. Even today, I had been unfortunate when my Satio drop while walking down the stairs (~1.5m high). It leaves some dent cry.gif , but the phone still running. Anyway, careful folks, you don't want this to happen to you.

muat
post Jun 2 2010, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 1 2010, 03:57 PM)
luckily i didnt involve in this...after upgrade to the latest firmware,any satio user experience better imaging quality?
Low light condition still not satisfactory. The color isn't vibrant enough. Oh well.. maybe my expectation is too high tongue.gif
muat
post Jun 15 2010, 01:46 AM

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Jun 11 2010, 10:36 PM)
ooo. den tat is abit turn off hmm.gif

waiting the satio price to drop more  rclxms.gif

lol btw no 1 reply about the red colour satio isit suitable for a boy use ?  nod.gif
ehh.. wait.. I thought Satio has kinetic scrolling? Unless my understanding of kinetic scrolling is wrong. One, you can scroll through the menus and the picture without using the side bar. You can also continue the scrolling through your entire picture collection with just one stroke. Just scroll once up or down, then make sure you don't lift your finger when you reach to the border. It will keep on scrolling through the end of your picture collection as long as you didn't lift your finger. You can even control the scrolling speed if you can be precise enough. Very cool features. thumbup.gif You should also able to zoom in to your picture/map and able to move around to any side of it without having to use the horizontal and vertical slider. What else kinetic scrolling suppose to be capable doing? hmm.gif The only drawback is Satio don't have kinetic scrolling support on the menus other than the main menus (like what iphone can do).

ps/ Red is definitely alright with boys. My first Satio is red and it attract lots of attention, as if the entire department notice I just got a new phone haha.. but i return it because I suspect the dealer give me second hand phone and old stock some more.
muat
post Jun 15 2010, 03:53 PM

QUOTE(jiaqi1993 @ Jun 15 2010, 09:04 AM)
i heard satio wont update the firmware anymore...
what d ? blink.gif That sucks.. they must fix the camera low light condition first. Mind to share the link where you heard the news?
muat
post Jun 22 2010, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(jiaqi1993 @ Jun 20 2010, 10:17 PM)
yes i would say  and i suggest you to install all yr theme in yr phone memory..

Added on June 20, 2010, 10:18 pm

my garmin no problem but takes too long to lock  satelite @@
Mine also took sometimes over 5mins to lock without the AGPS. It is now consistently below 1 mins (all bars green) on a clear blue sky after I've enabled them. The version that I'm currently used is 5.00.50s60.9. The only gripe I had with Garmin is the voice turn by turn navigation is lagging. At least compared to nokia navigator.
muat
post Jul 7 2010, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(Shreddy @ Jul 6 2010, 09:47 AM)
I don't have this problem when making calls.

The microphone is at the bottom of the phone.

Yeah you cannot change your volumn when your phone is locked..
You can get around it if your headphone/bluetooth headset had volume control.
muat
post Jul 29 2010, 09:15 AM

QUOTE(fyzue @ Jul 28 2010, 11:27 PM)
wanna ask about GPS, it is only that my phone doesn't show option for Assisted GPS (agps) like my wife n5800xm or other satio same just like me?
it just show option for Internal GPS, Bluetooth GPS & Network based..but n5800xm show more option - Assisted GPS, Intergrated GPS, Bluetooth GPS , Wi-fi/Network & Network based..  hmm.gif  want to confirm...tq
The network gps is A-GPS. Its a technology that uses your celco tower to triangular your positions and feed back the information so that your satellite can be locked faster. Yes, you phone need to get connected to the internet thru 3G or Wifi during the locking process. Usually with A-GPS, I've managed to get a lock within a min compared to without it, could takes as long as 5-10mins.

0.0370sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:41 PM