46 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Unifi Boycott Unifi - capped connection

whatsayyou
post Mar 27 2010, 12:12 PM

525 posts

papers said iptv uses 8mb line. so if all subscribers on the tv 8hrs a day, will this affect bandwidth?
if it doesnt affect, it means TM has enough bandwidth to go around.
then just offer packages without the iptv, without caps, since the infrastructure can cope!!
xts
post Mar 27 2010, 12:14 PM

159 posts

if streamyx also kena cap
what i can said this is MUNDUR
better did ntg
stay 4m
noneed HSBB noneed Unifi
just streamyx 4M enough 
n how come TIME can do it unlimited this tmnet cant?
wana earn more and dun1 buy the BW!!!

coz TIME limited for certain area
SUSigothack
post Mar 27 2010, 12:17 PM

with this new fibre infastructure the local bandwidth is VERY cheap. what is the bottleneck is the international gateways
billytong
post Mar 27 2010, 12:17 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 27 2010, 10:33 AM)
On what grounds do you say this? Do you know something about TM's cost structure that we don't?

While I do not have the data on that, but I do not believe cost structure in KL city is 10-30 times more expensive than anyone else.

This post has been edited by billytong: Mar 27 2010, 12:17 PM
cipan2001
post Mar 27 2010, 12:25 PM

W.D -> Lecroy
611 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 27 2010, 09:46 AM)
You guys are expecting for 1TB of cap. Common even some website packages do offer  20GB of bandwidth quota. But then if you're a heavy downloader you're screwed. For me and to be honest , I rather have the cap which is rather reasonable , umm say 75GB for 5Mbps

I dont want to suffer with slow connection just like streamyx because of certain group of self-centered folks who think that they are the only ones that are paying taxes and downloading things 24/7 !
QUOTE(alexan @ Mar 27 2010, 10:16 AM)
EXACTLY my point to a lot of people. If its left free flow, users around your neighbourhood will be sucking bandwidth like crazy and your 20Mbps or whatever speed will be crawling when you need to use it the most. Then the backhaul will be 90% utilize by abuse users leaving only 10% for the rest.
You got my point.. Thanks staff and elite to highlight this matter..
Cap is necessary to ensure go connectivity all day long..
Juz bcoz of heavy downloader we juz have 10% left..
I don't want ended like streamyx..
Btw I am not agree with the current 60gb cap..
Should be more..

This post has been edited by cipan2001: Mar 27 2010, 12:27 PM
sogoatticus
post Mar 27 2010, 12:50 PM

672 posts

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...8091&sec=nation

positive respon from them but still they have to monitor the traffic

This post has been edited by sogoatticus: Mar 27 2010, 12:56 PM
desmondyap93
post Mar 27 2010, 01:03 PM

442 posts

pls la...uncap the unifi and reduce the package money...b1tch tm

This post has been edited by desmondyap93: Mar 27 2010, 01:03 PM
iipohbee
post Mar 27 2010, 01:24 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(desmondyap93 @ Mar 27 2010, 01:03 PM)
pls la...uncap the unifi and reduce the package money...b1tch tm
At what expense? They don't even have enough bandwidth for current Streamyx users already.
TimKen
post Mar 27 2010, 01:28 PM

398 posts

Good news guys ~~~ thumbup.gif

TM lifts UniFi download cap

PETALING JAYA: Good news. The download cap on Telekom Malaysia’s UniFi high speed broadband service packages has been suspended.

The telco made the announcement on the Twitter microblogging site yesterday and said it made the decision after taking into account public feedback on the cap.

“NO volume cap 4 all #unifi packages 4 now. Decision due to public feedback. TM will only monitor usage pattern 4 time being,” read the tweet.

A spokesman for Telekom Malaysia, when contacted, said the telco, however, still reserved the right to enforce a download limit to ensure all UniFi subscribers received equal service quality.

Yesterday, many Malaysians complained on Twitter about the cap. They were disappointed because the cap would restrict the amount of data they can download via the high speed broadband service each day.

They were also disappointed to learn that if the cap was exceeded, their connections would be throttled down to about 10% of the purchased speed. UniFi is available in 5Mbps (megabits per second), 10Mbps and 20Mbps packages.

Source from STAR

iipohbee
post Mar 27 2010, 01:30 PM

603 posts

Lol 10% that's 512k for 5mbps users, 1mbps for 10mbps and 2mbps for 20mbps users.

You've got your HSBB downgraded automatically to Streamyx.
SUSautoman5891
post Mar 27 2010, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(TimKen @ Mar 27 2010, 01:28 PM)
Good news guys ~~~  thumbup.gif
Source from STAR
Misleading news. They will limit your speed if you continue to download above your download limit for more than 1 month. Later this forum will be flooded by complaints from noobs about how TM conned them.

This post has been edited by automan5891: Mar 27 2010, 01:36 PM
sg999
post Mar 27 2010, 02:47 PM

1,027 posts

Calvin Tan YOU UNGRATEFUL AND IDIOTIC MALAYSIANS! DO YOU THINK MAXIS, P1 AND DIGI IS SO GOOD? THEY HAVE THEIR CAPPING FOR FAIR USAGE TOO. COME ON, TIME FOR YOU ALL TO GROW UP. ONLY KNOW HOW TO JOIN THOSE SHIT BRAINS TO COMPLAIN. U ALL WANT CHEAP BUT DON'T WANT TO PAY. YOU GUYS BETTER BE YOUR OWN ISP! TYPICAL 3RD WORLD MENTALITY!!!
================
THIS IS TM WORKER!
Zepx
post Mar 27 2010, 03:59 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Mar 27 2010, 02:47 PM)
Calvin Tan  YOU UNGRATEFUL AND IDIOTIC MALAYSIANS! DO YOU THINK MAXIS, P1 AND DIGI IS SO GOOD? THEY HAVE THEIR CAPPING FOR FAIR USAGE TOO. COME ON, TIME FOR YOU ALL TO GROW UP. ONLY KNOW HOW TO JOIN THOSE SHIT BRAINS TO COMPLAIN. U ALL WANT CHEAP BUT DON'T WANT TO PAY. YOU GUYS BETTER BE YOUR OWN ISP! TYPICAL 3RD WORLD MENTALITY!!!
================
THIS IS TM WORKER!
I totally agree with you.

The people who wants the cap to be lifted should go back and think about your selfishness. The cap suspension will increase bandwidth consumption. More bandwidth consumption, the higher the price. The higher the price, the more brats coming here to complain expensive.

For your information, 60GB is MORE THAN SUFFICIENT. No one asked you to surf youtube. No one asked you to download songs. No one asked you to download movies.
liquidsny
post Mar 27 2010, 04:02 PM

589 posts

i'm ok with monthly cap... but i'm not ok with daily cap.
billytong
post Mar 27 2010, 04:27 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Zepx @ Mar 27 2010, 03:59 PM)
For your information, 60GB is MORE THAN SUFFICIENT. No one asked you to surf youtube. No one asked you to download songs. No one asked you to download movies.

Good without all that, why should I need a 5mbps line?

roommate
post Mar 27 2010, 04:33 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Mar 27 2010, 04:27 PM)
Good without all that, why should I need a 5mbps line?
Hurm. For normal usage like surfing perhaps? LOL

Anyway, they said the capping is for browsing/loading data from international, but for local data, they didn't cap. I'm not sure bout this though.

The main advantage for 5mbs line is not only the download speed is huge, but the upload speed is huge too!! FYI, the Unifi package didn't capped for upload activity, u can upload as much as u want. Its good for a personal/business who need to deal with international people, where they can upload the data needed as big as they want at a high speed. nod.gif
SSJBen
post Mar 27 2010, 04:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(roommate @ Mar 27 2010, 04:33 PM)

Anyway, they said the capping is for browsing/loading data from international, but for local data, they didn't cap. I'm not sure bout this though.

The main advantage for 5mbs line is not only the download speed is huge, but the upload speed is huge too!! FYI, the Unifi package didn't capped for upload activity, u can upload as much as u want. Its good for a personal/business who need to deal with international people, where they can upload the data needed as big as they want at a high speed.  nod.gif
Why would you need 5mbps for surfing wepages only?
That's the most redundant post I've seen all day. doh.gif

All that is needed is 512kbps with PROPER routing to international sites, and you can surf any sites without a single hitch.
rizvanrp
post Mar 27 2010, 04:36 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(roommate @ Mar 27 2010, 04:33 PM)

The main advantage for 5mbs line is not only the download speed is huge, but the upload speed is huge too!! FYI, the Unifi package didn't capped for upload activity, u can upload as much as u want. Its good for a personal/business who need to deal with international people, where they can upload the data needed as big as they want at a high speed.  nod.gif

Surfing .txt files? There's so many flash ads and flash streaming video ads nowadays. Get a b/w meter and you'll see it maxing out when you load most pages.

Even if upload is not capped, uploading using TCP consumes downlink bandwidth as overhead. Uploading at 5mbps would use about 40KB/s of download speed.

The local data thing is just a rumour anyway, nothing is confirmed by them.

Besides, a lot of people will be getting these packages to share between multiple users. The fact that they're giving out a wireless-N router with the packages confirms they're aware of this fact. 60GB is barely enough for 1-2 people but definitely not more than that.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Mar 27 2010, 04:42 PM
SUSigothack
post Mar 27 2010, 04:41 PM

Double the caps and all is good, seriously.
netmatrix
post Mar 27 2010, 04:46 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,728 posts

Ok here are some problems on capping. Who will answer?

- How much bandwidth does IPTV takes if yo use it 24/7 the whole month? More or less than 60GB? If less, how about IPTV being in HD which requires more data to be transferred?

- Don't forget there are a lot of software updates almost weekly for windows and the plethora of softwares installed on our system. These add up.

- Emails with attachment. How many MB per mail daily?

- Gaming? Not just gaming alone. The patches, the add-ons, the chat that goes behind the games. Don't they add up bandwidth? What if you have a console game machine besides a PC hooked on too?

- Notebooks and mobile wi-fi devices?

- For 1 person it is hard to max out the 60GB limit. But if you have 2 computers with just these few things being done daily 60GB is definitely not enough. For RM149 for 5MB is high. But if you share for 2 computers it is just nice as it is like paying RM77 each with 2.5mbps speed. But even then 30GB per pc cap!! Yes still better than P1 20GB cap. But damn modern PC is all bandwidth brother!! Whats the use of getting high speed when the speed ends in a blink? Its a blardy freaking carnival ride!

46 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:31 PM