Samsung Galaxy S i9000 official thread

chewlee
post Jun 28 2010, 05:13 PM

616 posts

Those of you had gotten the Galaxy S from Maxis, what is the internal storage size? 8GB or 16GB?
Did Maxis offer special price for getting an external micro SD card?

I m comparing HTS desire & Galaxy S, and I will get 2 units.
Should I get 2 units of Galaxy S or HTS desire & Galaxy S each?

chewlee
post Jun 28 2010, 05:24 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 28 2010, 05:15 PM)
16GB..
if get 2 units for urself,y not each?
Haha, one for my spouse and one for myself.
chewlee
post Jun 28 2010, 06:15 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Jun 28 2010, 05:58 PM)
Get samsung i would recommend, video call is the nice on samsung. Desire can't support it.
Spouse is diff v b/gfren...
rclxm9.gif you had just reminded me something, i decided to take 2units HTC Desire bcos of video call....

Has anyone heard the news abo Acer stream launching in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by chewlee: Jun 28 2010, 06:24 PM
chewlee
post Jun 29 2010, 12:19 PM

616 posts

Still got doubt after called the maxis customer service, has anyone taken 2 galaxy S from maxis?
Can we sign up a supplementary line for the 2nd phone? Trying to lower the monthly commitment fee from RM50 to RM30.
I heard some is paying RM48 for the (500mb) data plan, How do you manage to get RM10 discount?

chewlee
post Jun 29 2010, 02:11 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(itman2000my @ Jun 29 2010, 12:45 PM)
actually, it's still $58 but u sign the package u get $10 discount for 18 months!!
18mths contract? I tho we just have to signed for 12mths contract?
chewlee
post Jun 29 2010, 02:45 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(itman2000my @ Jun 29 2010, 02:30 PM)
Contract is 12 months. Discount for the data plan is for 18 months.
Oic, Are we still under warranty (13-18th mths) if we terminate immediately after the contract period of 12mths?
Did u all call the maxis customer service, every question I asked have to hold abo 5 minute for the answer…
Can we sign up a supplementary line for the 2nd phone? Trying to lower the monthly commitment fee from RM50 to RM30

chewlee
post Jun 29 2010, 03:59 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Jun 29 2010, 03:30 PM)
just gotten my galaxy s with maxis offer. to be able to get it for the price(deal) you need a principal line. even sub line cannot use it =.=
Bad news to me, i tho i can sign up a sub line for the 2nd phone.
chewlee
post Jul 12 2010, 04:46 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(mAxPC @ Jul 12 2010, 04:29 PM)
You can turn off auto sync and also you can force the phone to default only to Edge (2G) and you can download an app to keep track of usage.
Can anyone explain who to turn off auto sync and force the phone to default only to Edge (2G)?
chewlee
post Jul 14 2010, 11:10 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Jul 13 2010, 09:31 PM)
Hi all SGS users,

Some feedback and report after apply ZAGG full body cover invisible shield.

1) Good in protect. Especially for the back cover and side. (Can go for naked without silicon case, cover...bla bla)  icon_idea.gif

2) Reduce finger print a lot. Especially for the back cover  icon_idea.gif  (but when and apply, some dust stick to the shield  sad.gif )

3) Better grip feel for you SGS. Wouldn't feel slippy anymore.

4) Easy to install.

5) Ok, for the screen side. Actually Zagg shield is really a good protect for the screen.

a) Clarity of the screen --> I will give Good. Clear and high clarity. (Not sure compare to MF)
    b) Sensitivity --> Actually Zagg shield does not alter the function or sensitivity of touch screens. Really. (Better explanation at below)
    C) Stylus for swype writting --> Same as above, still can work perfectly.

BUT.. BUT... because of the original material of the Zagg shield and make the surface feel a bit GRIPPY. So it reduce the smoothness of the screen and this make you feel that your screen sensitivity reduce and the smoothness to use swype.

So my conclusion, Zagg shield is really good in protection and reduce finger print. For the back cover.
For then screen protect is good as well, but frankly speaking I really don't like the grippy feel on the screen that reduce the smoothness. sad.gif
I think I will go for MF for the screen protect and Zagg for the back protect. (My wallet burn a big hole  cry.gif  cry.gif )

NOTE : I USE "MULTITOUCH VISUAL TEST 1.1" FOR THE SENSITIVITY AND SMOOTHNESS TEST, BEFORE AND AFTER TEST. (Can download at market)

Hope this feedback can help you guys for make the decision to buy which SP!  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think the best combination is Martin Field for the screen protect and Zagg Full Body Maximum Coverage for the back protect. Not casing needed.

RM59.95 + RM61.20 = RM121.15

chewlee
post Jul 15 2010, 02:57 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(johnleeisme2004 @ Jul 15 2010, 02:46 PM)
Has anyone ever sent out MMS and made video calls sucessfully using SGS before?  I'm on Maxis and I fail to do the above.  Whenever I try to send out MMS, it says "Error in server response".  For video calls, it says "unable to make video call."  Below is the configuration under Settings>Wireless and network>Mobile networks>Access Point Names

Name = Maxis 3G Internet
APN = unet
Proxy = Not set
Port = Not set
User name = maxis
Password = ***
Server = Not Set
MMSC = http://172.16.74.100:10021/mmsc
MMS proxy = 202.75.133.49
MMS port = 80
MCC = 502
MNC = 12
Authentication type = PAP
APN type = internet + mms

I have no problem surfing the internet using 3G but not sending MMS and making video calls.  Quite fed-up about this already.  Any sifu out there care to enlighten?
someone did post the setting before, check it yourself pls.
chewlee
post Jul 15 2010, 05:53 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Jul 15 2010, 04:03 PM)
Hey Guys.. Finally i got what i wanted!!! This is the latest design i can get!! Hope you guys will like this.. if the demand is here.. i will bring in... it will take only a week.. smile.gif cheers! If you are interested do PM me or leave a message here!

honestly, these are not my cup of tea
chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 09:18 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jul 15 2010, 11:58 PM)
There will be Maxis Samsung Galaxy S roadshow in Ikano from Wed-Sunday (14-18 July)
QUOTE(viperckl @ Jul 16 2010, 09:00 AM)
They will open the box and show you the phone and functions before giving you the receipt
Are they still giving out free speaker in this roadshow?

Anyone bought the phone from roadshow? Can we settle all the registration (switching from Digi) & get our galaxy S directly from the roadshow, or we have to get it from the nearer Maxis centre?

chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 10:50 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(bunnymaker @ Jul 16 2010, 10:23 AM)
I'm going to buy this phone in a couple of weeks, but the lack of accessories is really putting me off. Someone from Maxis told me the accessories should be in by end of July, so I will wait for that first. tongue.gif

Has anyone tried protecting the phone by "skinning" it? If yes, how does it look/feel? Also, is it recommended?

I asked the shop in Lowyat Plaza, the price of skinning this model is RM69.

Thanks! smile.gif
Maxis guy told u accessoceries will be in?What that mean? Are u trying to tell us maxis will be giving out free accessaries for purcahse after July?
chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 11:05 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jul 16 2010, 10:54 AM)
He meant maxis will start selling accessories for the SGS at the end of july.
OIC, lack of accessories is really an issue. I m looking for the screen protector as well.

Did anyone see android apps & games in DVD selling at pasar malam?

chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 11:43 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Jul 16 2010, 11:31 AM)
Hi all,

I'm planning to get my 1st Android phone but I'm not sure which to get, the HTC Desire or the Samsung Galaxy S. I've heard many different things about both phones. Just want to get some advise.

Fren, u came here to ask advice, mean u r had decided to take galaxy S la.
chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 04:23 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Jul 16 2010, 04:00 PM)
yes.. im starting the bulk again for this silicon casings.. anyone interested please leave ur name!!
Is this silicon casing come with a screen protector?

chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 04:55 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Jul 16 2010, 04:44 PM)
Nope it doesnt come with a screen protector.. but with a screen cleaner.. smile.gif
yup, found another product called ultra clear screen protector USD12 each, obviously the casing doesn't come with a SP.

chewlee
post Jul 16 2010, 05:07 PM

616 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Jul 16 2010, 05:00 PM)
yeah.. sell separately.. u interested to join the bulk?
interested, but how much is the bulk purchase price for casing & SP?

i was considering MF.....,BTW my galaxy S still with Maxis.

chewlee
post Jul 18 2010, 10:11 PM

616 posts

Bought my sgs yesterday at ikano roadshow, end my 3 weeks consideration imediately after look at the super amoled screen.
chewlee
post Jul 19 2010, 08:54 AM

616 posts

For those bought their SGS from ikano roadshow, how long is your warranty period?

The roadshow guy told me now only 12mths warranty, no more 12+6 months…. Is that true?
I bought it there with free speaker.

0.0426sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:45 AM