Samsung Galaxy S i9000 official thread

Nimzai
post Jun 21 2010, 12:10 AM

95 posts

I received information from a friend working inside samsung saying that the Samsung Galaxy S would be selling at RM1,699 with Maxis iData Plan 12 Months Contract.

Now I'm in a dilemma, whether to get myself Samsung Galaxy S or HTC Desire. HELP ~~ HELP ~~ . Or should i wait for iPhone 4 ? (Currently using iPhone 3GS and would like to try android)

I like the outlook of Samsung Galaxy S but i like HTC Sense UI. To me, the samsung UI abit kiddy, especially their icons. Is it possible to install HTC Sense UI into samsung.. haha..

And I'm also concern about the resale value of Samsung phones, i guess HTC phones have better resale value.

Nimzai
post Jun 21 2010, 12:22 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 21 2010, 12:16 AM)
seems like u already have an answer wat to get
No.. no answer yet.. Still in dilemma now.. haha..
Samsung Galaxy S or HTC Desire or Iphone 4.. ARGH ~~
Nimzai
post Jun 21 2010, 09:53 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 21 2010, 03:58 AM)
The only advantage I see for paying the premium price for an iPhone is the App Store and the front camera. If you want more customization options, get an Android phone.
Android oso got market ma.. less app only ma.. but i believe android will catch up with apple's app store in near future.
However, i have a question, for the time being, izzit easy to get 3rd party apps easily? Like iphone's app are easily obtainable and you can install them for free after u jailbreak it.

What about android's app? Do u need to jailbreak it or izzit called rooted before you can install apps for free?
Games and Software like GPS?

I read somewhere that its abit complicated when it comes to installing 3rd party apps (comparing to iphone).
Please advice.

When you say customization, what sort of customization? Is it themes ? iPhone also can customize wan wo..

in terms of front camera.. i dont really fancy that.. can only use with wifi and can only video call from iPhone 4 to iPhone 4.. which is pretty much pointless.

Any sifu here tried both iPhone and Android (In-depth use), please share some thoughts.
Nimzai
post Jun 21 2010, 01:17 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 21 2010, 10:55 AM)
sorry,cannot discuss about cracked apps at here..u will get ban for it..

put in this way:
customization in android without root is still better than iphone with jailbreak
customization in android with root is way way more better than iphone with jailbreak
Got it bro.. thanks so much..

Nimzai
post Jul 7 2010, 12:09 PM

95 posts

NEW GALAXY S owner reporting in !!!

I have been using iphone for quite some time and totally new to android OS.

There's one noob question, hope all the sifu here can answer me..

I understand that rooting gives us access to install apps into the sd card.. but what about for samsung galaxy s with 16gb internal memory? Do i still need to root my device before i can install 3rd party apps into my phone?

Nimzai
post Jul 7 2010, 12:29 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Jul 7 2010, 12:21 PM)
you can install any 3rd party stuff via market place.

but i suppose you meant apps you download from the net right? you can do that without rooting too. just go settings-application----enable "unknown sources"
Yes bro.. I'm referring to apps i download off the net.. So I don't need to root to install apk files?

But when i install these apps.. it will be install into the INTERNAL SD CARD or the INTERNAL PHONE STORAGE?
Cause the settings in GS shows that my Internal SD card total space is 13GB and the internal phone storage only 1.75 GB

I apologize for any noob questions.

Added on July 7, 2010, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 7 2010, 12:26 PM)
rooting does not give you install apps into sd...

galaxy s only have 1.8GB to let you store the apps..the rest is storage for music,image,etc...
1.8GB is more than enough for me(i installed around 20apps and only take 100MB)...
btw more and more iphone user jump ship to android(including me) tongue.gif
1.8GB is enough ? What about those games.. like NFS.. or whatsoever.. how much space will it take up..

This post has been edited by Nimzai: Jul 7 2010, 12:31 PM
Nimzai
post Jul 7 2010, 02:37 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Jul 7 2010, 02:14 PM)
currently android 2.1 will only install in the phone storage. but 2.2 will allow u to install in the internal sd card. anyway 1.75gb is quite enough la... this is not windows smile.gif
But if i used up say 1.5gb.. will it effect the speed of the phone.. im afraid it will be lag..
Nimzai
post Jul 7 2010, 03:00 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Jul 7 2010, 02:43 PM)
why are you worrying abt this?? are you going to install all those gameloft 100+mb stuff?? aiyoh...sgs with 1.8gb is consider market leader already. there are android phones with 500mb or even less internal storage...ppl can still survive smile.gif

anyway, if you really run out of space then uninstall some apps la...
Yes.. i do understand that 1.8gb is consider the best in market already.. im just worried i might used up all the space and the phone will get lag..
That's y im asking whether rooting the phone will give us the option to install apps into the internal sd card storage..

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 7 2010, 02:45 PM)
or just take iphone..problem solved...
I'm still using my 3GS.. lol

0.0183sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:33 PM