I hate Starcraft II

evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 12:25 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Jun 3 2010, 12:22 PM)
The way Blizzard tried to justify their price increase smacks of hasty ass-covering. Half of the reasons they gave are retarded as they come.
rolleyes.gif
actually blizzard just forget about sc2...
WoW in 1-2 month could earn more than sc2 anytime...
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 01:59 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jun 3 2010, 12:43 PM)
WoW of course can earn more, but on the flipside they need 100+ staff constantly working on the dev teams. SC2 has 40 assigned to it, and for the first few years of the development they were assisting the WoW team. Also, when WoW launched, it was priced identically to Sony Online's Everquest 2, which was its biggest competitor then.
well if blizz is such a $.$ developer i dun see why would they bother with sc2...
if they are that profit oriented, WoW enuff would be milking enuff milk to feed them forever...
currently, funds generated from WoW and being used to develop other games...
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 02:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jun 3 2010, 02:17 PM)
They are profit oriented all the while, and I have no problems with that. Just that they now start adopting Activision's business strategies, which are ruinous in the long term. You can find lots of similarities with MW2's pricing schemes and messing up multiplayer, and every surefire hit is squeezed dry like a cash cow. While they can't meddle with Blizzard's development patterns, I'm pretty sure their bosses have the final say over prices.

Funds will still be needed to develop other games, WoW can't last forever.
actually WOW can last forever...
the population in WoW is still very stable...
and with cata coming out, the population would rise (before falling a little - typical cycle)...

MW2 uses p2p, sc2 have their own dedicated server...
that's the difference over the long run...
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 02:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Ryto @ Jun 3 2010, 02:40 PM)
Hi

Just correction for your statement  smile.gif
WoW Classic release in November 2004
Burning Crusade release in January 2007 (that after 2 year and 3 months after classic)
Wrath of the Lich King release in  November 2008 (that after 1 year and 11 month after BC)
Cataclysm release in sometime (maybe) in 2010 (that after 1 year and few months

I dont think Blizzard spam they game no?  blink.gif

resources
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_of_Warcraft
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_of_Warc...Burning_Crusade
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_of_Warc...f_the_Lich_King
not to mention free contents from time to time ^.^
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 02:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jun 3 2010, 02:36 PM)
hmmm so its nt really dedicated...
same like w3...

Added on June 3, 2010, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 3 2010, 02:45 PM)
not to mention free contents from time to time ^.^
true but at least i'm still getting contents unlike aion, warhammer etc >.<

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 3 2010, 02:49 PM
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 03:27 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 3 2010, 02:52 PM)
Wow, how many MMO are you playing exactly?
quite a number...
though currently only WoW lol...
WoW is not perfect but its still the best among so many...
waiting for GW2 now ^.^
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 03:51 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Jun 3 2010, 03:33 PM)
I doubt even the devs want to concentrate on one game for so long.

@kianweic

Since when RTS have dedicated servers anyways? Games have always been P2P what.
with the amount of lore available, u can keep pumping out content for a game with improvements...
its a matter on hw long can the game engine sustain though...
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 04:00 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 3 2010, 03:54 PM)
Simple, it is all about the bottom line.

If there's money to be made, somebody / some company will do it.

Blizzard can always outsource development on WoW if they want. Or could just get new people to do it.
but of course it would be cheaper if they do it on their own...
and blizz do have another MMO coming out under a different IP (most of the core ppl behind vanila WoW is in the proj)
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 05:53 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 3 2010, 05:46 PM)
next-gen mmo wwwww

Added on June 3, 2010, 5:48 pm

i dont think so. as much expacs WoW can release, the core of the game is essentially the same thing.

as for the dedicated server thing, pros and cons. any prob with bnet = no game LOL

server goin down? during game? too bad. you get insta-boot.

Added on June 3, 2010, 5:49 pm

AFAIK, cata may be delayed to 2011, cuz lol sc2 too busy kthxbai

Added on June 3, 2010, 5:51 pm

they 'specifically' mentioned the subscription is for server and shit. so... its not too far fetched to consider it as a bonus. by content, look at major content patches.

and those aside, almost every patch WoW releases is a huge TLDR WALL O TEXT
well blizz already have the perfect formula...
why change something that is working rite?

having a server would be better as the server could prevent possible hacks like maphacks via packet checks...
of course there would be more latency issues...

ya cata might be delayed...
3.5 is not out yet and sitll busy in PTR (though might be next week)
evofantasy
post Jun 3 2010, 06:24 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Instant_noodle @ Jun 3 2010, 06:22 PM)
is this a WoW thread?? i'm.... i'm must be dreamin...

*mods b!tch slapped noodlez back to reality*

my 'hate' for SC2 is still about the pricing for SEA edition although i really don't mind matching up with ah beng commenting about HIGH latency (well, TMNut... sg players stated i'm either rerouted from india or europe when joining any sg hosted games playing WC3) that made them lose the game.
lol india got better latency than us for WoW lol...
that's ironic >.<
evofantasy
post Jun 4 2010, 02:26 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Jun 4 2010, 02:15 PM)
Did you read their reasoning? I shall highlight the salient points for you:

1. You're paying for a Blizzard Game that's bound to last for a long, long time.
2. Local competitive/non-competitive event support.
3. Better latency.

Of the 3, only reason no.1 sounds even relatively palatable.

The rest is pure rationalisation and BS. SC1 survived and prospered) without their "support". So, trying to justify a price increase with this reason is lol to say the least.

As for better latency, you can ask any of the SCII beta players here. They don't have any problem playing on the US server. So massive fail reason there. Why confine our player base to SEA and Aus/NZ when we clearly can and should be allowed to compete against players globally?

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=128926
for the bolded...
read the sc2 thread...
so so so many people QQ about lag/ mapdownload/ patch

0.0227sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:03 PM