Nintendo 3DS, 3DS pawns all

penman
post Aug 13 2010, 03:21 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 13 2010, 03:10 PM)
Considering how hafez has been complaining he has not gotten any news on 3DS.

It is true that we will only know release date and the price in end of September.

Now, for a bit more juicier news for all of us in Malaysia.

It is highly possible that I will be GETTING THE 3DS ON DAY 1 OF ITS LAUNCH. There has been no real guarantee since Nintendo has not made an announcement, but I am putting my faith in my suppliers that not only will I be getting it on Day One, they will also be Official Malaysian Units.

So everyone, pray/fingers crossed, lets hope it really happens, because I myself will be in for a real treat (and also hopefully, with a real demo of the 3DS itself).

All the best to all of us! biggrin.gif
GOD BLESS KYOYAGAMI!!! thumbup.gif

I pray that game dev will come out with 3D Prawn Games! brows.gif
penman
post Sep 17 2010, 05:21 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Fujisawa_Ruuzaa @ Sep 17 2010, 05:16 PM)
is 3ds gonna be region locked???..coz if i buy japan one i afraid kenot play US version catridge
most likely... since DSi is already region locked.
penman
post Sep 17 2010, 05:35 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Sep 17 2010, 05:21 PM)
Remember the rage there was with people hating the region lock from DSi onwards? lets hope what happens later is a good one for us.
as much as I hate the region lock feature, I doubt Nintendo will make it region free. They are an international business corp... they must have seen something beyond, on how region lock will give them better control in the market, yet earning $$.
penman
post Sep 18 2010, 11:16 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Sep 17 2010, 11:41 PM)
just wondering,s'pore set would b under which region? Asia? JP? US?
US.
penman
post Sep 29 2010, 12:36 PM

142 posts

I'm following this fella

http://twitter.com/#!/martyn_williams
penman
post Sep 29 2010, 01:50 PM

142 posts

martyn_williams Martyn Williams
Nintendo's Iwata announces the #3DS will launch in Japan on Feb 26 and will cost 25,000 yen. US and Europe in March.

25,000 YEN = 299.00 USD = 922.565 MYR

another better tweets - http://twitter.com/#!/markmacd

Added on September 29, 2010, 2:10 pmhttp://www.1up.com/news/3ds-super-enhanced-tag-mode_2

This post has been edited by penman: Sep 29 2010, 02:10 PM
penman
post Sep 29 2010, 03:44 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 29 2010, 03:38 PM)
House got broken into.. 3DS stolen laugh.gif
why u guys so kejam 1? mad.gif

penman
post Sep 29 2010, 03:54 PM

142 posts

I'm not sure where you got US250.

this is a popular site for currency conversions... and

25,000 YEN = 299 USD
SOURCE

299 USD = 922.789 MYR
SOURCE

so when it reaches here... it'll probably RM1.3K (like what kyo speculate).
penman
post Sep 29 2010, 04:48 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Sep 29 2010, 04:45 PM)
I'll probably wait for 2nd gen hardware along with price drop...
... or when Project LovePlus comes out. :3
I agree. smart move. icon_rolleyes.gif
penman
post Oct 1 2010, 11:46 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Sep 30 2010, 11:16 PM)
guys...dont get 3DS just yet...
got texas instruments OMAP4 phones coming out next year...just google and youtube for it.

it can do all the 3DS can do better, and its a phone
stereoscopic 3D?
dual screen interface?
all same features.

20mp camera, 1ghz processor, full hd, multi OS compatible, among others

if 3DS is analogized by the console counter part, its a Wii
and the OMAP4 phone is PS3/360

OMAP4 is mobile phone and handheld gaming on one device.
only advantage of 3DS over OMAP4 is nintendo exclusive titles, and OMAP4 maybe available only q3-q4 2011.
currently NOKIA and LG got their hands on the chip...other company sure will follow suit later.
LOL@nightshade_nova laugh.gif

kenal gao gao from everyone...

NOKIA's BEST EPIC PHAIL... NGAGE! nuff said.
penman
post Oct 2 2010, 12:19 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Oct 1 2010, 03:32 PM)
what nokia...i tot iphone got games too...SF4 somemore  laugh.gif
he said "currently NOKIA and LG got their hands on the chip...other company sure will follow suit later."...

so I use back his statement~loh.

iPhone is untouchable!
penman
post Oct 2 2010, 10:55 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Oct 2 2010, 05:59 AM)
so meaning iPhone is slopoke?  hmm.gif
that's what he meant...

anyway... like hafez said... biar dia~bah.

Added on October 5, 2010, 11:48 amShare data with other 3DS owners

Okay, so the Nintendo 3DS ships with a tag mode that is more advanced than in current DS games. It allows you to swap data such as highscores, ghost data and miis with other 3DS users while the 3DS is in sleep mode. You do not have to be in a game on the 3DS to swap data. Data for all your games that allow tag mode will be swapped with passers-by. Here's how it works:

When you comes into contact with other 3DS owners your system will automatically send your mii character and other game data to that person. When you receive data a special light on the top right of the 3DS will start flashing (like the blue light on the Wii).

On the main menu of the 3DS there is a special button for tag mode on the top of the screen. All your tag mode data will be shown there.

You will be greeted with a list of the data that has been shared. Each game will have its own section.

The top screen will display a profile of the person you came in contact with and what game you shared data for.

You will also be able to see a mii parade of other people's miis holding the game icon for the game you shared data for.

You will be able to go in-game to access the data. Some examples that have been given include seeing other mii characters on walks with their pets in Nintendogs + Cats and using ghost data to automatically fight random passers-by in Super Street Fighter 3D Edition. When you get home and check the data you will be able to see how many people you beat or lost to while you were out walking.

Souce : http://gbatemp.net/i-home

This post has been edited by penman: Oct 5 2010, 11:48 AM
penman
post Oct 5 2010, 11:51 AM

142 posts

New 3DS anti-piracy feature

It seems like Nintendo is taking piracy seriously for the 3DS. Nintendo president Satoru Iwata says Nintendo may very well implement automatic firmware updates on the 3DS without any input from the user.

New firmware updates would bring new features, but also block any potential vulnerabilities used for hacking the system.

During a Q&A sessions Mr Iwata said the 3DS could use the system's Spotpass mode to automatically download new firmware updates.

Spotpass mode is a new feature where the 3DS will seek out wifi hospots and automatically download content while in sleep mode.

"As part of the functionality of SpotPass, we're looking into having automatic system updates via the internet," Mr Iwata said.

He also said Nintendo want to include firmware updates on the games themselves, so newer games would presumably update your system before you can play them.

"We believed this to be doable because the usable ROM size for the 3DS would become much larger," he said.

Mr Iwata said many people in the past did not updated their system's firmware, so he is looking for new ways to bring updates to the users.

It certainly looks like Nintendo will be travelling down Sony's path of constant firmware updates to block hacking. They have already released two flashcard blocking updates on the DSi. Expect things to get even harder with a whole new handheld.

Source : http://www.andriasang.com/e/blog/2010/10/0...rmware_updates/
penman
post Oct 6 2010, 12:26 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Oct 6 2010, 11:34 AM)
I didn't mean the update mechanism on this one (n not for updating purpose only)...from the 3DS ad we can see other users can 'interact' with us just by passing by or sit close enough to us to share game stats. initiate a passive gaming session n so on. What if someone develop these passive apps (via homebrew etc) to steal our personal information too?

Just by passing by us, they can read or extract our information.
I'm sure got privacy settings~bh.

but it's a concern I have too. hmm.gif
penman
post Oct 6 2010, 11:44 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 6 2010, 12:30 PM)
I don't care if there's piracy or not, my concern still on the region settings.
I said privacy~lah... not piracy. sweat.gif
penman
post Oct 7 2010, 12:30 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Oct 7 2010, 11:23 AM)
btw..is it bundled with any game?

my 3DS funds baru RM70 biggrin.gif
WAH!!! U guys so fast got 3DS fund... sad.gif
penman
post Oct 7 2010, 01:50 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Oct 7 2010, 12:58 PM)
we're not OKK..hv to slowly put in tabung..unlike u...buy time just flip out wallet and pay  nod.gif
I where got flip out wallet? I don't even have a wallet... cry.gif

and no xtra $$ for tabung! cry.gif
penman
post Apr 15 2011, 10:37 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Apr 15 2011, 08:57 AM)
In case you guys are looking for a demo or 3DS games rental, find jitu.unggul at garage sales.

He may have to charge you for a demo, but come on, parting RM 15 for an experience is not that bad. haha.
maybe you should start such services too!

Added on April 15, 2011, 10:54 amJust a note for new 3DS users, in case you are wondering (like me):

01) You can transfer your Mii from your Wii to your 3DS, but not the other way. Due to 3DS's Mii Maker is more advance than Wii.
source

02) 3DS Internet Browser/eShop will be available after a system update in May/June this year. And it'll be NetFront Browser, as Nintendo has dropped Opera (which is used in DS & Wii).

This post has been edited by penman: Apr 15 2011, 10:54 AM
penman
post Apr 18 2011, 10:53 AM

142 posts

3D display (regardless goggle or goggleless) is not meant/suitable for everyone.

I suggest you try 1st b4 getting any 3D product.
penman
post Apr 18 2011, 10:57 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(N30rang3r @ Apr 18 2011, 10:55 AM)
besides not everyone can perceive 3D perfectly
+1

0.0207sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:25 PM