Display Calibration Fundamentals : My Take, Display Calibration

klimal
post Jan 17 2011, 06:11 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(bijan @ Jan 17 2011, 03:17 PM)
hello sifus... wanna ask, I've been struggling to calibrate my hdtv.. i have read this guide and several ones on the net and the picture calibrated in my hdtv is not good enough... since I dun trust my eyes to correctly calibrate I've thinking to buy a colormeter (spyder 2 / spyder 3) and used it with hcfr.. is this an easy task ? have anyone try this?
It is not a simple task.
Get it done the correct way.
Anfieldude did it for me when he came down to KL and it made a BIG difference. rclxms.gif
klimal
post Aug 25 2011, 11:26 AM

1,136 posts

Is this any good?Greyscale and Color Calibration for Dummies http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457
Can I use the recommended software and hardware to get useful results?
Is it hard to use? sweat.gif
klimal
post Aug 25 2011, 04:14 PM

1,136 posts

I am only thinking of calibrating my own projector.

Just like when I started with REW, it looks formidable now.

How about the Eye One meter? Is it ok to start with this?

Is rather affordable, and will help me to get to grips with the software and set-up.

klimal
post Sep 12 2011, 05:03 PM

1,136 posts

What do you guys think of this Calman for a beginner?

klimal
post Sep 14 2011, 02:21 PM

1,136 posts

Yes, I am also thinking of getting a mic boom too.
The camera tripod's locking mechanism and 'head' is bulky and I am sure is causing some interference with the measurement.
For the 7th and 8th Audyssey XT measurement, I had to tilt the tripod at an awkward angle, resting the legs of the tripod against the back-rest of the sofa.
klimal
post Oct 5 2011, 02:37 PM

1,136 posts

anfieldude,
when will you be doing mine?
klimal
post Oct 7 2011, 10:01 AM

1,136 posts

anfieldude came last night and did the calibration.
Spent about 2hours plus to 3 hours but the end result was astounding. rclxms.gif
Much better shadow details and the 'pop' in the colors is thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

klimal
post Oct 7 2011, 05:41 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 7 2011, 04:28 PM)
james bond black and white opening scene to test? wink.gif
Please elaborate rclxub.gif
klimal
post Oct 8 2011, 12:13 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 7 2011, 07:39 PM)
I normally use casino royale to test the accuracy of the calibration. In this case as it was a dune with no bd drive. We tested using other scenes.
oic..the opening sequence.
Is it on the new AVS test clips?
klimal
post Oct 10 2011, 04:00 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Oct 10 2011, 12:52 PM)
mine aslo same, my projector can only achieve <4 lumens. how about yrs?
I was quite surprised at the low initial reading of the luminence as I expected higher.
Based on the calculator, I expected a high 16-18 ft.lambert but it was actually around 7 shocking.gif
After calibration we managed close to 10 ft lambert.

Why the hugh variance?
klimal
post Oct 10 2011, 04:27 PM

1,136 posts

Even with a screen gain of 0.8, based on another calculator, it gave 18 FL.

klimal
post Oct 10 2011, 06:52 PM

1,136 posts

i am using a grey screen too.

In this calculator, I input 550 Ansi Lumen, and it gives me acceptable screen brightness too rclxub.gif
klimal
post Oct 10 2011, 10:36 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2011, 08:56 PM)
Doc,

Post calibrated pjs rarely give high brightness. Some DLPs do give up to 15-17ft/L but they are normally high gain screens. The larger the screen the lower the brightness. The actual brightness also depends on the distance from the screen.

The highest white window/field I hv measured is about 15ft/L from the new X3/RS40. The numbers I typically get post calibration are anywhere between 3ft/L to a 15ft/L.

The darker the room the better the picture looks like. Also remember that a large screen with decent brightness always seems brighter to a smaller screen that is almost 10times brighter. This i because the size effect and the amount of light it illuminates on the screen.
So I am not the exception to this hmm.gif
Guess I 'll have to accept the current FL until the next upgrade.
Either a high gain screen or a more powerful PJ. sweat.gif
klimal
post Oct 11 2011, 09:08 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Oct 11 2011, 07:47 AM)
The other alternative is using duo projector to double up the fl.
What pj are you using?

klimal
post Oct 11 2011, 10:15 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 11 2011, 09:23 AM)
Same as u.
Did they have the same blue anomaly as mine?
klimal
post Oct 11 2011, 05:12 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(gdee @ Oct 11 2011, 01:03 PM)
Great. I got a dark enough room and have a non 3d pj. Thanks for the useful advice jchong & pierreye.
What is the size of your screen and the throw distance?
klimal
post Oct 11 2011, 05:45 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(gdee @ Oct 11 2011, 05:15 PM)
92" at 11 feet
Mine is at 12' distance, 92" screen.
I think you will get greater fL since your room is a dedicated one and shorter distance.
The other thing to consider is the black level, which is inverse to distance and image brightness with entry level pj.

This post has been edited by klimal: Oct 11 2011, 05:46 PM
klimal
post Oct 27 2011, 06:16 PM

1,136 posts

From AVSforum, coderguy has a new projectorcalculator that also gives the fL figures for BEST MODE.
Usin it, it gives me 18fL for Best Mode, Lamp High.

In actual world, my fL dropped to 10fL after calibration.
If after calibration, the fL drops so much, what is the use of such a calculator sine the results are so far off the mark.

I assume most people will want to have their pj calibrated, but to lose so much fL to such low 10fL is something I am unable to reconcile.
The 'pop' in colours and image will be lost at such low luminence, even for a DLP, IMHO.

This post has been edited by klimal: Oct 27 2011, 06:20 PM

0.0261sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:53 PM