Display Calibration Fundamentals : My Take, Display Calibration

TSanfieldude
post Jul 22 2010, 07:48 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Jul 21 2010, 02:49 PM)
i have a unit of Spyder 3 pro and recently i manage to get a copy of the spyder 3 TV to calibrate my LCD. After calibration, the picture has improved but i find that the software is very simple and hardly even touched other setting such as Tint. Will the Calman be an improvement if compares to the Spyder 3 TV?

after calibration, i realized that different source has a different video quality. after calibrating the DVD player, do i have to calibrate another setting for my media player as well? When i ran the color chart for the media player, the setting is very different from my DVD player.....
The softwares provided with the Spyder TV is limited. Calman will allow more options. However, it is not automatic. U would need to to each portion while reading what comes out of ur meter. Greyscale, cms can all be done with calman.

Each source does have different outputs. However, the white point for both SD and HD is the same. What media player was that?
TSanfieldude
post Jul 31 2010, 11:07 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Fusion @ Jul 31 2010, 10:31 AM)
i am currently using the DVico 4100 media player and a pioneer DVD player...as for my LCD, its an old Samsung model...Samsung LA37S81BX/SHI 37" LCD TV....there is not much adjustment that can be done on the TV and after adjusting the brightness n contrast, the Black Level is nicer but i lose out a lot of detail on darker images. when i get the detail, the black looks more like grey than black....its kind of frustrating.....
I am pretty sure Samsung has greyscale adjustments in the service menu.

Use the MP4 files from AVSHD709 to adjust brightness and contrast correctly. Do u hv a gamma adjustment? Set gamma appropriately for better shadow details. Make sure there is not black crush.
TSanfieldude
post Aug 3 2010, 03:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Aug 3 2010, 10:59 AM)
Hi Anfieldude

I am very curious to know:

1) if color temperature affects your gamma target ie D65 say 2.4 gamma and D90 is 2.2 gamma??

2) There has been debate on AVS on target gamma. What is your target gamma for CRT (Is it the magical 2.2?) and modern HDTV like plasma?

Thanks for the teaching lesson smile.gif
1. Not that I hv seen. HD target for white point is D65. x 0.3127, y 0.33. If u hit this target , the colour temperature is also met. Gamma and colour temperature are not related. Gamma is luminance of each white point at different IRE. In other words, its the Y. (x,y, Y) As you can see, x,y are the white points, where the control of Y is really gamma.

2. I hv not calibrated any CRTs lately, but most of them hit a gamma of 2.5 I believe becoz of the nature of the CRT.

My own targets for modern HDTVs are for daytime viewing and a 100% IRE white of ~50ft/L - 2.15 (if possible), for nighttime viewing, 100% white of ~ 35ft/L and gamma of 2.35.

TSanfieldude
post Aug 4 2010, 11:12 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Aug 4 2010, 06:25 PM)
bro... just remembered this. can u send me plasma's my calman reports? just want to check on something. thanks
Ok. Will contact u.

BTW on ur display day setting was 40ft/L (thats the max for the set without clipping gamma 2.2) and night was 33ft/L (gamma 2.28)...
TSanfieldude
post Aug 7 2010, 08:00 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Aug 6 2010, 05:06 PM)
Hi Anfieldude

In order for my pio 508xg to inverse telecine from 480/60i or 576/50i, does it need to ALWAYS receive an interlaced signal? In other words if I output as 480p or 576p does the TV still able to do 24fps or are some flags removed from the i/p conversion that the TV will not be able to recognise the movie source?

Thanks in advance

Specuvestor,

The pio refreshes when set to Pure Cinema Advance at it receives a 480i/60, 480p/60, 720p/60, 1080i/60. If the flags are correct it will recreate. It does not recreate if it receives a 576i/p signal.

However, I would need to build a probe to confirm this in actual. This is based on info and my observation.
TSanfieldude
post Oct 5 2010, 02:27 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 5 2010, 02:17 PM)
guys, think i'll be buying the X-Rite i1Display 2 Colorimeter from SpectraCal.
the price is still USD49.

anyone else wanna join?
we could share the shipping costs. this would be a fun experience to learn display calibration.
Paskal, the offer of Display 2 is only for existing customers or calman users. They will gladly sell it with the home edition software at usd248. If u do not want the software, ur best bet would be to get the meter from amazon or b&h photo and using hcfr. If u need any advice during calibration , post here and I will gladly help.
TSanfieldude
post Oct 5 2010, 07:29 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 5 2010, 06:15 PM)
i could checkout the display 2 alone without any other product. requested a quote from them with shipping using USPS. waiting for their clarification and pricing. hopefully they're able to sell it at USD49 hehe
Good for you. Hope it works out.
TSanfieldude
post Dec 31 2010, 08:57 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 31 2010, 08:44 AM)
Hi
I tried 2 different calibration pattern including this one and gotten the same result with Brightness set at +2 (with this one pattern, the "17" is barely flashing).

But every time I looked at movies with lots of dark scene, the picture has some sort of whitish powdery look indicating Brightness being too high. I have to set it at -2 for me to be happy with it.

So in essence, the pattern tells me to set at +2 but in real life, I prefer the picture quality of -2. Or may be I am using the pattern wrong?
Are u adjusting it at the same environment as u r watching it? I believe u use the panny u series that does not hv great black levels? What mode r u using? R u adjusting and watching in a dark room? When set to -2 what do u see on the test patterns?
TSanfieldude
post Dec 31 2010, 09:13 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 31 2010, 09:03 AM)
Yes, I tried to do calibration on my 50U using the pattern in the same environment that I am watching aka lighting level. The mode is "Normal". Since I find the picture better with -2, I have not bother to go back to see the pattern.

As you know the 50U have very reflective screen so like you once mentioned, I switched off all the light and switched on a small light behind the TV and the picture quality turns from "good" to "wow". Thanks.
The downside to what u r doing is is black crush and leads to loss of shadow detail. There a couple of reasons why u r seeing what u r seeing. The gamma in normal mode is funky and does not track well. To start with the gamma is best tracked in cinema mode. Even then it only tracks at 1.9 or so which is bright. I believe true cinema might be slightly better at about 1.9+. Also it is most likely that the u series is coming out of black too fast. There is a setting in the service menu to improve this but shd only be done by someone who knows what they r doing and with a proper meter that can read low light levels. Anyway, I will check on this if I can this weekend. What u hv done is essentially to compromise shadow details for black levels.What u essentially get is compressed dynamic range.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Dec 31 2010, 09:22 AM
TSanfieldude
post Dec 31 2010, 09:25 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 31 2010, 09:17 AM)
May i ask what do you mean by "coming out of black too fast"?. I break-in my set using the color slides so should have about 200 hrs on the U by now.

And are you suggesting I should set mode to "true cinema" instead?

That statement is with regards to how the gamma curve is at just above black.
Cinema with warm colour temp or true cinema are more accurate.
TSanfieldude
post Jan 2 2011, 02:14 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 2 2011, 09:56 AM)
I took your advise and tried it out with True Cinema mode. Yes, you are right. The test pattern seems to indicate +2 and actual watching movies seems to indicate 0 (which is better than the previous -2). Still a novice and experimenting. Thanks

I was wondering, if I set Contrast to the maximum, will I be able to have see more details in shadow?
If u set contrast too high, as I explained in the 1st post you will then start crushing whites. U will then start losing details in the bright areas.
TSanfieldude
post Jan 17 2011, 06:52 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(bijan @ Jan 17 2011, 03:17 PM)
hello sifus... wanna ask, I've been struggling to calibrate my hdtv.. i have read this guide and several ones on the net and the picture calibrated in my hdtv is not good enough... since I dun trust my eyes to correctly calibrate I've thinking to buy a colormeter (spyder 2 / spyder 3) and used it with hcfr.. is this an easy task ? have anyone try this?
If u want to go DIY, don't get the spyder unless u're using an LCD. I would advise the i2display LT as a minimum. There are better probes than that.
TSanfieldude
post Jan 18 2011, 10:51 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(bijan @ Jan 18 2011, 10:39 AM)
thanks anfieldude & klimal, yeah I'm using LCD and spyder is one of the chepest out there or at least what I have found.

Anyhow just wanted to share a link which I find useful, maybe you guys have known this link

http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457

thinking of trying the guide on think link and see how it goes. smile.gif
Thats a good site to start. If u hv not bought a spyder I wld advise to get the i2 display as the spyders are inaccurate , sometimes u get lucky sometimes not.
TSanfieldude
post Feb 8 2011, 03:40 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Feb 7 2011, 04:15 PM)
Hi Anfieldude

Does RGB input into a TV gets gamma corrected as well?? or are all source gamma corrected including 709 spec?

So color space are all gamma corrected?? To what gamma then??

Any reason why we bother to gamma correct the source nowadays when we are going digital?

Thanks!!
spec,

The gamma correction at source (I am using this term as at the studios during mastering/camera) is a little complex. I have been reading and trying to get my head around this using Poynton's material and think I understand it but its a little difficult to put it in words at the moment.

The exact number of gamma correction is up in the air though 2.2 and 2.35 (as final gamma to be viewed from our displays) gets tossed up quite a bit. The problem is the confusion comes as the studios/mastering houses move from reference CRTs to reference LCDs etc.

I think since film stock is what is used for filming final correction is necessary taking into account that it is finally going to viewed by displays that the commoner uses. This is also due to different cameras being used etc. Everything shd be gamma corrected.

I will try to write up something on this soon.

However, in my opinion whenever I calibrate a display I find that somewhere between 2.2 - 2.35 is ok for dimly lit environment (this depends on the viewing environment and the peak white) and for brightly lit areas even as low as 2 is ok.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Feb 8 2011, 05:50 PM
TSanfieldude
post Feb 8 2011, 05:55 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Feb 8 2011, 04:10 PM)
ya gamma really toughest subject.

What I cannot understand is that it was perfect for CRT and perfect for analog compression

But like you say now using HDTV and all digital. Why still gamma correct at source?? Might as well send an uncorrected image and end user adjust the native picture depending on room lighting

Am wondering if there is any benefit for gamma corrected at source nowadays or it is just a legacy thingy

So all color space are gamma corrected???
I believe its a mix of both. Legacy for sure as overhauling from the cameras to the studios is a painful thing.

Another is I also do not believe that the modern hdtvs are really fully digital (when it comes to light intesity vs voltage) anyway. I have seen some data published by EEtimes that indicates that TFT LCD panels are not totally digital in response and are somewhat similar to the CRTs albeit without a 2.5 function as CRT has.

So I think in order to keep things simple, it would be easier for everyone to agree on a standard gamma correction at source tailored at correcting the natural response of the CRT (so in essence, built in correction at cameras and further correction if necessary at the studios) rather than changing everything to a linear response that is expected (but not practical) by digital hdtvs.
TSanfieldude
post Feb 8 2011, 07:16 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Feb 8 2011, 06:51 PM)
I thought the gamma correction is standardised at source to be 2.1 (if I remember correctly??) for light emittance nature of CRT?

why is linear response not practical??
solution simple also: just fly him there  laugh.gif
Due to the nature of the the need to convert from digital to analogue (ie signal to actual voltage adjustment), there will be losses and natural tendencies of real world stuff to not adhere to a straight line. Of course, this is improving by day, but a lot of the stuff is still analogue.

Gamma correction is normally an inverse of function that a CRT with a fudge factor mostly due to NTSC encoding reasons (so in essence the correction is more like 1/2.2 vs 1/2.5. There is also a linear section near black that needs further correction, so yeah, its a little complicated.

The maths and physics behind video/imaging systems is very intriguing. Spending time understanding the equations is a lot of fun. Literature by Charles Poynton and Bruce Lindbloom are really a must for anyone interested in the science of video/imaging.
TSanfieldude
post Feb 9 2011, 03:14 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(specuvestor @ Feb 9 2011, 02:35 PM)
ok thanks I only read Poynton... will check out Lindbloom
Lindbloom deals mostly with the mathematical portion.
TSanfieldude
post Feb 11 2011, 10:07 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(TTOO @ Feb 10 2011, 09:40 PM)
Hi Anfieldude,

I calibrated the Brightness/Contrast of my Panasonic AE300 projector using AVSHD basic patterns as advised and is so far very happy with the picture quality. Source is my new Samsung BD-C5500 connected via component output.

Have not attempted to set Color/Tint as I do not have any filter or meter. Is there any other adjustments that you will recommend that I can do by eye?
Not really. I guess the only other one could be sharpness.
TSanfieldude
post Feb 16 2011, 10:36 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(TTOO @ Feb 11 2011, 11:08 AM)
Yes... did that too. Thanks for sharing.
There's only that much that can be done without a meter, but doing the basics by itself improves quite a bit.
TSanfieldude
post Mar 24 2011, 02:30 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Mar 24 2011, 02:08 PM)
Sorry for this noob question.

Does LCD TV need to perform calibrations?
If yes, then how to go about doing this?
All displays benefit from calibration. It sets the display to its optimum to play back content as close as possible to the targets that they were mastered to for viewing.

If u read the 1st page, there are a few ways to do it.

U can do basic calibration by following the steps outlined there.

Of course, there is only so much you can do with a test disc and eyes.

To carry out advanced calibration (greyscale, gamma, colour points etc), u would need to invest in a colorimeter or spectrophotometer to do it. Or u could hire someone to do it for u....

Added on March 24, 2011, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 28 2011, 10:19 PM)
Need to recalibrate my LG 42LX6500

the blacks are sooo gray... I dunno why...
Boys96,

Have u set the brightness correctly as I outlined in post 1?

Do blacks become grey in dim environment or even bright environment?

Is the display screen a matte screen or a glossy screen?

Is light hitting the display when it happens?

Is it only in 3D mode?

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Mar 24 2011, 02:35 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:10 AM