161 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.1, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

ask8900
post Jun 6 2010, 03:04 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 6 2010, 06:51 AM)
That fellow angry with the shop but bought the samsung ps50 c550 from the same shop?
no the fellow go other shop to buy ...
ngbh-lwt
post Jun 6 2010, 05:35 PM

48 posts

Just got p50v20k yesterday and you know what, I found a problem. The TV seems not to be able to accept HDMI Digital sound signal.

I am connecting Astro byond through HDMI and set the sound output to digital 5.1 in the device.
On the TV, I plug in optical cable to its SPDIF port and the other end of the optic fibre to a 5.1 amplifier. No sound output, either from TV or amplifier can be heard. However, when I change the astro byond to analog sound output, the sound output is ok but of course only in normal stereo mode.

The same result is applicable to other device with HDMI digital output.

From the TV user guide, there is a section of SPDIF/MPX described here but not found on the TV setup menu.

Anyone has any idea or input to this strange problem? Is there any hidden menu or setting which I cannot see?
Thanks a lot.

By the way, my kids were speechless in excitement when they saw the BIG TV. Haha..
michaeltan1943
post Jun 6 2010, 05:37 PM

1,024 posts

[quote=sunnyK,Jun 6 2010, 01:31 PM]
on the contrary, stingy people who will wait and wait and only buy at jump down to the floor firesales price . that put a stop on R & D advancement without which we will not be getting the quality image as well as the massive price fall that we the consumers have benefited from . wait for the cheapest buy type of customer contributed to lower sales turnover and as a result , bankers will be very reluctant to release borrowings causing all manufacturers to remain stagnant ,and producing the same tired-out and out dated stuffs over and over again .that will deprived us the consumer the constant technological improvements and relevantly , consistent price fall too ,which we all crave

manufacturers already got technology that is 10 years ahead lah but they slowly release gradually with each "new model" to impress people and maintain sales.

Already manufacturers got the blackest black but they just don't want to introduce it one shot. The same with processors (CPU), speed is slowly increased to maintain enthusiasm. The same with mobile phones and their camera, they had 12Mp years ago.

Don't be gullible.
sunnyK
post Jun 6 2010, 05:47 PM

663 posts

unker tan is really a lovable and adorable man. simply amazing
manchild
post Jun 6 2010, 07:43 PM

110 posts

who is unker tan and on the same subject who is unker ho i keep on reading about?
PoorMan
post Jun 7 2010, 12:26 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(ngbh-lwt @ Jun 6 2010, 05:35 PM)

Just got p50v20k yesterday and you know what, I found a problem. The TV seems not to be able to accept HDMI Digital sound signal.

I am connecting Astro byond through HDMI and set the sound output to digital 5.1 in the device.
On the TV, I plug in optical cable to its SPDIF port and the other end of the optic fibre to a 5.1 amplifier. No sound output, either from TV or amplifier can be heard. However, when I change the astro byond to analog sound output, the sound output is ok but of course only in normal stereo mode.

The same result is applicable to other device with HDMI digital output.

From the TV user guide, there is a section of SPDIF/MPX described here but not found on the TV setup menu.

Anyone has any idea or input to this strange problem? Is there any hidden menu or setting which I cannot see?
Thanks a lot.

By the way, my kids were speechless in excitement when they saw the BIG TV. Haha..
When you set Astro Byond output to digital 5.1, you are actually directing output to the coax output of the decoder. You will need to use coax cable from Atro Byond decoder to your amp's coax in. Then you will get Dolby Digital 5.1 sound (and I think only for the HD channels).

As for the V20K optical audio output, it seems to be in stereo only for some reason. I've studied it with my friend's 42V20.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 7 2010, 06:22 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 7 2010, 12:26 AM)
When you set Astro Byond output to digital 5.1, you are actually directing output to the coax output of the decoder. You will need to use coax cable from Atro Byond decoder to your amp's coax in. Then you will get Dolby Digital 5.1 sound (and I think only for the HD channels).

As for the V20K optical audio output, it seems to be in stereo only for some reason. I've studied it with my friend's 42V20.
we pay so much but only get stereo?
paskal
post Jun 7 2010, 07:12 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 7 2010, 06:22 AM)
because there's only left and right speakers inside the TV?
IINM there's no TV that have the ability to output 5.1 channel using 2 speakers, yet.

then again maybe i'm just ill informed.
ngbh-lwt
post Jun 7 2010, 11:07 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 7 2010, 12:26 AM)

Thanks for validating the case. It is thus not only my particular unit. I am going to find out further from Panasonic why this is happening.
The Sound setting allows us to set HDMI as either"Digital" or "Analog", asserting the fact that the digital sound signal can be fed into the TV. What is the point having the optical output from the TV if it is just for analog sound output to amplifier. Might as well just use RCA output.

I would also like to test if this problem is specifically limited to non-Panasonic input devices. Will be Panasonic BR player send the digital sound signal through TV to the amplifier via SPDIF port? Is there anything not enabled in the "Service Menu"?

Appreciate any input from all the forumers.

Cheers.

in_george
post Jun 7 2010, 11:14 AM

22 posts

I could be wrong, but i believe HDMI only carries digital audio. The Analog input option is for audio input via the RCA connectors, if your HDMI device doesn't send digital audio or you're using a DVI to HDMI cable.

QUOTE(ngbh-lwt @ Jun 7 2010, 11:07 AM)

Thanks for validating the case. It is thus not only my particular unit. I am going to find out further from Panasonic why this is happening.
The Sound setting allows us to set HDMI as either"Digital" or "Analog", asserting the fact that the digital sound signal can be fed into the TV. What is the point having the optical output from the TV if it is just for analog sound output to amplifier. Might as well just use RCA output.

I would also like to test if this problem is specifically limited to non-Panasonic input devices. Will be Panasonic BR player send the digital sound signal through TV to the amplifier via SPDIF port? Is there anything not enabled in the "Service Menu"?

Appreciate any input from all the forumers.

Cheers.
ngbh-lwt
post Jun 7 2010, 11:27 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(in_george @ Jun 7 2010, 11:14 AM)
I could be wrong, but i believe HDMI only carries digital audio. The Analog input option is for audio input via the RCA connectors, if your HDMI device doesn't send digital audio or you're using a DVI to HDMI cable.

All this while I thought HDMI send only Digital audio until I checked out the setup menu for Astro byond.

My case:-
Astro Byond connected to P50v20k using HDMI cable only. No RCA cable. No sound coaxial cable.
On the TV, sound setting for HDMI is set to digital.
- Astro B when set to Digital Sound output, TV has no sound output.
- Astro B when set to analog sound output, the stereo sound is heard. Yes, the "analog" signal is sent through to the TV via HDMI.

My objective:-
I suppose the SPDIF port should allow the digital signal from the Byond to pass-thru to the amplifier. This is not happening in this TV.
The reason I configure this way so that I do not need to change the amplifier channels all the time when switching the player such as beyond, media player, BR player etc. The single SPDIF port on the amplifier will handle all the digital sound signal from the TV.

Best regards

This post has been edited by ngbh-lwt: Jun 7 2010, 11:39 AM
cwyan
post Jun 7 2010, 11:56 AM

383 posts

Hi all,
I am planning to purchase a panasonic plasma tv but haven't decided to purchase which model, i am interested on TH-P42V20K, TH-P50V20K or TH-P50U20K. I am also planning to purhcase a FULL HD projector end of next year, Should I purchase a 42 inch or 50inch? V or U series? Since I am going to purchase a Full HD projector, should I purchase 42inch V series or 50 inch U series? Any suggestion? Anyone know where to get a cheaper price on those 3 model?

This post has been edited by cwyan: Jun 7 2010, 11:57 AM
in_george
post Jun 7 2010, 12:22 PM

22 posts

From wikipeadia ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

"HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) is a compact audio/video interface for transmitting uncompressed digital data."

Audio signal: LPCM, Dolby Digital, DTS, DVD-Audio, Super Audio CD, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, DTS-HD Master Audio, MPCM

My guess is, the P50V20K can only accept (and decode / process) stereo signals sent via HDMI.

QUOTE(ngbh-lwt @ Jun 7 2010, 11:27 AM)

All this while I thought HDMI send only Digital audio until I checked out the setup menu for Astro byond.

My case:-
Astro Byond connected to P50v20k using HDMI cable only. No RCA cable. No sound coaxial cable.
On the TV,  sound setting for HDMI is set to digital.
- Astro B when set to Digital Sound output, TV has no sound output.
- Astro B when set to analog sound output, the stereo sound is heard. Yes, the "analog" signal is sent through to the TV via HDMI.

My objective:-
I suppose the SPDIF port should allow the digital signal from the Byond to pass-thru to the amplifier. This is not happening in this TV.
The reason I configure this way so that I do not need to change the amplifier channels all the time when switching the player such as beyond, media player, BR player etc. The single SPDIF port on the amplifier will handle all the digital sound signal from the TV.

Best regards
ngbh-lwt
post Jun 7 2010, 02:18 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(in_george @ Jun 7 2010, 12:22 PM)
From wikipeadia ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

"HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) is a compact audio/video interface for transmitting uncompressed digital data."

Audio signal: LPCM, Dolby Digital, DTS, DVD-Audio, Super Audio CD, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, DTS-HD Master Audio, MPCM

My guess is, the P50V20K can only accept (and decode / process) stereo signals sent via HDMI.
Think you are right "My guess is, the P50V20K can only accept (and decode / process) stereo signals sent via HDMI."
By the way, i called Pan SC and they promise to send a technician over to check. See, it is hard to tell them online. ...haha.
Will keep you guys all informed if there is 'good news'. Else, i am left with no choice, the digital sound signal needs to go to amplifier directly.

Cheers.
jimmy1234
post Jun 7 2010, 02:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(ngbh-lwt @ Jun 7 2010, 02:18 PM)
Think you are right "My guess is, the P50V20K can only accept (and decode / process) stereo signals sent via HDMI."
By the way, i called Pan SC and they promise to send a technician over to check. See, it is hard to tell them online. ...haha.
Will keep you guys all informed if there is 'good news'. Else, i am left with no choice, the digital sound signal needs to go to amplifier directly.

Cheers.
I use HDMI cable from Astro B.yond to my Panasonic 50S10K.
Then coaxial digital cable from Astro B.yond to my amp.
You only get DD5.1 sound on HD channels, all other channels are only stereo sound.

PoorMan
post Jun 7 2010, 09:41 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

Hmm ... it seems that V20K HDMI supports only 2-channel LPCM digital audio only.

Looks like *still* need to connect from various input device direct to home theatre amp to get the best sounds.
newjack
post Jun 7 2010, 09:54 PM

43 posts

i enquired for TH-P50U20K at SenQ and was quoted RM4999 without the BD player .... but have to wait 3 weeks as currently no stock doh.gif
anyone knows where else can get this plasma ? and what's a good price for it ? ... notworthy.gif
michaeltan1943
post Jun 7 2010, 10:28 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 7 2010, 09:41 PM)
Hmm ... it seems that V20K HDMI supports only 2-channel LPCM digital audio only.

Looks like *still* need to connect from various input device direct to home theatre amp to get the best sounds.
They should make it easy with just one HDMI connection. So much for R&D
PoorMan
post Jun 7 2010, 10:51 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 7 2010, 10:28 PM)
They should make it easy with just one HDMI connection. So much for R&D
Well, unless they built the audio decoder into the TV, there is still the need for a multi-input AV Receiver home theatre setup.

Anyway, I prefer them to concentrate on mastering the best display panel instead of being the jack of all trades. Leave the sound production to the audio experts.
ask8900
post Jun 8 2010, 03:03 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(jimmy1234 @ Jun 7 2010, 02:28 PM)
I use HDMI cable from Astro B.yond to my Panasonic 50S10K.
Then coaxial digital cable from Astro B.yond to my amp.
You only get DD5.1 sound on HD channels, all other channels are only stereo sound.
bro ur setting to digital 5.1 ? then ur tv have sound when u see Astro b.yond HD movie ? [don open AMP]

Added on June 8, 2010, 3:07 am
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 7 2010, 06:22 AM)
ya astro B.yond HD Movie oso stereo JUST have 1 only have Digital 5.1 is HBO HD vmad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by ask8900: Jun 8 2010, 03:07 AM

161 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:53 AM