161 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.1, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

SteadyPana
post Jul 13 2010, 08:35 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jul 13 2010, 08:20 PM)
Malaysian V20 =/= UK V20.
For display, our V20 is Infinite Black only without the Pro. Europe V20 is with Infinite Black Pro. For better comparison on display, check out the review for Europe G20 or US G25.
You are right. THX as well notworthy.gif
PlasmaCrazy
post Jul 13 2010, 08:45 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jul 13 2010, 06:55 PM)
Have you think about Service After Sales ?  hmm.gif
Why the concern with Korean brands after sales service? Anyone in Malaysia have unpleasant experience dealing with either Samsung or LG? Please share-lah. Of cause with Panasonic, we all sleep better at night knowing their products are of high quality and there is high trust level in their after sales support.
paskal
post Jul 13 2010, 09:08 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jul 13 2010, 08:20 PM)
Malaysian V20 =/= UK V20.
For display, our V20 is Infinite Black only without the Pro. Europe V20 is with Infinite Black Pro. For better comparison on display, check out the review for Europe G20 or US G25.
i knew it.. US and UK V20 reviews can't be used as a benchmark to our V20. their unit came with THX mode and infinite black pro.
still a good panel nonetheless, though after a few times viewing the panel, i kindda hate dislike the not totally black screen. it has slight tint to it. very apparent during totally dark scene.
beyond
post Jul 13 2010, 09:45 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jul 13 2010, 04:40 PM)
On the aspect ratio, set to just.
Go to Mian Menu - Setup - Other Settings - 16:9 Overscan - try ON or OFF.
Thanks. It worked. But left some dotted white lines on the top screen now. Is this normal?
PoorMan
post Jul 14 2010, 01:58 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 13 2010, 09:08 PM)
i knew it.. US and UK V20 reviews can't be used as a benchmark to our V20. their unit came with THX mode and infinite black pro.
still a good panel nonetheless, though after a few times viewing the panel, i kindda hate dislike the not totally black screen. it has slight tint to it. very apparent during totally dark scene.
Totally (or very nearly) black? That's flagship stuff and doesn't come cheap.

Try the VT20 (3D as a bonus available after Aug2010) or even better yet, the KRP-500 if you can still find one.
paskal
post Jul 14 2010, 07:15 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jul 14 2010, 01:58 AM)
Totally (or very nearly) black? That's flagship stuff and doesn't come cheap.

Try the VT20 (3D as a bonus available after Aug2010) or even better yet, the KRP-500 if you can still find one.
both are over my budget. RM5k is fine by me. >RM5k is not fine by the home minister. biggrin.gif
koled_anie
post Jul 14 2010, 07:30 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Jul 13 2010, 04:39 PM)

to all panny sifus here. since i'm going to get this P50U20K, i would to ask a step by step break in process for my plasma. what setting should i use (contrast, brightness & others) for the first 100 hours or 200 hours (which one correct?) and heard that there's some term of "wash out screen" needed during the break in period. Can anybody help to clarify and provide all the nice step for all Panny going to be user..... icon_rolleyes.gif

thanks a lot!!!  notworthy.gif
can somebody help to guide me on this? rclxub.gif

thanks!! thumbup.gif
cucubud
post Jul 14 2010, 07:44 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(beyond @ Jul 13 2010, 09:45 PM)
Thanks. It worked. But left some dotted white lines on the top screen now. Is this normal?
Did you set Overscan to OFF? Try setting it to ON.
You have to play around those settings to get the setting you like most.
anfieldude
post Jul 14 2010, 07:55 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(koled_anie @ Jul 14 2010, 07:30 AM)
can somebody help to guide me on this?  rclxub.gif

thanks!! thumbup.gif
Break in can be done in 2 ways. The reason for break in of a phosphor based display is given below.

During the initial life of the plasma, due to the different half lifes of the different phosphor elements, the drive voltages of the different phosphors are different. As such, some might be driven harder than the others to mature them quicker.

So during this stage, u shd avoid long viewing of static bright logos/images.

If u want to use the break in dvd, then set ur contrast and colours high and continuosly run the full screen images till above 200hrs.

If u do not want to run the break in dvd, turn down the contrast/colours for the 1st 200 hrs and refrain from long hours of static/bright logos/images. (One advise, on the panny plasma use cinema mode if u plan to not use the break in dvd).

U can mix and match the above, just remember that during the viewing of normal content to turn down contrast and during the use of the break in dvd, u hit high contrasts.

Hope this helps.
anfieldude
post Jul 14 2010, 08:00 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(beyond @ Jul 13 2010, 09:45 PM)
Overscan off on BD/DVD and overscan on for Astro. Satellite broadcast will have the "junk" lines. (The junk lines are actually useful but not for us)
beyond
post Jul 14 2010, 08:45 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jul 14 2010, 07:44 AM)
Did you set Overscan to OFF?  Try setting it to ON.
You have to play around those settings to get the setting you like most.
Yeah. Off-ed. Still have lines. And actually the aspect ratio is still not right. Can still see its slightly zoom in. GUess I ll just have to make do. This is the original TVD DVDs. LOL.

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 14 2010, 08:00 AM)
Overscan off on BD/DVD and overscan on for Astro. Satellite broadcast will have the "junk" lines. (The junk lines are actually useful but not for us)
Ok. Thanks for the info bro.
KronenZerg
post Jul 14 2010, 11:41 AM

393 posts

Wondering if plasma consumed more power than LCD by how many %?
I was informed the surroundings would be hot due to heat dissipation from the plasma .. is true?
I am also torn between 42"plasma and 32" LCD .. missus wanted 32in cos she said no need to big for the hall .. Our distance viewing is ard 10ft or 3meters .. she is afraid 42" is big thus not clear. Somore, it is not Full HD as compared to 32", which is Full HD ..

Comments pls .. ps .. upgrading from 29in CRT so need some advise ..
tolorati
post Jul 14 2010, 01:51 PM

596 posts

the height of your 29" CRT will be taller than your 32" LCD.

see www.displaywars.com

you won't have a problem with the 42" even if it is 720p only sitting at a distance of 10 feet. heck it won't even be a problem if you're sitting closer than that.. go with the 42".
Skylinestar
post Jul 14 2010, 06:17 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Jul 14 2010, 11:41 AM)
I was informed the surroundings would be hot due to heat dissipation from the plasma .. is true?
I am also torn between 42"plasma and 32" LCD .. missus wanted 32in cos she said no need to big for the hall .. Our distance viewing is ard 10ft or 3meters .. she is afraid 42" is big thus not clear. Somore, it is not Full HD as compared to 32", which is Full HD ..

FYI, going from 29" 4:3 display to 32" 16:9 display is a downgrade.
PoorMan
post Jul 14 2010, 06:50 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Jul 14 2010, 11:41 AM)

Need to manage expectations. You do know that playing Standard Definition stuff on HDTV is going to be slightly crappy, right?

Having said that, if you have Astro B.yond, DVD player with upscaling capability, a media player that can output HDMI and upscale, you should be able to better utilise your HDTV.
koled_anie
post Jul 14 2010, 09:53 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 14 2010, 07:55 AM)
Break in can be done in 2 ways. The reason for break in of a phosphor based display is given below.

During the initial life of the plasma, due to the different half lifes of the different phosphor elements, the drive voltages of the different phosphors are different. As such, some might be driven harder than the others to mature them quicker.

So during this stage, u shd avoid long viewing of static bright logos/images.

If u want to use the break in dvd, then set ur contrast and colours high and continuosly run the full screen images till above 200hrs.

If u do not want to run the break in dvd, turn down the contrast/colours for the 1st 200 hrs and refrain from long hours of static/bright logos/images. (One advise, on the panny plasma use cinema mode if u plan to not use the break in dvd).

U can mix and match the above, just remember that during the viewing of normal content to turn down contrast and during the use of the break in dvd, u hit high contrasts.

Hope this helps.
thanks bro, will try to get it done once i receive my set..... notworthy.gif
Cliff_Tan73
post Jul 14 2010, 10:03 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jul 14 2010, 06:50 PM)
Need to manage expectations. You do know that playing Standard Definition stuff on HDTV is going to be slightly crappy, right?

Having said that, if you have Astro B.yond, DVD player with upscaling capability, a media player that can output HDMI and upscale, you should be able to better utilise your HDTV.
My V20 aspect ration I set as "Just" instead of 16.9, I feel it more natural, how about u setting Brother?
anfieldude
post Jul 14 2010, 10:15 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Jul 14 2010, 10:03 PM)
My V20 aspect ration I set as "Just" instead of 16.9, I feel it more natural, how about u setting Brother?
Just mode overscans by 2.5% I believe...

Pixel for Pixel would be 16:9. So for all HD stuff it shd be 16:9 with overscan off.
PoorMan
post Jul 15 2010, 01:05 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Jul 14 2010, 10:03 PM)
Mostly "Just" for Astro non-HD channels and other 4:3 AR sources. Sometimes (but don't watch for extended hours due to black bars at the sides) even "4:3" or "Pillar mode" on the Astro B.yond remote so that the subtitles don't get partly clipped at the bottom.

"16:9" for Astro HD channels/DVD upscaled/BD
kgsiaw
post Jul 15 2010, 09:43 AM

29 posts

Hello, I got reply from Panasonic this morning as follow I donot know whether you all like the answer.

"3) Burn-in of the panel for the first 100 or 200 hours. What is the optimum setting for the process? Answer: There is no specific settings but can be avoided by depress the brightness and also try not to display still images for longer period"

161 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:39 PM