161 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.1, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

michaeltan1943
post Jun 29 2010, 08:56 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 29 2010, 08:41 PM)
+1 and many thanks for sharing!

It will be great if you could also provide some figures for competing brands such as the Sammys to put it in perspective.

2000 hrs and and black levels deteriorate by 400%. At the rate of my Panny usage (350 hrs/month), I'll hit it in 6 months. Hopefully, the 2010 models deterioration rate is not that high!
and yet uninformed or innocent people fall for the "your plasma will last well over 60,000 hours" line, thinking it would last them years with the same quality at the point of purchase.

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:06 pm

It will be great if you could also provide some figures for competing brands such as the Sammys to put it in perspective.

2000 hrs and and black levels deteriorate by 400%. At the rate of my Panny usage (350 hrs/month), I'll hit it in 6 months. Hopefully, the 2010 models deterioration rate is not that high!
would you be as tolerant if your new handphone sound deteriorates by 400% also?

wht would you do if after few hunderd hours of usage, you can hardly hear the person on the other side?

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 29 2010, 09:06 PM
lightastral
post Jun 29 2010, 09:29 PM

220 posts

bro, if you think panasonic are cheating on people, go lodge an official report with the responsible authorities and lodge an official complaint to panasonic malaysia.

we ARE NOT panasonic engineers, panasonic staff, panasonic directors and hell we ARE NOT panasonic shareholders.

and panasonic ARE NOT paying us a single cent of recommending them here, or to our friends or our families.

so, if you are really a gentleman and deeply care for all the buyers who has not purchase a HDTV yet, do us a favor and lodge your complain and tell us the outcome.

please pick your fight with THEM and not your fellow forummers.

grow up.

michaeltan1943
post Jun 29 2010, 09:31 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Jun 29 2010, 09:29 PM)
bro, if you think panasonic are cheating on people, go lodge an official report with the responsible authorities and lodge an official complaint to panasonic malaysia.

we ARE NOT panasonic engineers, panasonic staff, panasonic directors and hell we ARE NOT panasonic shareholders.

and panasonic ARE NOT paying us a single cent of recommending them here, or to our friends or our families.

so, if you are really a gentleman and deeply care for all the buyers who has not purchase a HDTV yet, do us a favor and lodge your complain and tell us the outcome.

please pick your fight with THEM and not your fellow forummers.

grow up.
looks like you need to grow up based on your emotional response. Nobody is picking a fight with fellow forummers lah small boy.
PoorMan
post Jun 29 2010, 09:32 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 29 2010, 08:56 PM)
and yet uninformed or innocent people fall for the "your plasma will last well over 60,000 hours" line, thinking it would last them years with the same quality at the point of purchase.

wht would you do if after few hunderd hours of usage, you can hardly hear the person on the other side?
I bought the Panny with "eyes wide open" knowing all the potential issues. So, no complaining from me. Of course, I got mine 2nd hand and cheap is an important factor too. wink.gif

Your analogy of the handphone is not entirely accurate. We are not talking about a complete breakdown of the Panny in that the PQ is entirely unwatchable. If that is the case, I can claim warranty since it's an obvious defect within the 3 years. The problem is that it's not an obvious breakdown and also very subjective. Some people may notice it and some won't.

But I know what you mean. Panasonic promised "Infinite Black" as their brand and good for an enthusiast HT setup. This is not consistent with their brand.

Edited: Rest assuredly, if I cannot bear to watch the PQ because of the rising blacks, I'll be making a complaint as a customer.

This post has been edited by PoorMan: Jun 29 2010, 09:41 PM
maskedchan
post Jun 29 2010, 09:36 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 29 2010, 08:56 PM)

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:06 pm

if u know those known issues with the panny..
why still buy this set? hmm.gif
anfieldude
post Jun 29 2010, 09:44 PM

3,858 posts

PoorMan,

I will most probably do the same checks for the 2010 U series as a friend has the set.

However, u will need to realise that I believe after about 2000hrs I think the black levels will be quite stable.

I can give u some black levels that I have.

Pioneer PDP-428XG
New : 0.008ft/L
600 hrs : 0.009ft/L
2000hrs : 0.009 ft/L
6500hrs : 0.01ft/L

The changes are minimal if any. There is some, but hard to distinguish.

Pioneer PDP-508XG
New : 0.007ft/L
600hrs : 0.008ft/L

Pioneer KRP-600M
New : <0.005ft/L (below my meter threshold)
700hrs : <0.005ft/L (below my meter threshold)

For a comparison, the good LCDs are somewhere in the 0.06ft/L most of the time, the not so good ones 0.1ft/L.

The 2010 is probably more gradual.

Corrected typo on LCDs.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jun 29 2010, 10:47 PM
michaeltan1943
post Jun 29 2010, 09:47 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jun 29 2010, 09:36 PM)
if u know those known issues with the panny..
why still buy this set?  hmm.gif
have not bought yet.
maskedchan
post Jun 29 2010, 09:49 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 29 2010, 09:47 PM)
have not bought yet.
i thought previous post u order one? hmm.gif
so what now?cancel the order?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 29 2010, 09:50 PM

1,024 posts

[quote=PoorMan,Jun 29 2010, 09:32 PM]

But I know what you mean. Panasonic promised "Infinite Black" as their brand and good for an enthusiast HT setup. This is not consistent with their brand.

It is not just inconsistent with their good name but also not ethical advertising. The goods does not correspond to the description given.
Most people pay a premium because they want Infinite Black.

I would not be happy if I buy a BMW but when I drive it, it feels like a Datsun 120Y

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:51 pm[quote=maskedchan,Jun 29 2010, 09:49 PM]
i thought previous post u order one? hmm.gif
so what now?cancel the order?

[/quote]

which post? Show the post. Never did order one.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 29 2010, 09:51 PM
maskedchan
post Jun 29 2010, 09:52 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 29 2010, 09:50 PM)
which post? Show the post. Never did order one.
nvm..take it as my mistake..
see wrong post...
PoorMan
post Jun 29 2010, 10:18 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

anfieldude,

Excellent data! Many thanks. And yes, kindly track the U series (and V series if you have the chance) too.

To think that the Panny plasma may degrade to LCD black levels *sigh*.
anfieldude
post Jun 29 2010, 10:51 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 29 2010, 10:18 PM)
anfieldude,

Excellent data! Many thanks. And yes, kindly track the U series (and V series if you have the chance) too.

I will try.

Also just to let you know above comparing 0.01 vs 0.05 ft/L while might seem little, in a dark room it is a world of a difference. 0.01 ft/L in a dark room will seem like a glow of very dim light. 0.05ft/L in a dark room will literally light up the room and look grey.

Drop that by one order, 0.005ft/L and its really almost black with a light glow.
PoorMan
post Jun 30 2010, 02:46 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 29 2010, 10:51 PM)
I will try.

Also just to let you know above comparing 0.01 vs 0.05 ft/L while might seem little, in a dark room it is a world of a difference. 0.01 ft/L in a dark room will seem like a glow of very dim light. 0.05ft/L in a dark room will literally light up the room and look grey.

Drop that by one order, 0.005ft/L and its really almost black with a light glow.
Really grateful for the enlightenment!

I'm glad you did the typo correction for the LCD black levels. At least, it's still much better than the LCD black levels even after the aggressive voltage increments in the Panny.

I hope that you will do another reading later to confirm that the rising black is leveled off at some point.
kgsiaw
post Jun 30 2010, 10:01 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(ameenskywalker @ Jun 28 2010, 08:39 PM)
Regarding these floating black, will Panasonic do anything about it ? does it considered as defects as well ?
Sorry for not be able to give any answer because Panasonic Malaysia still have not reply me, let see how good and responsible they are in respond to my subjects. I am ex-Pioneer years ago at that time I never favor “National” one of the reason was they just ignore you.(my own opinion)
anfieldude
post Jun 30 2010, 10:07 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(kgsiaw @ Jun 30 2010, 10:01 AM)
Sorry for not be able to give any answer because Panasonic Malaysia still have not reply me, let see how good and responsible they are in respond to my subjects. I am ex-Pioneer years ago at that time I never favor “National” one of the reason was they just ignore you.(my own opinion)
kgsiaw,

Did u try my suggestion to eliminate/reduce floating blacks?
Cliff_Tan73
post Jun 30 2010, 10:27 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 29 2010, 10:18 PM)
anfieldude,

I also curious on the result of the V series as well, since spend so much for it.....
michaeltan1943
post Jun 30 2010, 01:55 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(kgsiaw @ Jun 30 2010, 10:01 AM)
you mean besides possible rising/floating blacks etc, they also have that kind of customer service? You mean they actually ignore you?

I have had problems with their customer service too. Mine, they don't even answer their phones!

Added on June 30, 2010, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(PoorMan @ Jun 30 2010, 02:46 AM)
Really grateful for the enlightenment!

I'm glad you did the typo correction for the LCD black levels. At least, it's still much better than the LCD black levels even after the aggressive voltage increments in the Panny.

I hope that you will do another reading later to confirm that the rising black is leveled off at some point.
yeah Anfieldude, thanks also from me. Really appreciate your data and more so, your kindness in sharing.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 30 2010, 01:56 PM
gisella
post Jun 30 2010, 02:19 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jun 28 2010, 09:01 PM)
floating black I think this issue is unique to panasonic plasma TV, just like rising black pana will simply claim that it is by design

they are not saying anything about these problems right now at least in the USA, because right now pana got sue by USA users
US people are so just mean lah. Is the rising black or floating black problem disturb their daily life?

What about their newly purchased house got a fine crack on the wall after 2 year of living, will they sue the Developer?

What is you guys action then?

Based on the statistic, how many panny end users cannot tahan this discussed issue out of 10,000 unit tv sold?

My suggestion, rileks lah....don't be so picky.

If so, consider pioneer or LG or samsung PDP tv, less headache matters.
blade63
post Jun 30 2010, 02:26 PM

25 posts

Considering the floating black issues, my guess is that Panasonic Malaysia will ignore your complains as they will vacuum under the carpet unless we all complain in big numbers or just boycot their plasma products. It is better if anybody have friends in the PRESS to bring forward this issues to them as this will be public knowledge and awareness then Panasonic Malaysia will definitly issue a statements, Just my thoughts...cheers
michaeltan1943
post Jun 30 2010, 02:37 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(gisella @ Jun 30 2010, 02:19 PM)
US people are so just mean lah. Is the rising black or floating black problem disturb their daily life?

What about their newly purchased house got a fine crack on the wall after 2 year of living, will they sue the Developer?

What is you guys action then?

Based on the statistic, how many panny end users cannot tahan this discussed issue out of 10,000 unit tv sold?

My suggestion, rileks lah....don't be so picky.

If so, consider pioneer or LG or samsung PDP tv, less headache matters.
when you work hard for your money and have self integrity, you will appreciate the things you purchase. Only when you sweat, you will know the value of money.

I bet if someone molest your wife in the office, you will also say rileks lah and not sue the company.

161 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0377sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:45 PM