Region thing, ....................

TSTriggerTigrex
post Mar 21 2010, 08:36 PM, updated 16y ago

well,i'm thinking of buying an ASIA xbox 360..so it will support NTSC/J games right??
these NTSC/J games are entirely in japan or in english??
and I heard there are region free games..is that true??
and are there many games that is NTSC/J region locked??

heavendevil
post Mar 21 2010, 08:57 PM

17 posts

There are two types of NTSC/J consoles. One for Asia and the other solely for Japan. Whether it's in English or Japanese depends on what version you buy.

Yes, most games are Region Free. Don't worry, all shops here sell games that obviously will run on NTSC/J.

Most Japanese made games are region locked. Usually we're stuck with the Japanese version since most English version are region locked to NTSC/US and PAL.
TSTriggerTigrex
post Mar 21 2010, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(heavendevil @ Mar 21 2010, 08:57 PM)
There are two types of NTSC/J consoles. One for Asia and the other solely for Japan. Whether it's in English or Japanese depends on what version you buy.

Yes, most games are Region Free. Don't worry, all shops here sell games that obviously will run on NTSC/J.

Most Japanese made games are region locked. Usually we're stuck with the Japanese version since most English version are region locked to NTSC/US and PAL.
ohh..okay..thanx....
pwncake
post Mar 21 2010, 11:57 PM

Validating
112 posts

wanna tumpang thread...

im currently in the UK, with a UK xbox, UK live account...etc etc.

would it impair me in anyways if i use the same machine back home? i have loads of DLC, saves, etc in this HDD.

thx!
SUSzhiyung
post Mar 22 2010, 12:50 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(heavendevil @ Mar 21 2010, 08:57 PM)
Yes, most games are Region Free.
blink.gif hmm.gif rclxub.gif
lilko
post Mar 22 2010, 12:52 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(pwncake @ Mar 21 2010, 11:57 PM)
wanna tumpang thread...

im currently in the UK, with a UK xbox, UK live account...etc etc.

would it impair me in anyways if i use the same machine back home? i have loads of DLC, saves, etc in this HDD.

thx!
meaning? impair? I dun think got prob ba.. Evrything will still be in ur HDD..... As long as u use PAL region games for the DLC..well wat am i talking bout anyway...lol.. its region lock in the first place.. biggrin.gif anyways.. as for xbox live thing... maybe you can create another profile.. or change region...? blink.gif

This post has been edited by lilko: Mar 22 2010, 12:56 AM
No0KieF
post Mar 22 2010, 04:11 AM

235 posts

i've ntsc/us console, but it runs fable 2 with region ntsc/j just fine. does it means that if i bring this console back home to malaysia, i can play games bought in Malaysian market? or is it only for fable 2?
navigator
post Mar 22 2010, 09:57 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(No0KieF @ Mar 22 2010, 04:11 AM)
i've ntsc/us console, but it runs fable 2 with region ntsc/j just fine. does it means that if i bring this console back home to malaysia, i can play games bought in Malaysian market? or is it only for fable 2?
You can play region free game, i'm not confirmed but fable 2 might be region free. Even if it's region free some game will display the region.

Games with region lock is not playable and Asia is currently sharing same region as japan. But asian games usually is multilingual.

That also means asian console got no problem with parallel imported japanese games but will have problem with other region if the game is region locked.

Added on March 22, 2010, 9:59 am
QUOTE(lilko @ Mar 22 2010, 12:52 AM)
meaning? impair?  I dun think got prob ba.. Evrything will still be in ur HDD..... As long as u use PAL region games for the DLC..well wat am i talking bout anyway...lol..  its region lock in the first place.. biggrin.gif anyways.. as for xbox live thing... maybe you can create another profile.. or change region...?  blink.gif
well you can continue to use your account but you cannot use asian microsoft point and some region locked content cannt be downloaded anymore.

while the console, I suggest you get another console here if you'll be here permanently. You'll have problem on region locked games & issues on warranty.

This post has been edited by navigator: Mar 22 2010, 09:59 AM
heavendevil
post Mar 22 2010, 05:41 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(No0KieF @ Mar 22 2010, 04:11 AM)
You can run Fable 2 is because it's a Region Free game. Not all games are Region Free, depends on the publisher.
TSTriggerTigrex
post Mar 22 2010, 07:25 PM

so all xbox 360 that are sold in sg support NTSC/J games lah??
falconhour
post Mar 22 2010, 09:02 PM

13 posts

for me, i always check out Play-Asia Xbox 360 compatibility guide. here's the link -> http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-00-3-xbox360...uide-49-en.html

alternatively, you may consult credible games shops or people from this forum. YMMV...
heavendevil
post Mar 22 2010, 10:56 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(TriggerTigrex @ Mar 22 2010, 07:25 PM)
so all xbox 360 that are sold in sg support NTSC/J games lah??
Officially yes but you can import other region consoles as well. Same case with games as well.
TSTriggerTigrex
post Mar 22 2010, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(heavendevil @ Mar 22 2010, 10:56 PM)
Officially yes but you can import other region consoles as well. Same case with games as well.
ohh..okay thanx

0.0188sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:28 AM