Do u take Health Supplements?, Health Supplements

iamyuanwu
post Feb 16 2011, 09:35 AM

2,425 posts

I'm a nutritionist in a supplements store (You may PM me if you wanna ask for info about any herbs & supplements). So I take quite a bunch of supplements. Hah hah!

Not everything is from the place I work for (I don't care about brand loyalty whistling.gif ).
And I don't take everything everyday (crazy meh, eat all those everyday)---I still eat food.

-men's multivit
-vit C
-zinc
-pine bark extract (Fuh, expensive but unbelievably effective antioxidant. I sincerely hope everyone---especially those with allergy, sinus problems, hypertension, high cholesterol, migraine, water retention, eye issues, stressful work, want to reduce dark spot/老人斑, want fairer skin---owe it to themselves to at least give this a try, because I have witnessed the improvements. nod.gif)
-milk thistle
-fish oil
-liquid flax seed oil
-red palm oil
-olive oil
-multi enzymes
-20 billion probiotics
-ginkgo
-garlic
-propolis (surprisingly effective against sorethroat)
-collagen
-whey protein

Most people would do well taking just these 4:
-omega 3 fatty acids (fish oil, flax seed oil, olive oil), and
-a good antioxidant (pine bark extract is the best I have found so far).
-multivit (add vit C if you want, most multi-vitamins have very low vit C). And for those who are paranoid: there are multivits from natural sources. laugh.gif
-lots of good protein source: eggs, milk, fish, chicken, whey.

Then one may add any other supplement for whatever function he/she needs: ginkgo for memory, ginseng for vitality and tonic, bilberry & goji for eyes, fenugreek for lactation, milk thistle for liver, feverfew for heatiness and migraine, garlic for most infections, propolis for sorethroat (crazily effective for sorethroat).

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Feb 16 2011, 03:40 PM
iamyuanwu
post Feb 16 2011, 10:33 PM

2,425 posts

Nah, usually I just take multivit, pine bark and fish oil in the morning.
Then I make my breakfast: whey + oats + olive oil + flax seed oil + red palm oil.

Then malam before sleep I take milk thistle and zinc. My milk thistle almost finish my course liao---then can stop taking after this. Good to help detox my liver, so I won't become 'heaty 发热气' in the long term.

Garlic only when I feel I'm going to come down with a cold, and to help boost testosterone.
Propolis I just put 1-2 drops into my water tumbler everyday.
Enzymes & probiotics when I have indigestion or some stomach issues.
Ginkgo once in a while, I curi my dad's supply. Hehe!

A few seconds in the morning, and a few seconds before bed. I don't follow the regiment strictly. I just eat as I wish, because I have no serious health issues anyway. But I never skip my pine bark and oils... they are the most vital to me.
iamyuanwu
post May 4 2011, 01:23 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(RynN @ May 3 2011, 12:04 AM)
Im just started to take Lifepak everyday, two pack per day...morning and night...
A very usual multi vitamin+mineral, but too expensive for what it is.

Added on May 4, 2011, 1:42 am
QUOTE(jeanhl @ May 3 2011, 10:04 PM)
i'm currently taking fish oil and multivitamin
im thinking of trying milk thistle, mind share which brand to choose?
If you take enough fruits, you can opt to replace your multivit with a good anti-oxidant (pine bark, grape seed, acai, mangosteen xanthone, maqui, whatever lah). In fact, if you can afford it: take a variety of anti-oxidants.

I take GNC Standardised Milk Thistle, because this is what is available to me cheapest (I get it at a priviledged price). And I've heard many feedback from customers about its effectiveness.
I can't say much about other brands because I've not tried them, and haven't heard anything about them.

I suppose Cosway's milk thistle should be OK if you're looking for cheap ones.

How to take:
2 after bed, 2 before bed for 1 bottle (approx 25 days).
Then 1 after bed, 1 before bed for the following bottles.

Usually, I recommend: finish 2 bottles and that's it. Stop and start the process again after 3-9 months.

If a person drinks alcoholic beverages regularly, smokes, and sleeps late often (after 12.30am). Then there is no need to stop taking milk thistle. Increasing dosage before and after a drinking session can help to reduce some hangover effects (note: it's a herb, not a miracle. It doesn't get rid of hangovers, it just reduces its effect).

And if a person drinks, smokes, sleeps late & drinks large amounts of coffee: one needs to have his vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, omega 3's supplemented. Milk thistle alone ain't gonna save him.

Note that you may experience fatigue and feel lethargic during the first 1-2 weeks taking milk thistle. Consider it as a healing crisis where your liver is working to detox the body and rebuilding/healing itself. Sleep early (before 11pm).

*DO NOT take milk thistle with your medicine/drugs at the same time. At least 2 hours apart. Milk thistle is a liver tonic, it WILL have interaction with many drugs, because almost all drugs are processed by the liver. Some drugs could be processed and removed (detox'ed) too soon, or some remain activated for too long. Please practise common sense and consult your doctor (most doctors will simply just ask you to stop taking herbal supplements for fear of negative side effect, and they simply have no time to research about those herbs).

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: May 4 2011, 01:53 AM

0.0224sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:19 AM