TSfiredauz
post Mar 20 2010, 10:05 AM, updated 16y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...2983&sec=nation
Michelle Yeoh appointed reading ambassador

KUALA LUMPUR: International film star Datuk Michelle Yeoh has been appointed ambassador for the Information, Communication, and Culture Ministry’s “Come and Read 1Malaysia” campaign.

Deputy Minister Senator Heng Seai Kie said the Ipoh-born actress had been chosen to promote reading among Malaysians, especially the Chinese.

“Yeoh will return to Malaysia around mid-April to attend the launch of the campaign,” she told a press conference here yesterday. Yeoh will share her experiences and the benefits of reading at the event.

“The country’s first astronaut Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, who is also our ambassador for the campaign, is very well-received when he goes to schools to give talks on reading.

“We hope with the appointment of Yeoh and popular Indian ambassador, whom we are still identifying, more Malaysians will be encouraged to cultivate the reading habit.”

As part of the campaign, Heng said, the ministry would collaborate with Malaysia Xiang Lian Youth Association to give out free books in Bahasa Malaysia, Chinese and English to 1,000 schools.

Schools interested in getting the free books can contact the association at 03-9221 9122.

ahsia80
post Mar 20 2010, 10:11 AM

989 posts

Would work better if the word "1Malaysia" is omitted from all the campaign!
It's like "You support the campaign means you support NAJIB Administration!"

Campaign like these should be instilled as 'own good' rather than political agenda...
IMHO la...

0.0143sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:28 AM