Discussion - Franchising businesses, Oldtown, Pappa Rich, McD...etc...

constant
post Apr 22 2010, 09:59 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(junkeat @ Mar 20 2010, 02:19 AM)
Old town    ....600k for 5 years + u must own the corner shop lot
Papa rich  ....1.2m for 5 years
Station 1    ....1m for 5 years
Hailam Kopitiam 450k (half year ago)
In the above, do you mean franchise fees alone is 1.2m for papa rich and that only for 5 years? After that?
constant
post Apr 22 2010, 08:50 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Apr 22 2010, 07:53 PM)
clivengu,

I have absolutely NO passion in the food industry, so I think I am not suitable to comment on the franchise. Regarding the other issues, I have replied in your thread.
constant,

Usually, franchise license is only valid for a few years (as agreed), but you will have the option of renewing it upon expiry. The reason for that is for them to evaluate your performance (to keep the standard of their businesses).
1.2m for 5 years is 240k per annum in franchise fees. Thats 20k per month. I think very clearly the only winner is the franchisor because no way a normal shop will generate enough sales to cover the franchise fees unless it is in super "wong" place. At the end of the day, the franchisee will earn back his "gaji" working there. That's all.

constant
post Apr 23 2010, 07:31 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Apr 22 2010, 09:53 PM)
constant,

You are confusing yourself. They are 2 different fees altogether. The first one is the franchise fee (which is a one-time fee you pay for all the necessary tools/knowledge to get you started), and the second one is the renewal fee (the fee you pay to renew your contract).
Ok. Jordy. For paparich, can you breakdown which is which? Thx

0.0159sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:25 AM