WebCamp: Malaysia Webbies Event, Listen. Network. Share.

TSetsuko
post Mar 18 2010, 05:43 PM, updated 13y ago

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

We invite all industry web people, enthusiasts and closet web people to this monthly event.

QUOTE(WebCamp Facebook group)
Come and join us for one of the most persistent geek community event of the year!

It's FREE, action-packed, 1-night event open to all, we host talks from all sorts of roles in the industry, otherwise we just hang out and network with otherss around you and of course... unleash your inner geek!

Details of the event

Date: Every LAST WEDNESDAY of the month
Time: 19:00 - 22:00

P.S. This is a bring your own cup event.

Join the WebcampKL group: http://on.fb.me/webcamp-ly

This post has been edited by etsuko: Dec 14 2011, 07:40 PM
kyLL
post Mar 19 2010, 12:45 PM

-=-
1,638 posts

oo.. interesting.
TSetsuko
post Mar 20 2010, 09:19 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Presentation topics planned for upcoming WebCamp.

1. Juan Martitegui, COO of MindValley LC. — Un-Design: Designing for Money and Action.

2. Hani Khaursar, Mistress of TheBlisscipline.com — TBA (she is hawt - lol)

3. Pavel Timofeev, Application Developer — How to Create an Awesome Social Network with Ruby On Rails.

4. Tristan Gomez, Web Developer — Applying "Shuhari" to Learning Web Development.

5. Praburaajan, System Administrator — State of ICT Security in .gov.my.

6. Wu Han, Design Chief — Something something something… Design.(he is hawt - lol)

I know there are many more "closet" Malaysian website designers. So step out and mingle with us. smile.gif

Added on March 23, 2010, 2:52 pmIn case anyone missed out this event, not to worry. There'll be another in April. In the meantime, you can check out photos of the event at the Facebook group. smile.gif

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=photos...id=344852898768

This post has been edited by etsuko: Mar 23 2010, 02:52 PM
skpr7
post Mar 26 2010, 12:34 PM

136 posts

How Webcamp? any good ?
TSetsuko
post Mar 29 2010, 03:58 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

It was interesting. We're looking at the upcoming in April now. smile.gif

Added on April 7, 2010, 10:51 pmWho's up for some cup noodles and webtalk?

If you're a website designer/developer, come join other like-minded geeks to listen to ourselves touch on topics we all want to know more about.

The previous theme was Milk & Cookies, this time it's Cup Noodles!

RSVP at: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=114608635221064

Speaker topics this round:
1. Simon Lim, WordPress consultant, WPDesignStudio.com — What's in the upcoming WordPress 3.0?

2. Kamal Fariz Mahyuddin, Owner of bitfluent.com — How Bitfluent does test driven development with great success.

3. Prashant Nadarajan, MindValley DOE — Billing Systems: Key Learnings

4. Wu Han, MindValley's Chief of Web Hotness — What's cool to do with CSS3.

This post has been edited by etsuko: Jun 5 2010, 12:38 AM
TSetsuko
post Jun 5 2010, 12:43 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

We're going into the 5th Edition of Webcamp KL. This time themed; Island Edition. So wear your hawaiian shirts or coconut bikinis and don the straw hats. smile.gif

Upcoming event details:

Date: Wednesday, 30 June 2010
Time: 19:00 - 23:00

Speakers - Topics:
1. Aizat Faiz, Facebook Software Engineer — Location Aware Browsing
2. Prashant Nadarajan, MindValley DOE — TBA
3. Khalid Hilaby, MindValley PHP Guru — Zend Framework a Quickstart Guide
n. Wu Han, MindValley Sitting Buffalo — UX Series Ep. 2

RSVP or find out more about the event at the Facebook event; http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=1308...3596014&index=1

You can also view previous event photos at the group. smile.gif

Quick introduction of Webcamp for the freshies

It's a monthly event for web heads to get together and listen out to topics Internet related. We've talks from system security, e-commerce best practices, user experience to even, Voltron. wink.gif

This event is organized to bring all who love and work on the web to make it even better. Who knows, we might create our own Malaysian union later. The previous webcamp were themes like; milk & cookies and noodles. Themes are to keep the experience fresh and have a little fun among ourselves.

And, did I mention. It's a great place for you to network firm up working relationships and possibly, collaborate with others on new projects. smile.gif
joshuatly
post Jun 5 2010, 03:42 AM

811 posts

from google maps its seems quite far away from LRT. Any public transport instruction to go there?
TSetsuko
post Jun 6 2010, 08:58 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

We've had some LRT arrival attendees before. And not sure if the one on Google Maps you saw may have been similar to this.

http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=1085...,0&z=19&iwloc=H

The LRT is actually kinda behind the tower. If I'm not mistaken, you can walk easily from the tower to the LRT and vice-versa.

But will try to get you the full details from Wu Han.
ngeowwh
post Jun 10 2010, 01:19 AM

QUOTE(joshuatly @ Jun 5 2010, 03:42 AM)
from google maps its seems quite far away from LRT. Any public transport instruction to go there?
The building is right next to the LRT station on covered walkways:

1. After arriving the station, head out the turnstiles and turn right.
2. Walk past the magazine/snacks shop on your right towards the escalators.
3. Ride down 1 floor. Menara UOA will be right in front of you.
4. Go through the doors, try not to piss off the nepalese guards.
5. In the main lobby, turn right towards Block A.
6. Register yourself, tell them you're going for an event at MindValley on the 23Ath floor.
7. May or may not require you to show them your MyKad depending on who's on duty.
8. Get a pass card and head towards the High Zone lift lobby (the Low Zone lifts will only take you to the 23rd floor)
9 Ride lift to 23A floor. Follow pasted signs to WebCamp KL at MindValley office.
JusticeDeserves
post Jun 10 2010, 03:34 AM

1,914 posts

Might come, not sure. I added it to my calender tho.
joshuatly
post Jun 16 2010, 03:54 PM

811 posts

great. i might go as well.
TSetsuko
post Jun 30 2010, 11:20 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Jun 10 2010, 03:34 AM)
Might come, not sure. I added it to my calender tho.
QUOTE(joshuatly @ Jun 16 2010, 03:54 PM)
great. i might go as well.
See y'all there if you come. smile.gif

Remember it's Hawaii night with the hula-hula ladies and coconut clad designers. thumbup.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AepyGm9Me6w

*surfs away*

And is it just me, or YouTube doesn't work in here anymore. o.0

This post has been edited by etsuko: Jun 30 2010, 11:21 AM
joshuatly
post Jul 7 2010, 12:10 PM

811 posts

WebCamp 6º

Date: Wednesday, July 21, 2010
Time: 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Street: Jalan Bangsar Utama 1
City/Town: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Description
Bionic Six edition. Bring a six-pack(et) of your fave beverage or primary school snacks to share with your neighbors if you like.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bionic_Six
WebCamp for Malaysian web heads.

I'll provide a selection of six-packs and ice.

Presenters:

1. Chris Hong— Using Xcode to develop native iPhone/iPad apps
2. Aizat Faiz, Software Engineer at Facebook — Location Aware Browsing (TBC)
n+1. Wu Han, MindValley Aesthetician — UX Series Ep. 3 (Time permiting)

RSVP at the facebook event page: http://bit.ly/91Cmer
ladycooper
post Jul 19 2010, 01:17 PM

917 posts

wow, looks like a nice gathering event.
any plan to cross over to Penang state?
DikkieD
post Aug 2 2010, 01:42 PM

294 posts

Hi

If I were to follow every event in Malaysia; which website(s) should I always keep an eye out to? I've missed so many nice event; only to read about them afterwards.

Thanks for the input.
ladycooper
post Aug 2 2010, 01:44 PM

917 posts

where are you from and which event location do you prefer?
DikkieD
post Aug 2 2010, 02:13 PM

294 posts

I'm from KL smile.gif; So I would like to be notified of any related (blogging, internet marketing and such) related events. The thing is I saw this post: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1503695

And realised that this was an event I wanted to be part of. The thing is; never in all these months I read anything about it. Do I need to be part of some incrowd to keep track of upcoming events?

Then I check this website: http://www.myevents-intl.com/ and it only lists past events tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DikkieD: Aug 2 2010, 02:15 PM
TSetsuko
post Aug 14 2010, 11:06 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ladycooper @ Jul 19 2010, 01:17 PM)
wow, looks like a nice gathering event.
any plan to cross over to Penang state?
Don't think it'll come to Penang as of yet. Because MindValley continues to contribute hosting the event at their premise. So unless, Exabytes is willing to do so, then maybe Penang can look into something in your own area?

QUOTE(DikkieD @ Aug 2 2010, 02:13 PM)
I'm from KL smile.gif; So I would like to be notified of any related (blogging, internet marketing and such) related events. The thing is I saw this post: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1503695

And realised that this was an event I wanted to be part of. The thing is; never in all these months I read anything about it. Do I need to be part of some incrowd to keep track of upcoming events?

Then I check this website: http://www.myevents-intl.com/ and it only lists past events tongue.gif
I don't think there's a specific website to find out about the Internet-related event. And Webcamp doesn't touch only on those topics you're interested in. It's more of an open sharing platform. smile.gif

Here's details on the 7th edition:

August 26, 2010

MindValley HQ, A-23A-13A Menara UOA Bangsar
Jalan Bangsar Utama 1
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Presenters - so far:
1. Mike Reining, MindValley Founder - The Future of Affiliate Marketing
2. Hilmy, Producer & Game Designer at Titoonic A/S - Social Gaming and How the Web Media Has Advantages in Games over Consoles
3. Aizat Faiz, Software Engineer at Facebook -Facebook Open Graph (tbc)
n+1. Wu Han - What's Next for Web Design? (time permitin')

Further details and RSVPs can be made at the Facebook event. smile.gif

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=136289243072825&ref=mf
ladycooper
post Aug 16 2010, 08:49 AM

917 posts

Hi etsuko,

Yes, we have meeting room, training room with lobby area which we can sponsor you to run the event in Penang.

Click HERE to take a look at our office gallery.

PM me if you are interested.

WoodyAllen
post Jan 14 2011, 02:47 PM

108 posts

Speaking of which, we have litterally no activities in Penang lor.

0.0212sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:54 PM