goldfries
post May 18 2010, 12:23 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

good! more than good!

just that, do you need class 10? if you can get cheap then ok la.
goldfries
post May 18 2010, 12:34 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

1. quality makes no difference whether Class 2 or Class 10.
2. speed wise - do you burst mode often? do you snap in RAW?

D5000 is only 12.9 MP. your fastest burst is 4 fps. video also 720p only.

i have class 2 and class 4 cards, snapping bigger MP and also 720p as yours - no sweat man.
goldfries
post May 18 2010, 12:42 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell90 @ May 18 2010, 12:37 AM)
if it's for shooting HD videos (let's say for the new NEX5 camera), what do you think is the suitable card? do i need a class 10 card? or class 2 will do? any particular brand recommendation?
from my experience

HD, as in 720p - works fine with Class 2 and Class 4.

1080p - best using Class 6 onwards.

QUOTE(02286 @ May 18 2010, 12:38 AM)
yaya... i do in "RAW+FINE JPEG" for most cases now..
coz juz started.. then wanna have a deep detail on each pic i took smile.gif
btw, since the output is "RAW + FINE JPEG" ...
so when i do post process, i shall edit the RAW then save as jpeg leh.. or just edit the FINE JPEG then share?
off topic liao. post process of course from RAW la. waffor you snap in RAW and JPG to just edit JPG? unless brightness / contrast adjustment only. tongue.gif

in fact if you snap RAW, no reason for RAW + JPG unless you need to pass the JPG to others or need to modify quickly.

Added on May 18, 2010, 12:42 am
QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 18 2010, 12:40 AM)
Goldfires, any input about Kingmax cards?I saw a 8GB and 16GB priced at RM8X and RM14X respectively......very very ridiculous prices.How is this brand?
i donno leh. wait, class what? I think i saw Kingmax Class 10 RM 14x ....... gila cheap also. I use Kingmax RAM la but not sure about SDHC quality.

Added on May 18, 2010, 12:51 amFull HD video recorded on Class 2

observe, decide. smile.gif *I recommend going for Class 6 or faster card

not sure about other Camera brands but Canon users have experienced that some brands, though Class 6 or faster, have problem recording video.
goldfries
post May 18 2010, 12:58 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Apparently Transcend has problems la. I've checked out others and they (using Canon) have problem with Transcends as well. Class 6 too if not mistaken.

The video just records a bit then poof - stop. same goes another person who asked me on FB - using Sandisk Class 4.

my Kingston Class 2 and Class 4 all no problem even with 1080p. can video until run out of space some more.
goldfries
post May 18 2010, 12:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(02286 @ May 18 2010, 12:57 AM)
higher Class of SDHC card will give negative feedback to the recording mode?!...
er, you blur liao.

nothing to do with the class. the class just indicates writing speed.

we're just saying that some brands, though they stated to be higher Class type, they don't work well.

goldfries
post May 18 2010, 01:02 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

donno. Transcend i thought decent brand. I also donno la. All i know is my Kingston works. I've heard of Transcend and Sandisk failing.

oh btw, in i donno if what i face is Canon related or any video related la. in some cases, I record a few second it just stopped. what I do is just take out the SDHC and just blow it / rub it or whatever clean the contacts and put in. then ok already.

Added on May 18, 2010, 1:02 am
QUOTE(02286 @ May 18 2010, 01:01 AM)
means SANDISK is a better choice?
i just mentioned i've heard of Sandisk failing. tongue.gif hehe. i think best is try out friend's unit with your camera when possible.

i took a gamble with Toshiba Class 10 recently - works fine!

goldfries
post May 18 2010, 01:11 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i saw forum here got people selling Sandisk 16GB Class 10 below RM 200, i was like WTH!??!! got so cheap meh? even at DCIM also 16GB class 10 was about RM 299.
goldfries
post May 18 2010, 03:18 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

erm. you sure you're giving us the right stats or not?

Class 10 SDHC where got so fast writing speed wan.

QUOTE(selinix @ May 18 2010, 02:10 AM)
Test : 50 MB [C: 88.5% (60.5/68.4 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2010/04/29 15:57:45
sweat.gif
goldfries
post May 18 2010, 06:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

faster writing speed.

the Class 2 - 4- 6 - 10 are figures based on writing speed.

they're critical for video / burst mode with file types / selection of big file size, eg 18MP RAW + JPG for example.
goldfries
post Jun 1 2010, 12:06 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ May 31 2010, 02:50 PM)
btw..the free SDHC card with nikon body.. rated at what class? coz i try with d90 to capture the video..seems like stuck2 every 2 sec like that..
that's odd. Class 2 can handle 720p easily.

goldfries
post Jun 2 2010, 11:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

for your usage 4GB also a lot of space already.

0.0148sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:34 AM