Overvolting DDR2 to 2.1v, Normal Kingston Value RAM
TSAlexZai123
Mar 15 2010, 10:51 PM, updated 16y ago
Is it stable? I'm using Kingston value RAM 2GB 667MHz CL5, the default voltage is at 1.xx(forgot) but since I overclock my processor, the RAM is also be overclocked, and my mobo automatic set the Memory voltage to 2.1v. Is it ok? Will my RAM be burned? I runned prime95 for 23 hours without problems.
-pWs-
Mar 15 2010, 10:59 PM
Active cooling is better for long time usage. And, Past Tense of run = ran.  No hard feeling. -pWs-
nidzamputra
Mar 16 2010, 07:00 AM
agreed with -pWs-
you need active cooling for your ram...like corsair dominator airflow 3 fan something like that...to cool down your chip...
TSAlexZai123
Mar 16 2010, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Mar 15 2010, 10:59 PM) Active cooling is better for long time usage. And, Past Tense of run = ran.  No hard feeling. -pWs-Oh, sorry for my tenses. But I currently use the RAM without any active cooling... Will it get burned? Do I need to get any third party heatsink/cooler for it?
-pWs-
Mar 16 2010, 07:29 PM
A cooler will do. You can use it w/o active cooling but IMO, not recommended. -pWs-
saturn85
Mar 21 2010, 12:12 AM
kingston DDR2 667 value ram can tahan 2.1v for long term?
RaFaLe
Mar 26 2010, 08:16 PM

it should be 1.8V stock.. I think you should put some heatspreader..just get a cheap one.. I'm also using those value rams, 800MHz.. but for prolong use, better back down the V lil bit IMO.. last time I managed to get 880Mhz @ 2.0V with it..
DaRkSyThE
Mar 28 2010, 11:46 AM