5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Frontfiring VS Downfiring subwoofer, which one i better...

gilbertlhl
post Mar 16 2010, 09:24 PM

386 posts

For me different sub will giv different effect.
But the must different is ported or sealed.

Anyhow just believe in ur ear and find a good placement.. smile.gif
TSmatyeo
post Mar 16 2010, 10:13 PM

352 posts

Guys...what say u if i think...

Frontfiring good for music and downfiring good for movie..... hmm.gif

arremie
post Mar 16 2010, 11:00 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

the sub good for music is the sealed one and not either front or down firing
TSmatyeo
post Mar 17 2010, 12:01 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 16 2010, 11:00 PM)
the sub good for music is the sealed one and not either front or down firing
what do you mean by sealed, do you have a picture to share... biggrin.gif

maybe like paradigm i think....woofer inside box.... hmm.gif
paskal
post Mar 17 2010, 12:15 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 17 2010, 12:01 AM)
what do you mean by sealed, do you have a picture to share... biggrin.gif

maybe like paradigm i think....woofer inside box.... hmm.gif
sealed ones are those that has no vent holes in the enclosure. the entire sub is sealed and there's no port.
requires more power to drive, and requires special drivers to be used.
arremie
post Mar 17 2010, 12:17 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

for example velodyne spl1200u or the new incoming svs sb series. a lot more out there. u can google.
mcmicheal
post Mar 17 2010, 12:21 AM

IT Guy
952 posts

I prefer the downfiring... if ur floor is hard floor (marble or granite tiles) the reflection of the bass very nice.

My old house, one of the room is wooden floor and i put carpet on it. Then i place the downfiring woofer and blast some movies. The effect is nice where the whole floor is shaking when u're watching the movies...

Heheh...
TSmatyeo
post Mar 17 2010, 03:43 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(mcmicheal @ Mar 17 2010, 12:21 AM)
I prefer the downfiring... if ur floor is hard floor (marble or granite tiles) the reflection of the bass very nice.

My old house, one of the room is wooden floor and i put carpet on it. Then i place the downfiring woofer and blast some movies. The effect is nice where the whole floor is shaking when u're watching the movies...

Heheh...
rclxms.gif
dlyz
post Mar 17 2010, 10:12 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

I wonder how much would the new sb12-nsd go for.... if under 4k shipped.. im gonna grab it. smile.gif
arremie
post Mar 17 2010, 10:41 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

grab one for me too tongue.gif
dlyz
post Mar 17 2010, 11:35 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

aiyor... i cant compare to tauke arremie leh.. my stuff all cheap cheap only smile.gif you shud go for pb13-ultra smile.gif

The reason i thinking of sub is cos i listen to modern song not shiok... totally neutral and cant pull me in...

I still considering lah, hopefully can save up the budget, might have to give up PS3 first. FF13 T__T

This post has been edited by dlyz: Mar 17 2010, 11:36 AM
arremie
post Mar 17 2010, 12:27 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

i dont use sub for music coz my music not boom boom pow type. a bit of tight controlled bass good enuf for me smile.gif
gilbertlhl
post Mar 17 2010, 12:34 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(mcmicheal @ Mar 17 2010, 12:21 AM)

Heheh...
very nice very nice when watch movie whole floor and sit is shaking... thumbup.gif
radovantz
post Mar 17 2010, 02:07 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 17 2010, 12:27 PM)
i dont use sub for music coz my music not boom boom pow type. a bit of tight controlled bass good enuf for me smile.gif
yes man, before the subwoofer dominate it all, i'd prefer to turn it off and enjoy variety of music
TSmatyeo
post Mar 17 2010, 03:58 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 17 2010, 12:27 PM)
me also but some times only , my floorstand can reach low freq at 20hz.... whistling.gif

dlyz
post Mar 17 2010, 04:00 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Ya, but unfortunately for me, my speaker dont have much so called sub bass. Highs, mid, mid bass all excellent. :0)

I did consult to a Dynaudio dealer from US at avsforum. He told me, dont upgrade amp first. Get a sub cos my main complain was listening to boom boom pow not shiok. But audiophile vocal (i listen a lot) is actually sound good.

When i used my friend's wharfedale 8.4, the bass was enuf for me... even Narnia - Prince Caspian track, wow, superb low bass. But on my speaker, tat bass information is just not there.... my bass rolloff at 40hz.
arremie
post Mar 17 2010, 04:46 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 17 2010, 03:58 PM)
me also but some times only , my floorstand can reach low freq at 20hz.... whistling.gif
no way man. even sub suffer to get that low tongue.gif
TSmatyeo
post Mar 17 2010, 04:48 PM

352 posts

today i go to audition velodyne SPL1200Q = SPL1200U at AL audio
SA played to me 2012, at the bigining i can't feel the powerful of this sub
bcoz he set all speaker to large... sad.gif
second round i ask for small setting... nod.gif so awesome...
accly i don't have enough time to feel the music bass ...robie william concert...ok la
SA told me this sub need at least 20m to warm up after....

SA told me velodyne is the best sub, 2nd is sunfire and 3rd JL....agree arr... hmm.gif

arremie
post Mar 17 2010, 04:53 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

they are all good sub. depend on ur preference and what u mostly use for.

oh and depend on how deep ur pocket is tongue.gif
TSmatyeo
post Mar 17 2010, 05:00 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 17 2010, 04:53 PM)
they are all good sub. depend on ur preference and what u mostly use for.

oh and depend on how deep ur pocket is tongue.gif
spl1200u - rm6.7k...i think expensive la can get more cheap i think...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:07 PM