Photography Nikon D90 v6

@meno
post Mar 19 2010, 12:44 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Mar 19 2010, 07:49 AM)
oh.. i didn't know that there are white color for 70200..
does newer version comes in white too?
There is a grey 70-200 VR-I, but pretty limited.
And it looks pretty white actually despite being claimed to be grey.
@meno
post Apr 1 2010, 03:25 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Mar 31 2010, 09:34 AM)
any idea how muc is the new sigma lens goin to cost?
My gut feel tells me it's not gonna be cheap.
Maybe with some luck and a small sum of top up will land u a 70-200 VR1.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 31 2010, 09:42 AM)
I would suggest you to wait for the Sigma then, 200mm without image stabilization will be tough indoors even with the f/2.8 :S.
Same comment as above. Anyway, in terms of optics, the Nikkors are still ahead.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 31 2010, 09:57 AM)
^
Monopod will do the job brows.gif
Lol...yeah, or worst case just train urself to handle it. Before VR ever existed, how did the photogs handle such equipment?

QUOTE(mersey96 @ Apr 1 2010, 02:35 AM)
guys.. am hoping to get a wide lens.. should i get sigma 10-20, tokina 12-24 II f4 or nikkor 20 f2.8D

favor sigma cuz it's cheaper at overseas

tokina is the most expensive but after research, it has the best review result

nikkor has large aperture and light, but review says the quality is not that good

please advice...
If you do not mind the range, consider the Tokina 11-16 F2.8.
I'm using the 12-24 Toki myself, and Toki built quality is just superb.
The sigma 10-20 is a nice lens too, but the reason why i did not consider it was because of the variable aperture, and also the distortions in the wider angles.

The 20mm is another interesting lens, one that i'd like to have in my arsenal right now. But on a D90,k it just isn't wide enough. If you intend to use it as a walkaround, it'll be nice, but as a landscape lens, maybe you'd enjoy it more if you're using a D700...)
@meno
post Apr 2 2010, 09:54 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 1 2010, 10:05 PM)
D300s RM4200 according to my source yawn.gif. Wonder how the other Dark Lord models doing keke.
Bro, you sure?
Or it's just an April fool joke from you.
Cz if it's true, i'm gonna call up to order... tongue.gif
@meno
post Apr 7 2010, 10:16 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(FTANEY @ Apr 7 2010, 09:48 AM)
I still cannot be happy coz I could not find a shop in Penang with stock since Saturday
LOL...The price drop really caused a purchase spree i suppose... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Apr 7 2010, 10:09 AM)
the price has been dropping so muc till everyone is rushing to get it now..
try to reserve one with some deposit.

Added on April 7, 2010, 10:10 am
there r quite a few shop near komtar area. just walk around and u can see all of them there..
Yes, agree with shadow111.
Try to reserve with some deposit. Since u already firmed up with the D90, i think it would be fair to place some depo and wait for your D90 to arrive.
And for those who doesn't know, most of the cam shops in PG which are well known are around Komtar, in fact most of em are along the same street... tongue.gif
@meno
post Apr 7 2010, 11:21 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(machinetosh @ Apr 7 2010, 11:17 AM)
hahaha theres no significant improvement to d300s to d90 la friend huhu if u want to upgrade then go all the way to d700 ahahah
Actually there is.
Just that normal users might not appreciate it.
Having 51 focus points and a more precise focusing system is a major improvement.
Besides, u get weather sealing, better metering system, a better body ergonomically (Subjective) and also more control buttons.
Image Quality wise, it's said that both comes very close to each other, but there are still a lot of difference on the D300s which D90 users will find it pretty appealing.

Btw, i'd say wait for the D700 replacement if you intend to go FF. The time should come when the D700 gets a facelift or a new FF is introduced.
@meno
post Apr 8 2010, 10:22 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 7 2010, 10:30 PM)
Hmm perhaps you guys should just...

logout from here, grab your current camera and go SHOOT! haha don't just worry about your gears, shoot more instead of thinking too much!

Well i think im getting d90 to replace my old trustworthy d40, wish to shoot more now before i sell it but having final exams, can't go anywhere T.T
Bro, iirc, you've been talking about changing into a D90 since ages ago.
So apa lagi, when u gonna logout from here and actually go to the shops to get urs? doh.gif

@meno
post Apr 8 2010, 04:11 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 8 2010, 01:58 PM)
looking for used d90 since it is so cheap now...any seller?
(i used to own one though)
Sp00kY, shoo~~~ go play with ur 5D M2...LOL...
These kind of price now, who will want to sell?

QUOTE(kenny1807 @ Apr 8 2010, 02:33 PM)
Normally U guys Shoot use what mode ah?
If you're new, go on P.
Then learn when u need to use A and S.
As for using M, if you have certain things in mind which is not achievable by using either A or S, only use M.
Using M doesn't make you an expert, nor does it show you're a better photographer.

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Apr 8 2010, 03:43 PM)
u cant get any sharp photo wit f1.8 @ 1.8... but itz not a prob at all if u shoot at 1.4 using f1.4
I have to disagree with you to a certain extent.
First of all, the sharpness of the 1.8@1.8 is sharper than the 1.4 (be it D or G)@1.4.
As you stop down to F/2.8, the 1.8 is still sharper than both the 1.4 in the center, but on the corners the 1.4 does better.
Again as you stop down to F/4, the 1.8 is sharper than the 1.4 in the center, but loses out at the corners.

The reason for one not being able to get a sharp picture with a 50mm F/1.8 is the user problem and not the lens issue.
I've had friends who had taken stunningly sharp images with 50mm F/1.8s at 1.8 wide open, even i sometimes do that myself when i really need F/1.8.
Just remember, the DOF at F/1.8 is really shallow, a lot of times you don't get it sharp because of the shallow DOF and not really because the lens ain't sharp.
@meno
post Apr 8 2010, 04:34 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Apr 8 2010, 04:13 PM)
lol... den i have to blame on my noob skill...  tongue.gif  but itz jus my suggestion...  smile.gif
Bro, dun blame ur skills.
Like what most of us here do, keep shooting, learning and practising.

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Apr 8 2010, 04:16 PM)
explanation frm the experienced user  thumbup.gif
Bro, noob here also... tongue.gif Just happen to know about this particular topic cz it had been discussed before among us only. smile.gif
@meno
post Apr 9 2010, 11:04 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 8 2010, 04:58 PM)
Me me...i love bokeh...that's why i love primes!!!!!

bokeh gets scary on bigger sensors too smile.gif
erh, depends on
1) your definition of sharp
2) lens
3) Camera

For me,some lens are really sharp at wide open. eg: Canon 85mm 1.8 USM

dah jual lo...eh, macam mana u tau ar hahah
yeah DOF at 85mm 1.8 is even shallower....smile.gifsmile.gif....i shot my friend using 85mm at 1.8, his eye is in focus and sharp, his eye brow adi bokehed...smile.gif
Haha bro, i know lar...
Forgotten who told me, but the 5D M2 is really a sweet cam. 21MP FF does make a difference...

QUOTE(5w33 @ Apr 9 2010, 10:33 AM)
I have a questions while using my D90, sorry if this is a silly questions to ask. sweat.gif

When I set it to Manual, I should be able to adjust the aperture manually right? But sometime the control panel there shows the aperture is "F --", and I can't manually adjust the aperture setting. Any idea what's the problem? Thanks. smile.gif
As what the other forumers adviced u, re-attach your lens.
Maybe you'd want to consider cleaning the lens mount as well.

QUOTE(jootat @ Apr 9 2010, 10:43 AM)
Hi Guys, i also got a noob question to ask  sweat.gif
How did you guys open ur RAW file in CS2 (if anyone of you are using CS2 la) hehe ...
Do you guys use DNG Converter or how ya? Many many thanks smile.gif  laugh.gif
I use ACR. U can download it for free at Adobe's webbie.

@meno
post Apr 19 2010, 05:41 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 19 2010, 11:16 AM)
I don't really have idea about VC but all I can say, it isn't as sharp as many claims. That's why I opt for Nikkor.

You pay peanuts, you get monkey tongue.gif
Many claims it's not as sharp, but from what i've tested the sharpness is still very very good for the amount of money you're paying.
The Nikkor 17-55 is definitely a way superior lens, but the price is also way more expensive.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 19 2010, 11:19 AM)
The downside of that Nikkor is lack of VR sad.gif.
Agreed to a certain extent.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 19 2010, 11:31 AM)
I can shoot at 1/10 at 55mm. No problems at all.
Second that.
BB, with the VC at 50mm, 1/4s, 10 out of 10 shot spot on. Just like how the VRII can do 1/15 @200mm easily...
@meno
post Apr 21 2010, 09:50 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 20 2010, 06:41 PM)
Skyblue can add me into the list now ^^
Finally you got it... thumbup.gif
Welcome to the club!!!
@meno
post Apr 21 2010, 03:03 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Apr 21 2010, 02:23 PM)

Sorry if my question wasn't clear.
What I meant  was D550 is better in handling video vs D90.
I'm not too bother about video, as a camera main function is to take pictures.

Anyway, I am hoping for someone to tell me the advantages of having an AF motor.
All I know is that having an AF motor means I can utilize older (hence cheaper) lens. Is that really a plus factor during these days as most new lens comes with AF motor?

nod.gif

Added on April 21, 2010, 2:28 pm

Thanks for the reply. I've read the review, but I felt it was slightly bias towards the D90.
That is why I am asking to those who with D90 for their opinion and views.
But thanks for commenting on the ease of use, I do think the top LCD would be helpful (plus it looks nice)  blush.gif
Well, if you're looking for a camera, get the D90.
If you want video, get the 550D.

Regarding the AF motor question, it is true that new lenses are AF-S now and comes with motor, but they do come at higher prices too.
So for people like me who couldn't afford an AF-S 70-200 VR II, getting the D90 with the 80-200 might be the bext choice for me.
@meno
post Apr 26 2010, 03:36 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 25 2010, 08:48 PM)
Thanks biggrin.gif, we got the same taste hehe.
Did it intentionally, thanks for the comment.
celciuz, nicely done pieces there...
I'd prefer to slightly overexpose as well for portraits and the reason you've mentioned earlier.
And for your pics, it's just nice on both my calibrated screens, doesn't really look too much over, just nice.

Btw, for creamy bokeh, KTCY, remember the 105 DC we tested, damn that's one of the most poisonous portrait lens ever built...
If you can find the 135, thats even better.
But currently, i'm happy with the loaned 85 F/1.8 in my drybox...The bokeh is still fantastic eventhough not as good as the 1.4... laugh.gif

Oh ya, isepunya, if u expect creamy bokeh at the range of 17-50, u better hope u have something <1.4, for anything at 2.8, it just wouldn't really work...

Before the 1.2, lets just wait for the 85 F/1.4 VR which is due to release soon, that i believe will be another extremely poisonous lens...
@meno
post Apr 26 2010, 01:50 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Apr 26 2010, 07:32 AM)
yup... i think for tis 1 a lil bit too over... try lower it till u can at least see the shape of the shoulder...  smile.gif 

jus my 2 cent...  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 26 2010, 08:59 AM)
I know why already. The face looks pale. Very pale in fact.
Guys, looks ok on my screen...Shoulder is properly visible, but maybe burn it a little bit might be better since many commented on that.

BB, what screen u using to view this? I used both my LCD and my lappie also no problem lar...Or maybe it's time for me to re-calibrate my screens liao??? blush.gif
@meno
post Apr 27 2010, 01:41 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(echosmiles @ Apr 27 2010, 11:58 AM)
I was shooting at a lake near my place. This is what i took.

Please comment as I am a newbie in photography.

Helped you do some minor PP-ing to the pic, hope you dun mind.
Basically, just a little bit of sharpening and playing with the curves.

Here's the outcome:

The lizard is your subject, so try to make it stand out as much as possible from the background.
Besides, the pic is a tad too soft, try to unsharp mask it a little and you'll find that it makes a hell lot of difference.
@meno
post Apr 28 2010, 11:43 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Apr 27 2010, 08:39 PM)
superb bokeh for me, 200mm F2. F1.4, too over if taking human portrait. atleast to me la tongue.gif

Added on April 27, 2010, 8:41 pm
mine is 24+++ can exchange? i have issue with the lens. want to send back. BTS where meh? at nikon one?
LOL...Bro, the 200mm F2 is legendary, the bokeh, and also the price...LOL...
But if i could choose the best portrait lens, it will be between the 135 DC or the 200 F2.

Btw bro, UGPM...

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Apr 28 2010, 09:59 AM)
hmm.  RM430? thats cheap... shashinki selling RM615 sweat.gif  doh.gif ...
i saw in garage sales section ppl selling smwr around RM450 ~ RM510. but not too sure whether its original or not... hmm.gif
mind telling where u bought it frm? notworthy.gif
I got mine for RM460 back then when it was just launched.
But beware of counterfeits, there r a lot of fake lowepros out there.
If you do not know how to spot one, always bring someone who knows how to help you check.
Insist on seeing the actual thing before you buy it, dun just trust one or 2 photos online.
@meno
post Apr 29 2010, 01:25 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Apr 29 2010, 01:15 PM)
The grip is awesome. It finally feels like how a DSLR suppose to be. haha

anyway I saw this test for 50mm F1.8D and F1.4D

http://www.smartpict.com/lenstest/Nikon_50...mm_14_VS_18.php

not sure how much can it be trusted but as I know the F1.8 can take sharper images at aperture 4 and above than the F1.4
Which is sharper, first it all depends on how you define sharp.
Sharp across the frame? Sharp at the center of the frame?

The F/1.4 is a sharper lens across the frame at almost all apertures (up to F8), though it might lose out in terms of center sharpness.
The F/1.8 is a sharper when center sharpness comes into consideration, but well, you sacrifice the corners.

@meno
post Apr 30 2010, 10:37 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 30 2010, 10:32 AM)
ok..noted..coz he is moving quite fast..so the hand is not chopped off intensionally...
it is the light from sb900...
the light there are very very low...so is quite hard for me to get ambient light...btw,what is SS?? ya,i noticed the shadow too...but i dont know how to eliminate it..
The hand part, that is where you have to practise more on your composition. smile.gif

@meno
post Apr 30 2010, 03:25 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 30 2010, 02:16 PM)
Got an invitation for food testing + wine testing at a restaurant in PG.

Any photographer interested to tag along, do PM me. Remember is in PENANG !! smile.gif
BB, still got opening? rclxms.gif

0.0499sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:21 PM