Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> uncertainty about canot detect hard disk, please select proper boot device.. (Hardware)

zihao1214
post Mar 14 2010, 03:52 PM, updated 9y ago

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 103

Joined: May 2008
alrite, here's the story..

My pc was running just fine, but since few day back, i was wondering why my easily got lag and hang, only mouse can function, after that all icon gone, and hang there..

What i done?
1st: force restart my pc with the casing button, and it got a message there stated please select proper boot device or insert boot media bla bla..
result: ctrl+alt+del, still canot detect my hard disk.. So.. i did this: force shut down by long press my pc on/off button. and re on my pc it can go in windows d..

BUT SAME PROBLEM STILL OCCUR AFTER 5MINS++

2nd: As per checking, no bad capacitor on mobo, replace HDD sata cable already, reseat ram already, problem still there..

so.. if i keep restart and force on/off pc a few times.. it got a blue screens flashes( that i can't read) and restarted automatically and stated your CPU is over heated.




last thing i thought of: i formatted my hard disk, reinstalled windows, it was running fine for 1 whole night..

so i started to try download BT file, POP, restart again.. hard disk not detected again..

ANY IDEA why is this happening?
brucesss
post Mar 14 2010, 03:54 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,263

Joined: Jul 2009
From: Macintosh HD



ur hdd hw old
seems like its aging
forgetful
post Mar 14 2010, 04:00 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 223

Joined: Jun 2009


Your HDD soon going to KONG.... Try to run in safe mode and do a CHKDSK see if there are any bad sectors....
zihao1214
post Mar 14 2010, 04:10 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 103

Joined: May 2008
really ar.. my whole pc was newly assembly august '08 only..
if its going to kong.. its 500GB of data where to put
lol..
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 14 2010, 04:11 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 6,047

Joined: Feb 2010
From: Anfield, Liverpool




QUOTE(zihao1214 @ Mar 14 2010, 04:10 PM)
really ar.. my whole pc was newly assembly august '08 only..
if its going to kong.. its 500GB of data where to put
lol..
*
Its best that you save your important doc and files , format completely the HDD and reinstall OS , then see if its still the similar issue.. hmm.gif
brucesss
post Mar 14 2010, 04:24 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,263

Joined: Jul 2009
From: Macintosh HD



back up using acronis on to ur external hdd
forgetful
post Mar 14 2010, 04:28 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 223

Joined: Jun 2009


Be4 that try to run memtest to check if your ram got problem or not =.= since you say got BSOD =.=
zihao1214
post Mar 14 2010, 04:30 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 103

Joined: May 2008
done chkdsk 0bytes is bad sector..
brucesss: what is acronis?
brucesss
post Mar 14 2010, 06:18 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,263

Joined: Jul 2009
From: Macintosh HD



QUOTE(zihao1214 @ Mar 14 2010, 04:30 PM)
done chkdsk 0bytes is bad sector..
brucesss: what is acronis?
*
helps backing up ur partition n data files
it compreses it into smaller size
correct me if i am wrong
dinxgilaz90
post Apr 11 2010, 01:36 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 36

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Penang


check ur cable (correct me if i am wrong) smile.gif
Nels
post Apr 11 2010, 02:54 PM

Tech Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 811

Joined: May 2006



Try running safe mode and see whether the restart still occurs.

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0661sec    1.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th February 2019 - 12:42 AM