Sound proofing windows, looking to reduce noise through windows
TSLcsx
Mar 14 2010, 01:36 PM, updated 16y ago
Hi all,
I am having some serious noise problems in my room in my condo. The main problem lies from the windows and noise outside.
Does anyone happen to know or can recommend any solution to soundproofing or reducing the noise through my windows. Maybe some vendor, contractor or somewhere which I can find this windows would be great.
Thanks a lot mate. Would really appreciate your help. Cheers!
scorgio
Mar 14 2010, 03:59 PM
I did come across this kind of window at some home expo.
But price is almost triple of normal aluminium window.
Bobby C
Mar 18 2010, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(Lcsx @ Mar 14 2010, 01:36 PM) Hi all, I am having some serious noise problems in my room in my condo. The main problem lies from the windows and noise outside. Does anyone happen to know or can recommend any solution to soundproofing or reducing the noise through my windows. Maybe some vendor, contractor or somewhere which I can find this windows would be great. Thanks a lot mate. Would really appreciate your help. Cheers! Cant remember what they call, basically 2 glass panel with air gap in between. Which means you need to change ur windown frame and that will be costly. Cheapest solution, diy shop buy 3M window seal. That helps a bit, may be by 5-10db.
PJusa
Mar 18 2010, 07:52 PM
you need double or tripple glazed windows. no problem to get from any of the higher-end manufacturers. if you are willing to go for double/tripple then make sure you also get a really good window frame along the way. it's not cheap but well worth the money.
antzan
Mar 19 2010, 09:37 AM

UPVC if not mistaken they called it.Cheers!
samngcheesan
Mar 19 2010, 10:52 AM
tinted the glass will help or not ? n cheaper also ..
PJusa
Mar 19 2010, 06:31 PM
UPVC means plastic frame only. many different products there. the main issue is the glass. must be minium double glazed to have any effect. just a tint has almost zero effect. glas - laminate - glas and maybe another tint (if thick highend one) will have a decent result. if you have two layers of glas, laminated or tinted with a gas chamber in between you usually get a much better result if i am not mistaken. but this would be one of the costlier solutions.
Bobby C
Mar 20 2010, 12:14 PM
Yes, PJusa is right. Tat's the word, double glaze or kiasu triple glaze to reduce external noise. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Insulated_glazingTat's what architect recommend for high end projects facing the highways. Sometimes, cheap skate developers will cut on this. This post has been edited by Bobby C: Mar 20 2010, 12:22 PM
hamadah
Jun 22 2010, 03:30 PM
best & recommended solution is by installing double glaze window,check with Glass Network(M) Sdn Bhd..The price they offered is very reasonable compared to other suppliers in the market...FIY:tint etc will not reduce the noise pollution level...