5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Watercooled Silverstone FT02, 3-way SLI, Core i7, UPDATE 4-26-10 w/pics

TSCHiNO730
post Mar 25 2010, 04:39 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 25 2010, 11:37 AM)
It makes a difference the moment you add in GPU/chipset block on the same loop. Water gets warm a lot faster thus impacting your temperature. It's still usable but if you want it to be better then something has to be done like adding up radiators or splitting the loop smile.gif I'm telling from my personal experiences with water cooling over the years, not from reading reviews biggrin.gif
So, my current setup is 120mm x 1 rad + 140mm x3 rad. If I split into two loops, then which rad for the CPU and which rad for the GPU's?
Keep in mind that I do not have any more space for additional rad's unless I mount outside the case, which I will not do.

Added on March 25, 2010, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Mar 25 2010, 01:05 PM)
aww 275 ? how much did it went for ? ...bro when are u gonna fit the 350 bro ? post some ict of it, if u can also the internals... pretty good block imo...
hi vladtheimpaler, GTX 275 is about RM $1000 - 1100 each? (buying in the U.S.)
how much is it here in Malaysia?

i think i'll have more pics, incl the 350 later this week.

i saw your current build...looks insane. you have a crazy watercooling setup!!

This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Mar 25 2010, 04:44 PM
vladtheimpaler
post Mar 25 2010, 04:51 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Mar 25 2010, 04:39 PM)
So, my current setup is 120mm x 1 rad + 140mm x3 rad.  If I split into two loops, then which rad for the CPU and which rad for the GPU's? 
Keep in mind that I do not have any more space for additional rad's unless I mount outside the case, which I will not do.

Added on March 25, 2010, 4:44 pm

hi vladtheimpaler,  GTX 275 is about RM $1000 - 1100 each?  (buying in the U.S.)
how much is it here in Malaysia?

i think i'll have more pics, incl the 350 later this week.

i saw your current build...looks insane.  you have a crazy watercooling setup!!
wow RM1k, thats crazy bro..the oc version rite...pretty expensive...if i'm not mistaken, over here is like less than RM700, but i cud be wrong though..just curious bro, how much is the ati5850 over there ? over here is almost RM1k...

yeah, 100% agree is it crazy... but i just cant stop, got this itch to get it done overkilled ... maybe i should seek some shrink-in help smile.gif
TSCHiNO730
post Mar 25 2010, 05:05 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Mar 25 2010, 04:51 PM)
wow RM1k, thats crazy bro..the oc version rite...pretty expensive...if i'm not mistaken, over here is like less than RM700, but i cud be wrong though..just curious bro, how much is the ati5850 over there ? over here is almost RM1k...

yeah, 100% agree is it crazy... but i just cant stop, got this itch to get it done overkilled ... maybe i should seek some shrink-in help  smile.gif
RM 700 really, so cheap?

Diamond ATI Radeon HD 5850 Graphics adapter - 1 GB - GDDR5 SDRAM (about ~ RM 1050)

Bro, I think for you all this is considered cheap. HD 5970 is still the most expensive graphics card here. One card almost the price of 2x GTX 275. And you have two!!!!!
4x GPU scalability still hasn't caught up, but maybe with better software revisions and game coding, it will get there. You have too much money. I'd rather spend the money and buy a nice watch! =)

I am also considering stepping down to a Core i7 920 to save money and just go with a massive overclock - I think its less than 1/3 the price of the Core i7 965 Extreme...

clawhammer
post Mar 25 2010, 06:23 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Mar 25 2010, 04:39 PM)
So, my current setup is 120mm x 1 rad + 140mm x3 rad.  If I split into two loops, then which rad for the CPU and which rad for the GPU's? 
If possible you should get a dual radiator but 3 cards in SLI does generate quite a bit of heat.

It's impossible for EVGA to be RM700 smile.gif For that price, you might even struggle to get a Galaxy/Palit branded GTX275 locally so what you're paying for is almost right (around RM1K for an EVGA card). They are always more expensive because they offer direct end user customer service, supports overclocking and gives you the best of product made by them biggrin.gif I can't afford for EVGA, can only drool about it all the time laugh.gif
vladtheimpaler
post Mar 25 2010, 10:50 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Mar 25 2010, 05:05 PM)
RM 700 really, so cheap? 

Diamond ATI Radeon HD 5850 Graphics adapter - 1 GB - GDDR5 SDRAM  (about ~ RM 1050)

Bro, I think for you all this is considered cheap.  HD 5970 is still the most expensive graphics card here.  One card almost the price of 2x GTX 275.  And you have two!!!!!
4x GPU scalability still hasn't caught up, but maybe with better software revisions and game coding, it will get there.  You have too much money.  I'd rather spend the money and buy a nice watch! =)

I am also considering stepping down to a Core i7 920 to save money and just go with a massive overclock - I think its less than 1/3 the price of the Core i7 965 Extreme...
dude, 1k is hell lot of money...once a guy offered to polish my 10 yr old jalopy for 500.. shocking.gif to me thats pretty expensive, ur rig cost like 15k, it aint kiddies toy either dude..way i see it, its how much one prepare to invest for sumthing one really enjoy, i'd always wanted a rig since i was a kid smile.gif my first gaming rig was a commodore 64 and my 1st game was karateka, everybody else back then was hopping on the IBMs bandwagon..yes we spend/invested a small fortune on these rigs, but it make us happy rite...i dont see any enjoyment in polishing my car for 500 of hard earned money, so i didnt go for it...smile.gif

true dat on the 4 gpus,...but having one under the hood and the possibilities of going vroommm, kinda tickle me with excitement smile.gif

yeah, i like watches too, had a really really good one but lost it sad.gif ...so freakin depressed bout it cant stand the thought of replacing it..guess time will heal all wound/trauma and i might get a new one in the future ....

imo 920 is a pretty darn good choice, now u can spend the extra ka-ching on other stuff..

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Mar 25 2010, 10:58 PM
kInOzAwA
post Mar 26 2010, 01:48 AM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

wowww i like karateka.. remind me my childhood era bro biggrin.gif
vladtheimpaler
post Mar 26 2010, 01:05 PM

378 posts

the karateka i remmembered was black n white version, and the eagle that attacked occasionally, kinda look like a flying rag lol....how bout air-wolf, ever played that bro...?so i'm guessing ur bout my age possibly ?
kInOzAwA
post Mar 26 2010, 04:16 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Mar 26 2010, 01:05 PM)
the karateka i remmembered was black n white version, and the eagle that attacked occasionally, kinda look like a flying rag lol....how bout air-wolf, ever played that bro...?so i'm guessing ur bout my age possibly ?
yeahh i know ur age bro biggrin.gif

karateka is cool.. i like the music.. so fun when you're died of fighting.. laugh.gif
air-wolf also something classic.. but i'm more into classic action game like budokan.

TSCHiNO730
post Mar 27 2010, 01:58 AM

526 posts

UPDATE 3-26-10

Test fitting 3x GTX 275 w/EK Waterblocks AND Asus Sound Card wedged between - the pins in the back are not touching the block, but it's very close. sweat.gif
Also mounted the Koolance CPU-350 block on i7 920

140mm x 3 rad on top of the 180mm x 3 fans. The fans are so big, makes the rad look like a smaller 360 size. Wish it were easy to find a 180mm x 3 rad!

This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Mar 27 2010, 01:59 AM
vladtheimpaler
post Mar 27 2010, 09:52 AM

378 posts

wahhh i like....luv the sight of tri sli with full blck in the morning smile.gif......
next some temps maybe...i aledi fix my 59 last nite, tested it and ran it in a single loop with mobo and proc on quad rad...proc's stock idle temp aledi 41c....graphic vga load was 71c..mobo 40... showed u mine, now let us see yours smile.gif

oh forgot to ask...how was the mounting like on that 350...1-5, 5 being hard..

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Mar 27 2010, 09:56 AM
TSCHiNO730
post Mar 27 2010, 05:07 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Mar 27 2010, 09:52 AM)
wahhh i like....luv the sight of tri sli with full blck in the morning smile.gif......
next some temps maybe...i aledi fix my 59 last nite, tested it and ran it in a single loop with mobo and proc on quad rad...proc's stock idle temp aledi 41c....graphic vga load was 71c..mobo 40... showed u mine, now let us see yours smile.gif

i'll let you know temps when it's all set. =)

mounting the 350 was pretty easy, but i don't know how it is compared to other blocks, but i'd say a 1 compared to the Zalman "flower" heatsink I had before, where the tightening pin was under the huge mass of fins and difficult to access and also the weight of the heatsink made it difficult. for the waterblocks, they're small and there's nothing to obstruct the install.
The pins are pretty long, and it seats pretty well. Tightening is done by the large thumbscrews.
reiben05
post Mar 27 2010, 06:01 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(vladtheimpaler @ Mar 27 2010, 09:52 AM)

wow.. VGA 71C?? my 5870 barely even reach 50C doh.gif
hilmiangah
post Mar 27 2010, 06:55 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Mar 27 2010, 06:01 PM)
wow.. VGA 71C??  my 5870 barely even reach 50C doh.gif
5970 with single loop ma.

mana boleh lawan single gpu card punya temp.
vladtheimpaler
post Mar 29 2010, 11:55 AM

378 posts

the temp was bad i know, but that test did not concern much on temp...it was done on a 480 rad with CM + yate fans, and all block was in the same loop, we're looking at nb/sb + mosfets + 920 + 5970x2...oh and no air cond on very hot day sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif just thought ts would want to compare to his single loop...

actually did the test was to troubleshoot the HIS card...previously the card had issues with EK's block, other vendors card no problem. so after the thermal pad fix...the card was running good smile.gif...a 71c is better as before the fix, the card froze furmark shocking.gif

sorry ts for off topic post notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by vladtheimpaler: Mar 29 2010, 11:56 AM
verdict
post Mar 31 2010, 03:02 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

Woooottt! now every one can afford WC! wink.gif

All the best TS!
kInOzAwA
post Apr 3 2010, 07:55 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 31 2010, 03:02 PM)
Woooottt! now every one can afford WC! wink.gif

All the best TS!
it's because WC going cheap nowadays will lots of choice... wink.gif

anyway TS what's the progress of your rig?
TSCHiNO730
post Apr 4 2010, 06:04 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Apr 3 2010, 07:55 PM)
it's because WC going cheap nowadays will lots of choice... wink.gif
anyway TS what's the progress of your rig?
UPDATE 4-3-10

kInOzAwA,

Glad you asked. Nearly everything has arrived except the WD VRaptor.

First was to get the tiny reservoir settled on top of the res base/pump. This is the smallest one - should have enough clearance for the WD Raptor which will mount directly above it.
I've mounted the Barracuda's as well.

Also working on the sleeving - the first set I had sucked! You could see the wire through the sleeves - it did not look good. So I ordered some murdermod sleeving. Much thicker and better, even if a bit expensive for some sleeves. As you can see, the murdermod sleeving is much better than the OE sleeving on the Corsair PSU.

Gotta sleeve the tubing too - I love the look!

The HDD cage was actually a chassis-stiffening component - so I need to find a way to install a brace to keep it rigid.

Added on April 4, 2010, 10:30 amAlso - progress on case might be slow because I'm getting distracted by my new toy:

Just arrived in the mail today!!

This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Apr 4 2010, 10:57 AM
Susaiput
post Apr 4 2010, 11:46 AM

595 posts

perghhhh...IPAD!!!!!! drool.gif
lhongwuh
post Apr 4 2010, 02:14 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts