Uniqlo

eugenechiuu
post Jul 19 2010, 02:46 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Lol, was doing data searches for this fast retailing company in google and came across to this... Well Uniqlo is definitely better than Topman in terms of quality and it's slightly cheaper as well if you consider them at normal price without sales. Uniqlo is a Jap brand and their clothes are more suitable to us Asians body figures in terms of cutting, unlike Topman they're made for Brits
eugenechiuu
post Aug 4 2010, 10:33 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Dude, anyone of you been to Fahrenheit at all? By the looks of it, it's quite impossible to open in August LOL....
eugenechiuu
post Aug 12 2010, 04:38 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Aug 10 2010, 05:51 PM)
why there are so much anticipation for this brand opening store in msia??
isit that special?
Oh, people who know this brand and used it before would know how good it is....

It's not branded or anything, just that their items are value buys for their quality/design...

It's a Japanese brand, so firstly, all their items are design to fit our asian bodies properly unlike topmans (some of their jeans or shirts are too long) ===> nice fit

secondly, they've got nice printed tees based on animes/cartoons/mickey which is cheap as well.. around 10pounds or less in Uk, maybe Malaysia retail would be around rm60 i suppose.. I dont think you can get a Mickey T for that price in threepointsix

thirdly, jeans are really cheap for their quality/selections/fashion... in UK they're just 20pounds for basic ones, maybe Malaysia retailing it around rm120 i guess.. where can u find a good jeans for that price huh... Levi's = rm300.... u can buy 2+ uniqlo jeans...

the only bad thing is, after it hits malaysian shores, everyone will buy it and u will see everyone wearing it on the streets... which is a frustrating thing lol...
eugenechiuu
post Aug 12 2010, 06:04 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Aug 12 2010, 05:30 PM)
i think the brand you wear represents your taste and your whole identity. of course, some might like certain brands because of the exclusivity it has because not available locally but seriously, i would be happier if someone knows to rock the brands i like because they have the same good taste like me. tongue.gif

and i dont think the theory where students wear the same uniform applies here. there is one thing called mix and match and there can never be same style even if we purchase stuffs from a same brand unless both of us really wear the same thing from top to toe.
I think u misunderstood my point there,
I was trying to imply that there're too many Copycats in our country where ppl just follow whatever another guy wears, not considering whether that item is suitable or not, in short, they follow the trend...
An example is skinny jeans, Skinny jeans is only applicable and looks good when wore on an average guy... If a guy who is too thin wears it, he will look even more skinnier, thus does not look good... If a guy who is too fat wears it, it would be like torturing the jeans n makes his flesh comes out even more...

Dunno if that was a good example or not, but another one is branded stuffs such as LV.... Some ppl buy LV because of its quality n unique design BUT a lot of ppl buy LV because of the branding... Nowadays u see everyone in Pavilion carries a LV bag... BUT u know some of the designs that they carry is just fugly... It makes the brand looks Cheap in some way....
eugenechiuu
post Aug 16 2010, 11:37 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Dude... Zara is not shitty, just that the prices in Malaysia is stupid (around 40-50% marked up price compared to UK), the lines are like 1-2 seasons behind somemore! In UK, it's like one of the most affordable/best brands for its price...

I dun see which of their products have bad quality.... Do enlighten me pls..
at least to me it's many times better than those stupid Topman or H&M..

Uniqlo itself is not really expensive, but I think when it comes to Malaysia, it's gonna be marked up like hell....
eugenechiuu
post Aug 16 2010, 04:22 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Let's look at it another way,

Tell me a foreign brand in Malaysia in which the price hasn't been marked up?

eugenechiuu
post Aug 17 2010, 06:05 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(dr.evil @ Aug 17 2010, 01:22 PM)
are you sure zara mark it up 40 - 50 % ?
and which 'stupid' topman are you talking about ?
because there is topman, topman ltd and topman design (yet to be available in msia)
how do you define marked up when currency exchange plays a role in determining its price ?
and also shipping for that matter
Hmm.. I am talking about the topman T-shirts which have many diff colours n really westernised designs... What topman is that? I am not really tbh coz in UK there's only 1 Topman for everything... Or if u mean different lines in topman, zara have different lines as well ar.. zara casual, zara basic etc..

I am calculating based on current exchange rate lar for the 40-50%... UK-Malaysia exchange rate is stable with rm5 to 1 pound now... the prices of Zara in Malaysia divided by 7 = UK price if u know what i mean.. For example a shoes in UK sells for 29 pounds, in Malaysia its rm199.. the last time rm7 to 1 pound was like 3 years+ ago....
7/5 = 1.4 = 140%... Well the reason i said could be up to 50% is because the sales for Zara is so bad here in Malaysia as well... You could say its due to policies for franchaise holder lar...

Other than European brand, G2000 is also VERY expensive in Malaysia... HK-Malaysia exchange rate have always been quite stable around 2.2-2.4.... But the working clothes n pants here are so much more expensive!... A new pants in KLCC G2000 is rm169... in HK it's only 230+ HKD original price.... Its bought at the same period of time also...

@chuakz,
uniqlo is quite trendy as well actually...
I am not sure about zara websites, but I am sure of what i see... There was once I bought this shoes in UK which I saw it still selling in Zara KLCC 1 year later.. U may say it's an old product still selling but do u have any idea how fast Zara produces new line of stuffs in Spain? They come up with new stuffs EVERY 2 weeks.... That's why I doubt the website is not even up to date with it....
I actually been to Zara in HK as well, their stuffs are actually slower than UK ones as well...
eugenechiuu
post Aug 18 2010, 06:04 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Aug 17 2010, 07:54 PM)
isit that important how to pronounce the brand?
haih...
you guys...
Yes it is...
It is a form of respect for the creator of the brand name....

ur name is Raul is it?

How would you like it if I call you by 'Raol' instead of 'Ra-ool' which is the proper pronounciation
eugenechiuu
post Aug 31 2010, 04:19 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix2 @ Aug 30 2010, 08:39 PM)
I'm pretty sure the stuff won't be cheap. I don't know what cheap means to you guys. But T-shirts above RM50 is NOT affordable. I looked at the SG website and most of the stuff looks suspiciously like Topman. Everything seems to be made for stick people nowdays.

At first i thought that this Uniqlo company carries very obscure underground brands that are very much in fad in Japan. But when see the catalogs, its so much same with everything being sold everywhere.

I cannot see whats so big about this brand. Maybe until the shop opens, i could gauge whats different. But till then it looks just like any Topman store.
Any brands which initially is cheap ends up expensive in Malaysia.. One of forumers already said he saw a 40SGD Uniqlo selling for rm99... It's like 2.5 exchange compared to the spot rate of 2.32 currently..

This is definitely not another topman... The cuttings and materials are much better than topman.... Topman quality lost far far compared to Uniqlo...

Uniqlo is an international brand, the design is specially catered for all, so u won't expect the style to be very japanese.... But the cutting suits us Asian body n height very well...
eugenechiuu
post Sep 3 2010, 06:34 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Nah.. Jeans is gonna be way more than rm99 based on marked up prices.. Maybe around rm140... But then, Rm140 is not expensive for Uniqlo's quality as well... I like it better than Topman...

0.0160sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:39 PM