HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

sean_gtech
post Mar 30 2010, 08:58 PM

54 posts

helo all htpc sifu.need some guidance here.pls help.i'm building htpc/gaming rig.i'm using ma785gt mobo and hd5770 gc.i'm gonna connect the hdmi from the mobo to an lg42pq30 while the gc hdmi to my lcd monitor.i'm confused right now on how to set up the speaker.i notice there's an output behind the mobo.can ijust plug the satellite speaker directly to the speaker output or i need to buy amplifier card?
mobo>rca>speaker or mobo>rca>avr>speaker?
thanks in advance.
sean_gtech
post Apr 3 2010, 03:50 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 31 2010, 08:31 AM)
mobo <HDMI> AVR <HDMI> LCD TV

what is the speakers &  AVR you're using now?
thanks for the info djlah.i haven't bought the speaker yet.i thought of eliminating the avr n go direct from
mobo to speaker.is it possible?if i were force to buy avr,i will opted for lg htib for example HT964PZ-AM.
i'm kind of on tight budget.don't want to spent to much on av system but i like to watch movie a lot.
sean_gtech
post Apr 3 2010, 09:25 PM

54 posts

thanks for the advice guys.well,i've already check the lg HT964PZ-AM.
at the back of the receiver,there's 3 hdmi.1 is input,1 output and another 1 is just hdmi.(i refer at the website).
djlah,i saw in utube where this guy from amd teach u how to built htpc.
i saw him installing a amplifier card to the mobo.i try looking for it at garage
sale but nobody carried it.that's mean it possible right?i just need to find that
amplifier card right?thanks in advance guys.really appreciate it.
sean_gtech
post Apr 4 2010, 09:39 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 3 2010, 10:12 PM)
ok, let's assume you manage to get from world wide or local. what speaker you going to get?
if you plan to get lg HT964PZ-AM, I can see the duplicate here....
hmmm.....i don't understand what u mean by duplicate but if i mange to get my hand
on the card,i just buy those onkyo speaker at garage sale.rm100 for 5.smile.gif.by the way,
that's the card that i saw in utube.the 1 with the long heat sink.
which route do u think is better for me?go for htib or look for that amplifier card?thanks.
sean_gtech
post Apr 5 2010, 03:37 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 4 2010, 11:09 PM)
I guess majority of user here will still recommended you just get a htib for very tight budget and no plan for upgrade.
if you have plan to upgrade, may get the amp card (if really dirt cheap with mb) and onkyo 5 satellite speakers. in future, buy a avr to replace the amp card.

as paskal said, no output connection for sub.

-----------------------------------------------------

second question. confused on your setup. you said you're using ma785gt mobo and hd5770 gc. I don't think u gonna make any change rite...
can you confirm and share with wat the amp card you targeting? any picture or spec?

the only amp card from here that everyone can see, need to be bundled with the motherboard as the expansion slot are different. are you confirm ur motherboard can support?  doh.gif

i forgot about the brand but i sawe in utube where this amd tech guru install the amp card to the mobo.i thought the card is
universal type.thanks for the advice djlah,i think i stick with htib.save the headache.will post my pic once i've done with my
ht room.

Added on April 5, 2010, 3:38 pm
QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 4 2010, 10:04 PM)
with not much budget to start, i won't go either way.
if i were you, i'd get myself some decent 5.1 speakers with a sub and use that instead for my movies. those shouldn't cost too much

but hey maybe that's just me.

Added on April 4, 2010, 10:06 pmand owh forgot to add..
even if you manage to find the amplifier card for the mobo, you still have no sub.

a sub, IMHO is quite important for that umph in movies
yup,agreed with the sub thingy.

Added on April 5, 2010, 4:02 pm1 more thing guys,is it advisable if i wrap all the room with carpet to minimize sound bouncing off the wall?

This post has been edited by sean_gtech: Apr 5 2010, 04:02 PM
sean_gtech
post Apr 5 2010, 09:05 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Apr 5 2010, 04:28 PM)
I had a similar setup before I plug out my GC to another mobo...

When you plug in the HD5770, it will automatically disabled the on-board GC.. so all the hdmi/vga on the mobo are totally disabled..

There are settings on the BIOS on which graphic cards to select during boot time... usually PCI-E, PCI, IGP...

You can use still the HD5770 to connect to BOTH LG tv and LCD monitor with HDMI to LG tv and DVI to the LCD monitor....

The M4A785 ( Asus right ) can support 5 channels... 2 L/R, 2 RL/RR and centre and subwoofer from the audio out connectors...
Refer to the manual or d/l a copy of the user manual for details setup..
is this true bro???i haven't install my pc yet cos waiting for my room to complete.my mobo is gigabyte bro.is there a bios that
can enable me to utilized both hdmi port?1 from mobo n 1 from gc.

This post has been edited by sean_gtech: Apr 5 2010, 09:08 PM
sean_gtech
post Apr 6 2010, 08:57 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 5 2010, 09:37 PM)
why u need 2 HDMI ?
1 for lg and 1 for my monitor.
sean_gtech
post Apr 7 2010, 03:03 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 7 2010, 10:12 AM)
suggest you use DVI for monitor, use hdmi for lg.
don't think u need audio for monitor. therefore dvi video will do.
so your 1 ATI graphic card are enough. 1 dvi 1 hdmi.
ok...thanks bro.once finish my set up,i'll post my pic here.hopefully before world cup this june.hehe...
sean_gtech
post Aug 4 2010, 09:38 PM

54 posts

hi guys.just finish installing my htpc 2 days back.right now i'm still
blur trying to set it up.wanna ask u guys,do u guy use extend mode or duplicate
mode?why when the display show at my plasma,it's not full.there still a black
border on each side of the tv.another thing is,why it take so long for my
htib to detect the g.c?i need to wait around 5 min before there's a pic on my
tv.pls help guys.thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by sean_gtech: Aug 4 2010, 09:38 PM
sean_gtech
post Aug 5 2010, 02:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 29 2010, 08:15 PM)
building is easy, the configuration is not. a htpc is just a normal desktop, any pc shop can build it for you. i reckon lowyat shops could build it
agreed with u on that.i'm still headache configuring my htpc.if the problem still persist,i'll think i end up buying
acer revo media player. cry.gif
sean_gtech
post Aug 7 2010, 09:11 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Aug 6 2010, 11:18 AM)
Hi

I too have this problem, but manage to solve it. If you guys are using ATI, as same as me, then this might help. ATI have a Overscan feature, and it is set to 15% (If i remember correctly tongue.gif ), so you guys got the top, bottom, left nad right black bar. This only happens on HDMI, I didn't this from VGA. This happens on both Windows 7 and XP as well. What you guys need to do is look in ATI Catalyst driver. IT's damn hidden in one of it's menu that said overscan. Just reset it back to 0 and you got full screen. I am not at home so I can;t give you the instructions, but basically this is what i did.

Hope this helps
at first when i set up mine,i accidentally found it.but when i'm looking back for it to set it up,it suddenly went m.i.a...hahaha laugh.gif

0.0224sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:34 PM