Mar 16 2010, 07:33 AM
1,025 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petman Nation |
A bit off topic but still related: If your AVR has HDMI and supports Multi channel PCM/LPCM then you don't need to change to the newer models. Let your player (bluray,HTPC,etc.) decode the lossless audio and output it as LPCM. You'll still be able to enjoy lossless audio. Bit-streaming is when your AVR supports DTS-MA/Dolby TrueHD decoding.
Mar 20 2010, 07:05 PM
Bit-streaming is passing of lossless/uncompress audio (DTS-MA, Dolby TrueHD, LPCM) to be decoded by say your AVR if it supports it. Else let the player do it.
Mar 22 2010, 04:02 PM
Asus HDAV 1.3 doesn't decode HD audio? Sure or not?
QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 22 2010, 02:12 PM) Asus have one model Asus HDAV 1.3 which cost around RM500. But this card, if I'm not mistaken also can't decode HD audio instead like Ati 5000 series and i3+H55, it just passes the signals through to your A/V receiver. I'm sorry that I give you wrong explanation before. I mean 5.1 is via audio analogue connection not through hdmi cable. 785g only support 2-channel LPCM. For HD audio details, better you ask in Audiophile because lots of sifu there. |
Mar 22 2010, 10:25 PM
The HDAV 1.3 features Protected Audio Playback Systems (PAPS) and is full Advanced Access Content System (AACS) certified. Combined with Asus version of Arcsoft's TMT (currently TMT3), the HDAV 1.3 will decode DTS-MA and Dolby TrueHD. Without those standards your Blu-Ray audio will be downsampled to 48khz/16bit audio aka DVD quality and lose the bit-for-bit lossless quality.
This post has been edited by ganaz-x: Mar 23 2010, 10:27 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0366sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:36 PM |