KidsCode
post Oct 23 2013, 03:25 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Oct 14 2013, 03:06 PM)
hi, any bro here using home plug for their HTPC?
can recommend me some home plug kit model that is reliable?
My budget RM200-220 for 2units...
Thanks!!!
I'm using Aztech HP HomePlug HL115EP with my NAS that is upstairs (Synology DS211J) and HTPC downstairs next to the home entertainment. Although the connection light indicate the lowest / worst bandwidth, I'm still able to watch 1080P with True HD formats / 1080p 3D without any issues.

You should be able to get the HP twin pack around RM 200

Additional info of my HTPC:

Intel Core2Duo E6420
4GB Ram
AMD Radeon HD 5000 series

This post has been edited by KidsCode: Oct 30 2013, 10:44 AM
KidsCode
post Oct 24 2013, 03:20 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Oct 24 2013, 12:03 PM)
Thanks Bro, I was struggling don't know which 1 to choose either Aztech HL113E or TP-link TL-PA211Kit.
Don't know about aztech but I've Very bad experience with TP-link TL-WA850RE WIFI Extender
After all I went and purchased aztech HL113E twinpack expensive then TP-Link TL-PA211Kit RM10 Only.
I only got the amble light which indicate that I have  good connection.
According to Aztech manual I got the transfer rate between 30-80Mbps, I'm satisfied with that.
My experience with this HL113E is very easy to use and stable.
Streaming Video from my PC at my room at the back of the house to the HTPC at the front Living Room(distance around 50ft).
also sometime play CloudTV(IPTV Service) Sync from my nexus 7 tablet(Wifi).
My HTPC Spec

C2D E7500
4GB DDR1333
Geforce 640GT

Good to hear that you able to stream with the homeplugs.
KidsCode
post Nov 25 2013, 01:37 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 19 2013, 12:49 PM)
I don't need to run pc software. Maybe just run the Linux version of xbmc. So that it will be a dedicated media player. I already have a NAS to store all my movies. The biggest advantage of htpc to me is its upgradeable. But if the cost is too much then, it's a problem too. Haha. Can I set one up for 1k? Htpc sure need some hardware for remote control n supporting software right?
Yes, you can setup HTPC at 1K new parts. If you able to source old parts / tech will be cheaper. I run my HTPC with these parts:

Intel Core2Duo E6420
4GB Ram
AMD Radeon HD 5000 series

For me my most expensive part (as Im using old parts) is the casing. Im using Jonsbo HTPC casing that come together with the remote that also support with XBMC.

QUOTE(shady @ Nov 16 2013, 12:27 PM)
Hi guys, I want to setup a HTPC. Appreciate if you can advise and correct me if I'm wrong.

Currently I have:
(1) Full HD LED TV with HDMI input
(2) Zotac Zbox nano AD10 with HDMI output

I'd like to get at least a 5.1 sound setup. I understand that I need to get a decoder or home theater system with HDMI input for audio/video and outputs HDMI video to my TV.

I've seen many home theater system on the market only with hdmi output so I guess that is out of question.

Some more expensive models have both hdmi in and out. They come with 5.1 speaker set. I wonder these are the models I should be looking for? Do they have the ability to decode 5.1 sound from my Zotac HDMI out to the respective speakers?

Please recommend a system with at least 5.1 speaker set if possible. Prefer budget models. Thank you.
What specs do you have on your Zotac, if 2GB RAM only, you can't decode bit-stream audio as you will get choppy display / sound. As for the 5.1 system, you can get the HTIB (Home Theater In the Box) eg Yamaha, is around RM 2K - RM 2.5K

KidsCode
post Jan 23 2014, 04:10 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(acegreaser @ Jan 7 2014, 04:53 PM)

Ace, you're machine configuration are better and same components as my HTPC. I can stream DTS HD and TrueHD via my Yamaha Amp using XBMC. You're problem seems familiar, on the sound output only works 2.0 without issues. Is the AMD driver.
KidsCode
post Jan 29 2014, 02:05 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(acegreaser @ Jan 27 2014, 04:30 PM)
Thanks all.

I sorted out my problem.
I tried numerous times to update the AMD driver for the Graphics card and it kept failing.
The AMD website kept saying it was the wrong file for my OS.
Anyway, I went and bought a cheap graphics card online. While waiting for it to arrive, I tried one last time to update the driver.
And, suddenly it worked. Always kena like this...buy new and then the old one will decide to work.
So, with the update, the card works well now.
I get Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master now on my AV.

Also, I installed Plex Media Server into my PC based NAS and use Plex Home Theatre for my HTPC.
Also there's mobile apps for iOS and Android too if you wanna pay for it. Haven't tried it though.

Thanks again.
Good that you solve the problem, the bad that you bought a new card and now more likely kept as spare or re-sell.

0.0422sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:28 PM